We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

The Pool Room at Oak Valley Restaurant

Oak Valley Estate | Oak Avenue, Elgin 7180, South Africa
+27 21 859 4111
Website
Save
Map
Satellite
Map updates are paused. Zoom in to see updated info.
Reset zoom
Updating Map...
Overview
  • Excellent60%
  • Very good24%
  • Average6%
  • Poor7%
  • Terrible3%
Travellers talk about
“steak” (24 reviews)
“pork” (15 reviews)
“salad” (16 reviews)
Closed Now
All hours
CUISINES
French, Vegetarian Friendly, Gluten Free Options
PRICE
RR - RRR
RATINGS
Service
Food
Value
Atmosphere
LOCATION
Oak Valley Estate | Oak Avenue, Elgin 7180, South Africa
All Details
Write a Review
Reviews (191)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

1 - 10 of 184 reviews

Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile

Celebrated Woman's Day with my wife at The Pool Room on the Oak Valley Estate outside Elgin. Lovely setting. Good, efficient service. We shared a cheese and cured meat platter to start followed by a beetroot and goats milk salad for my wife. I had...More

Thank HooverHolman
PoolRoomRest, Owner at The Pool Room at Oak Valley, responded to this reviewResponded 5 days ago

Dear Mr. Holman, Thank you for your review, we are so pleased to read that you and your wife enjoyed it! We look forward to seeing you again :-)

Reviewed 28 June 2017

Thought we could have a nice lunch here but never again. The grounds were really looking like a haunted place and I do not think anyone even tried to clean up the leaves and dust around the restaurant and around the pool. Not even the...More

Thank Willemien V
PoolRoomRest, Owner at The Pool Room at Oak Valley, responded to this reviewResponded 29 June 2017

Dear Willemien, Thank you for your review, although we are unsure what to say. We are in the middle of winter and the Oak Trees that surround the restaurant are constantly loosing their leaves and do look quite haunting - which is part of the...More

Reviewed 18 June 2017 via mobile

Beautiful setting, delicious food and fantastic service from warm, friendly staff. We enjoyed the wine tasting which we could conveniently do at our table as the tasting lady was not too busy. Our children were made to feel like important guests and they were well...More

Thank Nikki P
PoolRoomRest, Owner at The Pool Room at Oak Valley, responded to this reviewResponded 20 June 2017

Good Day Nikki, Thank you for your review, we are delighted that you and your family enjoyed the day! Thank you for joining us and we look forward to seeing you again:-)

Reviewed 29 May 2017 via mobile

It was the second time the the new restaurant chef/owner disappointed me with his way to cook steaks I gave back the uneatable meat and have had to pay for it. The owner came out and try to give me a lesson how to prepare...More

Thank fredhR4423QR
PoolRoomRest, Owner at The Pool Room at Oak Valley, responded to this reviewResponded 31 May 2017

Dear Fred, Please can you contact us direct on poolroom@oak-valley.co.za. You mention that we spoke with you however we are unaware of this. We take this personal attack very seriously as we have never charged for a steak that is sent back. Thank you.

Reviewed 28 May 2017 via mobile

We were with a group of friends and small kids. Had an amazing breakfast that was great value for money and the venue with the oak trees is outstanding. Constant smell of fresh bread and the wine tasting was great!

Thank Chris N
PoolRoomRest, Owner at The Pool Room at Oak Valley, responded to this reviewResponded 17 June 2017

Dear Chris, Thank you for your review, we are happy to hear you all enjoyed it! Thank you!

Reviewed 28 May 2017

Our second visit to The Pool Room, but not quite the excellent experience of the first. The prosciutto salad starter was delicious, and quite generous enough to be shared by my wife and I. Her sirloin main with hand-cut potato wedges was truly excellent, but...More

Thank Jeremy R
PoolRoomRest, Owner at The Pool Room at Oak Valley, responded to this reviewResponded 30 May 2017

Dear Jeremy, Thank you for your review, it was good to see you both again and we are pleased that overall you had a good experience. Thank you for the note on the belly, not the norm so we will look into this. We look...More

Reviewed 24 May 2017

The pool room is a real hidden gem. It's been our second visit and on both ocassions the service has been first class. We went with our 15 year old labrador and found that the owners/management are very Dog friendly. We felt very welcome on...More

Thank izzymohh
PoolRoomRest, Owner at The Pool Room at Oak Valley, responded to this reviewResponded 27 May 2017

Dear Izzy, Thank you for your review, it was good to see you and we are so pleased you had an enjoyable time. Your dog is always welcome after his long service history!

Reviewed 21 May 2017 via mobile

The wine is great and very palatable. Pity the cost of sinking the wine at the restaurant comes at double the list price. As for the food, there is room for improvement: most of the table had the steak of the day which was served...More

Thank ericat247
PoolRoomRest, Owner at The Pool Room at Oak Valley, responded to this reviewResponded 24 May 2017

Good day Eric, Thank you for your review, we are disappointed to hear we did not meet your expectations, and wish you had bought it to our attention on the day as it is easily rectifiable points. We do hope to see you again!

Reviewed 15 May 2017

This lovely restaurant is a true gem in the Elgin region! The setting is beautiful and serene - the pool adds to the atmosphere and one can be forgiven to believe that one is some where in the French or even Italian country side! the...More

Thank SONJA D
PoolRoomRest, Owner at The Pool Room at Oak Valley, responded to this reviewResponded 19 May 2017

Dear Sonja, Thank you so much for your lovely review and for joining us again, we are so happy you enjoyed it! We look forward to welcoming you back!

Reviewed 8 May 2017 via mobile

My husband and i got lost and found the Pool Room by chance. I loved the venue, loved the service and loved the coffee!!! We did not eat there, but i will definitely make an effort to go back for a meal. What a treat!

Thank thehungrytraveller10
PoolRoomRest, Owner at The Pool Room at Oak Valley, responded to this reviewResponded 12 May 2017

Dear Hungry Traveller, Thank you so much for your lovely review - we look forward to welcoming you back so you may enjoy a meal as well :-)

Nearby
Nearby Restaurants
Peregrine Farm Stall
218 reviews
1.72 km away
Fresh at Paul Cluver
164 reviews
3.25 km away
Bon Appetit Keam
11 reviews
4.00 km away
Nearby Attractions
Peregrine Farm Stall
128 reviews
1.74 km away
Cape Canopy Tour
415 reviews
9.77 km away
Honingklip Brewery
45 reviews
16.63 km away
Vergelegen Estate
626 reviews
17.40 km away
Ask a question
Questions & Answers
Tania d
18 January 2015|
AnswerShow all 2 answers
Response from Caroline T | Reviewed this property |
I was recently at the Pool Room for lunch and there was a table of people who had a small dog with them so I don't foresee it being a problem.
0
Votes
Improve this listing

Restaurant Details

Rating summary
  • Food
    Service
  • Value
    Atmosphere
Average prices
US$5 - US$20
Meals
Lunch, Breakfast, Dinner
Restaurant features
Parking Available, Free Off-Street Parking, Highchairs Available, Wheelchair Accessible, Serves Alcohol, Full Bar, Reservations, Outdoor Seating, Seating, Waitstaff, Validated Parking, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa
Good for
Romantic, Local cuisine, Groups, View, Special Occasion Dining, Business meetings, Child-friendly
Open Hours
Sunday
09:00 - 11:00
12:00 - 15:00
Tuesday
09:00 - 11:00
12:00 - 15:00
Wednesday
09:00 - 11:00
12:00 - 15:00
Thursday
09:00 - 11:00
12:00 - 15:00
Friday
09:00 - 11:00
12:00 - 15:00
18:00 - 21:00
Saturday
09:00 - 11:00
12:00 - 15:00
Location and Contact Information
  • Address: Oak Valley Estate | Oak Avenue, Elgin 7180, South Africa
  • Location: Africa  >  South Africa  >  Western Cape  >  Elgin
  • Phone Number: +27 21 859 4111
  • E-mail
Description
Relax on The Pool Room terrace, relishing country inspired cuisine, with ingredients sourced from the farm where possible. Feast on free range grass-fed beef, acorn-fed pork, charcuterie, naturally grown vegetables and freshly baked artisanal breads from the wood-burning oven. Wagyu, the famous cattle breed from Japan, where it is better known as Kobe beef, will be on offer from time-to-time depending on availability. Wagyu is a delicacy famous for its incredible marbling and flavour.
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more. Claim Your Listing