We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

The Merry Crab Beach Lodge

Save
Traveller (18)
Room & Suite (7)
Pool & Beach (3)
Ratings and reviews
Ratings
Location
Cleanliness
Service
Value
Travellers talk about
“crab”(7 reviews)
“short stroll”(3 reviews)
“hidden gem”(4 reviews)
View all reviews
What's included
Free Internet
Free Parking
Beachfront
Pool
Bar/Lounge
Kitchenette
On arriving at our little piece of paradise you will be met by "The Crew," our helpful and friendly staff, who will ensure that your car is parked in our secure off street parking area. You will be ushered into the newly built and decorated reception / lounge and entertainment area...
View all hotel information
Location and contact
439 Munro Drive, Glenmore Beach, Port Edward 4278, South Africa
9,7 km to Margate Airport
View nearby attractions and restaurants
{"containerClass":null,"containerAttributes":null,"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","moduleList":["handlers"],"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"},"dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"}},"scriptFlags":null}
Reviews (32)
There are newer reviews for The Merry Crab Beach Lodge
See the most recent reviews
Filter reviews
32 results
Traveller rating
17
11
3
1
0
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageEnglish
17
11
3
1
0
Show reviews that mention
All reviewscrabshort strollhidden gemaway from the hustle and bustlepiece of paradiseclose to shopspeaceful placesouth coastcabanacasitaproximityaccommodationluggagestoverelaxation
FilterEnglish
Updating list...
6 - 10 of 32 reviews
Reviewed 3 May 2017

We had a family get away from 27th to 30th April. I must admit I was very excited for our trip but was disappointed as the accommodation level was far from a 4 or 5 star rating. We were allocated unit 5B which is in...More

1  Thank Linda D
Response from MerryCrab, Owner at The Merry Crab Beach LodgeResponded 2 October 2017

Thank you for your feedback and sorry you hear you did not enjoy your visit with us. We are not nor have we ever professed to be a 4 or 5 star rated establishment. We are infact an ungraded self-catering establishment and on a par...More

Reviewed 21 April 2017

We had a well appointed studio apartment wituated on stilts with a nice balcony - ideal for proximity to the birds. The reception was efficient and we had all our luggage portered to out room in no time at all. It is a feature of...More

Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank Py M
Response from MerryCrab, Owner at The Merry Crab Beach LodgeResponded 2 October 2017

Thank you for your review, we certainly hope we see you back at the Crab. Regards Pamela

Reviewed 27 March 2017

What a lovely and peaceful place. The staff is very friendly and helpful. The beach is just a small walk trough a small strip of beach forest, we saw a very small dear, too cute. What makes it special is the quiet beach, most of...More

Thank KarinGC
Response from MerryCrab, Owner at The Merry Crab Beach LodgeResponded 2 October 2017

Thank you for your lovely review... The little deer you saw would have been a Blue Duiker, the smallest antelope in South Africa. Our village fights hard to preserve them as they are very secretive little creatures and quite territorial so there are only a...More

Reviewed 16 February 2017 via mobile

Amazing and so going back! Amazing and attentive staff. Quiet and cozy perfect retreat for couples, nice treat to get away from all the city craziness. Loved the cats, everyone there feels like familyMore

Thank Vitalisticvixen
Response from MerryCrab, Owner at The Merry Crab Beach LodgeResponded 2 October 2017

Thank you for your lovely review. So happy you enjoyed our cats, they can be a little needy for attention at times as they have somehow managed to get themselves from feral kittens to luxury cats! My husband is allergic so they are the closest...More

Reviewed 17 January 2017 via mobile

A wonderful little world on its own. Be sure to feel part of the Merry Crab community. After one visit you will be enchanted, sure to return. We are sure to revisit over Holiday season. This will be third time to return. You come to...More

Thank 900heidiv
Response from MerryCrab, Owner at The Merry Crab Beach LodgeResponded 2 October 2017

Thanks Heidi, really appreciate your support and regular visits! Looking forward to seeing you and the fur-children again this season. Regards Pamela

View more reviews
About
Amenities
Top amenities
Pool
Beachfront
Free Parking
Free Internet
Bar/Lounge
Hotel Amenities
Free Parking
Room amenities
Refrigerator in room
Things to do
Pool
Bar/Lounge
Details
Price range
US$45 - US$137 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Room types
Kitchenette
Details
Price range
US$45 - US$137 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Room types
Kitchenette
Add Photo Photos
Traveller (18)
Room & Suite (7)
Pool & Beach (3)
Dining (2)
Questions & Answers
Ask a question
Vuyolwethu M
11 January 2017|
Answer
Response from Anna B | Reviewed this property |
Try their website.
0
Votes
Room Tips
"The back suites are quieter."
Read review
"The cabanas and casitas have more space."
Read review
"All cabanas private but ones higher up are probably quieter..."
Read review
"Summer means bugs, carry insecticide. Only a fan meant the door was open a lot so lots of bugs. Upstairs has..."
Read review
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more. Claim Your Listing