We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Kasteelberg Bistro

13 Fontein Street, Riebeek Kasteel 7300, South Africa
+27 22 448 1110
Website
Share
Save
Map updates are paused. Zoom in to see updated info.
Reset zoom
Updating Map...
Overview
  • Excellent31%
  • Very good25%
  • Average19%
  • Poor13%
  • Terrible12%
Travellers talk about
“eisbein” (6 reviews)
“pork belly” (11 reviews)
“garlic mash” (2 reviews)
Closed Now
Hours
CUISINES
French, Mediterranean, Contemporary
PRICE
RR - RRR
RATINGS
Service
Food
Value
Atmosphere
LOCATION
13 Fontein Street, Riebeek Kasteel 7300, South Africa
All Details
Write a ReviewReviews (72)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

1 - 10 of 69 reviews

Reviewed 9 June 2018

Riebeek Kasteel's main square can seem pretty bleak on weekdays in winter, so Kasteelberg Bistro's roaring fire was welcome. Sadly, there was no trace of the tapas we'd enjoyed previously and the menu had been drastically cut, presumably because of the time of year. My...More

Thank DGEKent
Allan B, Owner at Kasteelberg Bistro, responded to this reviewResponded 13 June 2018

Apologies that our offering was not up to your standard. Of the twelve tapa (starter) items, our six most popular main courses (including beef, chicken, fish and pork) plus the six board specials, we were convinced we've covered all our bases. Clearly not. Not sure...More

Reviewed 29 April 2018

Went here for Sunday lunch because the setting seemed attractive - which is was. Food and service though well below par for this town. We had the sirloin steak at R 135 .It was certainly nothing other than cheap minute steak which was pan-fried and...More

Thank Richard655
Reviewed 20 April 2018

Worst meal in 10 years. Food (tapas) was exceedingly bad with rancid port belly etc. Waiter was also clueless and attitude could not care. When we wanted to complain to the owner just brushed it of as if it was our fault for not having...More

Thank boesmanboy
Allan B, Owner at Kasteelberg Bistro, responded to this reviewResponded 25 April 2018

My first instinct, in keeping with this industry's cruel routine, was to apologise and move on, but this review is blatantly dishonest, an outrage and insult to other diners' and restaurateurs' intelligence. Regrettably, the worst guests in 10 years too. The operative word here is...More

Reviewed 30 March 2018 via mobile

Horrible service from a very inept waiter. When the food still had not arrived after an hour, went to inquire and they had not even started it yet.More

Thank Elizabeth Y
Allan B, Owner at Kasteelberg Bistro, responded to this reviewResponded 26 April 2018

Harsh! Unreserved apologies, but a little perspective: we are acutely aware of the standard of service expected of us, but it has proved to be one of the biggest challenges of running this type of business in a rural area: finding trainable staff. I agree...More

Reviewed 10 March 2018

The fish was perfectly cooked and the eisbein excellent (but involved quite a wait). We had some special dietary requirements and all were catered for with no fuss. What really made the experience was the staff - they were professional, friendly, gracious and helpful.

Thank alisonsA8004PA
Allan B, Owner at Kasteelberg Bistro, responded to this reviewResponded 13 March 2018

Apologies for the wait and thank you for the kind words; the staff are beaming!

Reviewed 24 February 2018 via mobile

We had one of this restaurants top dishes ....the pork belly and was absolutely terrible disappointed. The piece of meat that we got was definitely not pork belly but some other dry tastless piece of pork . Will not recommend or return again .

Thank Natasha D
Reviewed 27 January 2018 via mobile

Waited a long time for below average food which was mixed up with the table next to us’s order. Tappas not tasty, eisbein was actually pork belly and tasteless and way overpriced for the portion size and quality. Wont be back.🙁

Thank Lindy D
Reviewed 11 January 2018

The setting was nice, but that was the only good thing about Kasteelberg Bistro. The food is expensive for the portion size we were served, and the taste bland.The waiter was friendly until we asked her how she calculated the corkage fee for more bottles...More

Thank SophiaSteyn
Allan B, Owner at Kasteelberg Bistro, responded to this reviewResponded 14 January 2018

Dear “Sophia”, you are being blatantly dishonest. Bland food? Somebody is lying. Your husband and a number of people who came into the bar during the evening told us how fantastic the food was. You refer to portion size, yet the youngsters bragged in the...More

Reviewed 28 December 2017

We recently dined at Kasteelberg, a well established venue in Riebeek Kasteel. It has a long established reputation and the bistro which now includes a variety of tapas sounding very appealing. Sadly several dishes were not available on the night we were there, and somehow,...More

Thank LewR
Reviewed 10 November 2017

Cant say to much. Slow service, Should be a tapas-place. Dont manage that cusine. 45 min waiting fore a tapas!!!. Hot tapas served icecold. Get more staff!!

Thank Jon R
Nearby
Nearby HotelsSee all Riebeek Kasteel Hotels
The Royal Hotel
331 reviews
.23 km away
Riebeek Valley Hotel
392 reviews
4.86 km away
Tulbagh Boutique Heritage Hotel
855 reviews
25.31 km away
Ridgeback House
53 reviews
32.26 km away
Nearby Restaurants
Mama Cucina Italian Restaurant
452 reviews
.15 km away
Royal Restaurant
172 reviews
.24 km away
Beans About Coffee
122 reviews
.01 km away
Cafe Felix
269 reviews
.36 km away
Nearby Attractions
Het Vlock Casteel
66 reviews
.59 km away
Saronsberg Cellar
213 reviews
25.77 km away
Garagista Craft Beer Brewery
36 reviews
.22 km away
Old Town Tulbagh
141 reviews
25.37 km away
Questions & Answers
Get quick answers from Kasteelberg Bistro staff and past visitors.
Note: your question will be posted publicly on the Questions & Answers page.
Posting guidelines
Submit
Improve this listing

Restaurant Details

Rating summary
  • Food
    Service
  • Value
    Atmosphere
Cuisine
French, Mediterranean, Contemporary
Meals
Breakfast, Lunch, Dinner
Restaurant features
Reservations, Outdoor Seating, Seating, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible, Serves Alcohol
Good for
Child-friendly
Open Hours
Sunday
08:00 - 17:00
Monday
08:00 - 23:30
Wednesday
08:00 - 23:30
Thursday
08:00 - 23:30
Friday
08:00 - 00:00
Saturday
08:00 - 00:00
Location and Contact Information
  • Address: 13 Fontein Street, Riebeek Kasteel 7300, South Africa
  • Location: Africa  >  South Africa  >  Western Cape  >  Riebeek Kasteel
  • Phone Number: +27 22 448 1110
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more. Claim Your Listing