We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Nkasa Lupala Tented Lodge

Sangwali Road to Mamili NP, Sangwali 9000 Namibia
avatar-imageavatar-imageavatar-image
Traveller (345)
Room & Suite (65)
Dining (16)

View prices for your travel dates

Prices are provided by our partners, and reflect average nightly room rates, including taxes and fees that are fixed, known to our partners, and due at time of booking. Please see our partners for more details.

About

#1 of 2 lodges in Sangwali
Location
Cleanliness
Service
Value
Nkasa Lupala tented lodge is built on the banks of one of the many channels of the Kwando-Linyanti river system. This unique Namibian wetland paradise in the eastern Caprivi region, is commonly known as Mamili and was recently renamed Nkasa Lupala National Park. The lodge and the Wuparo conservancy are part of the successful and award winning Namibian conservancy program.
Read more
Suggest edits to improve what we show.Improve this listing
Property amenities
Free parking
Secured parking
Free internet
Outdoor pool
Bar / lounge
Mosquito net
Outdoor fireplace
Laundry service
Wifi
Restaurant
Breakfast buffet
Sun terrace
Show more
Room features
Safe
Room types
Non-smoking rooms
Family rooms
Good to know
HOTEL CLASS
4.0 of 5 stars
HOTEL STYLE
Charming
Languages Spoken
English, Italian

Location

Sangwali Road to Mamili NP, Sangwali 9000 Namibia
Nkasa Lupala Tented Lodge
349Reviews3Q+A26Room tips
Traveller rating
  • 229
  • 82
  • 20
  • 11
  • 7
Time of year
Traveller type
Language
  • More
Selected filters
  • Filter
  • English
Popular mentions
Sort by:
Most Recent
avatar-image
gabriela ruiz wrote a review 14 Apr
Barcelona, Spain4 contributions
I spent to 2 nights in this beautiful, vibrant and charming place, full of good energy, immersed in an unparalleled environment. I just have lovely things to say, the staff was very professional and friendly, the food was good and abundant, the kindness of the owner was 20/10, always ready to help and make you feel at home. We dream to be back soon.
Read more
Date of stay: March 2024
Value
Rooms
Location
Cleanliness
Service
Sleep Quality
Trip type: Travelled with friends
Room Tip: Book in advance!
See more room tips
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Helpful
Share
avatar-image
Andrew d wrote a review Nov 2023
Johannesburg, South Africa3 contributions2 helpful votes
Have just returned from a wonderful three night stay at Nkasa Lupala with old friends. We were looking to stay somewhere as remote as possible, but be comfortable at the same time. We arrived late (after supper), and the lodge even sent a ranger to go in search of us as they were concerned about our whereabouts. We did all the activities (boats, walks, drives etc) and were very impressed with the lodge, the staff and the food. As can be expected with running a lodge in such a remote place there were some minor issues, such as electricity going out from time to time. But nothing that bothered or concerned us. All round, very impressed, and I look forward to returning with my family in August for a trip I have already booked! Well done to the Nkasa Lupala team.
Read more
Date of stay: November 2023
Value
Rooms
Location
Cleanliness
Service
Sleep Quality
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Helpful
Share
avatar-image
E494LWinfo wrote a review Nov 2023
Frankfurt, Germany1 contribution
Small tents, no AC, unfriendly staff in restaurant and bar. Guests are not welcome for lunch. Lunch size micro but prices high. 2 chicken drumsticks and 2 leaves of salad for 100 N$. Dinner portions small. Nobody of the guest was satisfied and all went to bed hungry. Only guides at game drives friendly and really competent. No ice cubes to cool drinks. Solution easy: Invest in solar panels. Sun is available. Tents dirty in all corners.Tents too small to place suit case but on floor.
Read more
Date of stay: October 2023
Value
Rooms
Location
Cleanliness
Service
Sleep Quality
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Helpful
Share
Response from Simone Micheletti, General Manager at Nkasa Lupala Tented Lodge
Responded 06 Nov 2023
The fact that you only have 1 contribution on Trip advisor makes this review very suspicious not only because is very unfair.
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
avatar-image
iniks776625 wrote a review Oct 2023
Voerendaal, The Netherlands1 contribution
In nov 2022 we contacted you directly because we wanted to celebrate our 39th wedding anniversary.Your reaction was not correct, telling us the bookings we could book.On Oct 2 we were guests for 4 nights, on Oct 5th was our day.No single gesture or congratulation. Nothing at all.One big disappointment
Read more
Date of stay: October 2023
Value
Rooms
Location
Cleanliness
Service
Sleep Quality
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Helpful
Share
avatar-image
purplemyrtles wrote a review Oct 2023
Kent, United Kingdom305 contributions139 helpful votes
This is a very nice camp but you need to have well researched it first to make sure it’s for you. If you want a luxury tented camp, as this was described to us you will be very disappointed as no air conditioning, electricity only part of the day, limited and poor water pressure for showers. If you want a remote camp with a great authentic feel, then you’ll love it with an adventurous c10k sand drive into the camp and lovely communal outside dinners overlooking the wilderness and their waterhole. Disappointed that when the camp is full their game vehicles and their boats for their combo excursions are full rather than being spread out, making it feel a very overcrowded experience with poor viewing and the activities durations being shorter than described.
Read more
Date of stay: October 2023Trip type: Travelled as a couple
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Helpful
Share
avatar-image
Wilbi wrote a review Oct 2023
8 contributions2 helpful votes
Adventurous approach with 4x4 Wheel Drive :-) But you can also be picked up at a safe place. As so often in Namibia: cordial service with dedicated people who give us a great vacation. The location in the zoo is spectacular and you have the impression to really be off. The pool just above the waterhole seems ideal for refreshment, but turned out to be a box seat for watching elephants, warthogs and monkeys up close. And that is meant literally. Meals are taken at a long table with all the guests, which gives a wonderful sense of community. Retreats are given throughout the day. Game drives by day and night and river make this lodge an attractive spot. This tented lodge is equipped with everything you would expect. And note: this does not mean that there are all luxuries - it is a tented lodge! Built as a sustainable location in the middle of nature, the local resources are used sparingly, which also means that in the evening the solar power finds its end or the WiFi behaves quite ponderously. A complete, lockable tent with bed, shower, bathroom and safe. The door of the tent withstood even the break-in attempts of the monkeys :-) For us a great experience!
Read more
Date of stay: September 2023
Value
Location
Service
Trip type: Travelled with friends
Room Tip: Do a game drive AND a boat trip.
See more room tips
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Helpful
Share
avatar-image
pimingsdorfer wrote a review Aug 2023
1 contribution
Top Service, excelent food with especial the breakfast! Our Tiop: do the Combodrive = interesting gamedrives, we saw a lot af animals (Warthoogs, Impala, Buffalo, Zebra, Elefants and at least Lions ...) with an Waste our top driver
Read more
Date of stay: July 2023
Value
Rooms
Location
Cleanliness
Service
Sleep Quality
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Helpful
Share
Response from Simone Micheletti, General Manager at Nkasa Lupala Tented Lodge
Responded 11 Aug 2023
Thank you for the positive feedback!
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
avatar-image
Louis M wrote a review Jul 2023
Pretoria, Gauteng, South Africa13 contributions2 helpful votes
This lodge is in a remote area and you really get the feeling of being deep in te bush. The best experience we had was the river cruise where the birdwatching and hippos was magnificent. The staff is super nice and the viewing deck is a fantastic place to relax. The negatives are that our shower was cold and poor. The food at this lodge is very basic with very little choice. These are probably factors of really being deep in the bush so I would definitely say it is worth a visit.
Read more
Date of stay: July 2023Trip type: Travelled with family
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Helpful
Share
avatar-image
Casey A wrote a review Jun 2023
8 contributions
I stayed here for two nights during a trip through Namibia. What a wonderful little corner to visit. The lodge is located just outside of Nkasa Rupara NP and game drives were offered in the park. Many great animal sightings were had, including lion and buffalo. Also offered are night drives and boat trips up the Linyanti river. Come visit this piece of paradise. Wonderful place to stay with great food, nice location and adequate lodgings.
Read more
Date of stay: May 2023
Value
Location
Service
Trip type: Travelled solo
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Helpful
Share
avatar-image
Voyageur k wrote a review May 2023
Geneva, Switzerland259 contributions51 helpful votes
We stayed there for two nights, the lodge was booked by our travel agency. When I looked at the previous reviews here and on booking platforms, I was a little worried about our future stay. And I must say we were very satisfied of our experience. A small lodge, with tents that are well equipped. Of course, there is no air conditioning, no minibar…but we come here to experience Africa 😀 Food was simple, but good and tasty. I saw many reviews from people complaining about the quality of the food… Taking into account the fact that we are in the middle of the bush, I would say that they are doing miracles. People were kind and attentive, with a professional welcome from Conor. I particularly recommend the COMBO game drive, as the cruise was really amazing. For those who had written that during dry season there are no animals, please look at the picture! 15 elephants to accompany our breakfast. Nevertheless it is true that there are not so many animals at that period of the year, compared to other reserves. But nature is so beautiful! Last detail: I would suggest to add Coke 0 and sparkling water to the list of drinks at the restaurant.
Read more
Date of stay: May 2023Trip type: Travelled as a couple
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Helpful
Share
Previous
123456
Not the right property for you?
There are more places to choose from in the Sangwali area.
PRICE RANGE
R 4,312 - R 5,731 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
LOCATION
NamibiaCaprivi RegionSangwali
NUMBER OF ROOMS
10
Prices are provided by our partners, and reflect average nightly room rates, including taxes and fees that are fixed, known to our partners, and due at time of booking. Please see our partners for more details.
Is This Your Tripadvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing

NKASA LUPALA TENTED LODGE - Reviews & Price Comparison (Sangwali, Namibia) - Tripadvisor

Frequently Asked Questions about Nkasa Lupala Tented Lodge
Which popular attractions are close to Nkasa Lupala Tented Lodge?
Nearby attractions include Nkasa Rupara National Park (2.5 km).
What are some of the property amenities at Nkasa Lupala Tented Lodge?
Some of the more popular amenities offered include an on-site restaurant, a lounge, and free parking.
What food & drink options are available at Nkasa Lupala Tented Lodge?
Guests can enjoy an on-site restaurant and a lounge during their stay.
Is parking available at Nkasa Lupala Tented Lodge?
Yes, free parking and secured parking are available to guests.
Are there opportunities to exercise at Nkasa Lupala Tented Lodge?
Yes, guests have access to an outdoor pool during their stay.
Which languages are spoken by the staff at Nkasa Lupala Tented Lodge?
The staff speaks multiple languages, including English and Italian.