We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Spinning Reel

Freshwater Road, Port Alfred 6170 South Africa
avatar-imageavatar-imageavatar-image
Traveller (22)
Room & Suite (17)
Pool & Beach (7)

View prices for your travel dates

Prices are provided by our partners, and reflect average nightly room rates, including taxes and fees that are fixed, known to our partners, and due at time of booking. Please see our partners for more details.

About

#2 of 9 B&Bs in Port Alfred
Location
Cleanliness
Service
Value
Please note that we have 3 types of accommodation. The beach cottages are older and far more basic than the Chalets or B&B rooms so please book accordingly. Established in 1963, The Spinning Reel Cottages, Chalets & B+B are situated on the edge of a quiet beach in Port Alfred, heart of the Sunshine Coast. Set away from, but within two minutes drive of the centre of Port Alfred, Spinning Reel offers a restful, comfortable and secluded holiday break for families or for a romantic getaway. ACCOMMODATION: Situated within the natural dune forest the units are between 50 and 120 meters from the beach in a secure, peaceful, private and natural environment. With the high water mark as the sea side boundary there are no public roads between you and the beach. The three options include the simple, affordable self catering beach cottages, the more up-market chalets or B&B rooms all with sea views.. The beach cottages consist of two bedrooms, lounge/dinging area, kitchen and bathroom while the handcrafted solid log chalets and the Vermont style chalet have three bedrooms and two bathrooms. The B&B rooms have en-suite bathrooms, kitchenette and own entrances. Wonderful sunrises, the beach at your doorstep. The Royal Port Alfred Golf Course nearby. For the more energetic, there is a tennis court, jogging on the beach or the quiet rural roads. Hire a boat and head up the river. Kiddies tidal pool in the rocks on the beach. There are many malaria free game parks in the area.
Read more
Suggest edits to improve what we show.Improve this listing
Property amenities
Free parking
Beach
Tennis court
Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Non-smoking hotel
Room features
Kitchenette
Microwave
Refrigerator
Room types
Family rooms
Good to know
HOTEL CLASS
HOTEL STYLE
Romantic
22Reviews1Q+A7Room tips
Traveller rating
  • 11
  • 7
  • 3
  • 1
  • 0
Time of year
Traveller type
Language
Selected filters
  • Filter
  • English
Sort by:
Most Recent
avatar-image
Jean B wrote a review Nov 2023
London, United Kingdom5 contributions15 helpful votes
Peaceful, tranquil, with beautiful views, easy access to Port Alfred and Kenton on Sea, many restaurants within 2 - 10 min drive. Helpful owners beautiful beach on your doorstep. Would highly recommend
Read more
Date of stay: September 2023
Value
Location
Service
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Room Tip: Self catering, but many local restaurants, shopping mall with 2 supermarkets 5 minutes drive.
See more room tips
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Helpful
Share
avatar-image
samantharJ717GW wrote a review Nov 2019
15 contributions2 helpful votes
Had the most beautiful sea view - clean modern room with dining room and balcony and own full bathroom. close to the beach, shopping mall and the halyards hotel. Had a lovely quiet and peaceful week-end, thank you to hosts who were very friendly and humble. Thank you to Steve and Kim.
Read more
Date of stay: September 2019
Location
Service
Sleep Quality
Room Tip: Choose the B n B room upstairs
See more room tips
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Helpful
Share
avatar-image
MalindaVC wrote a review Oct 2019
Vereeniging, South Africa127 contributions8 helpful votes
We planned to stay only for 3 days and eventually ended up staying 5 days. We 1st stayed in beach chalet L with a very nice sea view and only a few steps away from the dune and beach. Had lot's of laughs getting up that dune! Although the bathroom were recently update the rooms (especially bedding and curtains) is in dire straits of an upgrade. The kitchen were well equipped. Our 2nd part of our stay we moved over to the log cabin. It also had a lovely sea view and almost right on the dune. Which the braai were up on the deck (gas braai?). The rooms were lovely. In the kitchen we missed a oven/roast pan for meat and the only glass dich were badly chipped which is very risky to make use off. Overall we had a positive experience and would certainly go back for another visit. We felt all alone and well rested. Keep up the good work!
Read more
Date of stay: September 2019
Value
Location
Service
Room Tip: Chalets very basic
See more room tips
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Helpful
Share
avatar-image
Bruce B wrote a review Jun 2019
1 contribution
Peaceful, tranquil, clean and among nature. No vehicle noise, only the sound of the sea, which is literally a stones throw away and in view from all over the property. Steve and Kim were brilliant, kind and hospitable hosts. Absolutely recommend a visit.
Read more
Date of stay: May 2019
Value
Location
Service
Trip type: Travelled solo
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Helpful
Share
avatar-image
rob_of_the_bushveld wrote a review Jul 2018
Herts, UK18 contributions11 helpful votes
Long time visitor, for many years, always such a great stay. Peaceful, quiet, by the sea, no complaints! Close enough to town to for anything you need for your stay. Always clean as well. Thanks to the team.
Read more
Date of stay: March 2018Trip type: Travelled with family
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Helpful
Share
Response from Steve G, Owner at Spinning Reel
Responded 05 Aug 2018
Thanks Rob Glad you enjoyed it once again!
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
avatar-image
GPWfmPE wrote a review Jul 2017
Riebeek-West, South Africa148 contributions36 helpful votes
After checking in with Steve (& Kim) Gardener, we were shown to our Vermont style chalet, 75 metres from the beach. Walk into the kitchen, dining room & lounge with a sea-view ahead. 2 bedrooms, both with single beds & bathroom downstairs & our large bedroom (double bed) with sitting area up steep stairs. Lovely view from the bed. Apart from tiled floors in the bathrooms, the whole place has wooden floors (my favourite). We had a lovely, relaxing 4 days and hope to return.
Read more
Date of stay: June 2017Trip type: Travelled as a couple
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Helpful
Share
Response from Steve G, Owner at Spinning Reel
Responded 23 Jul 2017
So glad you enjoyed your stay in the Vermont Chalet!
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
avatar-image
335lebreton wrote a review Apr 2017
Port Elizabeth, South Africa78 contributions34 helpful votes
We spent three nights in a 3 bedroom chalet at Spinning Reel. The chalet was comfortable, adequately equipped, and had a deck overlooking the ocean. We particularly enjoyed the constant roar of the ocean. Despite the proximity of other properties nearby, milkwoods and other fynbos provided total privacy. We will definitely return to Spinning Reel.
Read more
Date of stay: April 2017
Value
Rooms
Service
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Room Tip: Chalet G is very private and has stunning sea views
See more room tips
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Helpful
Share
Response from Steve G, Owner at Spinning Reel
Responded 23 Jul 2017
Glad you enjoyed your visit and thanks for the review.
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
avatar-image
Mark K wrote a review Jan 2017
31 contributions4 helpful votes
Spent 3 nights at the Spinning Reel. Good time. Basic facilities, but at a very reasonable price. Very clean. Served our purpose well. I would like them to buy new pillows! Our unit could see the sea, had two bedrooms. Bath and toilet inside, but shower was outside. Will go back
Read more
Date of stay: December 2016Trip type: Travelled with family
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Helpful
Share
Response from Steve G, Owner at Spinning Reel
Responded 08 Feb 2017
Thanks for the review Mark, will pass on your comment re the pillows!
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
avatar-image
Marna N wrote a review Dec 2016
Napier, New Zealand38 contributions8 helpful votes
We stayed in one of the wooden chalets. Breathtaking views, close to the beach( the climb over the dunes gave a bit of excercise) Felt like we were on our own island, never saw any of our neighbours. The resident dogs were an added bonus. Nice, clean chalet, comfy bed, loads of room, well stocked kitchen (utensil wise).
Read more
Date of stay: December 2016Trip type: Travelled with family
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Helpful
Share
Response from Steve G, Owner at Spinning Reel
Responded 28 Dec 2016
Thanks Marna Glad you enjoyed your stay!
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
avatar-image
Richard N wrote a review Nov 2016
1 contribution
Felt like I was in the stone age if you into that.... Beds were amazing and the toilets could handle me which is good........ Many bugs trying to kill me, ghosts are kinda friendly which is good.... Get woken up by people shouting in the night which doesn't bother me ..... The ocean sounds good
Read more
Date of stay: November 2016Trip type: Travelled on business
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Helpful
Share
Response from Steve G, Owner at Spinning Reel
Responded 08 Feb 2017
We do try and describe the cottages as being "basic" and yes they are very much the old beach cottage of yesteryear. We do have better Chalets and B&B which are more recent additions. Noisy people are irritating, I agree! Sorry about them. We do ask people to be quiet as this fits the whole concept of being on your own in the dune bush!
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Previous
Not the right property for you?
There are more places to choose from in the Port Alfred area.
PRICE RANGE
R 637 - R 1,158 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
LOCATION
South AfricaEastern CapePort Alfred
NUMBER OF ROOMS
12
Prices are provided by our partners, and reflect average nightly room rates, including taxes and fees that are fixed, known to our partners, and due at time of booking. Please see our partners for more details.
Is This Your Tripadvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing

SPINNING REEL - B&B Reviews & Price Comparison (Port Alfred, South Africa) - Tripadvisor

Frequently Asked Questions about Spinning Reel
Which popular attractions are close to Spinning Reel?
Nearby attractions include Great Fish Point Lighthouse (2.2 km), The Kowie Museum (3.0 km), and Kelly's Beach (1.2 km).
Is parking available at Spinning Reel?
Yes, free parking is available to guests.
What are some restaurants close to Spinning Reel?
Conveniently located restaurants include Graze By The River, The Highlander Pub, and C'est la Vie.
Are pets allowed at Spinning Reel?
Yes, pets are typically allowed, but it's always best to call ahead to confirm.
Are there any historical sites close to Spinning Reel?
Many travellers enjoy visiting The Toposcope (13.7 km) and Old Powder Magazine (14.1 km).