We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Ratings and reviews

RATINGS
Food
Service
Value

Details

CUISINES
Bar, Pub
Special Diets
Vegetarian Friendly
Meals
Lunch, Brunch, Breakfast, Dinner
View all details
meals, features
Reviews (80)
Filter reviews
75 results
Traveller rating
40
25
7
0
3
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageEnglish
Traveller rating
40
25
7
0
3
See what travellers are saying:
Sort and selected filters
Sort FilterEnglish
Updating list...
Reviewed 25 September 2022 via mobile

We had grilled calamari. So tough! I can buy frozen calamari from a supermarket in Cape Town and make it much better myself. The restaurant shouldn't be open for business. Anyway, they shouldn't have calamari on their menu. What a sinsere disappointment!More

Date of visit: September 2022
Helpful?
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
ChantelG11, Owner at The Melting Pot, responded to this reviewResponded 26 September 2022

Hi there Heletje. Firstly I would like to say that we are very sorry that you did not enjoy our calamari. It is most unusual how both of you finished your entire meals and then complained about it and then threatened us with bad tripadvisor...More

Reviewed 4 July 2022

The Melting Pot is known as one of the best restaurants in the area and has been for years. A good selection with good prices and really some of the best food around. However, there are some key places to improve. The service was terrible...as the servers were extremely grumpy and uninterested. It is cash only which is a bit of a joke these days. The coffee selection is terrible (as is the coffee itself) and the calamari is extremely bland and mine was a bit cold. Other meals are great, and it's just a couple of things that need to change to bring it back to what it was.More

Date of visit: July 2022
Helpful?
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 17 January 2022

The food is amazing and very good price, the potato edges are addicting. If you go there try the seafood platter

Date of visit: January 2022
Helpful?
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 30 December 2019 via mobile

Review lives up to itself, visited after reading on here and did not disappoint. We had calamari salad amazing prawn cakes ok and prawns very good. Music playing pool shared by hotel which is unique allowes for a meal a few drinks and a swim

Date of visit: December 2019
Helpful?
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 18 December 2019

The food is so lovely here and it is good value for money! They have an extensive menu with so much on offer! The only downside is that it is the only place we found in Ponta that charge for wifi!

Date of visit: November 2019
Helpful?
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 11 December 2019

We went there as a group of 10 divers for lunch and enjoy the swimming pool until the food got ready, Great place to get some rest.

Date of visit: November 2019
Helpful?
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 8 December 2019 via mobile

Tried this place off the beaten path and was a gem! good prices, great brownie :) and vibe was chilled, felt very much like home.

Date of visit: December 2019
Helpful?
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 24 November 2019

We went at 4:30 hoping to have dinner, kitchen closes at 5, got great service for the drinks, menu looks nice, prob a great place for lunch, looked in order, better prices than other places

Date of visit: November 2019
Helpful?
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 25 October 2019 via mobile

We look forward to our Melting Pot pies each time we go to Ponta. They are homemade and incredible. If you are looking for a place to watch sport please go there...

Date of visit: October 2019
Helpful?1  
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 22 October 2019

We decided to eat here after seeing the good reviews and found the place very busy when we arrived. It had a nice atmosphere and seemed like a popular local spot. They have a great selection on their menu but not much for a vegetarian....My husband had the burger which he really enjoyed, I would recommend this to anyone eating there. The service was slow and we almost seemed forgotten about for most of the night, having to call our waiter constantly.More

Date of visit: October 2019
Helpful?
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 20 October 2019 via mobile

This gem has such attention to detail. Food is incredible. Atmosphere you can't beat. Treat yourself to some local flavor

Date of visit: October 2019
Helpful?
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 5 July 2019

Very disappointed with quality and quantity. Been traveling through Mozambique for a few days from the North and this was truly heart breaking given on my last night in Mozambique. A hand full of tough chewy Calamari which was a very amount and when asked...it was the normal amount apparently. Not good value for money nor service.More

Date of visit: July 2019
Helpful?1  
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 17 June 2019 via mobile

Wonder why it took so long to find this gem. My burger was epic and my wife’s Prego delicious. Service fantastic. See you soon . We will be back

Date of visit: June 2019
Helpful?1  
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 13 April 2019 via mobile

There are but a few restaurants in Ponta that can really claim great food. This place is one of them. The home made pie is to die for.

Date of visit: April 2019
Helpful?
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 20 January 2019 via mobile

Very nice tranquil restaurant with swimming pool. The food is delicious and the atmosphere relaxing.

Date of visit: February 2018
Helpful?1  
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
View more reviews
Best nearby
Best nearby hotelsSee all
Paraiso do Ouro Resort Budget Accommodation
192 reviews
.56 km away
White Pearl Resorts Ponta Mamoli
520 reviews
15.14 km away
Ponta Mar Resort
2 reviews
.38 km away
Montebelo Milibangalala Bay & Resort
5 reviews
44.11 km away
Best nearby restaurantsSee all
Mango Cafe
94 reviews
.20 km away
Love Cafe and Deli
199 reviews
.42 km away
Pontas Restaurant
33 reviews
.42 km away
Best nearby attractionsSee all
Gozo Azul Diving
123 reviews
.34 km away
Beach Bar
59 reviews
.45 km away
Scuba Adventures - Day Trips
10 reviews
.31 km away
Fernando's Bar
35 reviews
.53 km away
Questions & Answers
Get quick answers from The Melting Pot staff and past visitors.
Note: your question will be posted publicly on the Questions & Answers page.
Submit
Posting guidelines
Is This Your Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Free Listing

The Melting Pot, Ponta do Ouro - Restaurant Reviews, Phone Number & Photos - Tripadvisor

Frequently Asked Questions about The Melting Pot

The Melting Pot is rated accordingly in the following categories by Tripadvisor travellers:
  • Food: 4
  • Service: 4
  • Value: 4