We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Life Grand Cafe V&A Waterfront

Haul Road | V & A Waterfront, 8002, South Africa
+27 21 205 1902
Website
Share
All photos (335)
Map updates are paused. Zoom in to see updated info.
Reset zoom
Updating Map...
Overview
  • Excellent30%
  • Very good36%
  • Average16%
  • Poor8%
  • Terrible10%
Travellers talk about
“salad” (19 reviews)
“lamb chops” (6 reviews)
Closed Now
Hours
CUISINES
Seafood, Vegetarian Friendly, Vegan Options, Gluten Free Options
PRICE
RR - RRR
RATINGS
Food
Service
Value
LOCATION
Haul Road | V & A Waterfront, 8002, South Africa
All Details
Write a ReviewReviews (612)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1 - 10 of 486 reviews

Reviewed 2 days ago via mobile

We went here for a friend's birthday and sat outside on the patio. The wait staff was friendly. The food is amazing and is beautifully arranged and presented. The bathrooms are located inside and upstairs.

1  Thank SheWandersTheGlobe
Restaurant's Favourite
Reviewed 4 October 2018 via mobile

We were drawn to this place by the Veuve Clicquot frontage, being one of our favourites we had to take a look. It didn’t disappoint, great setting at the V&A waterfront, great menu, food was delicious, and so reasonably priced, as well as the drinks,...More

Thank k_whelehan
Bonny S, Manager at Life Grand Cafe V&A Waterfront, responded to this reviewResponded 8 October 2018

Hi, Thank you for your rating and feedback. We are always delighted to hear we are meeting our guests expectations. We look forward to your next visit. Regards Bonny

Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

Visited while shopping on waterfront would have eaten but been to fish market and eaten there food looked good coming to waterfront outside seating area where I ordered drinks the draught was off for a while so ordered bottled, short while later waiter had waited...More

Thank Bezzy0_0
Bonny S, Manager at Life Grand Cafe V&A Waterfront, responded to this reviewResponded 3 days ago

Hi , Thank you for your rating and feedback. We look forward to your next visit. Regards Bonny

Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

Lovely location, service a bit slow, my fish dish was ok but my friend had an undercooked burger, that went back, he reordered another dish but a protracted wait, complained and his meal was refundedMore

Thank JohnboyM54
Bonny S, Manager at Life Grand Cafe V&A Waterfront, responded to this reviewResponded 3 days ago

Hi Johnboy, Thank you for your rating. I would like to thank you for taking the time to advise us of your recent visit to our Life Grand Cafe Waterfront. It is through feedback such as yours and our own constant quality assessments that we...More

Reviewed 1 week ago

We were just wondering since all restaurantes were full, I did not know that you had to make a reservation, anyway, we found this restaurante and seemed nice, food was good, service also and the meals are big portions, you must consider this when ordering....More

Thank MiguelP1386
Bonny S, Manager at Life Grand Cafe V&A Waterfront, responded to this reviewResponded 3 days ago

Hi Miguel, Thank you for your rating and feedback. We look forward to your next visit. Regards Bonny

Reviewed 1 week ago

Loved it here - brilliant vibe and a buzz. Sometimes the drinks were on the slow side because its so popular and busy- good food and a brilliant spot. Staff friendly and helpful - will be back

Thank 78Lizzy
Bonny S, Manager at Life Grand Cafe V&A Waterfront, responded to this reviewResponded 3 days ago

Hi Thank you for your rating and feedback. We look forward to your next visit. Regards Bonny

Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

Absolutely awful. I had the burger and it was seriously undercooked (I asked for well done and got medium/rare). It was charred on the outside and bright pink inside. I cut it open and showed the waitress who agreed it was dire. Manager’s “solution”? A...More

1  Thank David O
Bonny S, Manager at Life Grand Cafe V&A Waterfront, responded to this reviewResponded 1 week ago

Hi David, Please accept my sincere apologies regarding the way your burger was served and how the situation was dealt with. I will most certainly look into this and deal with it appropriately. Regards Bonny

Reviewed 1 week ago

We ate here a few times while staying in Cape Town and sat inside and out, as the weather was variable. The staff were brilliant,so friendly and helpful. We tried breakfast,snacks and coffee and cake and all tasted good. There is plenty to see if...More

Thank antano2013
Bonny S, Manager at Life Grand Cafe V&A Waterfront, responded to this reviewResponded 1 week ago

Hi Antano, Thank you for our rating and feedback. We look forward t your next visit. Regards Bonny

Reviewed 1 week ago

This place is called a cafe and therefore you don't go there for haute cuisine, but to stop for a drink and recharge the batteries or just hang out and watch the world go by I found it a really lovely spot. We had sun-downers...More

Thank Frances S
Bonny S, Manager at Life Grand Cafe V&A Waterfront, responded to this reviewResponded 1 week ago

Hi Frances, Thank you for your rating. We are delighted to hear we are meeting our guests expectations. We look forward to your next visit. Regards Bonny

Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile

Stopped here for a quick drink & a bite to eat. Located right next to the harbour - so nice location. Service was on the slow side but no real problem. Food & drink was fine - a pint & a glass of wine, fish...More

Thank jonesyp43
Bonny S, Manager at Life Grand Cafe V&A Waterfront, responded to this reviewResponded 1 week ago

Hi, Thank you for your rating and feedback. We look forward to your next visit. Regards Bonny

Nearby
Nearby HotelsSee all 205 hotels in Cape Town
Victoria & Alfred Hotel
1 740 reviews
.12 km away
Dock House Boutique Hotel
228 reviews
.22 km away
Queen Victoria Hotel & Manor House
816 reviews
.24 km away
Cape Grace
2 324 reviews
.31 km away
Nearby Restaurants
V&A Food Market
1 153 reviews
.17 km away
Vovo Telo
698 reviews
.15 km away
Belthazar Restaurant & Wine Bar
3 236 reviews
.17 km away
Ginja
224 reviews
.12 km away
Nearby Attractions
Victoria & Alfred Waterfront
11 479 reviews
.27 km away
The Springbok Experience Rugby Museum
506 reviews
.23 km away
Cape Town Diamond Museum
434 reviews
.19 km away
The Cape Wheel
887 reviews
.13 km away
Questions & Answers
Get quick answers from Life Grand Cafe V&A Waterfront staff and past visitors.
Note: your question will be posted publicly on the Questions & Answers page.
Posting guidelines
Submit
Improve this listing

Restaurant Details

Rating summary
  • Food
    Service
  • Value
Average prices
US$4 - US$19
Meals
Breakfast, Lunch, Dinner, Brunch
Restaurant features
Reservations, Outdoor Seating, Seating, Waitstaff, Highchairs Available, Wheelchair Accessible, Serves Alcohol, Full Bar
Good for
Special Occasion Dining, Local cuisine, Child-friendly, Business meetings, Kids, Bar Scene, Groups, Romantic, View
Open Hours
Sunday
09:00 - 23:00
Monday
09:00 - 23:00
Tuesday
09:00 - 23:00
Wednesday
09:00 - 23:00
Thursday
09:00 - 23:00
Friday
09:00 - 23:00
Saturday
09:00 - 23:00
Location and Contact Information
  • Address: Haul Road | V & A Waterfront, 8002, South Africa
  • Location: Africa  >  South Africa  >  Western Cape  >  Cape Town
  • Phone Number: +27 21 205 1902
  • E-mail
Description
Relaxed Cafe dining on the waters edge, a blend of Mediterranean influences with an African heart serving breakfast, lunch and diner
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more. Claim Your Listing