We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Ratings and reviews



British, Scottish
Special Diets
Vegetarian Friendly, Gluten Free Options
Breakfast, Lunch, Dinner, Drinks
View all details
meals, features, about
Reviews (183)
Filter reviews
151 results
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
More languages
Traveller rating
Show reviews that mention
All reviews haddock victoria sponge chocolate cake soup local seafood scones cut in half warm welcome at reasonable prices sandwood bay staff were lovely the main road evening meal beautiful location home made kinlochbervie takeaway
Selected filters
Updating list...
Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

Fantastic setting and clean comfortable rooms. The food was lovely with breakfast and dinner served to our rooms. The staff were wonderful and couldn't have been more helpful. Plenty of bike storage for our cyclists. Highly recommended.

Date of visit: August 2021
Reviewed 3 weeks ago

We stopped here on our way to Kinlochbervie for a drink and a piece of cake. We sat outside at a picnic table in the lovely sunshine enjoying the stunning views.

Date of visit: June 2021
Reviewed 8 June 2021 via mobile

Excellent menu - almost all locally sourced - with delicious flourishes e.g. haggis with beef burger, tablet icecream. Wonderful views, friendly family owned and run. Good wines and beers too. Simply perfect.

Date of visit: June 2021
Reviewed 5 June 2021 via mobile

Extremely poor service. Rubbish food. The only hotel that has ever asked me to pay up front for the rooms. No privacy curtains in the room & the window fell onto the garden with public access, so had to have the blind down throwing the...riom in darkness & couldn't open the window for fresh air. No water in the room. Due to covid, the rooms were left to clean after every stay & as we stayed for 2 nights, biscuits were only provided for 1 night stay. This hotel, I felt was using the covid to not offer good service. Will not be staying there again. One star is because the bed was comfortable & the water hot for the shower.More

Date of visit: May 2021
Reviewed 8 November 2020

Due to being English we were refused service despite completely adhering to COVID regulations and being in Scotland for weeks prior to lockdown.

Date of visit: November 2020
Reviewed 13 October 2020

One of the great pleasures of a road trip is coffee and cake in a beautiful location and the Old School fulfills this criteria amply. The view is beautiful, service friendly and the coffee and cake delicious. As a bonus they also sell local ales...for take out. Winner all round.More

Date of visit: October 2020
oldschoolklb, Owner at Old School Restaurant & Rooms, responded to this reviewResponded 14 October 2020

Thank you :)

Reviewed 14 September 2020

Great freshly cooked food to eat on picnic benches outsde or takeaway. We had to takeaway due to midges sudenly appearing. I wish I new that the meals came with chips or I would've saved some money and not ordered extra. Chocolate cake a bit...dry but victoria sponge lovely. Great fish and chips!More

Date of visit: August 2020
Reviewed 12 September 2020

Nice road side restaurant which serves delicious food at reasonable prices. Friendly staff and plenty of covid measures in place.

Date of visit: September 2020
Reviewed 5 September 2020

I was walking past on the road from Rhiconich to Kinlochbervie and stumbled upon this gem of a place. I chose the local Kinlochbervie haddock and chips with a side salad, all of which were very good. The coffee and dessert were also great. The...staff were exceptionally friendly, and the restaurant had good Covid measures in place. There was no indoor seating due to Covid but the outdoor seating on the terrace had a fabulous view across Loch Inchard. The food is supplied as a takeaway and you can choose to eat it outside or take it with you. I thoroughly enjoyed my evening meal at the Old School Restaurant and would go there again. Thank you to the staff.More

Date of visit: August 2020
oldschoolklb, Owner at Old School Restaurant & Rooms, responded to this reviewResponded 7 September 2020

Thank you.

Reviewed 27 August 2020

We stayed here as part of our NC500 trip, and having spent the day walking up to Sandwood Bay and beyond we were glad of a place to relax! We were greeted with a friendly face and given all the information we needed and then...went up to our room. The room was spacious and comfortable and we quickly made ourselves at home. Because of COVID there is currently no dining in the main restaurant area, but if you go down and order what you want they will deliver it to your room, which we were very happy with! And the food was super tasty too! The haggis starter was excellent, as was the venison burger. There was plenty of parking round the back and it is ideally located near the NC500 route and lots of walking routes to the north and north west, including the beautiful Sandwood Bay Beach. We would recommend this hotel to anyone and would stay here again in the future.More

Date of visit: August 2020
View more reviews
Best nearby
Best nearby hotelsSee all
Rhiconich Hotel
190 reviews
2.95 km away
Kinlochbervie Hotel
199 reviews
3.10 km away
Scourie Hotel
224 reviews
13.94 km away
Eddrachilles Hotel
365 reviews
15.69 km away
Best nearby restaurantsSee all
Worth A Look
16 reviews
3.16 km away
The Shorehouse
197 reviews
10.58 km away
Smoo Cave Hotel
496 reviews
20.91 km away
Best nearby attractionsSee all
Ridgway Adventure - One Day Activities
7 reviews
4.39 km away
Oldshoremore Beach
154 reviews
5.73 km away
Handa Island Wildlife Reserve
140 reviews
13.24 km away
Scourie Bay
57 reviews
14.43 km away
Questions & Answers
Ask a question
27 September 2020|
Response from oldschoolklb | Property representative |
We are open for takeaway only at present. 10 am until 8 pm.
26 July 2017|
AnswerShow all 3 answers
Response from oldschoolklb | Property representative |
Hi yes we do have a children's menu and also offer small portions of some of the items on the menu. If its for the evening then it best to book in advance. Cheers
Is This Your Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Free Listing
Frequently Asked Questions about Old School Restaurant & Rooms

Old School Restaurant & Rooms is rated accordingly in the following categories by Tripadvisor travellers:
  • Food: 4.5
  • Service: 4.5
  • Value: 4.5
  • Atmosphere: 4.5