We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Kasteelberg Bistro

13 Fontein Street, Riebeek Kasteel 7300, South Africa
+27 22 448 1110
Website
Map updates are paused. Zoom in to see updated info.
Reset zoom
Updating Map...
Overview
  • Excellent29%
  • Very good24%
  • Average21%
  • Poor13%
  • Terrible13%
Travellers talk about
“eisbein” (6 reviews)
“pork belly” (10 reviews)
“snails” (2 reviews)
Closed
08:00 - 23:30 Hours
CUISINES
French, Mediterranean, Contemporary
PRICE
RR - RRR
RATINGS
Food
Service
Value
Atmosphere
LOCATION
13 Fontein Street, Riebeek Kasteel 7300, South Africa
All Details
Write a ReviewReviews (75)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

1 - 10 of 72 reviews

Reviewed 26 September 2018 via mobile

We had lunch at the restaurant. The menu was very limited and then we were told that a few items were not available. So we had very limited options. The food is expensive but it was okay when it arrived.

Thank Stephen L
Reviewed 10 September 2018

We went as a family on a saturday night. The restaurant was empty. They had a fire going however which warmed the place up. It is not a very child friendly place with no high chairs available. The menu was very limited. Service was ok...More

Thank Nikki_Swingburn
Reviewed 5 August 2018

Our lunch experience was disappointing. The waiter seemed illiterate and battled to understand. First beer was ice-cold and second was warm. Had to request an ice-bucket to ensure more cold beers. The tapas portions are minute. And a simple tomato and mozzarella capreze and a...More

Thank GeoffStroebel
Reviewed 9 June 2018

Riebeek Kasteel's main square can seem pretty bleak on weekdays in winter, so Kasteelberg Bistro's roaring fire was welcome. Sadly, there was no trace of the tapas we'd enjoyed previously and the menu had been drastically cut, presumably because of the time of year. My...More

Thank DGEKent
Allan B, Owner at Kasteelberg Bistro, responded to this reviewResponded 13 June 2018

Apologies that our offering was not up to your standard. Of the twelve tapa (starter) items, our six most popular main courses (including beef, chicken, fish and pork) plus the six board specials, we were convinced we've covered all our bases. Clearly not. Not sure...More

Reviewed 29 April 2018

Went here for Sunday lunch because the setting seemed attractive - which is was. Food and service though well below par for this town. We had the sirloin steak at R 135 .It was certainly nothing other than cheap minute steak which was pan-fried and...More

Thank Richard655
Reviewed 20 April 2018

Worst meal in 10 years. Food (tapas) was exceedingly bad with rancid port belly etc. Waiter was also clueless and attitude could not care. When we wanted to complain to the owner just brushed it of as if it was our fault for not having...More

1  Thank boesmanboy
Allan B, Owner at Kasteelberg Bistro, responded to this reviewResponded 25 April 2018

My first instinct, in keeping with this industry's cruel routine, was to apologise and move on, but this review is blatantly dishonest, an outrage and insult to other diners' and restaurateurs' intelligence. Regrettably, the worst guests in 10 years too. The operative word here is...More

Reviewed 30 March 2018 via mobile

Horrible service from a very inept waiter. When the food still had not arrived after an hour, went to inquire and they had not even started it yet.More

Thank Elizabeth Y
Allan B, Owner at Kasteelberg Bistro, responded to this reviewResponded 26 April 2018

Harsh! Unreserved apologies, but a little perspective: we are acutely aware of the standard of service expected of us, but it has proved to be one of the biggest challenges of running this type of business in a rural area: finding trainable staff. I agree...More

Reviewed 10 March 2018

The fish was perfectly cooked and the eisbein excellent (but involved quite a wait). We had some special dietary requirements and all were catered for with no fuss. What really made the experience was the staff - they were professional, friendly, gracious and helpful.

Thank alisonsA8004PA
Allan B, Owner at Kasteelberg Bistro, responded to this reviewResponded 13 March 2018

Apologies for the wait and thank you for the kind words; the staff are beaming!

Reviewed 24 February 2018 via mobile

We had one of this restaurants top dishes ....the pork belly and was absolutely terrible disappointed. The piece of meat that we got was definitely not pork belly but some other dry tastless piece of pork . Will not recommend or return again .

Thank Natasha D
Reviewed 27 January 2018 via mobile

Waited a long time for below average food which was mixed up with the table next to us’s order. Tappas not tasty, eisbein was actually pork belly and tasteless and way overpriced for the portion size and quality. Wont be back.🙁

Thank LindyD89
Nearby
Nearby HotelsSee all hotels
The Royal Hotel
342 reviews
.23 km away
Riebeek Valley Hotel
411 reviews
4.86 km away
Tulbagh Boutique Heritage Hotel
928 reviews
25.31 km away
Ridgeback House
54 reviews
32.26 km away
Nearby Restaurants
Mama Cucina Italian Restaurant
485 reviews
.15 km away
Royal Restaurant
181 reviews
.24 km away
Beans About Coffee
129 reviews
.02 km away
Cafe Felix
278 reviews
.36 km away
Nearby Attractions
Het Vlock Casteel
78 reviews
.59 km away
Saronsberg Cellar
225 reviews
25.77 km away
Garagista Craft Beer Brewery
37 reviews
.22 km away
Old Town Tulbagh
149 reviews
25.37 km away
Questions & Answers
Get quick answers from Kasteelberg Bistro staff and past visitors.
Note: your question will be posted publicly on the Questions & Answers page.
Posting guidelines
Submit
Improve this listing

Restaurant Details

Rating summary
  • Food
    Service
  • Value
    Atmosphere
Cuisine
French, Mediterranean, Contemporary
Meals
Breakfast, Lunch, Dinner
Restaurant features
Reservations, Outdoor Seating, Seating, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible, Serves Alcohol
Good for
Child-friendly
Open Hours
Sunday
08:00 - 17:00
Monday
08:00 - 23:30
Wednesday
08:00 - 23:30
Thursday
08:00 - 23:30
Friday
08:00 - 00:00
Saturday
08:00 - 00:00
Location and Contact Information
  • Address: 13 Fontein Street, Riebeek Kasteel 7300, South Africa
  • Location: Africa  >  South Africa  >  Western Cape  >  Riebeek Kasteel
  • Phone Number: +27 22 448 1110
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more. Claim Your Listing