We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Save
Share
Govan Mbeki Drive next to Mooi River Mall, Potchefstroom 2531 South Africa
Expedia.com
Hotels.com
Traveluro
Orbitz.com
Travelocity
FindHotel
View all 10 deals
* Prices are provided by our partners, and reflect average nightly room rates, including taxes and fees that are fixed, known to our partners, and due at time of booking. Please see our partners for more details.
Traveller (8)
Dining (8)
Room & Suite (6)
Travel safe during COVID-19
Visit our Travel Safe hub to see how we're helping you make more informed travel decisions during COVID-19.
What you can expect during your stay
  • All linens sanitised in high-temperature wash
  • Face masks required for guests in public areas
  • Face masks required for staff in public areas
  • Floors marked for social distancing
  • Hand sanitiser available to guests & staff
  • Regularly sanitised high-traffic areas
Read more
Updated 20/06/26 Safety precautions are provided by the property and are not checked by Tripadvisor for accuracy.
A note from Road Lodge Potchefstroom
Updated 20/06/26 Safety precautions are provided by the property and are not checked by Tripadvisor for accuracy.

About

#1 of 2 hotels in Potchefstroom
Location
Cleanliness
Service
Value
Ideally located at the Mooi River Mall on Nelson Mandela Drive and just a stone’s throw from the central business district and the country club, this hotel is perfect for business and leisure travellers visiting this part of the North West province. The hotel has a highly contemporary look and feel and provides a wide range of features and services for budget conscious travellers.
Read more
Property amenities
Free parking
Free High Speed Internet (WiFi)
Wifi
Outdoor pool
Non-smoking hotel
Room features
Air conditioning
Room types
Non-smoking rooms
Good to know
HOTEL CLASS
52Reviews5Q+A13Room tips
Traveller rating
  • 16
  • 20
  • 12
  • 2
  • 2
Time of year
Traveller type
Language
Selected filters
  • Filter
  • English
Popular mentions
Sort by:
Most Recent
Ma T wrote a review Jan 2022
3 contributions
The dining area is a bit small when the hotel has many guests booked in, but other than that, I had no problems, the rooms are amazing, with everything I needed and I enjoyed my stay very well. I will highly recommend them!
Read more
Date of stay: January 2022
Value
Service
Sleep Quality
Trip type: Travelled on business
Room Tip: Ask for a bathroom with a bath tub included if you prefer to have a bath tub and not only a shower.
See more room tips
Helpful
Share
Response from Public Relations Manager, Agency / Consultant at Road Lodge Potchefstroom
Responded 01 Feb 2022
Thank you for staying with us and for the constructive and lovely review. We look forward to having you stay with us again soon.
Read more
Jasper wrote a review Sep 2021
1 contribution
I needed a bed and bathroom for an overnight stay, and the room served my needs perfectly. The room was clean and neat. We were accommodates with early access, due to arriving earlier than expected. Fairly priced and friendly staff.
Read more
Date of stay: September 2021Trip type: Travelled on business
Helpful
Share
Response from Public Relations Manager, Agency / Consultant at Road Lodge Potchefstroom
Responded 28 Sep 2021
Thank you for choosing one of our hotels as you spend quality and memorable time with your loved ones. We are delighted to hear your appraisal of our friendly staff and hotel facilities. We look forward to welcoming you again soon!
Read more
Patrick McCarthy wrote a review Mar 2020
29 contributions2 helpful votes
We were passing through Potchefstroom and decided to pop into the hotel to see if they had an available room. Wow, the staff were very professional and friendly and they immediately assisted us. We were booked in without delay and I must say that everything was just perfect. Very clean and tidy. I would recommend this place to anybody.
Read more
Date of stay: March 2020
Rooms
Cleanliness
Service
Helpful
Share
Response from The_CLHG_Team, Public Relations Manager at Road Lodge Potchefstroom
Responded 13 Mar 2020
Thank you for choosing one of our hotels as you spend quality and memorable time with your loved ones. We are delighted to hear your appraisal of our friendly staff and hotel facilities. We look forward to welcoming you again soon!
Read more
527johndaniels wrote a review Sep 2019
Cape Town, South Africa8 contributions
The hotel is of the lower cost type and I did not expect more than what I paid for. It was clean and has a swimming pool. It is close to a shopping mall, which closes too early for city dwellers. Unfortunately the satellite tv channel did not have my favourite sports channel, but lots of soccer.
Read more
Date of stay: September 2019
Rooms
Location
Service
Trip type: Travelled on business
Room Tip: We were in a room in the thirties, close to the swimming pool. Perhaps not the best location as...
See more room tips
Helpful
Share
Response from The_CLHG_Team, Public Relations Manager at Road Lodge Potchefstroom
Responded 07 Oct 2019
Thank you for staying with us and we are so glad that you had a great stay! We look forward to welcoming you back soon.
Read more
halcyonbp wrote a review Sep 2019
George, South Africa166 contributions52 helpful votes
There is an expectation that hotels in a well known chain will conform to the required standards. This hotel exceeded those standards. Staff were all pleasant and efficient. Rooms were clean, well maintained and functional. Good value in an excellent central location.
Read more
Date of stay: August 2019
Location
Cleanliness
Service
Helpful
Share
Response from The_CLHG_Team, Public Relations Manager at Road Lodge Potchefstroom
Responded 23 Sep 2019
Thank you for staying with us and we are so glad that you had a great stay! We look forward to welcoming you back soon
Read more
Neil Franklin wrote a review Jan 2019
Centurion, South Africa429 contributions30 helpful votes
Ideally situated next to the mall the Road Lodge gives alot more than one would think. Really spotless, professional staff and although a budget room it doesn't need anything additional. Had a good night's rest. Thanks.
Read more
Date of stay: January 2019Trip type: Travelled as a couple
1 Helpful vote
Helpful
Share
Response from The_CLHG_Team, Public Relations Manager at Road Lodge Potchefstroom
Responded 24 Jan 2019
Thank you for staying with us! We are so happy that you enjoyed the convenience of the hotel’s location We look forward to having you stay with us again.
Read more
pa3ddg wrote a review Jan 2019
Ameide, The Netherlands282 contributions59 helpful votes
I was for business in Potchefstroom. The company preferred hotel was just 200 km to the east. So I asked our travel agent to find a hotel in Potchefstroom. They booked this hotel. The price inclduing the breakfast was not expensive. The room was clean, I slept well up till the night of Saturday to Sunday. A group of youngsters were having a kind of party with alcoholic drinks they bought somewhere else. Luckely they did not made it late. I'm still wondering if these were the same guys that smoked vapour with their groupin the room, causing the fire alarm to be triggered. I get very crumpy if my sleep is interrupted by an fire alarm. The room was clean, not to big, but for the price of the hotel it was good. The quality of the breakfast was good, although the choices were limited. But no complain, juts an observation. As the htel does not have an own restaurant for dinner, I went out every evening. The friendky staff gave excellent advise.
Read more
Date of stay: May 2018
Cleanliness
Service
Sleep Quality
Trip type: Travelled on business
Room Tip: A roomm at the front might give more traffic noise, a room at the rear can give party noise.
See more room tips
1 Helpful vote
Helpful
Share
Response from The_CLHG_Team, Public Relations Manager at Road Lodge Potchefstroom
Responded 24 Jan 2019
Thank you for staying with us and we are so glad that you had a great stuff with us. We do apologise for the interruption of your sleep from the fire alarm - we do trust you understand it is for the safety of our guests first and foremost. We look forward to welcoming you back soon.
Read more
MikeC47 wrote a review Dec 2018
Cape Town Central, South Africa14 contributions7 helpful votes
All I ask in a hotel is a clean and quiet room, friendly and caring staff, Wi-Fi that works, sufficient room to swing the proverbial cat and an adequate breakfast to start the day. The Road lodge in Potchefstroom ticked all the boxes and then some.
Read more
Date of stay: December 2018
Value
Cleanliness
Service
Trip type: Travelled on business
Room Tip: The room I was given on the ground floor faced a busy intersection and the parking area but I...
See more room tips
Helpful
Share
Response from The_CLHG_Team, Public Relations Manager at Road Lodge Potchefstroom
Responded 01 Jan 2019
Thank you for staying with us and for the wonderful review. We are so glad that you enjoyed your overall stay with us and that everything met your needs and expectations. We look forward to having you stay with us again soon.
Read more
Stunningchick69 wrote a review Oct 2018
Mzuzu, Malawi72 contributions47 helpful votes
So I went to Potchefstroom for the weekend to attend to the Aardklop festival, but actually booked at KWENA LODGE. This place was the pits. Bad service. No breakfast although they are a B&B and when I complained was told that they are exercising their right of admission and that I should look for another place to stay. Come Road Lodge to the RESCUE. The shower was in great working condition. The other one you were jumping inbetween two little excuses of water coming out of the shower. Good selection for breakfast. Friendly staff. Thank you Road Lodge Potchefstroom.
Read more
Date of stay: October 2018
Location
Cleanliness
Service
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Helpful
Share
Response from The_CLHG_Team, Public Relations Manager at Road Lodge Potchefstroom
Responded 11 Oct 2018
Thank you for staying with us and we are so glad that you had a great stuff with us. We look forward to welcoming you back soon.
Read more
Gerhard O wrote a review Oct 2018
Schweizer-Reineke, South Africa13 contributions12 helpful votes
We stayed there for one night when we visited the Aardklop Arts Festival.I made the booking online and when We checked in the guy at reception was very friendly.The check in was completed in minutes atlthough they were very busy.The free WiFi is very fast and worked flawlessly.We left early the next morning but before we left I went to the dining room to check the breakfast.Very good.Nice place to stay.
Read more
Date of stay: October 2018Trip type: Travelled with friends
Helpful
Share
Response from The_CLHG_Team, Public Relations Manager at Road Lodge Potchefstroom
Responded 04 Oct 2018
Thank you for staying with us! We are so happy that you enjoyed the convenience of the hotel’s location as well as our breakfast offerings; and found our staff so helpful and friendly - key components that we pride ourselves on! We look forward to having you stay with us again.
Read more
Previous
PRICE RANGE
US$43 - US$49 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
LOCATION
South AfricaNorth-West ProvincePotchefstroom
NUMBER OF ROOMS
90
Is This Your Tripadvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing
Frequently Asked Questions about Road Lodge Potchefstroom
Which popular attractions are close to Road Lodge Potchefstroom?
Nearby attractions include SA Mindmaze (2.6 km), MooiRivier Mall (2.0 km), and OPM Prozesky Bird Sanctuary (1.8 km).
What are some of the property amenities at Road Lodge Potchefstroom?
Some of the more popular amenities offered include free wifi, free parking, and an outdoor pool.
Is parking available at Road Lodge Potchefstroom?
Yes, free parking is available to guests.
What are some restaurants close to Road Lodge Potchefstroom?
Conveniently located restaurants include Old Grimbeekhuis, The Broken Pot, and Beef Boys.
Are there opportunities to exercise at Road Lodge Potchefstroom?
Yes, guests have access to an outdoor pool during their stay.
Is Road Lodge Potchefstroom accessible?
Yes, it offers wheelchair access. For specific enquiries, we recommend calling ahead to confirm.