We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Save
Share
1286 Marine Road, Shelly Beach, Margate 4265 South Africa
Lock in the lowest price from these sites
Priceline
eDreams
ZenHotels.com
Booking.com
Prices above are provided by partners for one room, with variable occupancy rules as provided by the property, and do not include all taxes and fees. Please see our partners for full details.
Traveller (43)
Room & Suite (13)
Pool & Beach (9)

About

#1 of 11 Speciality lodging in Shelly Beach
Location
Cleanliness
Service
Value
Beachfront, self-catering thatched chalets. On the shores of the warm Indian Ocean Emerald Cove is the perfect place to enjoy the pleasures of a beach holiday and explore the KwaZulu Natal South Coast. Swimming Pool, direct beach access, AA Highly recommended, and walking distance to restaurants and shops. A great place to stay for scuba divers here to experience our world famous dives sites on Protea Banks. Attractions of the area include: Oribi Gorge, whale and dolphin watching, 7 world class golf courses, many beautiful beaches, nature walks and hiking trails, and crocodile farm.
Read more
Property amenities
Free parking
Free High Speed Internet (WiFi)
Pool
Beach
Hiking
BBQ facilities
Non-smoking hotel
Laundry service
Secured parking
Wifi
Outdoor pool
Horseback riding
Mini golf
Bowling offsite
Fishing
Water park offsite
Outdoor furniture
Show more
Room features
Air conditioning
Housekeeping
Kitchenette
Microwave
Refrigerator
Room types
Non-smoking rooms
Family rooms
Good to know
HOTEL STYLE
Charming
62Reviews0Q+A9Room tips
Traveller rating
  • 49
  • 11
  • 1
  • 1
  • 0
Time of year
Traveller type
Language
  • More
Selected filters
  • Filter
  • English
Popular mentions
691annd wrote a review May 2016
Johannesburg, South Africa27 contributions5 helpful votes
We were lucky enough, to get unit 7 which is right next to the beach access gate. As it is off-season we were the only guests. The unit was clean and reasonably well stocked with utensils, and a small braai. We were unaware of the fact that no towels or teacloths were provided, it was the first time this has occurred when using self-catering accommodation in SA.. We did get to see the most beautiful sunsets/rises/and moon rises, from the beach.
Read more
Date of stay: May 2016
Helpful
Share
Response from Juper, Owner at Emerald Cove
Responded 05 Jun 2016
Thank you for your review, and we are glad you enjoyed your quiet stay. I do apologise for the lack of towels and dishcloths, we do not normally supply these and you were informed of this on your confirmation, but we would have happily supplied them had you asked.
Read more
Cactus73 wrote a review May 2016
Birmingham, United Kingdom36 contributions9 helpful votes
We received a very warm welcome from the hosts, and the accommodation is right next to the beach and within walking distance of a couple of nice restaurants and bars. The bed is comfortable and there is secure parking at the front of the property. However, the chalets are a little tired and the communal areas in particular could do with updating. Our oven was broken, and any food we left in the cupboards was crawling with ants. We were also disappointed that there were no towels provided, no washing up liquid, tea towels or cloths to do the washing up. Given the other places we have stayed around South Africa for a similar price, we were disappointed with Emerald Cove.
Read more
Date of stay: May 2016
Helpful
Share
Response from Juper, Owner at Emerald Cove
Responded 05 Jun 2016
I am sorry you were disappointed, and wished you had drawn our attention to the oven and ants so we could have dealt with those problems while you were here, the broken oven was only a trip switch ! I do apologise for the lack of towels and dishcloths, we do not normally supply these and our guests are duly informed before they arrive, however with booking.com guests from afar, I do provide them and it was an oversight that the locums that were in charge while I was away did not let you have towels and dishcloths, but I’m sure they would have obliged had you asked.
Read more
Divejb wrote a review Jan 2016
Johannesburg, South Africa121 contributions83 helpful votes
Fully equipped self catering cottages, overlooking lovely pool with a gate at the top of the property that opens out to a stunning beach. Perfectly situated with a shopping mall nearby and a dive centre across the road. Great security and a perfect holiday place I would highly recommend. The hosts are so helpful and friendly. You leave and want to plan your next trip there, as you go out the gate.
Read more
Date of stay: February 2016
Helpful
Share
Response from Juper, Owner at Emerald Cove
Responded 06 Feb 2016
Thank you so much for your lovely review. We are so glad you found our location so great and we would love to welcome you back when you plan that next trip.
Read more
Patrick B wrote a review Dec 2015
Eastham, United Kingdom4 contributions7 helpful votes
We have just returned from our 4th stay at Emerald Cove and it was hard to leave to go home. While we grew up in SA and know that the best holiday beaches in SA are on the south coast of Natal, we travel all the way from the UK to enjoy the pleasure and we always feel very welcomed by Judy when we arrive. The cottages surround a small swimming pool which is perfect for keeping the kids busy while we prepare a BBQ for dinner. There are always other kids of similar ages staying in one of the other cottages, so there is plenty to keep the little ones occupied. The cottages are clean and have everything you would want in a self catering accommodation. Judy even has beach toys and umbrellas and is always accommodating when we have anything that we need. They are cleaned daily,
Read more
Date of stay: December 2015
Helpful
Share
Response from Juper, Owner at Emerald Cove
Responded 02 Jan 2016
Thank you for ending our year on a high note with such a nice review. We love having you and your lovely family here and look forward to having you back again one day.
Read more
Tom Burd wrote a review Nov 2015
18 contributions2 helpful votes
+1
Judy stayed up late to graciously welcome me from my flight, which was much appreciated. I also found out that she had upgraded to me to a much larger cottage closer to the wifi as I was staying for three weeks. This was much appreciated, thank you Judy, it made the evenings much more enjoyable! The cottages are really fantastic, beautifully appointed and very spacious. The kitchen was well equipped, with a microwave, hob, fridge/freezer and all the utensils you could need. I couldn't have bene happier with it. The lovely pool is surrounded by the other cottages, and the beach is right behind the house. You can hear the waves from the residence which is brilliant. :) Judy was so helpful, going above and beyond the call of duty to help me organise my visits and make my stay
Read more
Date of stay: October 2015
Helpful
Share
Response from Juper, Owner at Emerald Cove
Responded 24 Nov 2015
Thank you for your very kind review, we are so happy you enjoyed your stay. You were a lovely guest and always appreciative of any small thing we could do to make your stay more comfortable. Thank you also for the photos which show off the chalet so nicely with that lens.
Read more
PRICE RANGE
US$38 - US$50 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
LOCATION
South AfricaKwaZulu-NatalMargateShelly Beach
NUMBER OF ROOMS
7
Is This Your Tripadvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing