We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Greedy Buddha

12 on Palm Boulevard | Gateway, Umhlanga 4319, South Africa
+27 31 566 4383
Website
Share
Save
Map updates are paused. Zoom in to see updated info.
Reset zoom
Updating Map...
Overview
  • Excellent63%
  • Very good23%
  • Average7%
  • Poor3%
  • Terrible4%
Travellers talk about
“duck” (22 reviews)
“tasting menu” (18 reviews)
“dim sum” (16 reviews)
Closed Now
Hours
CUISINES
Asian, Thai, Vegetarian Friendly, Vegan Options, Gluten Free Options
PRICE
RR - RRR
RATINGS
Food
Service
Value
Atmosphere
LOCATION
12 on Palm Boulevard | Gateway, Umhlanga 4319, South Africa
All Details
Write a ReviewReviews (266)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

1 - 10 of 264 reviews

Reviewed 2 days ago via mobile

My family really enjoyed the menu options - healthy, varied and yummy. The setting and staff were also so pleasant!

Thank JanandMel_11
Reviewed 2 days ago via mobile

Wow what a place! When my hisband suprised me with a table booked at the Greedy Buddha, I was in for a serious treat. After having the Taste Menu, I can honestly say Ive never tasted anything else like it. Well done Greedy Buddha, we...More

Thank Colani H
Reviewed 2 days ago via mobile

We spontaneously ended up at the greedy Buddha for dinner with the girls. Delicious food, great service and wonderful ambiance. Definitely a place to try if you haven’t yet!

1  Thank 135kimberg
Reviewed 2 days ago via mobile

Had the most amazing and delicious dinner!!! We sat on the balcony and it had such a wonderful atmosphere. I would highly recommend anyone to try it out.

1  Thank tarma-lee f
Reviewed 2 days ago via mobile

What an amazing place! Great location, nice relaxed vibe and food was phenomenal. It is usually quite difficult to please a table of 20 or so women out for a work celebration, but we all loved our meals and drinks and service was awesome. We...More

Thank CourtneyC1985
Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

We went to the Greedy Buddha for a work dinner. It was a magical evening with great ambiance, delicious food and brilliant service. Can’t wait to go back and try out some other delicious foods.

Thank Nicola S
Don n, Manager at Greedy Buddha, responded to this reviewResponded 4 days ago

Thank you appreciating our divine dishes, it was a pleasure hosting you and your colleagues. We appreciate your valued support.

Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile

We went to the Greedy Buddha restaurant for a birthday dinner and we were absolutely disappointed. All of the food from the starters to the mains had no flavour. The meat was underseasoned and had that meaty/ couchy taste. We didn't bother to try desert...More

Thank KAS2904
Don n, Manager at Greedy Buddha, responded to this reviewResponded 4 days ago

Please accept my sincere apology for your disappointing dining experience.Please allow my team and I to make it up to you. Would it be possible for me to contact and invite you back to Greedy Buddha so you can truly taste the fabulous flavors that...More

Reviewed 4 weeks ago

My wife an I felt like having Thai food and it was a while since we last visited Greedy Buddha so decided to have dinner there. The restaurant was revamped and had a good ambiance although not full, surprising for a Friday evening. Starters were...More

Thank Anil N
Don n, Manager at Greedy Buddha, responded to this reviewResponded 4 days ago

Firstly, thank you for revisiting our restaurant, I think it is safe to say that your previous visits were nothing short of amazing, hence you returned.Accept my humble apology on the chef's behalf for dropping the ball on that occasion.Allow us to make your next...More

Reviewed 7 September 2018

Went for dinner with friends...good ambience, friendly service. But food...some fresh some not so. Had gone for Asian fare, was disappointed

Thank ChandabhA
Reviewed 1 September 2018 via mobile

Firstly, the service was excellent, we were served by a gentleman named Lionel. The sushi as a starter was amazing, as were the cocktails and the chilli chicken won tons. The noodles however were INEDIBLE!! The pork belly was undercooked and blackish / grey in...More

Thank Chloë N
Nearby
Nearby HotelsSee all 2 hotels
City Lodge Hotel Umhlanga Ridge
171 reviews
.02 km away
Royal Palm Hotel
335 reviews
.13 km away
Road Lodge Umhlanga
88 reviews
.18 km away
Protea Hotel Durban Umhlanga Ridge
346 reviews
.26 km away
Nearby Restaurants
Col'Cacchio pizzeria
109 reviews
.14 km away
Beluga
81 reviews
.16 km away
Sugarlicious
25 reviews
.02 km away
Nearby Attractions
Mindgame Escape
31 reviews
1.67 km away
Cornubia Mall
9 reviews
1.98 km away
Umhlanga Main Beach
801 reviews
2.05 km away
Gateway Theatre of Shopping
562 reviews
.12 km away
Questions & Answers
Get quick answers from Greedy Buddha staff and past visitors.
Note: your question will be posted publicly on the Questions & Answers page.
Posting guidelines
Submit
Improve this listing

Restaurant Details

Rating summary
  • Food
    Service
  • Value
    Atmosphere
Meals
Lunch, Dinner, Drinks
Restaurant features
Takeout, Outdoor Seating, Seating, Waitstaff, Parking Available, Serves Alcohol, Full Bar, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Reservations, Street Parking, Wheelchair Accessible, Wine and Beer, Free Wifi, Accepts Credit Cards
Good for
Business meetings, Child-friendly, Groups, Special Occasion Dining, Romantic
Open Hours
Sunday
12:00 - 00:00
Monday
16:30 - 00:00
Tuesday
12:00 - 00:00
Wednesday
12:00 - 00:00
Thursday
12:00 - 00:00
Friday
12:00 - 00:00
Saturday
12:00 - 00:00
Location and Contact Information
  • Address: 12 on Palm Boulevard | Gateway, Umhlanga 4319, South Africa
  • Location: Africa  >  South Africa  >  KwaZulu-Natal  >  Umhlanga
  • Phone Number: +27 31 566 4383
  • E-mail
Description
At Greedy Buddha we aim to offer our guests a refreshing and unique approach to dining in SA. We are not an Asian restaurant but our menu and our food philosophy is inspired by the tastes and flavours of South East Asia. You can dine entirely on our Tapas style menu with over 40 different dishes to choose from....Or you can take the more traditional route and have a starter, main and dessert...The choice is yours. Our food philosophy is to take the freshest and most seasonal ingredients and create dishes that fuse the very best techniques and flavours of Eastern and Western cuisine. The results speak for themselves. Call it Asian inspired or call it fusion, we will charm your taste buds in a way that leaves you wanting more!
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more. Claim Your Listing