We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Save
Share
33 Van Der Riet Street, Port Alfred 6170 South Africa
Update from hotel: This property has indicated that they are taking safety precautions against COVID-19.Read more
Lowest prices for your stay
US$70
US$40
View Deal
SAVE US$30
Expedia.com
Snaptravel
Booking.comUS$47
Agoda.comUS$40
Trip.comUS$70
View all 13 deals
* Prices are provided by our partners, and reflect average nightly room rates, including taxes and fees that are fixed, known to our partners, and due at time of booking. Please see our partners for more details.
Traveller (52)
Dining (11)
Room & Suite (6)
Travel safe during COVID-19
A note from MyPond Hotel
Updated 21/01/19

About

#3 of 5 hotels in Port Alfred
Location
Cleanliness
Service
Value
Travellers' Choice
MyPond Hotel is a beautiful 4 star boutique hotel situated at the Kowie river bank in Port Alfred. MyPond is operated by one of the most prestigious Hotel Management Schools on the African continent: Stenden South Africa. As a guest you may therefore expect excellent service standards and warm and dedicated hospitality in a beautiful setting. The emphasis of the accommodation is on comfortable, affordable luxury, with stunning, spacious river-view suites, family rooms (approx 50 m²) and classic rooms (approx 25 m²). The rooms are all en-suite, air-conditioned, with LCD televisions (10 satellite channels), telephones, universal plug points, safe, fridge and tea/coffee facilities. The Suites are equipped with I-Pod docking station radios, heated towel rails and sleeper couches. There is wheelchair access to all our rooms (via lift in the outer wing) and a full wheelchair friendly toilet in our lobby. Our award winning in-house restaurant Lily offers a contemporary menu selection with a wide variety of South African cuisine. As a guest you can look forward to a relaxed and welcoming dining atmosphere on the banks of the Kowie River. Choose from our extensive wine selection of top South African wines to compliment your meal.
Read more
Property amenities
Free parking
Free High Speed Internet (WiFi)
Pool
Bar / lounge
Business Centre with Internet Access
Conference facilities
Non-smoking hotel
Dry cleaning
Wifi
Restaurant
Breakfast available
Breakfast buffet
Banquet room
Meeting rooms
Laundry service
Show more
Room features
Air conditioning
Room service
Minibar
Refrigerator
Flatscreen TV
Room types
Non-smoking rooms
Suites
Family rooms
Smoking rooms available
Good to know
HOTEL CLASS
HOTEL STYLE
River View
Great View

Location

Full view
51Somewhat walkable
Grade: 51 out of 100
17Restaurantswithin 1 km
1Attractionwithin 1 km
556Reviews1Q+A41Room tips
Traveller rating
  • 282
  • 210
  • 41
  • 16
  • 7
Time of year
Traveller type
Language
  • More
Selected filters
  • Filter
  • English
Popular mentions
Jan d wrote a review Nov 2019
Pretoria3 contributions1 helpful vote
We were a group of 13 people. The rooms were very good. Food was good, except for some dishes that were not available. Staff was friendly. The biggest problem was parking that was in the open area in front of the hotel
Read more
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Date of stay: November 2019
Helpful
Share
Response from Mypond, Manager at MyPond Hotel
Responded 02 Jan 2020
Dear Jan, We are happy to hear that you had good time in our Pond, I APOLOGISE for the dishes that were out of stock On regards to parking we have ccv cameras and night porter and security.
Read more
ueberh397349 wrote a review Nov 2019
1 contribution
good location overlooking the river. spacious rooms. friendly staff. quality restaurant (wonderful outdoor set-up). it‘s a business hotel and thus lacks the welcoming personal touch. certainly no africa feeling...
Read more
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Date of stay: November 2019
Helpful
Share
Response from Mypond, Manager at MyPond Hotel
Responded 02 Jan 2020
Dear Ueberh397349 Thank you for you reviewed and we will work on ares of concern
Read more
Sean_-1299 wrote a review Nov 2019
Centurion, South Africa10 contributions3 helpful votes
Great place with good food. Centrally located. Wifi was good. Clean water is provided, so do not drink water from the taps. Rooms are comfortable and spacious with TV and a generous bathroom. Rates are also very reasonable.
Read more
Date of stay: November 2019
Helpful
Share
Response from Mypond, Manager at MyPond Hotel
Responded 02 Jan 2020
Dear Sean-1299 Thank you for the feedback
Read more
SethuElijah wrote a review Nov 2019
2 contributions
I enjoy the fact that i can come to MyPond just to refresh my mind and regenerate my body..the staff was friendly, rooms were neat, we had a nice room serviced dinner..I hope they can have a gym area also
Read more
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Date of stay: November 2019
Helpful
Share
Response from Mypond, Manager at MyPond Hotel
Responded 02 Jan 2020
Dear Sethu We are very pleased to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us. Thank you
Read more
V3145FVan wrote a review Nov 2019
6 contributions
This was my 3rd visit, as usual the service and food were excellent. My only complaint was that there was a lot of noise outside and a problem with the plumbing in the hotel room where the toilet started running uncontrollably out of the blue and i eventually had to turn off the water supply to the toilet (not ideal). Nonetheless I’ll definitely be back.
Read more
Date of stay: November 2019
Helpful
Share
Response from Mypond, Manager at MyPond Hotel
Responded 02 Jan 2020
Hi V3145Fvan We apologised for the noise you had to experienced and thank you for the feedback
Read more
PRICE RANGE
US$43 - US$74 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
LOCATION
South AfricaEastern CapePort Alfred
NUMBER OF ROOMS
26
Is This Your Tripadvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing