We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Travel safe during COVID-19
What you can expect during your visit
  • Face masks required for staff in public areas
  • Hand sanitizer available to guests & staff
  • Regular temperature checks for staff
  • Socially distanced dining tables
  • Staff required to regularly wash hands
  • Tables disinfected between guests
Read more
Updated 20/07/07 Safety precautions are provided by the property and are not checked by Tripadvisor for accuracy.
A note from Annapurna
Updated 20/07/07 Safety precautions are provided by the property and are not checked by Tripadvisor for accuracy.
About
We are a family operated restaurant, we have been in existence since 2002. We strive on providing quality food, service of the highest level. Extra care is taken when preparing food during this current pandemic situation. Please take note that only reservations will be accepted and no Walk in , due to the Social Distancing protocols. Take-away orders are gladly accepted. We are now taking reservations for sit-down dinner.
Special Diets
Vegetarian Friendly, Vegan Options, Gluten Free Options
Meals
Lunch, Dinner
CUISINES
Indian
FEATURES
Reservations, Seating, Wheelchair Accessible, Serves Alcohol, Table Service, Takeout, Gift Cards Available
Reviews (81)
Filter reviews
81 results
Traveller rating
66
11
3
1
0
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageEnglish
Traveller rating
66
11
3
1
0
Show reviews that mention
All reviews curry lamb rogan josh butter naan chops prawns indian food welcoming smile an incredible experience cape town personal service ricky dishes masood
Selected filters
FilterEnglish
Updating list...
Reviewed 26 September 2020 via mobile

My husband and I have been to Annapurna on many a special occasion and it never fails to impress. The best Indian food in the area (by far) and Ricky prides himself in the attention to detail, his cuatomera and an explanations of the dishes....Naan bread (good enough to sell your grandmother for) and amazing curries.More

Date of visit: February 2020
Helpful?
Ricky86wp, Owner at Annapurna, responded to this reviewResponded 28 September 2020

Hi, Many thanks for your review, greatly appreciated. Take care and be safe till next time from Team Annapurna - Ricky

Reviewed 18 July 2020 via mobile

Went to this restaurant amidst the Covid 19 lockdown and what an incredible experience .With a great host and a variety of meal options you will not be disappointed .North indian cuisine at its finest!

Date of visit: July 2020
Helpful?
Ricky86wp, Owner at Annapurna, responded to this reviewResponded 19 July 2020

Hi Wolter many thanks for your review on Annapurna Durbanville heritage square. Under these very trying times its great to know that we can still have support from our loyal patrons, thank you again and stay safe , regards from team Annapurna Ricky

Reviewed 6 July 2020 via mobile

Amazing authentic Indian cuisine! All three main meals were delicious! (Prawn Kadai, Butter Chicken & Lamb Rogan Josh with basmati rice and Butter naan) Ricky the owner is super friendly too!More

Date of visit: July 2020
Helpful?
Ricky86wp, Owner at Annapurna, responded to this reviewResponded 7 July 2020

Hi Wayne, Many thanks for your review, at Annapurna we are passionate about quality and consistency, my team and I have high standards hence it shows in our dishes. Your valued support is greatly appreciated during these though economic times. Take care, be safe and...More

Reviewed 8 May 2020

For any occasion, Annapurna provides authentic Indian cuisine in a comfortable, cosy atmosphere. The menu is extensive yet we find ourselves re-ordering our favourite dishes time and time again. The food is consistently good and well portioned, and is perfect comfort food when you just...need to get out and relax - it has been our favourite place for years. Personal and friendly service from owner Ricky makes us feel welcome every time and adds a special flair to the overall experience.More

Date of visit: May 2020
Helpful?
Ricky86wp, Owner at Annapurna, responded to this reviewResponded 10 May 2020

Hi Lee, thank you for your review greatly appreciated and thanks for your patronage during the lockdown. Take care and be safe, regards management and staff og Annapurna Durbanville

Reviewed 2 March 2020 via mobile

Very nice Restaurant with authentic indian food, the owner is very friendly and helpful. We enjoyed our evening and we will come again for sure 👍

Date of visit: March 2020
Helpful?
Ricky86wp, Owner at Annapurna, responded to this reviewResponded 4 March 2020

Hi thanks for your time in reviewing Annapurna Durbanville, always a pleasure to serve quality North Indian Cuisine. Take care till next time regards Ricky

Reviewed 27 February 2020

We found them again, not that we were looking too hard, but we found them, and we are so glad we did. Small in size by comparison, but just the right size for an amazing intimate dining experience. The food was of excellent quality, quick...on service and absolutely yummy. The owner, Ricky, made sure everything was perfect, without being in your face the whole time. We went for the food, and the food speaks for itself. Definitely recommended.More

Date of visit: February 2020
Helpful?
Ricky86wp, Owner at Annapurna, responded to this reviewResponded 28 February 2020

Hi Henrik,it was great serve you and your wife again thanks for the awesome review and the chat. Take care and see you soon Regards Ricky

Reviewed 8 January 2020 via mobile

Pricey food but don't mind paying a premium for top nosh. Had the prawn jalfrezi which would have been great if the prawns had been fresh. They weren't. They were those tasteless frozen jobs that I suspect had been defrosted in the microwave. The result...was rubbery overcooked prawns that seriously disappointed. Shame, as the sauce was delicious.More

Date of visit: January 2020
Helpful?
Ricky86wp, Owner at Annapurna, responded to this reviewResponded 9 January 2020

Hi Andrew, Thanks for raising the issue of frozen prawns, however if you can source fresh prawns for me, please be my first supplier who can procure and supply fresh prawns in the Western Cape. You had more than one opportunity of raising the issue...More

Reviewed 17 December 2019 via mobile

What an amazing restaurant. Tiny little place. The owner sat down and explained the menu and different breads. He also took the time to explain how the spice and hotness works. 0/10 - 12/10. Yes there is a 12/10. It was amazing.

Date of visit: December 2019
Helpful?1  
Ricky86wp, Owner at Annapurna, responded to this reviewResponded 6 January 2020

Hi There, apologies for the late response, been out seeking out new dishes to add to our amazing choices of dishes. Thank you for your feedback on your experience at Annapurna Durbanville, greatly appreciated, take care till next time. regards Ricky and team

Reviewed 28 October 2019 via mobile

My misses and I wanted a good curry. We came across this cozy little curry restaurant and were blown away. The food was out of this world, the owner and the staff made you feel so welcome and at home. We will be back ASAP....What a special treat.More

Date of visit: October 2019
Helpful?
Ricky86wp, Owner at Annapurna, responded to this reviewResponded 30 October 2019

Hi Graeme, Thanks for taking the time to review Annapurna Durbanville, We strive to create and produce quality North Indian Cuisine. Come back soon , many thanks Ricky and Staff

Reviewed 2 October 2019

The restaurant has a lovely atmosphere. Ricky, the owner is very friendly and entertaining. The curry was good and hot, as always.

Date of visit: July 2019
Helpful?
Ricky86wp, Owner at Annapurna, responded to this reviewResponded 7 October 2019

Hi Thank you for reviewing Annapurna Durbanville, much appreciated. See you soon regards Ricky

View more reviews
Best nearby
Best nearby hotelsSee all
Four Palms Accommodation
121 reviews
1.95 km away
Protea Hotel Cape Town Durbanville
293 reviews
3.22 km away
Sontyger Guesthouse
40 reviews
4.79 km away
Town Lodge Bellville The Lodge Hotel
78 reviews
5.76 km away
Best nearby restaurantsSee all
Saltwater Grill Durbanville
84 reviews
.33 km away
RocoMamas Durbanville
148 reviews
.18 km away
Shakespeare's Restaurant
21 reviews
.05 km away
Best nearby attractionsSee all
Groot Phesantekraal Wines
37 reviews
1.06 km away
Playzone
5 reviews
.89 km away
Palapai
11 reviews
.10 km away
Durbanville Golf Club
24 reviews
1.17 km away
Questions & Answers
Ask a question
FerialM17
12 December 2018|
Answer
Response from Keith P | Reviewed this property |
Hi, they are halaal,I am not sure about menu and cost but average cost of say a curry is R140 / R160
0
Votes
FerialM17
12 December 2018|
AnswerShow all 3 answers
Response from Ricky86wp | Property representative |
Hi Yoiu can look at the dining-out website, type in Annapurna Cape Town, and you find a full menu with prices
1
Vote
Is This Your Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Free Listing