We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Save
Share
Coastal Road, Riviere Noire, Mauritius 2354
eDreams
Agoda.com
* Prices are provided by our partners, and reflect average nightly room rates, including taxes and fees that are fixed, known to our partners, and due at time of booking. Please see our partners for more details.
Traveller (23)
Dining (30)
Room & Suite (8)

About

#3 of 10 B&Bs / Inns in Riviere Noire
Location
Cleanliness
Service
Value
Vanilla House is a 9-room guest house with restaurant, located in Black River, Mauritius. The en-suite rooms count a kitchenette and terrace. They are equipped with television, wifi, air-conditioning. Guests can enjoy the food from the “Vanilla Café,” our delicious little restaurant.
Read more
Suggest edits to improve what we show.Improve this listing
Property amenities
Free parking
Free High Speed Internet (WiFi)
Outdoor pool
Free breakfast
Fishing
Airport transportation
Meeting rooms
BBQ facilities
Parking
Wifi
Bar / lounge
Coffee shop
Restaurant
Car hire
Gift shop
Non-smoking hotel
Shops
Laundry service
Show more
Room features
Air conditioning
Fireplace
Housekeeping
Interconnected rooms available
Kitchenette
Microwave
Flatscreen TV
Bath / shower
Safe
Seating area
Separate dining area
Refrigerator
Show more
Room types
Non-smoking rooms
Suites
Family rooms
Good to know
HOTEL CLASS
HOTEL STYLE
Family
Romantic
Languages Spoken
English, French
54Reviews1Q+A3Room tips
Traveller rating
  • 30
  • 17
  • 3
  • 3
  • 1
Time of year
Traveller type
Language
  • More
Selected filters
  • Filter
  • English
Popular mentions
Sort by:
Most Recent
Alisha wrote a review Mar 2022
Beau Bassin - Rose Hill6 contributions1 helpful vote
Fresh and different salads, tasty burgers even tastier than meat, satisfactory portion size, all served by friendly staff. Value for money, worth the try, will definitely visit again. I recommend this place
Read more
Date of stay: March 2022Trip type: Travelled as a couple
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
Bernd wrote a review Feb 2022
Port Elizabeth, South Africa64 contributions1 helpful vote
Vanilla village is top to stay at black river, Mauritius!! Nice resort, clean rooms, cheap rates! The breakfast is amazing! Best ice tea we ever had! Burgers are top! The staff is very friendly and helpful! Shure we will come back for another visit! Thanx for all!
Read more
Date of stay: February 2022Trip type: Travelled with friends
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
Ian wrote a review Oct 2021
7 contributions1 helpful vote
What an awesome stay, great value for money, great food and fantastic environment accompanied by accommodating hosts. Would highly recommend this venue. Whether business or pleasure you will appreciate all on offer
Read more
Date of stay: October 2021Trip type: Travelled with family
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
Di wrote a review Jul 2021
Mauritius2 contributions
Huge congratulations to Vanilla Village, the kids play area is very cool and the new menu is outstanding. We love the addition of the vegan menu, you really are spoilt for choice. The menu is fun and offers good hearty meals at a great price. Definitely one of our favourite breakfast spots.
Read more
Date of stay: June 2021Trip type: Travelled with family
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
Mel Pople wrote a review Aug 2020
Mauritius149 contributions128 helpful votes
apart from really good food, it's a lovely location under the trees be sure to visit the supermarket for some lovely surprises the staff is very polite and friendly, it is a definite must Great place for children
Read more
Date of stay: August 2020
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
2 Helpful votes
Helpful
Share
emilie-29che wrote a review Jun 2020
Grand Baie18 contributions3 helpful votes
It was our second time at Vanilla Village, we had a lovely time there. The breakfast was delicious with good service. Really friendly owners and staff. Vanilla Village is now our favorite spot in the east. We will come back again really soon!
Read more
Date of stay: June 2020
Cleanliness
Service
Sleep Quality
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
Pankaj K wrote a review Feb 2020
Palma de Mallorca, Spain102 contributions36 helpful votes
Place although is on West coast is very far from any supermarket or restaurant nearby. Not that safe to go walking to the nearest restaurant because that's 5 Kms away. Apart it's only breakfast so if you want this property you should bring with yourself plenty of eatables to not starve! Cleanliness is an issue at the breakfast area as there are lot of ants and flies nearby pestering the clients. Pest control is not taken seriously at this place! Many spiders roaming around the place as it is in the nature so if you have any fears avoid this place! Complimentary water is also not served. Only served on the first day which is not really expected as what is a right to every person doing that with water seems petty. These petty issues can make someone frustrate! Staff leaves the premises by 3 and you are all on your own! Any emergency at night and there's no one to contact even in cyclonic times so that's a problem I believe because it's an unknown place and someone should be there as a backup at nights! Please bring private transport as you can't rely on the public one because there is almost no transport to Riviere Noire and you have to change two buses and maybe not the wisest option considering you abroad and in unsafe surroundings as the place is isolated! freely mongoose has been spotted and when complaining only get to say that's it's normal and the mongoose don't fall into traps so we cannot do anything about that!
Read more
Date of stay: January 2020Trip type: Travelled as a couple
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
2 Helpful votes
Helpful
Share
Response from adrianv033, Manager at Vanilla Village
Responded 05 Feb 2020
Dear Pankaj, thank you for taking the time to write the review. Since you were staying with us at Vanilla for 10 nights, I am surprised to read all the comments you have mentioned, as myself or my team did not receive any feedback from you while you were staying with us. Vanilla Guest House is marketed as bed and breakfast, with an outdoor café. Dinners are an option if you had requested from the reception. Water is always available. The nature that Vanilla Village is surrounded by is what makes this place so special. We are eco-friendly so we do not spray or fog with insecticides, but with this time of season, rain and humidity there is an increase in wildlife activity. We do provide each room with insect repellents if needed. We do have a person who is on duty after hours, who has a direct line to the owner who is 2 mins away if there is any issue. Kindest Regards, Vanilla Village Management
Read more
PetraKoo wrote a review Jan 2020
30 contributions3 helpful votes
Dear the owner of the Vanilla Village, Of course we have noticed that in Mauritius people have a lots of to learn about tourism, how to serve tourist in the best way, even you don’t like to serve us...But... Anyway, unfortunatelly the service was very bad in Vanilla Village. Waitresses looked so bored. We want to give ten points for the cleaners, but the other staff members zero. We felt not welcome even we didn’t complain or we tried to behave very nicely etc. The idea of the village is great, but it just doesn’t work. The area is very boring and there’s nothing to see. The price is way too high for this! Now I say this in North European taste. The price must to be much lower.
Read more
Date of stay: January 2020Trip type: Travelled with family
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
1 Helpful vote
Helpful
Share
Leong S wrote a review Dec 2019
181 contributions49 helpful votes
It was 6 years ago when we first visited this place (aka Vanilla Beans) and they have done up some of their facilities. They now have a small stage and nice 3-piece band that provided nice acoustic music and songs over a Sunday brunch. Will be back again in the future.
Read more
Date of stay: December 2019Trip type: Travelled with friends
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
1 Helpful vote
Helpful
Share
LovelyZZ wrote a review Dec 2019
Kuala Lumpur, Malaysia153 contributions10 helpful votes
+1
A beautiful place with a serene and calm atmosphere among nature . A great getaway from city chaos . Great experience and perhaps the best said an example for what a home stay is all about . We stayed there for the 8 th time and we still love this place aimed for relaxation . Very neatly maintained property and courteous staff .The chirping sound of birds was a welcome way to greet morning during vacation . Very good breakfast .Nice pool with a relaxing lounging area surrounding it with a large parking area . My only complaint is that there is no hairdryer provided in the room which is one of the basic amenities these days .
Read more
Date of stay: December 2019Trip type: Travelled as a couple
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
Previous
LOCATION
MauritiusRiviere Noire DistrictRiviere Noire
NUMBER OF ROOMS
9
Is This Your Tripadvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing
Frequently Asked Questions about Vanilla Village
Which popular attractions are close to Vanilla Village?
Nearby attractions include Badaboom Souvenir Shop (1.0 km).
What are some of the property amenities at Vanilla Village?
Some of the more popular amenities offered include free wifi, free breakfast, and an on-site restaurant.
Which room amenities are available at Vanilla Village?
Top room amenities include a kitchenette, air conditioning, and a flat screen TV.
What food & drink options are available at Vanilla Village?
Guests can enjoy free breakfast, an on-site restaurant, and a lounge during their stay.
Is parking available at Vanilla Village?
Yes, free parking is available to guests.
What are some restaurants close to Vanilla Village?
Conveniently located restaurants include Frenchie Cafe, NOMAD, and Vanilla Cafe.
Are there opportunities to exercise at Vanilla Village?
Yes, guests have access to an outdoor pool during their stay.
Does Vanilla Village have airport transportation?
Yes, Vanilla Village offers airport transportation for guests. We recommend calling ahead to confirm details.
Which languages are spoken by the staff at Vanilla Village?
The staff speaks multiple languages, including English and French.
Are there any historical sites close to Vanilla Village?
Many travellers enjoy visiting The Martello Tower Museum (2.3 km).