Vanilla Village

Vanilla Village

Traveller (25)
Dining (30)
Room & Suite (8)

View prices for your travel dates

Contact accommodation for availability.
There are similar hotels available.
View all
Did you already book this hotel?

About

4.0
#3 of 5 guest houses in Riviere Noire
4.7 of 5 bubbles
Location
4.9 of 5 bubbles
Cleanliness
4.5 of 5 bubbles
Service
4.6 of 5 bubbles
Value
Vanilla House is a 9-room guest house with restaurant, located in Black River, Mauritius. The en-suite rooms count a kitchenette and terrace. They are equipped with television, wifi, air-conditioning. Guests can enjoy the food from the “Vanilla Café,” our delicious little restaurant.
Read more
Suggest edits to improve what we show.Improve this listing
Property amenities
Free parking
Free High Speed Internet (WiFi)
Outdoor pool
Free breakfast
Fishing
Airport transportation
Meeting rooms
BBQ facilities
Parking
Wifi
Bar / lounge
Coffee shop
Restaurant
Car hire
Gift shop
Non-smoking hotel
Shops
Laundry service
Room features
Air conditioning
Fireplace
Housekeeping
Interconnected rooms available
Kitchenette
Microwave
Flatscreen TV
Bath / shower
Safe
Seating area
Separate dining area
Refrigerator
Room types
Non-smoking rooms
Suites
Family rooms
Good to know
HOTEL CLASS
Star ratings are intended to indicate the general level of features, amenities, and services to expect. This property is classified according to Giata.
2.0 of 5 stars
HOTEL STYLE
Trendy
Modern
Languages Spoken
English, French

Location

Coastal Road, Riviere Noire, Mauritius 2354
Getting there
Somewhat walkable
Places to stay are graded on a 0-100 scale. The higher the grade, the easier it is for travellers to find restaurants and things to do within walking distance.
Grade: 52 out of 100
52
S. Seewoosagur Ram. Intl Airport
31.7 km
See all flights
60Reviews1Q+A5Room tips
Traveller rating
  • 33
  • 16
  • 5
  • 3
  • 3
Time of year
Traveller type
Language
Selected filters
  • Filter
  • English
Popular mentions
Sort by:
Detailed Reviews
Pankaj A wrote a review Feb 2020
Palma de Mallorca, Spain
3.0 of 5 bubbles
Place although is on West coast is very far from any supermarket or restaurant nearby. Not that safe to go walking to the nearest restaurant because that's 5 Kms away. Apart it's only breakfast so if you want this property you should bring with yourself plenty of eatables to not starve! Cleanliness is an issue at the breakfast area as there are lot of ants and flies nearby pestering the clients. Pest control is not taken seriously at this place! Many spiders roaming around the place as it is in the nature so if you have any fears avoid this place! Complimentary water is also not served. Only served on the first day which is not really expected as what is a right to every person doing that with water seems petty. These petty issues can make someone frustrate! Staff leaves the premises by 3 and you are all on your own! Any emergency at night and there's no one to contact even in cyclonic times so that's a problem I believe because it's an unknown place and someone should be there as a backup at nights! Please bring private transport as you can't rely on the public one because there is almost no transport to Riviere Noire and you have to change two buses and maybe not the wisest option considering you abroad and in unsafe surroundings as the place is isolated! freely mongoose has been spotted and when complaining only get to say that's it's normal and the mongoose don't fall into traps so we cannot do anything about that!
Read more
Date of stay: January 2020Trip type: Travelled as a couple
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from adrianv033, Manager at Vanilla Village
Responded 05 Feb 2020
Dear Pankaj, thank you for taking the time to write the review. Since you were staying with us at Vanilla for 10 nights, I am surprised to read all the comments you have mentioned, as myself or my team did not receive any feedback from you while you were staying with us. Vanilla Guest House is marketed as bed and breakfast, with an outdoor café. Dinners are an option if you had requested from the reception. Water is always available. The nature that Vanilla Village is surrounded by is what makes this place so special. We are eco-friendly so we do not spray or fog with insecticides, but with this time of season, rain and humidity there is an increase in wildlife activity. We do provide each room with insect repellents if needed. We do have a person who is on duty after hours, who has a direct line to the owner who is 2 mins away if there is any issue. Kindest Regards, Vanilla Village Management
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Alisha wrote a review Mar 2022
Beau Bassin - Rose Hill
5.0 of 5 bubbles
Fresh and different salads, tasty burgers even tastier than meat, satisfactory portion size, all served by friendly staff. Value for money, worth the try, will definitely visit again. I recommend this place
Read more
Date of stay: March 2022Trip type: Travelled as a couple
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Di wrote a review Jul 2021
Mauritius
5.0 of 5 bubbles
Huge congratulations to Vanilla Village, the kids play area is very cool and the new menu is outstanding. We love the addition of the vegan menu, you really are spoilt for choice. The menu is fun and offers good hearty meals at a great price. Definitely one of our favourite breakfast spots.
Read more
Date of stay: June 2021Trip type: Travelled with family
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Truthful Reviews wrote a review Apr 2023
London, United Kingdom
1.0 of 5 bubbles
This restaurant used to be fantastic and it was a plus to move from the north to the west as we could come here weekly as we’ve been doing since January.

We visited here on Sunday 1st April. We phoned after 2pm and was told that we could come in up to 3pm and the restaurant would still serve us food menu. We arrived at 14:40. No one greeted us or gave us menus (which has happened on the last 2 occasions).

I asked for 2 menus and the waitress snapped “I will bring to you”!

When the waiter brought us the menus he said we could have tea coffee or dessert only. I told him we called ahead and was told the kitchen was open until 3pm.

He then told another staff member and then a guy called Mike came over and told us tea coffee or dessert. I told him that we came especially as we called ahead. Mike then said the kitchen is being cleaned right now. I asked for the owner manager Mike walked off and returned (without even trying to find the owner). He then said what do you want from the menu but then added the kitchen is being cleaned.

I told him how ridiculous he was and that he didn’t even bother to get the manager owner. We then left.

A few weeks ago the staff seem to have changed and they are rude, abrupt and just plain lazy. The food has definitely suffered as it’s totally different now and I found a half a wooden toothpick in my food some weeks back. I complained to the waitress who just smiled at me.

Previously we got half our order and the fries were cold and limp. The quinoa burger was also no where near previous standards.

There are no baby changing facilities either and this has been brought to the attention of the management some months ago who’ve clearly ignored the request.
Read more
Date of stay: April 2023Trip type: Travelled with family
Room Tip: Go to Nomad instead
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
PetraKoo wrote a review Jan 2020
2.0 of 5 bubbles
Dear the owner of the Vanilla Village,
Of course we have noticed that in Mauritius people have a lots of to learn about tourism, how to serve tourist in the best way, even you don’t like to serve us...But... Anyway, unfortunatelly the service was very bad in Vanilla Village. Waitresses looked so bored. We want to give ten points for the cleaners, but the other staff members zero. We felt not welcome even we didn’t complain or we tried to behave very nicely etc. The idea of the village is great, but it just doesn’t work. The area is very boring and there’s nothing to see. The price is way too high for this! Now I say this in North European taste. The price must to be much lower.
Read more
Date of stay: January 2020Trip type: Travelled with family
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Sam Hazin wrote a review Apr 2023
Glasgow, United Kingdom
1.0 of 5 bubbles
We waited for menus for 15 minutes. We finally had to go and ask for menus. The staff were just standing around chatting.

The food is ok at best. The prices are too high and the portions are small.

The fries were hit and miss - my wife’s were ok and mine were undercooked.

No follow up on food and just a disgruntled load of staff who obviously don’t like working.

No thanks - won’t be back.
Read more
Date of stay: April 2023Trip type: Travelled with family
Room Tip: Avoid and head towards tamarin - better restaurants and friendly and more food safe
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Ian wrote a review Oct 2021
5.0 of 5 bubbles
What an awesome stay, great value for money, great food and fantastic environment accompanied by accommodating hosts. Would highly recommend this venue. Whether business or pleasure you will appreciate all on offer
Read more
Date of stay: October 2021Trip type: Travelled with family
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
MelanieBenham wrote a review Mar 2023
Kingskerswell, United Kingdom
5.0 of 5 bubbles
Lovely atmosphere and great food. Enjoyed a long lunch under the shade of a huge tree with chicken strolling around, great entertainment. Superb salad and local fish.
Provisions store at the front and a great pop up store selling local clothing. Great location for a leisurely lunch.
Read more
Date of stay: February 2023
5.0 of 5 bubblesValue
5.0 of 5 bubblesLocation
5.0 of 5 bubblesService
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
emilie-29che wrote a review Jun 2020
Grand Baie
4.0 of 5 bubbles
It was our second time at Vanilla Village, we had a lovely time there. The breakfast was delicious with good service. Really friendly owners and staff. Vanilla Village is now our favorite spot in the east. We will come back again really soon!
Read more
Date of stay: June 2020
4.0 of 5 bubblesCleanliness
4.0 of 5 bubblesService
3.0 of 5 bubblesSleep Quality
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Atchanah S wrote a review Jul 2017
1.0 of 5 bubbles
It is a nice place but it is also a scam.
When we were there, we had not been well greeted but we did not mind. Our aim was to has a nice time far from everything. Unfortunately on our second day, there was no water at all in the whole facility. We had to fetch our own water from outside with buckets. Well it was quite awkward to feel like 200 years back. But we were told that we would get 1 night free whenever we would come back again. So we had to leave.
Recently when we wanted to go back, we called to get our free night and would have taken one more night, we have been told that it was no more possible. It is lost. Well guys, I don't know for you, but if you don't want to get ripped off, i won't recommend going there.
Read more
Date of stay: August 2016Trip type: Travelled as a couple
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Hubre831 asked a question Nov 2017
Cape Town Central, South Africa3 contributions4 helpful votes
How far are you from the airport (in km)?
Answer from JP_Bellerose
Mauritius20 contributions8 helpful votes
Hi Hubre, You must count around 55km from the airport for the shortest route and about 1h30m drive to reach there.
Sam Hazin wrote a tip Apr 2023
Glasgow, United Kingdom12 contributions23 helpful votes
1.0 of 5 bubbles
"Avoid and head towards tamarin - better restaurants and friendly and more food safe"
Read full review
Truthful Reviews wrote a tip Apr 2023
London, United Kingdom7,860 contributions952 helpful votes
1.0 of 5 bubbles
"Go to Nomad instead"
Read full review
prinsen2017 wrote a tip Jun 2017
Pretoria, South Africa4 contributions
5.0 of 5 bubbles
"All the rooms are nice."
Read full review
Corinna V wrote a tip Feb 2017
14 contributions9 helpful votes
5.0 of 5 bubbles
"I believe all the rooms are the same - best sleep I've had in a long time!"
Read full review
Allie K wrote a tip Jan 2017
6 contributions1 helpful vote
4.0 of 5 bubbles
"They only have 9 rooms so book quickly if you see one available."
Read full review
Not the right property for you?
There are more places to choose from in the Riviere Noire area.
LOCATION
MauritiusRiviere Noire DistrictRiviere Noire
NUMBER OF ROOMS
9
Prices are provided by our partners, and reflect average nightly room rates, including taxes and fees that are fixed, known to our partners, and due at time of booking. Please see our partners for more details.
Is This Your Tripadvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing

VANILLA VILLAGE - Guesthouse Reviews (Riviere Noire, Mauritius)

Frequently Asked Questions about Vanilla Village
Which popular attractions are close to Vanilla Village?
Nearby attractions include Badaboom Souvenir Shop (1.0 km).
What are some of the property amenities at Vanilla Village?
Some of the more popular amenities offered include free wifi, free breakfast, and an on-site restaurant.
Which room amenities are available at Vanilla Village?
Top room amenities include a kitchenette, air conditioning, and a flat screen TV.
What food & drink options are available at Vanilla Village?
Guests can enjoy free breakfast, an on-site restaurant, and a lounge during their stay.
Is parking available at Vanilla Village?
Yes, free parking is available to guests.
What are some restaurants close to Vanilla Village?
Conveniently located restaurants include Frenchie Cafe, NOMAD, and Vanilla Cafe.
Are there opportunities to exercise at Vanilla Village?
Yes, guests have access to an outdoor pool during their stay.
Does Vanilla Village have airport transportation?
Yes, Vanilla Village offers airport transportation for guests. We recommend calling ahead to confirm details.
Which languages are spoken by the staff at Vanilla Village?
The staff speaks multiple languages, including English and French.
Are there any historical sites close to Vanilla Village?
Many travellers enjoy visiting The Martello Tower Museum (2.3 km).