We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Cafe Felix

Claimed
Save
Share
COVID-19 update: See the added health and safety measures this property is taking.Read more
Travel safe during COVID-19
What you can expect during your visit
  • Face masks required for staff in public areas
  • Hand sanitizer available to guests & staff
  • Regular temperature checks for staff
  • Socially distanced dining tables
  • Staff required to regularly wash hands
  • Tables disinfected between guests
Read more
Updated 20/10/02 Safety precautions are provided by the property and are not checked by Tripadvisor for accuracy.
A note from Cafe Felix
Updated 20/10/02 Safety precautions are provided by the property and are not checked by Tripadvisor for accuracy.

Ratings and reviews

RATINGS
Food
Service
Value
Atmosphere

Details

PRICE RANGE
US$14 - US$27
Special Diets
Vegetarian Friendly
Meals
Breakfast, Lunch, Dinner, Brunch, Drinks
View all details
features, about
Reviews (313)
Filter reviews
303 results
Traveller rating
141
100
38
10
14
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageEnglish
More languages
Traveller rating
141
100
38
10
14
Show reviews that mention
All reviews pork belly curries cheesecake fish cakes salad kingklip filet oak manor thank you so much cape town great lunch malcolm courtyard mains gem weekend
Selected filters
FilterEnglish
Updating list...
Reviewed 4 weeks ago

This was our favorite place. Met friends there to impress - just awful! Everything a cheap imitation of the great food that used to be served. Tom Yum salad terrible - no taste. Chicken pie just had pastry plonked on top of chicken and huge...potatoes . Coffee was ok!! So sad about this 🥲More

Date of visit: December 2020
Helpful?2  
Reviewed 17 November 2020

There is an interesting and varied menu, the option of indoor and outdoor dining and a good choice of local wines. Our food was well prepared, tasty and served promptly. We would definitely return the next time we are in the town.

Date of visit: November 2020
Helpful?1  
Reviewed 17 November 2020 via mobile

I booked the loft suit, the largest room they have, the room was booked on Thursday 12th November through Expedia, payment went out of my account on Friday 13th November, I have multiple proof of this, I was sent a booking confirmation, and on Saturday...the 14th a welcome letter from cafe Felix. On arrival the staff told me the owner had given the room I'd booked to someone else, I was given a much smaller room than I'd booked. Later that evening the owner told me that the reason he gave the room to someone else is that he hadn't received payment from hotels.com (Expedia) I informed him payment had been made from my side and he said he would contact Expedia to sort this out. I said I would also speak to hotels.com (Expedia) as I am due a refund for not getting the room I paid for. Later on Monday morning the owner suddenly accused me of bilking, leaving without paying, and threatened to call the police and lay a charge. No request for any money was made while I was at the property so how can I possibly leave without paying! Secondly I asked to speak to the owner while I was there and he didn't bother to see me face to face, he only sent me a few messages via WhatsApp. Thirdly this matter is between him and hotels.com (Expedia) I contacted hotels.com and informed them the owner was threatening me with laying a charge of leaving without paying, they assured me they would rectify the issue and told me issue was between them and the owner. Anyway, the owner is still threatening to call the police. Thanks for destroying my weekend with my partner, this was my 3rd booking in the loft within 5 weeks at Felix cafe. Certainly won't be be back after realising how utterly bad the owner is at guest relations. Some of the messages I was sent via WhatsApp are just downright rude, I mentioned we'd travelled from Cape Town, the owner replied I don't care where you've come from. Avoid this place if you have any common sense.More

Date of visit: November 2020
Helpful?2  
Reviewed 18 October 2020 via mobile

The lamb madras curry was superb - the best I’ve tasted - off the bone and served with both a roti and popadom and condiments - really delicious. The homemade chicken pie was excellent too. We also loved the entire French theme of the garden...and indoor seating. We will definitely be back.More

Date of visit: October 2020
Helpful?
Bushell2015, Owner at Cafe Felix, responded to this reviewResponded 19 October 2020

Thank you so much for your kind review. I am really delighted that you had a great meal with us and hope that we see you again soon. Malcolm

Reviewed 30 September 2020

We had excellent food and service at Cafe Felix. My wife is pescatarian and really enjoyed the fish cakes and the madras vegetable curry which she really enjoyed. My sister had The chicken curry and the rest of us had the pork belly which was...great.More

Date of visit: September 2020
Helpful?
Bushell2015, Owner at Cafe Felix, responded to this reviewResponded 1 October 2020

Hi Grant, Thank you for your kind words. I am so pleased that you all had a good experience. Come back soon :) Malcolm

Reviewed 1 August 2020 via mobile

The pork belly is superb, the curries fabulous, the atmosphere lovely and the welcome/service top class. An absolute must. We would gladly make the drive again. Bank on it Cafe Felix. Thank you for a lovely COVID escape 👏👍👏👍👏More

Date of visit: August 2020
Helpful?
Bushell2015, Owner at Cafe Felix, responded to this reviewResponded 2 August 2020

Thank you so much for your kind review. I am absolutely delighted that you had a good time with us. After the past 4 miserable months, every single customer who takes the time to come to eat with us is more than just welcome -...More

Reviewed 13 March 2020 via mobile

A really lucky find. Lovely environment, charming staff and great food. We all enjoyed our meals a lot.

Date of visit: February 2020
Helpful?
Reviewed 26 February 2020

Stepped in while there was load shedding - so no power at the place - however they told us that they could cook anything on the menu. We ordered a vegan dish - baked butternut squash filled with rocket salad, quinoa, nuts and more goodies....It was SO good. Yes, we ordered the one dish that needs time to prepare, so we were super hungry when it finally came. Oh, and I asked if they could do some handcut chips to avoid the frozen ones. But of course, and they were great too. I would go there again. And I would love to spend an evening there too for dinner and maybe a minor hangover the next day. It is that cozy. Go there!More

Date of visit: February 2020
Helpful?
Reviewed 24 February 2020

My dad lives in Riebeek West and my sister and I went out to visit him for his 90th birthday. He chose Cafe Felix as the place to celebrate it at. I emailed Malcolm to book a table and told him of the occasion and...that I had some table decorations. He advised me to drop them down before the day which I did. When we arrived on the day, the table was laid out beautifully, especially for us in the shade. The meal was fantastic, all four of us thoroughly enjoyed it. They presented my dad wiith a bottle of bubbly at the begining of the meal and at the end the staff all came out with a birthday cake and all sang happy birthday. Thank you so much Malcolm and all your staff for making it such a memorable dayMore

Date of visit: February 2020
Helpful?
Reviewed 16 February 2020 via mobile

We stayed over at The Old Oak Manor for the weekend and it was such a treat, the rooms feel vintage and homey. Cafe Felix is amazing, the food is really good and the service is brilliant. The vibe at the restaurant is so lekker!...It feels like you are at a cafe in Paris. This place is such a gem, we will definitely be returning.More

Date of visit: February 2020
Helpful?
View more reviews
Best nearby
Best nearby hotelsSee all
The Royal Hotel
367 reviews
.52 km away
Riebeek Valley Hotel
492 reviews
4.53 km away
Tulbagh Boutique Heritage Hotel
1 211 reviews
25.54 km away
Ridgeback House
59 reviews
32.44 km away
Best nearby restaurantsSee all
Royal Restaurant
203 reviews
.51 km away
Beans About Coffee
165 reviews
.37 km away
The Red Tin Roof
136 reviews
1.01 km away
Best nearby attractionsSee all
Het Vlock Casteel
108 reviews
.81 km away
Kloovenburg Wine and Olive Estate
121 reviews
1.23 km away
Garagista Craft Beer Brewery
41 reviews
.52 km away
The Wine Kollective
40 reviews
.49 km away
Questions & Answers
Get quick answers from Cafe Felix staff and past visitors.
Note: your question will be posted publicly on the Questions & Answers page.
Submit
Posting guidelines
Is This Your Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Free Listing