We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Save
Share
6km Alfred Street, Port Alfred 6170 South Africa
Lowest prices for your stay
US$55
View deal
Free cancellation until 21/11/25
Hotels.com
Expedia.com
US$55
View deal
Free cancellation until 21/11/25
Booking.comUS$55
CheapTicketsUS$55
TravelocityUS$55
View all 10 deals
Prices above are provided by partners for one room, with variable occupancy rules as provided by the property, and do not include all taxes and fees. Please see our partners for full details.
Traveller (44)
Room & Suite (8)
Dining (1)

About

#1 of 23 Speciality lodging in Port Alfred
Location
Cleanliness
Service
Value
Property amenities
Free parking
Paid internet
Pool
Bar / lounge
Fishing
Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly)
Banquet room
BBQ facilities
Parking
Internet
Outdoor pool
Baggage storage
Laundry service
Show more
Room features
Safe
Kitchenette
Room types
Non-smoking rooms
Family rooms
Good to know
HOTEL CLASS
HOTEL STYLE
Charming
Languages Spoken
English

Location

Full view
46Car recommended
Grade: 46 out of 100
12Restaurantswithin 1 km
1Attractionwithin 1 km
159Reviews4Q+A8Room tips
Traveller rating
  • 84
  • 60
  • 9
  • 4
  • 2
Time of year
Traveller type
Language
Selected filters
  • Filter
  • English
Popular mentions
mignon2021 wrote a review Aug 2021
1 contribution
A peaceful time spent in nature - beautiful sunsets! We took unguided walks with giraffes, zebra, and more just a few feet away. Private picnic at the river was great! As for fishing ....they were not interested in our bait :)
Read more
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Date of stay: July 2021
Value
Rooms
Location
Cleanliness
Service
Sleep Quality
Helpful
Share
karlahaupt wrote a review Jan 2020
Stellenbosch, South Africa3 contributions
We stayed two nights,25 & 26 Dec 2019. A lovely place with friendly staff. One can really relax and recuperate here. We camped one night and stayed on the platform the other. Exceptional views from the platform! Day visitors were all over and way too many. Their very loud music (until 19h!) was not great! They also walk all over the camping area - using the braai- and ablution facilities meant for the campers. If their numbers were minimised and they were controlled better, I would have recommended the reserve to all! It's a bliss without them, but with them one feels you can't leave your tent alone as something might get stolen.
Read more
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Date of stay: December 2019
Value
Rooms
Location
Cleanliness
Service
Sleep Quality
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Helpful
Share
Response from Duane Muller, General Manager at Mansfield Reserve
Responded 23 Feb 2021
Good day Karla, Thank you for the review. It is greatly appreciated and each one is invaluable. We are so glad you enjoyed your stay with us and experienced the Platforms as well as camping. We have made some changes with regards to the day visitors since your stay and this has seemed to have made a difference for the better. I hope you will join us again in the future. Thank you Regards Werner and the Mansfield Team
Read more
829elise wrote a review Nov 2019
Durban, South Africa11 contributions2 helpful votes
Had a fantastic long weekend! The house is neat and clean with 3 beautiful bedrooms,bar area, dinning room, huge kitchen and lounge, as well as a lovely garden and pool. What a wonderful place to stay for a couple or a large family. Really excellent value for money.
Read more
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Date of stay: November 2019
Value
Rooms
Location
Cleanliness
Service
Sleep Quality
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Helpful
Share
Response from DuaneMuller, General Manager at Mansfield Reserve
Responded 05 Nov 2019
Dear Elise Thank you for your lovely review. Thank you for choosing Mansfield as part of your holiday destination. We are very pleased to know that you have enjoyed our Lodge House. We would love to welcome you back in the near future. Kindest Regards
Read more
mthethwanobuhle36 wrote a review Oct 2019
1 contribution
The staff is very friendly and kind. I liked the beds of the cabins, they are very soft and clean. The facilities are of good standard and the package I bought was of a reasonable amount and all was delivered except for the game drive because the vehicles were damaged. I am still hoping to get some refund from this.
Read more
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Date of stay: October 2019
Value
Rooms
Location
Cleanliness
Service
Sleep Quality
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Helpful
Share
Response from DuaneMuller, Front Office Manager at Mansfield Reserve
Responded 24 Oct 2019
Dear mthethwanobuhle36 Thank you for your lovely review. We are very glad that you have enjoyed your stay with us. Thank you for using Mansfield as part of your travelling destinations. So sorry for the inconvenience not being able to do your drive,unfortunately it was something beyond our control. We will gladly do the refund on the game drive as soon as i have all the information as discussed. Hoping to see you here son again Kindest Regards Fransiena and the Mansfield Team
Read more
Robert C wrote a review Oct 2019
2 contributions
I have always enjoyed my stays at Mansfield's. The staff are always polite and accommodating with good knowledge of the happenings on the reserve. It is a pleasant getaway for me as it is not too far from town and also from my home in P.E.
Read more
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Date of stay: October 2019
Value
Location
Cleanliness
Service
Trip type: Travelled with family
Helpful
Share
Response from DuaneMuller, Front Office Manager at Mansfield Reserve
Responded 24 Oct 2019
Dear Robert C thank you for you lovely review on Mansfield It is always so nice to have our guests coming back to us for another stay on our little paradise. Thank you for choosing Mansfield as part of your get away from the hustle and bustle of a busy city life. We are hoping to see you soon again Kindest Regards The Mansfield Team
Read more
Previous
123456
PRICE RANGE
US$43 - US$74 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
LOCATION
South AfricaEastern CapePort Alfred
NUMBER OF ROOMS
4
Is This Your Tripadvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing
Frequently Asked Questions about Mansfield Reserve
Which popular attractions are close to Mansfield Reserve?
Nearby attractions include The Kowie Museum (0.6 km) and Great Fish Point Lighthouse (1.1 km).
What are some of the property amenities at Mansfield Reserve?
Some of the more popular amenities offered include a pool, a lounge, and free parking.
What food & drink options are available at Mansfield Reserve?
Guests can enjoy a lounge and barbeque facilities during their stay.
Is parking available at Mansfield Reserve?
Yes, free parking is available to guests.
What are some restaurants close to Mansfield Reserve?
Conveniently located restaurants include Graze By The River, Ocean Basket Port Alfred, and Kenny's Pub & Restaurant.
Are there opportunities to exercise at Mansfield Reserve?
Yes, guests have access to a pool during their stay.
Is Mansfield Reserve located near the city centre?
Yes, it is 0.6 km away from the centre of Port Alfred.
Are there any historical sites close to Mansfield Reserve?
Many travellers enjoy visiting The Toposcope (10.8 km) and Old Powder Magazine (11.5 km).