We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
About
This hotel used to be the Westover Hall
Special Diets
Vegetarian Friendly, Vegan Options
Meals
Breakfast, Dinner, Brunch, Lunch, After-hours
CUISINES
Bar, British
FEATURES
Reservations, Outdoor Seating, Private Dining, Seating, Parking Available, Highchairs Available, Wheelchair Accessible, Serves Alcohol, Full Bar, Free Wifi, Accepts Credit Cards, Table Service, Dog Friendly
Reviews (459)
Filter reviews
458 results
Traveller rating
131
141
103
46
37
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageEnglish
Traveller rating
131
141
103
46
37
Show reviews that mention
All reviews pies lovely building sunday lunch specials board needles sea garden
Selected filters
FilterEnglish
Updating list...
Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile

Went for an evening meal with a friend at the Beach House on Friday evening 04/06/21. Selected this establishment as was hoping to enjoy a drink looking at the views of the needles. As no outside seating operational, we were promised an inside seat with...the best view. Not so, just a tree ahead of us and roof tops. Occasional glimpse of the IOW as the tree swayed ahead of us. Ordered a drink each - bottled cider and an orange juice and lemonade (£9.60). Then eventually ordered deluxe fish and chips and a chicken burger. Service was quite quick thankfully, but the quantity of the meal was terrible for the cost (£13.95 each). Literally it was akin to a child's portion - a dozen chips and a thimble of mushy peas. We were both owners of healthy appetites so we're not best pleased. Taste wise, it was ok but at half the price, it would still be borderline value. I shall not be returning.More

Date of visit: June 2021
Helpful?
Reviewed 27 October 2020 via mobile

Evening meal here when staying in the hotel with the family. A nice selection of options including vege and vegan options. Food was very good and service good.

Date of visit: October 2020
Helpful?2  
Reviewed 1 October 2020

We were advise by friends to take lunch at the Beach house, after a long walk over to hurst castle we headed over to the hotel, we entered the hotel which is an amazing building to be met by a gentleman, we asked for a...table with a view over the sea although informed the only table available was near a window over looking the car park, thus we opted to sit outside, having placed our steak order we mentioned to the waitress that it would have been better to sit inside due to the wind making the food cold and she came back and offered us a table near the window over looking the sea, to our amazement there was only one other table occupied in the room and one in the room next door and was told no further bookings were in place until the evening, no one could uncrstand why we had been refused a table in the first place. Now for the good news, the steak was excellent as was the service from the other waiters and the co manager who came in duty while we were there. We had intended to go back for breakfast on Saturday and later in the year a winter break but sadly as amazing as the food and building is something is lacking when customers and not made to feel welcome This lovely building needs staff that love and respect it and the service they should be providingMore

Date of visit: October 2020
Helpful?
Curious40790536843, General Manager at The Beach House Restaurant, responded to this reviewResponded 2 October 2020

I am sorry to hear your time with us was not as it should of been. I would be grateful if you could email me at beach.house@ hall-woodhouse.co.uk and provide me with some more information i.e your name and contact details, time of your arrival/meal...More

Reviewed 1 October 2020

We booked this restaurant after someone suggesting we try it as it looked nice with great views and to let them know as they are going to NewForest in October. We had a nice welcome and taken to our table in a lovely dining room...with beautiful views. We couldn’t get in till 3.00pm but thought it would be worth waiting for. How wrong we were. We heard someone else when asked if their meal was okay reply that meat was tough, this was after we had chosen Sunday lunch. I chose beef my husband chicken. When it came the gravy was like a skin on my beef and it was the same in the gravy jug where it was cold and concealed. My beef would have made great shoe leather I could not cut it with my knife and had a big piece of gristle on my plate. The meal was cold and the roast potatoes were reheated but cold. How disappointing this was and no need for. When it came to desserts I asked for one of the specials to be told they had run out! We did tell the waitress the meat was tough and she said “sorry”. They have all the opportunities so really let themselves down. I have told our friends not to go after our experience.More

Date of visit: September 2020
Helpful?
Curious40790536843, General Manager at The Beach House Restaurant, responded to this reviewResponded 2 October 2020

Thank you for taking the time to post a review. I am sorry to hear that your experience was not up to our usual standards. I have fed back you comments to the team working on the day you dined. All feedback is appreciated as...More

Reviewed 28 September 2020 via mobile

Hadn’t booked a table but we were slotted in as we only wanted drinks. A perfect find to stop off for a few drinks with friends on a walk from Shorefields camp site. Staff were very welcoming and friendly. A fabulous choice of drinks behind...the bar. Every pub/hotel should have a big ginger cat to welcome you in. Social distancing all being adhered to. We’ve decided that we will visit again next year in the spacious beer garden that over looks the needles. A truly beautiful location. Thank you for fitting us in and making us so welcomeMore

Date of visit: September 2020
Helpful?4  
Reviewed 21 September 2020 via mobile

Pre-booked a table on line for lunch asking for an outside table but we were shown to a table inside. Very nice room with nicely spaced apart tables. Food was lovely as were the staff. Would have preferred staff to wear face covering/mask but they...did keep their distance. Will go back definitely!More

Date of visit: September 2020
Helpful?
Reviewed 20 September 2020

We were shown to winged arm chairs and low table to eat our meal. Menu basic but when the meals arrived they were of poor quality except one a Thai Green curry. I had fish which was so rubbery it could have bounced off the...plate. All I managed to eat was a small amount of mashed potato. We complained to our waitress and she sniggered in embarrassment and said she would tell the kitchen. We had no further communication with anyone until my husband paid the bill. He refused to pay for my meal and the guy begrudingly took it off without offering any apology. Awful customer service.More

Date of visit: September 2020
Helpful?1  
Curious40790536843, General Manager at The Beach House Restaurant, responded to this reviewResponded 22 September 2020

Thank you for taking the time to post you review. I am sorry that your recent visit was not as it should of been. We value all guest feedback and your comments will be passed on to the team working on the day you dined....More

Reviewed 19 September 2020 via mobile

Due to current situation looked on the web. Bookings only. We booked, we arrived only booking inside not out. Run out of tables. Not so. Many tables free. Tried another day, this time no one outside but run out of staff to serve. Really bad...service.More

Date of visit: September 2020
Helpful?1  
Curious40790536843, General Manager at The Beach House Restaurant, responded to this reviewResponded 20 September 2020

Thank you for taking the time to post your review. I am sorry that your recent visit was not as it should of been. Safety of our team and guests is our main priority. We have put guide lines in place to ensure this is...More

Reviewed 19 September 2020

What an amazing Arts and Crafts building overlooking the sea. Idyllic setting. Friendly staff but the food!!! Very third rate and did not come up to expectations at all. My ‘traditional’ prawn cocktail was an orange mess of thawed prawns and a runny orange sauce...tasting very strongly of smoked paprika. The crispy squid wasn’t. Such a shame - defo not value for moneyMore

Date of visit: September 2020
Helpful?1  
Curious40790536843, General Manager at The Beach House Restaurant, responded to this reviewResponded 20 September 2020

Thank you for taking the time to post your review. i am sorry that your recent visit was not as it should of been. We appreciate all feedback and I have spoken with the team to ensure our food standard are kept at all times....More

Reviewed 18 September 2020 via mobile

4 of us came here for lunch because we loved the look of the place ..and we weren't disappointed The rooms are large and barny with wood paneling on the walls and the staff where very smart but a bit slow,.We all enjoyed our meals...and really enjoyed having the sea and beach views... We shall come here again.. especially as it is dog friendly in the bar area and I believe they have rooms beside the main building that are dog friendly..such a lovely spotMore

Date of visit: September 2020
Helpful?1  
View more reviews
Best nearby
Best nearby hotelsSee all
South Lawn Hotel
1 175 reviews
1.37 km away
Premier Inn Lymington (New Forest, Hordle) hotel
558 reviews
4.55 km away
Stanwell House Hotel
1 981 reviews
5.63 km away
The Mayflower
444 reviews
5.75 km away
Best nearby restaurantsSee all
Verveine Fishmarket Restaurant
1 070 reviews
.69 km away
The Cedar Tree Restaurant
547 reviews
1.33 km away
Saltwater
251 reviews
.71 km away
The Lazy Lion
423 reviews
.53 km away
Best nearby attractionsSee all
The New Forest Paddle Sport Company
78 reviews
.56 km away
Taddiford Gap
5 reviews
2.23 km away
Forest Arts Centre
14 reviews
5.36 km away
Hurst Castle
1 321 reviews
3.75 km away
Questions & Answers
Ask a question
theartfuldodger007
22 July 2020|
AnswerShow all 2 answers
Response from Pearl B | Reviewed this property |
Yes they are dog friendly
1
Vote
814diana
23 September 2019|
AnswerShow all 3 answers
Response from HallandWoodhouse | Property representative |
Hi there, If you get in contact with us I will be able to discuss. Tommy Assistant Manager
0
Votes
Tina K
16 May 2018|
Answer
Response from Beef36 | Reviewed this property |
Booking is recommended
0
Votes
Is This Your Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Free Listing
Frequently Asked Questions about The Beach House Restaurant

The Beach House Restaurant is rated accordingly in the following categories by Tripadvisor travellers:
  • Food: 3.5
  • Service: 3.5
  • Value: 3.5
  • Atmosphere: 3.5