We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

Oceana Beach and Wildlife Reserve

Travellers' Choice award winner
Enter dates for lowest prices
powered by PriceFinder
Check In Check Out
1 room 2 adults 0 children
We check 200+ sites to find the latest and lowest prices.
Professional photos
Oceana Beach and Wildlife Reserve
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"moduleList":["handlers"],"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

296 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Showing 284: English reviews
Start your review of Oceana Beach and Wildlife Reserve
 Click to rate
Port Elizabeth, South Africa
Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

My husband and I recently had the pleasure of staying at Oceana beach and wildlife reserve. We were treated from the minute we got there until the minute we left. Every single detail was thought of, from heated towel rails to magnificent views of the ocean from our suite. The food was out of this world and the service was...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Charné C
Chris R, General Manager at Oceana Beach and Wildlife Reserve, responded to this review

Hi Charne Thanks so much for your kind words. I'm really glad you enjoyed your experience with us and wish you all the best in your marriage. Let us know when you need a weekend away and we'll look forward to welcoming you back. Regards Chris & the Oceana Team

East London, South Africa
Reviewed 2 weeks ago

Spent a night at Oceana with my two little granddaughters - they were thoroughly spoiled at the spa with a mani, pedi and mini facial and then back to the suite for a beautiful 'bunny' bubble bath - the bath was surrounded with Easter Bunnies and they were extatic! In no time at all - all I could see was...

Review collected in partnership with this hotel
 Report
Helpful?
Thank Lorraine W
Chris R, General Manager at Oceana Beach and Wildlife Reserve, responded to this review

Hi Lorraine As always, it was a pleasure to host you. Glad to hear the girls loved the bubble bath! We'll see you soon again :) Regards Chris & the team

North West England, United Kingdom
Reviewed 2 weeks ago

Stopped here over New Year. Paid top dollar (very) so expected excellent facilities and first class service. Room and main building were superb admittedly, but with the exception of some of the junior hosts, the service overall was most indifferent, particularly from more senior staff who should know better. One of them kept calling us "you guys" which was really...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Outspanner
Chris R, General Manager at Oceana Beach and Wildlife Reserve, responded to this review

Hi Outspanner Thanks for you comments and feedback. Very occasionally in this industry bookings just don't go well and unfortunately yours was one of them. We did take all your feedback on board when you were here, and I must apologise again for the experience you had. Kind Regards Chris & the Oceana Team

Port Elizabeth, South Africa
Reviewed 3 weeks ago

We had such a beautiful relaxing weekend, the accommodation and food was outstanding, the views breathtaking and the staff exceptionally friendly. Definitely a 'return to' kind of place, we were very sad to leave it all behind! Highly recommend it we will definitely be back. Val Fenix and Catherine Rogers and family

 Report
Helpful?
Thank catherine259
Chris R, General Manager at Oceana Beach and Wildlife Reserve, responded to this review

Hi Val & Catherine Thanks so much for the kind words. It was a pleasure having you here and I hope we get to welcome you back soon. Chris and the Oceana team

Cape Town Central, South Africa
Reviewed 6 March 2017 via mobile

We had the pleasure of staying here for one night during a recent visit to Port Alfred - this place is truly amazing and a real gem in the Eastern Cape! On arrival at the gate we were greeted by Wilson, the friendliest smile ever! The drive towards the hotel is actually through the game reserve and we got to...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Hospitality S
Chris R, General Manager at Oceana Beach and Wildlife Reserve, responded to this review

Hi Hospitality S Thanks so much for the comprehensive review and feedback. I hope we get to welcome you back for a longer stay next time. Regards Chris & the Oceana Team

Gonubie, South Africa
Reviewed 5 March 2017

Will visit again, the place is tranquil, It's worth every dime you spend. Treatment is royalty and staff from the gate to the reserve is excellent from the the day you arrive to the day you leave. Highly recommend the place it's worth a visit. Thank you

Review collected in partnership with this hotel
 Report
Helpful?
Thank ayandap2017
Chris R, General Manager at Oceana Beach and Wildlife Reserve, responded to this review

Hi Ayanada Thanks so much for the kind words and I'm really glad you enjoyed your time with us. We look forward to welcoming you back soon. Kind Regards Chris & the Oceana Team

London, United Kingdom
Reviewed 26 February 2017

This property is about 10 years old and I have stayed there before. To be honest I thought standards had slipped a bit, especially in the area of housekeeping. However the rooms remain very luxurious with excellent facilities and as a place to relax overlooking the ocean it is second to none! Food and restaurant service excellent. TVs (which "emerge"...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Zetat0urs
Meols, United Kingdom
Reviewed 25 February 2017 via mobile

My wife and I spent thee days here and really enjoyed our stay. The hotel is made up from two former cattle farms so is a reasonable size for the wildlife consisting of ostrich, plains antelope, giraffes and three rhino. There are game drives as requested at 10 and 4 each day and last about two hours. The hotel was...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Hezza1955
Bahamas
Reviewed 24 February 2017

Spent 3 nights here for my wife's birthday and it was one of the highlights of our trip to South Africa. Right from the moment we arrived at the gate we knew we had scored by coming here. It is only a 1-minute drive from the gate to where the resort is but in that time you feel like you...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank ahop86
Woodbridge, United Kingdom
Reviewed 22 February 2017

Beautiful and unique venue offering not only a wildlife reserve but also gorgeous unspoilt beach as well. Luxurious accommodation, wonderful meals and attention to every detail. Best of all was the wonderful service by every member of the Oceana team to all the guests - so welcoming and helpful - nothing too much trouble. Make sure Oceana is next on...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank 404jill

342 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (253)
Viewed
Room/Suite (27)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (15)
Viewed
Bathroom (14)
Viewed
Dining (25)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (41)
Viewed
View from Room (12)
Viewed
0:48
Videos (1)
Viewed
Other (118)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (89)
Viewed
Room/Suite (14)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (12)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (7)
Viewed
Bathroom (6)
Viewed
Family/Play Areas (2)
Viewed
Dining (7)
Viewed
View from Room (1)
Viewed
Other (40)

Amenities

Highlights
  • Pool
  • Room Service
  • Restaurant
  • Beachfront
  • Free Parking
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Spa
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Breakfast included
  • Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
About the property
  • Beachfront
  • Wheelchair Access
Things to do
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Spa
  • Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
Room types
  • Suites
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
In your room
  • Air Conditioning
  • Minibar
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Public Wifi
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Services
  • Room Service
  • Free Parking
  • Airport Transportation
  • Multilingual Staff
  • Dry Cleaning
  • Laundry Service
  • Conference Facilities
  • Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly)
  • Shuttle Bus Service
  • Breakfast included
  • Business Centre with Internet Access
  • Concierge
  • Self-Serve Laundry
  • Babysitting
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
Oceana Beach & Wildlife Reserve is the product of a man who was brave enough to live his dream, and he extends an invitation to those who need a place to dream, be pampered, rejuvenate, relax, discover and be delighted by.After traveling the world, I discovered the place closest to my heart, Oceana. The first time I beheld the collection of natural wonders, something extraordinary happened, as I embraced the expanse of its exotic beauty, it embraced me. Rip Miller - Owner ... more   less 

Additional Information about Oceana Beach and Wildlife Reserve

Address: R72 Main Road | Riet River, Port Alfred 6170, South Africa
Region: South Africa > Eastern Cape > Port Alfred
Price Range: R5 523 - R8 390 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Oceana Beach and Wildlife Reserve 5*
Number of rooms: 10
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Travelocity, Agoda, Priceline, TripOnline SA and Cheap Tickets so you can book your Oceana Beach and Wildlife Reserve reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Oceana Beach And Wildlife Reserve Hotel Port Alfred
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from Oceana Beach and Wildlife Reserve staff and other travellers.
4 questions
Ask a question
Port Elizabeth, South Africa
3 months ago

See all questions (4)

Questions? Get answers from Oceana Beach and Wildlife Reserve staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“Rooms in main building can be a bit noisy”
Outspanner, 6 Apr 2017 | Read review
“they all seem to have excellent views and facilities but the rooms away from the main lodge might work best”
Zetat0urs, 25 Feb 2017 | Read review
“Ocean View!”
ahop86, 24 Feb 2017 | Read review
“Ocean View Suites”
595suriyam, 15 Feb 2017 | Read review
“The rooms in the main hotel were very nice but once I saw the ocean rooms I knew that's where I would stay next time”
TraceyM417, 6 Dec 2016 | Read review
5 of 5