We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

Gaaitjie Restaurant

Certificate of Excellence
Map
Satellite
Map updates are paused. Zoom in to see updated info.
Reset zoom
Updating Map...
Get directions
Sampson Street, Paternoster | Off Sampson Road, Paternoster, Saldanha Bay Municipality 7381, South Africa
+27 22 752 2242
Website
Monday
Closed
Hours:
Thu - Mon 12:00 - 22:00
More Info
Add Photo Write a Review

742 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Showing 666: English reviews
Camberley, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
13 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 days ago NEW

We were in Paternoster on a Monday when not all restaurants were open. The staff were very welcoming and friendly and the menu was interesting. Our Mussel starter was delicious but the fish part of my Monkfish main meal was cold when it arrived and more spicy than I had expected. However my husband's Kingklip was delicious, though still bit... More 

Helpful?
Thank Anne R
A TripAdvisor Member
Reviewed 5 days ago NEW via mobile

Lunch on the stoep with wonderful view right on the beach. Had stompneus fish for lunch and Donkieskraal wine. Very enjoyable setting in an old house.

Helpful?
Thank A TripAdvisor Member
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
Reviewed 5 days ago NEW

loved the location and decor. the food was glorius ...tuna starter still makes my mouth water . just loved it

Helpful?
Thank 27debbyr
GaaitjieRestaurant, Manager at Gaaitjie Restaurant, responded to this review

Dear 27debbyr. Thank you for your visit to Gaaitjie restaurant. We appreciate your review and hope to welcome you back again in the near future. Kind regards, The Gaaitjie Team. More 

Level Contributor
50 reviews
36 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

Sat outside which although we couldn't see the ocean as it was nighttime was still lovely to hear and smell. Ordered prawn tails in phyllo pastry and calamari for starters and crispy Monk fish for main. Calamari was beautifully presented and tasted good BUT, and I don't know how it got in there, it had sand in it. Extra crunch... More 

Helpful?
Thank andrewe232
GaaitjieRestaurant, Manager at Gaaitjie Restaurant, responded to this review

Dear Andrewe232. Thank you for your review. The prawns tails was in Katafi, which is a phyllo pasrty that is cut into very thin strings. We use patagonica which is not calamari streaks or rings, we will definitely give more attention when we are cleaning this. The monk fish only has a bread crust on the top and is not... More 

Leeds, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
526 reviews
243 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 247 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 week ago

I visit Paternoster often and have been to Gaaitjie many times. Ihave noticed over the last few visits that the standard of the food has been slipping. This time I chose Kingklip. It was a huge portion of Kingklip, far too much for one person, so one third of the portion was wasted. It was also over cooked. However, the... More 

Helpful?
Thank lisasplaces
Johannesburg, South Africa
Level Contributor
19 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

We visited this resturant twice in one week. 1st time we only had some craft beers and sat outside with a gorgeous view of the ocean. We had a lovely visit and decided to make a booking for their dinners. We returned for the dinner and the setting again was lovely. We watched the sun go down while waiting for... More 

Helpful?
1 Thank Brigs H
GaaitjieRestaurant, Manager at Gaaitjie Restaurant, responded to this review

Dear Brigs H. Thank you for your review. I am sorry to hear you have mixed feelings. We do hope that yo will return in the near future to try our food again. Kind regards. More 

New York City, New York
Level Contributor
74 reviews
46 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 week ago

We came here on the recommendation of a local. Luckily it was off season so we were able to get a table. Our table was overlooking the beach and probably because it was off season it was quite quiet and relaxing. We ordered a couple of appetizers and a main meal and everything was superbly fresh. Our waitress was extremely... More 

Helpful?
Thank faurecia
GaaitjieRestaurant, Manager at Gaaitjie Restaurant, responded to this review

Dear Faurecia. Thank you for your review. We are delighted to hear you enjoyed your time at Gaaitjie restaurant. Kind regards, Gaaitjie team More 

Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile

I have no idea what the food is like and after today also never will. Arrived at 14:05 realising they may be full. Luckily this was not the case as about a third of the tables were empty. As we got out of the vehicle the chef ran into the restaurant and back out with a sign saying the kitchen... More 

Helpful?
1 Thank AlbJor
GaaitjieRestaurant, Manager at Gaaitjie Restaurant, responded to this review

Dear AlbJor. Thank youu for your review. I do apologize that your timing and our timing did not work out. We usually put out our notice board at 2pm to say that lunch service is over, during busier times we can extend service if it is viable, this is also when the chefs get's their first break before starting to... More 

Mombasa, Kenya
Level Contributor
8 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 weeks ago

Stunning freshly prepared seafood. The snoek salad was phenomenal! We had snoek, the calamari, monkfish and mussels. All were delicious. So good in fact we went back in the evening and had supper there! Excellent restaurant, great service and amazing chef!

Helpful?
Thank 0308MelP
Somerset West, South Africa
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
Reviewed 3 weeks ago via mobile

The position is wonderful, right on Paternoster beach but at night there is no ambience. The lighting is bright, the decor is minimal and the food is disappointing. Flavours are not great. Cumin mussels is not the best combo, the fish cakes had an over powering fishy taste and the seared tuna was lovely but just the tiniest portion. The... More 

Helpful?
Thank Sandy J
GaaitjieRestaurant, Manager at Gaaitjie Restaurant, responded to this review

Dear Sandy . Thank you for taking the time to review Gaaitjie Restaurant. We appreciate your attention to décor etc. We were in the midst of redecorating therefore the restaurant was lacking what you were looking for. Do feel free to come by and see the newly decorated and lighted Gaaitjie. Most people love the fragrant mussels and prefer it... More 

Travellers who viewed Gaaitjie Restaurant also viewed

Paternoster, Saldanha Bay Municipality
Paternoster, Saldanha Bay Municipality
 
Paternoster, Saldanha Bay Municipality
Paternoster, Saldanha Bay Municipality
 

Been to Gaaitjie Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing
Improve this listing

Restaurant Details

Rating summary
  • Food
    Service
  • Value
    Atmosphere
Average prices
US$30 - US$40
Cuisine
Seafood, Vegetarian Friendly, Gluten Free Options
Meals
Lunch, Dinner
Restaurant features
Outdoor Seating, Waitstaff, Parking Available, Free Off-Street Parking, Wheelchair Accessible, Serves Alcohol, Full Bar, Wine and Beer, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Reservations, Seating
Good for
Romantic, View, Special Occasion Dining, Local cuisine, Child-friendly
Open Hours
Sunday
12:00 - 22:00
Monday
12:00 - 22:00
Thursday
12:00 - 22:00
Friday
12:00 - 22:00
Saturday
12:00 - 22:00
Location and Contact Information
  • Address: Sampson Street, Paternoster | Off Sampson Road, Paternoster, Saldanha Bay Municipality 7381, South Africa
  • Location: Africa  >  South Africa  >  Western Cape  >  Saldanha Bay Municipality  >  Paternoster
  • Phone Number: +27 22 752 2242
Description
We bring you a unique dining experience.. Explore the Paternoster beach and nestled amongst the rocks, you will find a simple white-washed fisherman's cottage. This 70 year old building, known as 'Gaaitjie' has a warm, nostalgic atmosphere, true to its heritage. This unique atmosphere of tradition and comfort has inspired an eclectic menu featuring local produce, fused with contemporary and Asian influences. Our food is unpretentious and made with love, using sustainable fresh local produce as far as possible. Our décor is modest and comfortable and our unique location promises spectacular views to compliment a memorable dining experience.

Questions & Answers

Here's what previous visitors have asked, with answers from representatives of Gaaitjie Restaurant and other visitors
5 questions
Ask a question

See all questions (5)

Questions? Get answers from Gaaitjie Restaurant staff and past visitors.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Do you have gluten-free options?
  • Is there a dress code?
  • Do you allow dogs on the outdoor patio?