We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

Tulbagh Country Guest House - Cape Dutch Quarters

Certificate of Excellence
23/06/2017 24/06/2017
1 room 2 adults 0 children
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Professional photos
Tulbagh Country Guest House - Cape Dutch Quarters
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"moduleList":["handlers"],"js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel"},"containerClass":null,"scriptFlags":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

285 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Showing 277: English reviews
Start your review of Tulbagh Country Guest House - Cape Dutch Quarters
 Click to rate
Durbanville, South Africa
Reviewed 3 days ago NEW

Besides the misunderstanding regarding the website were we booked from showed breakfast being included, were we having to explained ourselves and show proof with made us feel quite unwelcome and stressed as this was to be a suprise for me . We did however get the breakfast and a excuse but we would love to do this all over again...

Review collected in partnership with this hotel
 Report
Helpful?
Thank 126mariskav
London, United Kingdom
Reviewed 6 days ago NEW

The property is excellent for it's historical value and you get to see more or less the size of properties and accurate structural layout of how buildings use to be back then. Other than that the only helpful and apologetic staff was the kitchen staff who prepare breakfast in the morning. My above staff ratings do not apply to them...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank George B
JaysonClarkTulbaghZA, Owner at Tulbagh Country Guest House - Cape Dutch Quarters, responded to this review

Dear George. I am devastated to hear how poor your stay with us was last weekend. A calamity of errors on our side. The issue with the geyser in the main house was fortunately sorted out. I am genuinely terribly sorry that you had to deal with lukewarm and cool. Its horrible. Because the office phone was charging that evening,...

Durban, South Africa
Reviewed 1 week ago NEW

Very good, clean and reseption very friendly and helpful it was not any effort for her (sorry fotgot her name, young lady with dark hair) valueable assett to your business. Thank you so much we appreciate the efforts from your side

Review collected in partnership with this hotel
 Report
Helpful?
Thank louisan349
KarienBenson, Front Office Manager at Tulbagh Country Guest House - Cape Dutch Quarters, responded to this review

Hi Louisa!! Thank you so much for giving us this great review - it really made my day! I am vry happy that you have enjoyed your stay with us and that you were satisfied with my dervice towards you! Please come visit us again soon! Karien

Cape Town, South Africa
Reviewed 1 week ago

My son's wedding took place in Tulbagh in April.So I have booked few units in CDQ. From the moment I made my inquiry to the time we have all checked out, the owners Jayson & Marvel and their lovely manageress Karien were friendly, welcoming and efficient insuring that we were all happy during our stay. The highlight was the breakfast...

Review collected in partnership with this hotel
 Report
Helpful?
Thank 441amalem
KarienBenson, Front Office Manager at Tulbagh Country Guest House - Cape Dutch Quarters, responded to this review

Amale! Thank you for this awesome review! We are so very happy that you've enjoyed your stay and that we could be part of a wonderful weekend for your family. We would love to welcome you back, this time maybe a little less stressful for you without wedding planning in between? Your family were great guests and we thank you...

Cape Town Central, South Africa
Reviewed 1 week ago

We had such a delightful weekend at Die KlipHuis. A lovely fireplace, beautiful views, warm inside while nippy outside. We also had two sweet Jack Russels who visited us. We will definitely be back to stay agan

Review collected in partnership with this hotel
 Report
Helpful?
Thank clairebB5137MR
Durban-sur-Arize, France
Reviewed 1 week ago

Proper cleaning will make a huge difference to the entire experience. One bedroom had very poor quality towels and linen. There was a dove nesting on the balcony - although we understand the emotional response when we asked for this to be cleaned, it is unacceptable in this business because they carry parasites. We were not able to open the...

Review collected in partnership with this hotel
 Report
Helpful?
Thank 779elzas
Cape Town, South Africa
Reviewed 2 weeks ago

I would really have liked to have given a better rating, especially as the buildings and venue are very charming. It just lacks that extra attention to detail, and cleanliness certainly needs to be improved on. It could be so much more, but feels a bit tired, almost as if they can't be bothered anymore. Certainly needs a bit of...

Review collected in partnership with this hotel
 Report
Helpful?
1Thank chihkangh2017
Cape Town, South Africa
Reviewed 2 weeks ago

The weather in Tulbagh never fails to disappoint and was fantastic. Having so many lovely restaurants in one street and within walking distance of our accommodation was a bonus. The Victorian Loft apartment was a bit of a let down. We did not enjoy going up & down those stairs, it was a bit dark inside, and we could also...

Review collected in partnership with this hotel
 Report
Helpful?
Thank 234cathyd
Cape Town Central, South Africa
Reviewed 2 weeks ago

The stay in general was good. I just wish they had told us up front we would be sharing some of the spaces for example the kitchen and lounge . Other than that it was good place to stay and the staff was friendly and helpful

Review collected in partnership with this hotel
 Report
Helpful?
Thank zukom884
KarienBenson, Front Office Manager at Tulbagh Country Guest House - Cape Dutch Quarters, responded to this review

Hi Sisanda Thank you for reviewing our property. Just to be clear, we have informed you weeks before arrival that you will share these areas. Other than that, we are happy thatyou have enjoyed your stay with us. Kind regards Karien

Hennenman, South Africa
Reviewed 2 weeks ago

Thank you Jason and staff, what a warm welcome we received. Our room was superb, could not find a thing wrong with it !! The breakfast was sumptuous and delicious. The kitchen staff were friendly and obliging. Jason has excellent knowledge of Tulbagh and surrounds. Thanks for the map !!! It was really a great help. :) Louis & Sue...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank suenel193
KarienBenson, Front Office Manager at Tulbagh Country Guest House - Cape Dutch Quarters, responded to this review

This review just made my day!! Thank you for the awesome review you gave us. I'm very glad that you have enjoyed your stay with us and appreciated out little town the way we do. Please do come back soon and do the Church Street Tour with Jayson. Kind regards Karien

52 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (46)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (9)
Viewed
View from Room (1)
Viewed
Room/Suite (10)
Viewed
Bathroom (4)
Viewed
Dining (7)
Viewed
Other (15)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (6)
Viewed
Bathroom (1)
Viewed
Room/Suite (2)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (1)
Viewed
Dining (1)
Viewed
Other (1)
23/06/2017 24/06/2017
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Tulbagh hotels
0.2 km away
Tulbagh Hotel
Tulbagh Hotel
#1 of 18 in Tulbagh
656 reviews
2.0 km away
Rijks Country House
Rijks Country House
#3 of 18 in Tulbagh
305 reviews
0.4 km away
African Tulip Guesthouse
African Tulip Guesthouse
#2 of 18 in Tulbagh
58 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 km away
Wittedrift Manor House
Wittedrift Manor House
#5 of 18 in Tulbagh
29 reviews
2.9 km away
Montpellier De Tulbagh
Montpellier De Tulbagh
#6 of 18 in Tulbagh
65 reviews
4.8 km away
Vindoux Tree House Guest Farm & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Breakfast included
About the property
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
Things to do
  • Pool
  • Bar/Lounge
Room types
  • Suites
  • Kitchenette
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Family Rooms
In your room
  • Air Conditioning
  • Microwave
  • Refrigerator in room
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Services
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
  • Babysitting
  • Breakfast Available
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
A collection of ten historic properties, nestled between the restaurants, museums, sights and shops of Church Street. Cape Dutch Quarters, Tulbagh Country Guest House is the jewel in the crown of our heritage collection, where guests experience the authenticity of 18th century colonial architecture, original features and period/antique furnishings, while enjoying our traditional Cape hospitality. In addition, our seven self catering properties accommodate between two and twelve people each, so that groups of up to 60 can be accommodated. Enjoy our famous breakfast, lovely gardens, local reserve and other facilities. Tulbagh has a rich cultural history, unique wine farms, and wide open spaces and is well located for Route 62, West Coast and Cederberg.The Wagon Shed, Coach House and Barn are our executive self-catering units that each sleep two in a Double/Queen-sized bed. All units are unique, with open plan living room, kitchenette and en suite bath/shower room. The Coach house and Barn enjoys a private veranda/garden and the Wagon Shed has off street parking. Guests have full use of the Quarter’s pool and facilities. Breakfast is optional.Yellow wood, Toll House and Little Courtyards are all smart self catering houses dating from the 1700s. Each house sleeps between 4 and 6 people in 2-3 en suite bedrooms and feature large living areas, lounges and full kitchens. The houses all have lovely courtyard gardens, although Toll House and Courtyards also have private pools.Wittedrift Art Manor is a fully equipped self-catering mansion that was built to impress. Sleeps up to twelve in three double family suites. Each of the three wings consists of a large King room with a separate twin room and private bathroom. Large entertaining rooms and banqueting hall that seats twelve, make for a perfect party venue. ... more   less 

Additional Information about Tulbagh Country Guest House - Cape Dutch Quarters

Address: 24 Church Street, Tulbagh, Witzenberg Municipality 6820, South Africa
Region: South Africa > Western Cape > Witzenberg Municipality > Tulbagh
Price Range: R504 - R994 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3,5 star — Tulbagh Country Guest House - Cape Dutch Quarters 3.5*
Number of rooms: 15
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Travelocity, Booking.com, Agoda and TripOnline SA so you can book your Tulbagh Country Guest House - Cape Dutch Quarters reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from Tulbagh Country Guest House - Cape Dutch Quarters staff and other travellers.
1 question
Ask a question
Milnerton, South Africa

See all questions (1)

Questions? Get answers from Tulbagh Country Guest House - Cape Dutch Quarters staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“Room was spacious, beautifully furnished, A/C . Quiet”
suenel193, 5 May 2017 | Read review
“Honeymoon suite is excellent”
fauriechrista, 6 Jan 2017 | Read review
“Executive room certainly my choice once again”
JacquesB471, 15 Dec 2016 | Read review
“Honeymoon suite is preferred”
A1236QCnickc, 12 Sep 2016 | Read review
“I would not recommend The Old Dutch Quarters”
derekdaleenb, 26 Aug 2016 | Read review
5 of 5
No availability for your dates from these sites
Expedia.com
* /night
View Deal
Booking.com
Agoda.com
Hotels.com
View all 6 deals
*Disclaimer
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Change dates