We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Premier Splendid Inn Port Edward

Corner Ramsey Ave and Main Str, Port Edward 4295 South Africa
Official Hotel
View all 16 deals
* Prices are provided by our partners, and reflect average nightly room rates, including taxes and fees that are fixed, known to our partners, and due at time of booking. Please see our partners for more details.
Traveller (7)
Room & Suite (9)
Dining (2)


#4 of 8 hotels in Port Edward
Situated on the Hibiscus Coast of Kwa-Zulu Natal in the small coastal town of Port Edward, Splendid Inn Port Edward welcomes you to experience panoramic views of the Indian Ocean and lush coastal hillsides from its private balconies. Port Edward is a popular holiday destination, offering many magnificent stretches of beach. Outdoor activities include swimming, fishing, tennis, hiking, mountain bike trails and a golfing extravaganza with nine 18 hole golf courses within an 85km radius. With the exceptional surroundings, excellent service and luxurious accommodation that this Tuscan Style hotel offers, Splendid Inn Port Edward is the perfect choice for both the business & leisure traveler.
Read more
Full view
Property amenities
Free parking
Free internet
Bar / lounge
Airport transportation
Business Centre with Internet Access
Conference facilities
Outdoor pool
Banquet room
Meeting rooms
Non-smoking hotel
24-hour front desk
Laundry service
Show more
Room features
Air conditioning
Room service
Seating area
Coffee / tea maker
Bath / shower
Complimentary toiletries
Wake-up service / alarm clock
Hair dryer
Show more
Room types
Non-smoking rooms
Family rooms
Good to know
Languages Spoken
108Reviews2Q+A16Room tips
Traveller rating
  • 18
  • 19
  • 29
  • 16
  • 26
Time of year
Traveller type
Selected filters
  • Filter
  • English
Shazz wrote a review Jan 2020
Durban, South Africa6 contributions
We booked through airbnb, on check in check in, lady was not aware of our stay, host for the apartment called in the morning to advise reception but no handover was given. We were given another unit, as the host unit was A12 but the hotel rented the unit and they gave us A8. No issues moving unit but the unit was the most dirtiest unit I ever seen, it looked like it wasn't cleaned for months. Windows didnt close, full dust on curtains, kettle had musky water with cockroaches in it, shower head broken, table counter full of dirt, towels n linen were dusty, stool had paint scratches, flies all over the room, cupboard broken. Called our host, she was horrified as her unit was not of that standard, she called reception and the receptionist moved us to a 3 bedroom apartment which was lovely but bathroom had spiders, cupboards dirty and also Aircon doesnt work in the rooms, reception says they cannot do anything until the morning. This resort is a lovely place, however maintanence and cleanliness is lacking.
Read more
Date of stay: January 2020Trip type: Travelled with family
Inge1804 wrote a review Jul 2019
Cape Town, South Africa27 contributions11 helpful votes
The signage outside was the first sign that all is not as it should be. The neglected pool area as well as the cat bowels in the reception area welcomed us at the hotel. Staff is friendly, but that is it. Furniture is old, rooms dirty, cutlery filthy. Overall a terrible disgrace to the Premier Brand.
Read more
Date of stay: July 2019Trip type: Travelled on business
Response from AC N, Manager at Premier Splendid Inn Port Edward
Responded 18 Jul 2019
Dear Inge, it is disappointing that you did not enjoy your stay . We apologize about the signage that has not been changed and that you were not updated in this regard. We have taken your comments to heart and will improve on were we failed you as a guest . Thank you for your review and have a blessed week further .
Read more
TravelSA wrote a review Jan 2019
1 contribution
Firstly, the staff was very friendly and helpful. They made the stay somewhat bearable. However, the hotel is not well maintained and the pictures on the website is quite deceiving. The rooms aren’t as clean as it should be; mold in the bathrooms, broken furniture, old towels and linen, stuffy, moldy smell. The breakfast buffet (if you can call it a buffet) is extremely limited, not even filter coffee available. The hotel in general is Definitely not value for your money, it should actually be much cheaper. Well done to the staff for trying to make the best of the situation.
Read more
Date of stay: December 2018
Sleep Quality
Trip type: Travelled with family
Response from AC N, Manager at Premier Splendid Inn Port Edward
Responded 19 Feb 2019
Dear ShaksTravels, Thank you for your review , we are saddened that you did not enjoy your stay, We are currently renovating the outside buildings and hope to do some changes in the rooms with the owners permission as all the rooms are individually owned
Read more
Callum B wrote a review Jan 2019
Reading, United Kingdom5 contributions5 helpful votes
This hotel has to be the strangest place I have ever stayed. I imagine in its day it was quite the place, however since then nothing has been updated and somewhat neglected. However the people cannot do enough for you, they were great and made the outdated side of things bearable. Websites says Pool with Pool bar, which is exactly what myself and my fiancé were looking for in between a busy schedule for a friends wedding weekend......the pool was not clean and the pool bar looks like it has been locked up since the 90s. I really hope it gets back on track and also lick of paint as the people who work here are fantastic plus location is great!
Read more
Date of stay: December 2018Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Response from AC N, Manager at Premier Splendid Inn Port Edward
Responded 19 Feb 2019
Dear Callum, Thank you for your review, and yes we are currently doing some painting, and we have some ideas for the pool bar as well. Hope you will visit us again soon.
Read more
onah145 wrote a review Jul 2018
Durban, South Africa1 contribution4 helpful votes
No words can describe how traumatic the experience was. Mold, dirty linen, dirty bath, dirty cups, I was wide awake the whole night and couldn't wait to check out. Looks like there are permanent residents so not sure if that's a hotel or ? There is nothing Premier about the hotel horrified.
Read more
Date of stay: July 2018Trip type: Travelled with family
Response from AC N, Manager at Premier Splendid Inn Port Edward
Responded 26 Sep 2018
Dear Onah145, We are sad that your did not enjoy your stay with us. Please could you contact us on 039 311 3618. Your concerns have been sent to the relevant departments and are being attended to
Read more
US$45 - US$67 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
South AfricaKwaZulu-NatalPort Edward
Is This Your Tripadvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing
Frequently Asked Questions about Premier Splendid Inn Port Edward
Which popular attractions are close to Premier Splendid Inn Port Edward?
Nearby attractions include Beaver Creek Coffee Farm (1.2 km), Wild Waves Water Park (4.4 km), and Mzamba Beach (2.0 km).
What are some of the property amenities at Premier Splendid Inn Port Edward?
Some of the more popular amenities offered include a pool, an on-site restaurant, and a lounge.
Which room amenities are available at Premier Splendid Inn Port Edward?
Top room amenities include air conditioning, a refrigerator, and a desk.
What food & drink options are available at Premier Splendid Inn Port Edward?
Guests can enjoy an on-site restaurant and a lounge during their stay.
Is parking available at Premier Splendid Inn Port Edward?
Yes, free parking is available to guests.
What are some restaurants close to Premier Splendid Inn Port Edward?
Conveniently located restaurants include Beaver Creek Coffee, The Ant Cafe, and Spuds Pub & Grill.
Are there opportunities to exercise at Premier Splendid Inn Port Edward?
Yes, guests have access to a pool during their stay.
Does Premier Splendid Inn Port Edward have an airport shuttle?
Yes, Premier Splendid Inn Port Edward offers an airport shuttle for guests. We recommend calling ahead to confirm details.
Is Premier Splendid Inn Port Edward located near the city centre?
Yes, it is 0.6 km away from the centre of Port Edward.
Does Premier Splendid Inn Port Edward offer any business services?
Yes, it conveniently offers a business centre, meeting rooms, and a banquet room.