We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Life Grand Cafe

Haul Road | V & A Waterfront, 8002, South Africa
+27 21 205 1902
Call
Website
Save
Map updates are paused. Zoom in to see updated info.
Reset zoom
Updating Map...
Overview
  • Excellent34%
  • Very good27%
  • Average16%
  • Poor10%
  • Terrible13%
Travellers talk about
“ceviche” (7 reviews)
“sushi” (15 reviews)
Open Now
09:00 - 23:00All hours
CUISINES
Seafood, European, Vegetarian Friendly, Vegan Options, Gluten Free Options
PRICE
RR - RRR
RATINGS
Service
Food
Value
LOCATION
Haul Road | V & A Waterfront, 8002, South Africa
All Details
Write a ReviewReviews (273)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

1 - 10 of 212 reviews

Reviewed 2 days ago via mobile

Cheeky light lunch at Life Grand Cafe after recommendation by local friends. We opted for sushi - super fresh and tasty, and two large glasses of rose bubbles. Took quite a while to come but we were in no rush and the staff were attentive....More

Thank EyelashTravels
Bonny S, Manager at Life Grand Cafe, responded to this reviewResponded yesterday

Hi Thank you for your feedback. We are always delighted to hear that we are meeting our guests expectations. We look forward to your next visit Regards Bonny

Reviewed 5 days ago via mobile

I’ve been to your Life Grand Cafe many times before, and always enjoyed my visits and meals. But the experience I encountered yesterday, Saturday, 17/02/2018 left me with sour taste, some white lady, who could not identify herself, but was said to be some manager...More

Thank Vusumzi
Bonny S, Manager at Life Grand Cafe, responded to this reviewResponded 3 days ago

Hi Vusumzi, Firstly I want to apologise for the unfortunate experience you had at our restaurant. It is never our intention to have our guests leave our establishment feeling mistreated. Any for this reason this will be looked into with immediate effect. In the past...More

Reviewed 1 week ago

Very good food,owner escorted us to our table,the waiters were very accommodating ,polite and attentive,the view over the harbour was fantastic.We ate there a couple of times,the catch of the day was very tasty,also the curry,was excellent,would recommend a visit

Thank Jean Innes
Bonny S, Manager at Life Grand Cafe, responded to this reviewResponded 1 week ago

Hi Jean, Thank you for the great feedback. We are always delighted to hear that we are meeting our guests expectations. Look forward to your return. Regards Bonny

Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

We ate at the Life Grand Café two times during our stay in Cape Town. Both times the food was very good. Tender and well-cooked beef fillets, delicious grilled prawn, ribs were cooked just as you'd like. There was not one mistake in our order...More

Thank Ruben v
Bonny S, Manager at Life Grand Cafe, responded to this reviewResponded 1 week ago

Hi Ruben, Thank you for your positive feedback. We look for to your return next time you are in Cape Town. Regards Bonny

Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

Eat here on a midweek night, sat outside by waters edge. Great menu, the chicken and prawn curry is one of the nicest curry dishes I’ve ever eaten. We enjoyed the atmosphere, great vibe here, busy and vibrant. Would def recommend.

Thank Loh4
Bonny S, Manager at Life Grand Cafe, responded to this reviewResponded 1 week ago

Hi, Thank you for the fabulous feedback We look for ward to your next visit. Regards Bonny

Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

It astonishes me how someone can get a great location, invest in a great set up and then not provide staff with proper training. It really speaks poorly to this organisation. Would not suggest you go. Too many other places that do a good job!More

Thank Klaus L
Bonny S, Manager at Life Grand Cafe, responded to this reviewResponded 1 week ago

Hi Klaus, Firstly allow me to apologise for the poor service you received at our establishment. At Life Grand Cafe we pride ourselves in great service and food, which unfortunately we failed to deliver on this occasion. Training is ongoing, and I can assure you...More

Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile

We tried this place twice whilst staying in Cape town. The first time it was we had arrived for quick breakfast and was acceptable, HOWEVER we decided to try this place for lunch and what a catastrophe ! Intitial impression were good the owner /...More

1  Thank davidmlowe
Bonny S, Manager at Life Grand Cafe, responded to this reviewResponded 2 weeks ago

Hi David, Firstly allow me to offer my sincere apologies, for not only being disappointed and let down once but twice by us. It is totally unacceptable and will be dealt with appropriately. At Life Grand Cafe we pride ourselves in exceptional food and service,...More

Reviewed 3 weeks ago via mobile

An idyllic spot at the waterfront with lots of available outside seating and very attentive waiting staff with a sense of humour. We had the eggs royal and French toast with maple bacon; both dishes were excellent! We did think compared to other places on...More

Thank Frazer C
Bonny S, Manager at Life Grand Cafe, responded to this reviewResponded 3 weeks ago

Hi Frazer, Thank you for your review. We appreciate it, and look forward to your next visit. Regards Bonny

Reviewed 3 weeks ago via mobile

Beautiful location in an old heritage building totally redone in good style with both indoor and outdoor seating, including ocean-front. A good variety of alcoholic and non-alcoholic drinks, perfectly instagrammable. Lots of options for vegetarian and carnivores, including tasty pizza, dips, mussels, poke bowls (although...More

Thank Madsme
Bonny S, Manager at Life Grand Cafe, responded to this reviewResponded 3 weeks ago

Hi, Thank you for your review. Regards Bonny

Reviewed 5 weeks ago via mobile

I’ve never been here without there being a problem with the food or the service Tonight the Avocados were hard and the Seared Tuna was cold. ...and they weren’t that busy! My steak was excellent and a few others enjoyed their meals but it would...More

Thank Gavin O
Bonny S, Manager at Life Grand Cafe, responded to this reviewResponded 4 weeks ago

Hi Gavin, Firstly allow me to apologise for your dining experience. I can assure you that is not the case at all. We are constantly striving to improve our food and service. Staff training is of utmost importance to us and a constant ongoing process,...More

PreviousNext
12345622
Nearby
Nearby HotelsSee all 203 hotels in Cape Town
Victoria & Alfred Hotel
1 614 reviews
.12 km away
Dock House Boutique Hotel
212 reviews
.22 km away
Queen Victoria Hotel & Manor House
753 reviews
.24 km away
The PortsWood
806 reviews
.32 km away
Nearby Restaurants
Market on the Wharf
553 reviews
.17 km away
Vovo Telo
635 reviews
.15 km away
Belthazar Restaurant and Wine Bar
2 929 reviews
.17 km away
Harbour House V&A Waterfront
2 915 reviews
.12 km away
Nearby Attractions
Victoria & Alfred Waterfront
9 662 reviews
.27 km away
The Springbok Experience
464 reviews
.23 km away
The Cape Wheel
780 reviews
.13 km away
Cape Town Diamond Museum
370 reviews
.19 km away
Questions & Answers
Get quick answers from Life Grand Cafe staff and past visitors.
Note: your question will be posted publicly on the Questions & Answers page.
Posting guidelines
Submit
Improve this listing

Restaurant Details

Rating summary
  • Food
    Service
  • Value
Average prices
US$5 - US$24
Meals
Breakfast, Lunch, Dinner, Brunch
Restaurant features
Reservations, Outdoor Seating, Seating, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible, Serves Alcohol, Full Bar
Good for
Local cuisine, Special Occasion Dining, Groups, View, Business meetings, Bar Scene, Child-friendly
Open Hours
Sunday
09:00 - 23:00
Monday
09:00 - 23:00
Tuesday
09:00 - 23:00
Wednesday
09:00 - 23:00
Thursday
09:00 - 23:00
Friday
09:00 - 23:00
Saturday
09:00 - 23:00
Location and Contact Information
  • Address: Haul Road | V & A Waterfront, 8002, South Africa
  • Location: Africa  >  South Africa  >  Western Cape  >  Cape Town
  • Phone Number: +27 21 205 1902
  • E-mail
Description
Relaxed Cafe dining on the waters edge, a blend of Mediterranean influences with an African heart serving breakfast, lunch and diner
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more. Claim Your Listing