La Teranga Accommodation & Conference Group

La Teranga Accommodation & Conference Group

Back view
Traveller (1)
Room & Suite (14)
Dining Area
Dining (5)

View prices for your travel dates

Contact accommodation for availability.
There are similar hotels available.
View all
Did you already book this hotel?

About

3.5
#6 of 7 B&Bs in Kokstad
3.7 of 5 bubbles
Location
4.3 of 5 bubbles
Cleanliness
3.6 of 5 bubbles
Service
1.5 of 5 bubbles
Value
La Teranga BnB is a 3-star graded establishment, located in the little town of Kokstad sits on the boundary between KwaZulu Natal and the Eastern Cape. We offer an optional accommodation of 45 comfortable ensuite rooms of home comfort for those seeking tranquillity, comfort and enjoyment. Our sophisticated bedrooms are equipped with King Sized beds, double and single beds and some with Kitchenette, Tea/Coffee facilities, Flat screen TVs, study desks, telephone in the rooms and amenities that will ensure you have a comfortable stay. We offer full English breakfast, lunch and dinner. We have 2 conference venues with necessary features and facilities, one accommodates 20 - 30 and the other 60 - 75. We also offer free Wi-fi but available on hotspot not in all areas, safe parking, shuttle services. Our dedicated staff offer a superior service to ensure that guests have a pleasant and memorable stay while visiting our place. You make the call,we do it all! RELAX • ENJOY • UNWIND
Read more
Suggest edits to improve what we show.Improve this listing
Property amenities
Free parking
Free High Speed Internet (WiFi)
Restaurant
Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly)
Shuttle bus service
Conference facilities
Meeting rooms
Non-smoking hotel
Secured parking
Wifi
Breakfast available
Breakfast in the room
Private check-in / check-out
Laundry service
Room features
Air conditioning
Room service
Kitchenette
Minibar
Room types
Non-smoking rooms
Suites
Family rooms
Good to know
HOTEL CLASS
Star ratings are intended to indicate the general level of features, amenities, and services to expect. This property is classified according to TGCSA - Tourism Grading Council of South Africa.
3.0 of 5 stars
HOTEL STYLE
Mid-range

Location

13 The Avenue, Kokstad 4700 South Africa
20Reviews1Q+A4Room tips
Traveller rating
  • 5
  • 8
  • 2
  • 1
  • 4
Time of year
Traveller type
Language
Selected filters
  • Filter
  • English
Sort by:
Detailed Reviews
Paps0n wrote a review Apr 2018
4.0 of 5 bubbles
Price for room is very good and breakfast is divine. Showers and towels need some improvements. But overall we really enjoyed our stay there. The bedding is really comfortable but the room décor can still be improved.
Read more
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Date of stay: March 2018Trip type: Travelled with friends
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from Siphokazi T, Manager at La Teranga Accommodation & Conference Group
Responded 07 Apr 2018
Dear Valued Guest, Thank you so much for taking your time to write your review of our property, your comments are very much valued and we really appreciate that. We are very much glad to hear that you enjoyed your stay and had nice breakfast. Our commitment in investing in the property is still in process and we believe next time you will find better improvement. We look forward to host you again next time. Thank you. Regards. Maqhawe
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
lungiswamjokane wrote a review Sept 2018
4.0 of 5 bubbles
The beds are so comfortable and you sleep at night and realise it's in the morning the way they are so good and they are also clean especially to those who have sinus it's good for them and it's very interresting
Read more
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Date of stay: September 2018Trip type: Travelled solo
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from Siphokazi T, Manager at La Teranga Accommodation & Conference Group
Responded 11 Dec 2018
Dear Lungiswa, I trust this finds you well. Thank you very much for your candid review. At La Teranga we always ensure guests always feel comfortable and it is a review like this one that boost our reputation. We looking forward to host you again in future. Thank you. Kind Regards. Management
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Andiswa S wrote a review Jun 2018
4.0 of 5 bubbles
They have nice and very kind staff. The beds are comfortable and the rooms are clean. Their food is divine(big ups to the chef). Perfect for some quiet time. Far from the shops but they offer you transport if you need to go to town.
Read more
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Date of stay: June 2018Trip type: Travelled on business
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from Siphokazi T, Manager at La Teranga Accommodation & Conference Group
Responded 03 Jul 2018
Dear Andiswa Thank you very much for all your time taken for sharing your experience with other travellers. Compliments to our staff, and it is such a review like this one that encourages them to continue providing excellent service and work hard as a team. It was a great pleasure hosting you and we are so delighted to hear that you enjoyed your stay. We are hoping to host you again soon. Thank you. Warm Regards Management
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Sussie wrote a review Dec 2023
1.0 of 5 bubbles
If you love yourself and value your peace of mind DO NOT BOOK THIS PLACE!!!! Horrible is an understatement. It's not worth even half of the price they are charging or should I charged because upon investigation it was clear that they hiked the price when they heard the name of a globally recognized organisation. They served food like it's from the around the corner local supermarket and a can of whatever. You check in elsewhere and get escorted elsewhere to sleep.
I don't understand how that place is even listed on accommodation sites.
Read more
Date of stay: November 2023
1.0 of 5 bubblesValue
2.0 of 5 bubblesLocation
1.0 of 5 bubblesService
Trip type: Travelled on business
Room Tip: Do not Book this place!!! Take a walk around town and meet the locals. Do visit the Adam Kok...
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
zyothe wrote a review Jul 2018
East London, South Africa
5.0 of 5 bubbles
Welcoming was extremely warm and friendly. Information about the proceedings of the B&B was clearly presented in generously and humane manner. Meals were tastefully and attracting. Their rooms were neatly arranged and having a romantic smelling.
Read more
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Date of stay: July 2018Trip type: Travelled on business
Room Tip: Keep it up the way you arrange your rooms and also restore the fresh and romantic smelling.
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from Siphokazi T, Manager at La Teranga Accommodation & Conference Group
Responded 16 Jul 2018
Dear Mr Yothe, thank you very much for such a wonderful review and we appreciate you for taking your time to advise of your stay at Lateranga. It is only through feedback such as yours that we are able to maintain and indeed, where necessary, improve upon the service that we provide to our valued guests. It was really a great honor to us to host you and we hope to see you again next time. Thank you. Warm Regards. Management
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Gill S wrote a review Feb 2018
Cape Town, South Africa
1.0 of 5 bubbles
In a beautiful part of the country but an awful setting next to the main road, dirty furnishings, down at heel, make shift additions to buildings, no extractor fan in bathroom. Host was friendly and helpful but that was all that was positive.
Read more
Date of stay: February 2018Trip type: Travelled on business
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from Siphokazi T, Manager at La Teranga Accommodation & Conference Group
Responded 16 Feb 2018
Dear Gill, thank you for your review and we sorry for the inconvenience. It is such a review like this one that we learn from and improves our services, however, you did not specify exactly what was dirty and the additions to the buildings. We have ordered the extractor fan since we couldn't find it around Kokstad, we were renovating the rooms so that's why we still need to get a new one. Our housekeeping department makes sure that everything is fine in the room and we always check the rooms before guests check in. Our Front Office Manager also checked on you if everything was fine and you said you're ok and never raised any concerns. As a small growing business, we still working hard on improving our services of which we hope next time everything will be in order. Anyways please accept our apology for not meeting all your expectations and we would love to have the pleasure of hosting you again in future. Thank you.
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
John westley wrote a review Nov 2019
5.0 of 5 bubbles
It is the best place ever beds are comfy and very safe nice environment and the people there are very friendly and kind I suggest u book your stay now or you will miss out on this best place
It was a very nice stay
Read more
Date of stay: November 2019
5.0 of 5 bubblesLocation
5.0 of 5 bubblesCleanliness
5.0 of 5 bubblesService
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Albert wrote a review Mar 2019
Umkomaas, South Africa
1.0 of 5 bubbles
So rooms are advertised with aircon, wifi, secure parking to arrive here and they take me to another partner b&b called 'The Planes'. No secure parking,no wifi although not the issue. No aircon. A fan thats falling apart. One plug and all 2points not working. So you either charge device or cool down. Bathroom under water as pipe leaking. This place has no style and definitely not advisable.
Read more
Date of stay: March 2019Trip type: Travelled on business
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from Siphokazi T, Manager at La Teranga Accommodation & Conference Group
Responded 21 May 2019
Greetings Mr Albert Thank you for taking the time to review our properties. We truly value the opinions of our customers and we apologize that we did not meet your expectations. Providing our guests with the best possible hospitality and service has always been our mission. The Planes Guesthouse is still part of us, it's just that there were renovations going on by the time as we strive for all our properties to be on the same standard. We also take you to The Planes because we received your booking late while we had a very busy week, so that why we accommodated you at our second BnB. We also had other guests staying at The Planes by the time and never had problems and we are aware that guests' expectations are not the same. All the raised points have been addressed with the management and we believe you'd love The Planes if you can come next time as it is also as high standard like La Teranga now. Again we apologize for all the inconvenience and we promise you superb service in the future. Thank you. Warm Regards Management
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
JayDee wrote a review Mar 2019
East London, South Africa
2.0 of 5 bubbles
Well firstly upon arrival the intercom atvthe gate seemingly reached nobody. Had to call two numbers for reception to get them to open the gate. I won't judge to hardly there.

Then there are the slight blotches. On the first night I had a white towel with a massive red dye stain on it. The bathroom had a slight damp smell which I assume is coming from the ceiling given the current condition of the roof. My toilet had no toilet seat.. Yes no toilet seat, surely this should be part of room maintenance.

The bed was okay however the range of pillows wasn't too accommodating. They were all hard. The 1 soft pillow available was high and puffed up.

Lastly back to the roofing issue, the zinc roofing is terrible as it totally messes with cellphone reception, particularly around the back room area. Be prepared to have low signal and slow to barely usable internet connection, coupled with the wifi apparently not working upon my stay.

Overall my stay was okay aside from the lil frustrations.
Read more
Date of stay: March 2019Trip type: Travelled on business
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from Siphokazi T, Manager at La Teranga Accommodation & Conference Group
Responded 21 May 2019
Dear JunainD Firstly, I want to thank you for your feedback. While I wish, you had a better experience, it is feedback like this that we learn from and use to improve. We work hard to deliver an exceptional guest experience and it's apparent in this case, we fell short. The safety of our guests is a priority and we ensure we follow procedures or make other means if intercom is not working. Our housekeeping and maintenance departments have worked on all the challenges as we have considered training for all our departments in order to avoid issues to led to guests' uncomfortably stay. We'd like to have the next opportunity of hosting you again in future and we promise excellent service. Thank you. Warm Regards Management
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
DrMkhize wrote a review Jul 2018
Ballito, South Africa
5.0 of 5 bubbles
We arrived after 4 hrs drive , place was easy to find , closed to shopping mall , safe , covered parking , bed was comfortable , DStv had variety of channels to view, Oh The Breakfast buffet was amazing , definitely we go back to this place
Read more
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Date of stay: June 2018Trip type: Travelled with family
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from Siphokazi T, Manager at La Teranga Accommodation & Conference Group
Responded 03 Jul 2018
Dear Valued Guest, thank you so much for your review, we really appreciate all your time taken in sharing your experience with other travellers. Guest's satisfaction is our main priority and we are so delighted to hear that you had a great stay with us and will even come back next time. We also believe that you had a safe journey back to Durban. Thanking you so much. Warm Regards. Management
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Siphokazi T asked a question Jul 2014
Kokstad, South Africa8 contributions
how do I add prices?
Sussie wrote a tip Dec 2023
15 contributions
1.0 of 5 bubbles
"Do not Book this place!!! Take a walk around town and meet the locals. Do visit the Adam Kok heritage sight "
Read full review
zyothe wrote a tip Jul 2018
East London, South Africa1 contribution1 helpful vote
5.0 of 5 bubbles
"Keep it up the way you arrange your rooms and also restore the fresh and romantic smelling."
Read full review
alwandenyele6 wrote a tip Jun 2018
East London, South Africa1 contribution
5.0 of 5 bubbles
"Good business venue"
Read full review
Kabelorj wrote a tip Feb 2018
Polokwane, South Africa1 contribution
4.0 of 5 bubbles
"The bed is big, there is a fridge in the room, you get enough cabinet space and a sofa. They also have open channel DSTV with most of SA favorite channels. "
Read full review
Not the right property for you?
There are more places to choose from in the Kokstad area.
LOCATION
South AfricaKwaZulu-NatalKokstad
NUMBER OF ROOMS
9
Prices are provided by our partners, and reflect average nightly room rates, including taxes and fees that are fixed, known to our partners, and due at time of booking. Please see our partners for more details.
Is This Your Tripadvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing

LA TERANGA ACCOMMODATION & CONFERENCE GROUP - B&B Reviews (Kokstad, South Africa)

Frequently Asked Questions about La Teranga Accommodation & Conference Group
Which popular attractions are close to La Teranga Accommodation & Conference Group?
Nearby attractions include East Griqualand Museum and Community Tourism Information Centre (0.6 km).
What are some of the property amenities at La Teranga Accommodation & Conference Group?
Some of the more popular amenities offered include free wifi, an on-site restaurant, and free parking.
Which room amenities are available at La Teranga Accommodation & Conference Group?
Top room amenities include a kitchenette, a minibar, and air conditioning.
What food & drink options are available at La Teranga Accommodation & Conference Group?
Guests can enjoy an on-site restaurant and breakfast during their stay.
Is parking available at La Teranga Accommodation & Conference Group?
Yes, free parking and secured parking are available to guests.
What are some restaurants close to La Teranga Accommodation & Conference Group?
Conveniently located restaurants include Loafers Cafe, Wimpy, and Cassandra's Restaurant.
Is La Teranga Accommodation & Conference Group located near the city centre?
Yes, it is 0.6 km away from the centre of Kokstad.
Does La Teranga Accommodation & Conference Group offer any business services?
Yes, guests have access to meeting rooms and conference facilities during their stay.
Things to DoRestaurantsFlightsTravel StoriesCruisesCar Hire