We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

The Bistro at Bitou

Fynbos Avenue | At the Bitou Art Gallery and Info Centre, Storms River, Tsitsikamma National Park 6308, South Africa
+27 81 099 9957
Website
Map updates are paused. Zoom in to see updated info.
Reset zoom
Updating Map...
Overview
  • Excellent48%
  • Very good39%
  • Average9%
  • Poor3%
  • Terrible1%
Travellers talk about
“bobotie” (5 reviews)
“burger” (10 reviews)
“cottage pie” (2 reviews)
Open Now
08:00 - 20:00 Hours
CUISINES
African, Healthy, Vegetarian Friendly, Vegan Options, Gluten Free Options
PRICE
RR - RRR
RATINGS
Food
Service
Value
LOCATION
Fynbos Avenue | At the Bitou Art Gallery and Info Centre, Storms River, Tsitsikamma National Park 6308, South Africa
All Details
Write a ReviewReviews (121)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

1 - 10 of 89 reviews

Reviewed 4 days ago via mobile

There are a number of great restaurants in this nice town and this is definitely o e of them! I had the Malay bobotie and the wife had Aunti something's sweet and sour chicken and we both loved it! We are still here waiting for...More

Date of visit: December 2018
Thank Joszti
190marieb, Front Office Manager at The Bistro at Bitou, responded to this reviewResponded 3 days ago

Thanks! .. Hope the dessert was great too!

Reviewed 1 week ago

We enjoyed the excellent service of Elsabé as she helped us to decide for our meals. The food is very good and tasty, the restaurant relaxed and coloufull. We will return for sure.

Date of visit: December 2018
Thank APM55
190marieb, Front Office Manager at The Bistro at Bitou, responded to this reviewResponded 6 days ago

Great! I will pass on you review for all staff to see.. thank you! See you soon again!

Reviewed 3 weeks ago via mobile

Small group of us stopped for breakfast after doing the bungee in the morning. Quaint place with friendly waiter however the food took very long to come and then forgot to make one of the orders, so although the food was tasty the delays from...More

Date of visit: November 2018
Thank 460capet
190marieb, Front Office Manager at The Bistro at Bitou, responded to this reviewResponded 3 weeks ago

Our humble apologies!! We are currently re-vamping our kitchen, and thus there could have been a longer than normal delay.... our order-printer was being re-installed so the chefs were working off a scrap of paper! We also prepare everything fresh fresh fresh... and with care...More

Reviewed 7 November 2018

Very friendly stuff, good explanation of the food, very tasty food. Good prieces for food and wine. Like to go there again.

Date of visit: August 2018
Thank praxisroos
Reviewed 29 October 2018 via mobile

This spot is absolutely amazing for dinner, dessert and for having a fun night. Waiters are extremely attentive, owner helpful and explaining the very unique menu with a lot of delicious homemade food to choose in a delicious way. Food was super fresh and recommended....More

Date of visit: October 2018
Thank my_marcel
190marieb, Front Office Manager at The Bistro at Bitou, responded to this reviewResponded 1 November 2018

Wow! Thank you so much!

Reviewed 21 October 2018

Simple, friendly restaurant and tasty food. Very friendly and helpful staff. There is an art gallery and product sale in the area.

Date of visit: October 2018
Thank fernandastein
190marieb, Front Office Manager at The Bistro at Bitou, responded to this reviewResponded 22 October 2018

Thank you so much... tell your friends!

Reviewed 3 October 2018 via mobile

Amazing food and great price! Restaurant on oir way to Port Elizabeth. We had wine, starter, main course and desert and paid ZAR 530 (service included), that’s about R$155 or $40. :))))

Date of visit: October 2018
Thank Marianabrgoulart
190marieb, Front Office Manager at The Bistro at Bitou, responded to this reviewResponded 5 October 2018

Thank you very much!!

Reviewed 23 September 2018 via mobile

We have decided to try this restaurant based on the recommendations we saw here. Unfortunately, our experience wasn’t that good. The service at the restaurant was very friendly, but that’s about it. The place picked up around 7:00 with only 1 waitress to serve everyone....More

Date of visit: September 2018
Thank Nosh97
190marieb, Front Office Manager at The Bistro at Bitou, responded to this reviewResponded 25 September 2018

Our apologies! We were unfortunately under some strain over the last five days, as a result of a staff member's family hospitilisation, as well as one of the chefs being on sick leave. We regret that you had an unfortunate experience... this is NOT our...More

Reviewed 28 August 2018

We tried this small restaurant two times for lunch and ordered the meal of the day. It was very delicius even for the taste of an european. If the weather is fine, the terasse is the best option to sit. For children there is a...More

Date of visit: August 2018
Thank 3MGE
190marieb, Front Office Manager at The Bistro at Bitou, responded to this reviewResponded 31 August 2018

Great to hear you were happy!

Reviewed 28 August 2018

We decided to give the Bistro a try while staying in Storms River Village, as it was in close proximity of our guest house. Our hosts at the guest house suggested that we make a booking as the restaurant is small and only seats roughly...More

Date of visit: August 2018
Thank CorneyCoetzee
190marieb, Front Office Manager at The Bistro at Bitou, responded to this reviewResponded 31 August 2018

Thank you! Great to hear you were happy and well treated!

Nearby
Nearby HotelsSee all 5 hotels in Storms River
Armagh Country Lodge Rafters & Spa
339 reviews
.13 km away
Tsitsikamma Village Inn
1 109 reviews
.39 km away
Misty Mountain Reserve
338 reviews
8.12 km away
Tsitsikamma Lodge
836 reviews
12.19 km away
Nearby Restaurants
Tsitrus Cafe
279 reviews
.23 km away
Marilyn's 60's Diner
545 reviews
.36 km away
Tsitsikamma Micro Brewery
69 reviews
.37 km away
Nearby Attractions
Tsitsikamma Canopy Tours
1 362 reviews
.40 km away
Tsitsikamma Segway Tours
209 reviews
.43 km away
Blackwater Tubing
110 reviews
.34 km away
Tsitsikamma Woodcutters Journey
30 reviews
.35 km away
Questions & Answers
Get quick answers from The Bistro at Bitou staff and past visitors.
Note: your question will be posted publicly on the Questions & Answers page.
Posting guidelines
Submit
Improve this listing

Restaurant Details

Rating summary
  • Food
    Service
  • Value
Average prices
US$2 - US$9
Meals
Breakfast, Lunch, Dinner, Drinks
Restaurant features
Reservations, Accepts Visa, Takeout, Outdoor Seating, Seating, Waitstaff, Parking Available, Free Off-Street Parking, Wheelchair Accessible, Serves Alcohol, Wine and Beer, Accepts Mastercard, Free Wifi
Good for
Child-friendly, Kids
Open Hours
Sunday
08:00 - 20:00
Monday
08:00 - 20:00
Tuesday
08:00 - 20:00
Wednesday
08:00 - 20:00
Thursday
08:00 - 20:00
Friday
08:00 - 20:00
Saturday
08:00 - 20:00
Location and Contact Information
  • Address: Fynbos Avenue | At the Bitou Art Gallery and Info Centre, Storms River, Tsitsikamma National Park 6308, South Africa
  • Location: Africa  >  South Africa  >  Eastern Cape  >  Tsitsikamma National Park  >  Storms River
  • Phone Number: +27 81 099 9957
  • E-mail
Description
Home-made South African bistro fare, presented in an arty setting... indoor restaurant with fireplace (cosy in winter, cool in summer!), and outdoor seating on patio overlooking magnificent Tsitsikamma mountains. Or go "Al fresco" on wooden benches on the lawns, overlooking kiddies play area. Can seat maximum 50 guests in one go. Essential to make group bookings larger than 10 persons at least 24hrs in advance. Friendly service from a small happy staff producing great food in a small happy kitchen. There is an info centre on the premises to help you book your activities in the area. Enjoy your meal surrounded by works from local artists, and browse in the gallery while you enjoy a glass of wine from our superior wine lists. Local craft beers and various other drinks available... we serve the BEST coffee in the area!
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more. Claim Your Listing