We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

The Pool Room at Oak Valley Restaurant

Oak Valley Estate | Oak Avenue, Elgin 7180, South Africa
+27 21 859 4111
Website
Save
Map
Satellite
Map updates are paused. Zoom in to see updated info.
Reset zoom
Updating Map...
Overview
  • Excellent63%
  • Very good23%
  • Average5%
  • Poor7%
  • Terrible2%
Travellers talk about
“steak” (24 reviews)
“bread” (20 reviews)
“pork” (15 reviews)
Open Now
All hours
CUISINES
French, Vegetarian Friendly, Gluten Free Options
PRICE
RR - RRR
RATINGS
Service
Food
Value
Atmosphere
LOCATION
Oak Valley Estate | Oak Avenue, Elgin 7180, South Africa
All Details
Write a Review
Reviews (201)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

1 - 10 of 194 reviews

Reviewed 2 days ago

Congratulations once again to Gordon and Manuel , you just keep on producing better and better meals. Its not often where you find such a superb location in the Winelands and for a better venue to celebrate my wife birthday. Emma was extremely helpful in...More

Thank DarylCape
Reviewed 4 days ago

Amazing setting, outstanding service and delicious food. it lends itself to long lazy summer lunches and now that we have found it will definitely be back !!

Thank sunnySA-7
PoolRoomRest, Owner at The Pool Room at Oak Valley, responded to this reviewResponded 2 days ago

Good Day SunnySa, Thank you for your lovely review! We are so pleased you enjoyed your time with us and we look forward to seeing you in the summer :-)

Reviewed 1 week ago

The restaurant is located on beautiful, big grounds. I can't wait to return in Summer to sit outside or on the lawn. All the ingredient of the dishes are sourced from the area. We even had a bottle of locally produced Organic Sparkling Wine. I...More

Thank MarleenSny
PoolRoomRest, Owner at The Pool Room at Oak Valley, responded to this reviewResponded 1 week ago

Dear Marleen, Thank you for your lovely review, as a meat heavy restaurant it is fantastic to get praise on our vegetarian dishes as well - Thank you! So pleased you enjoyed the Elgin Ridge MCC, I will pass this onto them.

Reviewed 1 week ago

Fantastic setting in the winelands. Staff are very friendly without being over the top.The business is run by a husband and wife team who pride themselves on using locally grown fresh produce from the farm. The wines from Oak Valley speak for themselves!

Thank Alan B
PoolRoomRest, Owner at The Pool Room at Oak Valley, responded to this reviewResponded 1 week ago

Dear Alan, Thank you so much for your lovely review! As a owner operated restaurant it is lovely to receive such praise - thank you!

Reviewed 2 weeks ago

What is so amazing about this restaurant and wine tasting is the property, it is definitely a jewel. The setting, gardens, tree's and stylish interior, wow food, lovely hosts, great wine, it is all just fabulous. We loved the platters and there were too many...More

Thank EvelynP514
PoolRoomRest, Owner at The Pool Room at Oak Valley, responded to this reviewResponded 2 weeks ago

Dear Evelyn, Thank you so much for your lovely review and for enjoying the Pool Room!! We look forward to welcoming you back.

Reviewed 2 weeks ago

We went for bike ride and met friends from Johannesberg at the Pool Room for breakfast,absolutely beautiful venue for either breakfast or lunch Three of the group had Poached eggs with haddock and spinach which they said was fantastic, I had the full breakfast consisting...More

Thank Alan J
PoolRoomRest, Owner at The Pool Room at Oak Valley, responded to this reviewResponded 2 weeks ago

Dear Alan, Thank you for your lovely review, we are so pleased you enjoyed your time with us! We look forward to seeing you in the future!

Reviewed 11 September 2017

We were given the name of Oak Valley by two different places as a lovely lunch with a lovely view. Unfortunately we were advised they are so fully booked and even though no reservation is needed, the fact that we didn't have one made that...More

Thank 392aloma
PoolRoomRest, Owner at The Pool Room at Oak Valley, responded to this reviewResponded 12 September 2017

Thank you Aloma for your review. We are sorry you did not get to dine with us and we are sorry you received the advise from others that you do not need to book. We always advise guests to book especially on a Sunday which...More

Reviewed 11 September 2017

We rocked up here on Sunday 10th September with our kids, by chance. Wow what stunning setting! The restaurant was fully booked but we did the wine tasting and the lady doing it, I unfortunately didn't get her name, was amazing, so helpful, friendly and...More

1  Thank jordan342013
PoolRoomRest, Owner at The Pool Room at Oak Valley, responded to this reviewResponded 12 September 2017

Thank you Jordan for the lovely review we will let Stef know who assisted you! Yes please do come back and eat, when you book, just let us know your dietary requirements so we can ensure we have suitable choices for you! We look forward...More

Reviewed 6 September 2017

We attended a family wedding at Oak Valley with the reception at the Pool Room. The setting is beautiful under the trees and the food was magnificent.

Thank _Corne_13
PoolRoomRest, Owner at The Pool Room at Oak Valley, responded to this reviewResponded 8 September 2017

Thank you Corne for your lovely review! Being apart of somebody's special day is a treat for us too! We are so pleased you all enjoyed it! Thank you

Reviewed 3 September 2017

After a warm welcome by the Chef we had a superb dinner served by friendly and professional staff and enyoing the famous (home) meat from the Oak Valley Farm Following "Chef" Gordon Manuel for years now he has still an special approach to both cooking...More

Thank P.H. v
PoolRoomRest, Owner at The Pool Room at Oak Valley, responded to this reviewResponded 6 September 2017

Thank you so much Piet for the lovely review - it was great to see you again after all this time and we look forward to welcoming you back!! Kind regards Gordon and Emma

Nearby
Nearby Restaurants
Peregrine Farm Stall
233 reviews
1.73 km away
Rojaal Teekamer
10 reviews
4.81 km away
Bon Appetit Keam
11 reviews
4.00 km away
Nearby Attractions
Peregrine Farm Stall
131 reviews
1.74 km away
Cape Canopy Tour
442 reviews
9.77 km away
Honingklip Brewery
47 reviews
16.63 km away
Vergelegen Estate
642 reviews
17.41 km away
Ask a question
Questions & Answers
Tania d
18 January 2015|
AnswerShow all 2 answers
Response from Caroline T | Reviewed this property |
I was recently at the Pool Room for lunch and there was a table of people who had a small dog with them so I don't foresee it being a problem.
0
Votes
Improve this listing

Restaurant Details

Rating summary
  • Food
    Service
  • Value
    Atmosphere
Average prices
US$5 - US$20
Meals
Lunch
Restaurant features
Parking Available, Free Off-Street Parking, Highchairs Available, Wheelchair Accessible, Serves Alcohol, Full Bar, Reservations, Outdoor Seating, Seating, Waitstaff, Validated Parking, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Accepts Credit Cards
Good for
Child-friendly, Groups, View, Special Occasion Dining, Local cuisine, Business meetings, Romantic
Open Hours
Sunday
9:00 AM - 11:00 AM
12:00 PM - 3:00 PM
Tuesday
9:00 AM - 11:00 AM
12:00 PM - 3:00 PM
Wednesday
9:00 AM - 11:00 AM
12:00 PM - 3:00 PM
Thursday
9:00 AM - 11:00 AM
12:00 PM - 3:00 PM
Friday
9:00 AM - 11:00 AM
12:00 PM - 3:00 PM
6:00 PM - 9:00 PM
Saturday
9:00 AM - 11:00 AM
12:00 PM - 3:00 PM
Location and Contact Information
  • Address: Oak Valley Estate | Oak Avenue, Elgin 7180, South Africa
  • Location: Africa  >  South Africa  >  Western Cape  >  Elgin
  • Phone Number: +27 21 859 4111
  • E-mail
Description
Relax on The Pool Room terrace, relishing country inspired cuisine, with ingredients sourced from the farm where possible. Feast on free range grass-fed beef, acorn-fed pork, charcuterie, naturally grown vegetables and freshly baked artisanal breads from the wood-burning oven. Wagyu, the famous cattle breed from Japan, where it is better known as Kobe beef, will be on offer from time-to-time depending on availability. Wagyu is a delicacy famous for its incredible marbling and flavour.
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more. Claim Your Listing