We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Ratings and reviews

Travellers' Choice
RATINGS
Food
Service
Value
Atmosphere

Details

CUISINES
British, Pub, European
Special Diets
Vegetarian Friendly, Vegan Options, Gluten Free Options
Meals
Lunch, Dinner, After-hours
View all details
meals, features, about

MICHELIN Guide's Point of View

A welcoming team run this characterful pub, where constantly evolving menus offer everything from sandwiches to steaks. Fish is delivered 6 days a week...
Read more on MICHELIN Guide
The MICHELIN Plate: Good cooking
Simple restaurant
Reviews (693)
Filter reviews
690 results
Traveller rating
316
220
83
48
23
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageEnglish
More languages
Traveller rating
316
220
83
48
23
Show reviews that mention
All reviews steak pork sunday roast sea bass bread mash duck parcel the pub attentive service lovely lunch front of house starters cuisine cambridge crackling diners squid
Selected filters
FilterEnglish
Updating list...
Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile

Wonderful food as ever, even though I booked only 15mins before trudging in the gate. Lunch was the roast pork special with lentils: pud was the hot choc fondant: plus a carafe of house red. Yummy bread an oil ‘n vinegar dip to start. Sadly-and...not the pub’s fault-it was v cold (coming out of lockdown), so outside. They provided blankets, though, to ameliorate matters. Quick and professional service.More

Date of visit: April 2021
Helpful?
Julia H, Manager at The Tickell Arms, responded to this reviewResponded 1 week ago

Thank you so much for your wonderful review. Your comments have all been shared with the team. It’s just under two weeks until we can have diners back in our restaurants, we can’t wait. We hope to see you again soon. The Tickell Arms, Whittlesford

Reviewed 2 weeks ago

We had a wonderful experience a few weeks ago. We had a table in the garden by the pond, the food and service were seamless (thanks George!) and even our dog had a great time. The pub staff are very friendly, the food delicious, and...the setting truly beautiful. We will certainly be back and highly recommend.More

Date of visit: April 2021
Helpful?
Julia H, Manager at The Tickell Arms, responded to this reviewResponded 2 weeks ago

Thank you so much for your review. It’s great to hear that George and the team looked after you so well. We hope you’ll visit us again soon. The Tickell Arms

Reviewed 3 weeks ago via mobile

This is the second time we visited this restaurant and we highly recommend it. Food is superb, we sat in a lovely area of the garden by the pond. Staff are extremely welcoming and deliver great service. We hope to be back soon!

Date of visit: April 2021
Helpful?
Julia H, Manager at The Tickell Arms, responded to this reviewResponded 2 weeks ago

Thank you so much for your review. Your comments have been passed onto the team and we hope to see you soon. The Tickell Arms

Reviewed 3 weeks ago

I visited recently on a busy night for dinner with friends. On arrival we had a cheery welcome and were taken straight to our table over looking the pond. We were pleasantly surprised by the efforts made to improve this area and we all agreed...that the fairy lights are an awesome touch! Although busy, both the service and the food were spot on. We loved the nut roast! Special thanks to James who helped us make a fabulous wine choice! We will defiantly be back soon and bringing more friends with us!More

Date of visit: April 2021
Helpful?
Julia H, Manager at The Tickell Arms, responded to this reviewResponded 2 weeks ago

Thank you so much for your lovely review. We are so pleased to hear you enjoyed your evening with us and we look forward to welcoming you back. The Tickell Arms

Reviewed 3 weeks ago

We visited the Tickell recently, sat outside and had a lovely evening. James and Sian were both very friendly and really helpful, went above and beyond to make sure we were enjoying everything. We were given blankets as it was quite cold which was a...nice touch. The nut roast was delicious, a great vegan dish (coming from a non-vegan!) followed by the chocolate fondant, just as good. Will definitely be back and recommending to everyone.More

Date of visit: April 2021
Helpful?
Julia H, Manager at The Tickell Arms, responded to this reviewResponded 2 weeks ago

Thank you so much for your review Holly. It’s great to hear that you had such a lovely time and we look forward to you visiting us again soon. The Tickell Arms

Reviewed 3 weeks ago

We bought a friend here as previously we had been impressed with the food and the service. Lets start with the food. Halloumi nibbles were delicious, thoroughly enjoyed however the dingley dell pork crackling was not enjoyable to eat. It was too hard and too...dry. Mains of Burgers were very lack lustre, a small handful of fries, a splodge of coleslaw and a standard burger patty, adding bacon and cheese bought the price to £16 which is a lot for a mediocre burger. The fish finger sandwich, well, what can i say, firstly it came with tartar when I had mentioned twice that I do not want it, then when received, the fish looked and tasted of a low quality wholesale out of the bag stuff. £9, bit of a joke. Some of the staff were scruffy, wearing dirty old trainers, not the usual smart appearance we have seen previous, and not aware of what the specials were, taking a stab in the dark but not actually returning with the correct answer, we had to over hear it from another waitress!! To top it all off there was a small function about to start, so 2 ladies with flowers and decorations continuously barged passed our table, even hitting it on two occasions whilst they hurriedly set up, not very nice really. On the whole a real shame, and unlikely to return.More

Date of visit: April 2021
Helpful?
Julia H, Manager at The Tickell Arms, responded to this reviewResponded 2 weeks ago

Thank you so much for taking the time to leave your review and we are sorry to hear that you didn’t enjoy your experience. All your feedback has been passed onto to the team and actioned. We would very much like you to return to...More

Reviewed 3 weeks ago

This our first meal out after lockdown and we could not be more happy with the experience we had at the Tickell Arms! They have done an amazing job creating outdoor dining areas and from the moment we arrived the staff were fantastic (particularly impressive...given how busy they were) The food was exceptional and so great to see so many locally sourced ingredients. Despite operating on a reduced menu the options were great and one of us even decided to have two starters as a main which they were very happy with and which all arrived at the same time without having to clarify this to the staff. We are looking forward to returning in the future and it is exciting to see such high quality dining experiences being offered in a friendly local pub environment. Thank you Tickell and to all your kitchen and front of house staff!More

Date of visit: April 2021
Helpful?
Julia H, Manager at The Tickell Arms, responded to this reviewResponded 2 weeks ago

Thank you so much for taking the time to write this review. We are so pleased to hear that you had such a great experience. All your wonderful comments have been passed onto the team and we look forward to welcoming you back soon. The...More

Reviewed 4 weeks ago via mobile

Lovely evening meal here last night. The outside space is so pretty next to the little pond, with a covered seating area & twinkly lights. The food was delicious & served efficiently & in a friendly & welcoming manor. So good to enjoy a restaurant...meal again. We’ll be back!More

Date of visit: April 2021
Helpful?
Julia H, Manager at The Tickell Arms, responded to this reviewResponded 2 weeks ago

Thank you so much for your review PaulaBen. We are so pleased to hear that you enjoyed your evening in our newly decorated garden. Your comments have been shared with our team and we hope to see you again soon. The Tickell Arms

Reviewed 12 December 2020

I took my daughter for lunch yesterday at the Tickell arms, we had an amazing experience from start to finish. The meal itself was fabulous, as was the attentive service from all staff. Many thanks to James and his team for great service, we will...definitely return very soon.More

Date of visit: December 2020
Helpful?
Max F, Owner at The Tickell Arms, responded to this reviewResponded 15 December 2020

Thank you so much for your lovely comments. We are very happy to hear that you felt well looked after on your visit to us by James and the team. We'll look forward to seeing you again soon. The Tickell Arms

Reviewed 18 October 2020 via mobile

Decided to try the Tickell Arms as I noticed it had been recommended on the Michelin website, and we were not disappointed! Both the inside and outside of the building are picturesque, and the staff were friendly and helpful. The food tasted amazing and was...really well presented! Would recommend to anyone.More

Date of visit: October 2020
Helpful?
MaxFreeman, Owner at The Tickell Arms, responded to this reviewResponded 20 October 2020

Thank you so much for your lovely review Sean. Great to hear that you enjoyed your first visit to us, we hope to see you again soon. Team Tickell

View more reviews
Best nearby
Best nearby hotelsSee all
Holiday Inn Express Cambridge-Duxford M11, Jct.10
647 reviews
1.63 km away
The Lodge Duxford
60 reviews
3.05 km away
Hinxton Hall
17 reviews
4.25 km away
Travelodge Cambridge Fourwentways
485 reviews
5.32 km away
Best nearby restaurantsSee all
Provenance Kitchen
108 reviews
1.34 km away
The Bees In The Wall
20 reviews
.58 km away
The Mess Cafe
36 reviews
1.22 km away
Best nearby attractionsSee all
Duxford 14th Century Chantry Chapel
19 reviews
1.67 km away
American Air Museum
462 reviews
2.80 km away
RSPB Fowlmere Nature Reserve
61 reviews
6.84 km away
St Mary and St Michael's Church
10 reviews
7.31 km away
Questions & Answers
Ask a question
Inspire802711
17 December 2018|
AnswerShow all 4 answers
Response from peddr0 | Reviewed this property |
First of all, the date of my review was June 2018, not 2012 as stated by Inspire80. Presuming this is the same critique, my reply is quite simply that I based my totally impartial judgment on personal experience after myself... More
0
Votes
Critic0000
3 January 2018|
AnswerShow all 12 answers
Response from janehorwood | Reviewed this property |
Sorry only just seen this. The Green Man in Thriplow is very good and lovely staff.
0
Votes
Is This Your Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Free Listing
Frequently Asked Questions about The Tickell Arms

  • The Tickell Arms is rated accordingly in the following categories by Tripadvisor travellers:
    • Food: 4
    • Service: 4
    • Value: 3.5
    • Atmosphere: 4