We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Rijks Country House

Save
Traveller (192)
Room & Suite (48)
Dining (15)
You may also like
See all
Nearby Hotels
Overview
  • Excellent66%
  • Very good24%
  • Average6%
  • Poor2%
  • Terrible2%
Travellers talk about
“wine tasting”(43 reviews)
“white roses”(5 reviews)
AMENITIES
Free Wifi
Free Parking
Breakfast included
Air Conditioning
Pool
Non-Smoking Rooms
Restaurant
4 Star Hotel
All hotel details
You may also like
See all
Nearby Hotels
{"containerClass":null,"containerAttributes":null,"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","moduleList":["handlers"],"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"},"dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"}},"scriptFlags":null}
Reviews (345)
There are newer reviews for Rijks Country House
See the most recent reviews
Filter reviews
297 results
Traveller rating
194
68
21
8
6
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageEnglish
More languages
194
68
21
8
6
Show reviews that mention
All reviewswine tastingthe general managerwhite rosesfamily cottagefine diningsuperior roomseparate toiletcomfortable roomsceiling fanan art gallerystaff are very friendly and helpfulunderfloor heatingwell worth a visitwine estaterooms are bignext morningmini bar
FilterEnglish
Updating list...
21 - 25 of 297 reviews
Reviewed 15 October 2017 via mobile

As locals, Rijks is one of our regular fine dining outings. Although the wine was great, as always, the new lunch menu was disappointing. I had the lamb pie, and although it tasted ok, it looked rather drab being someone’s version of a deconstructed something...More

Thank Susan_Kruger
Response from Trevvl, General Manager at Rijks Country HouseResponded 16 October 2017

Dear Susan_Kruger Thank you for your review. It is always lovely to have our regular guests visit and enjoy their time with us, however I am disappointed to hear that your burger patty was raw. Please accept my humblest apologies for this. I can assure...More

Reviewed 10 October 2017

We enjoyed the most amazing weekend for my mother's 80th birthday. Rijks was top class in every way, the rooms comfortable and stylish and the breakfast absolutely delicious. Thanks for making our weekend extra special!

Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank snoopy147
Response from Trevvl, General Manager at Rijks Country HouseResponded 11 October 2017

Dear snoopy147 Thank you for your review. It was so special for us to be a part of your mom's 80th birthday celebrations. We really enjoyed hosting you and your family.

Reviewed 9 October 2017

We drove the 125km just for lunch at Rijk's restaurants as we have been here 3 times over as many years and always had a wonderful meal. Unfortunately, this time we didn't have such a good experience. We opted for 2 main courses - Soup...More

Thank AwayfromParadise
Response from Trevvl, General Manager at Rijks Country HouseResponded 10 October 2017

Dear AwayfromParadise Thank you for your review. I am sad to hear that you did not enjoy your meal like you have in the past. All I can do is apologize for this. The cheese plate is not a platter - it is a dessert...More

Reviewed 7 October 2017

We had a fantastic weekend, we loved waking around the vineyards and seeing the happenings of a wine farm. Beautiful birdlife around the dam and relaxing, peaceful afternoons reading by the pool. I had a brilliant massage in the spa which was such a treat....More

Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank dvdhickman
Response from Trevvl, General Manager at Rijks Country HouseResponded 9 October 2017

Dear dvdhickman Thank you for your lovely review of Rijk's Country House. It is wonderful to hear that you enjoyed your stay.

Reviewed 6 October 2017

Very enjoyable stay. Staff friendly, courteous and welcoming. Beautiful quiet, country setting. Environment well maintained. Small library and art exhibit an extra. Bird life at dam. Loved snow on mountains. Close proximity to wine farms.

Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank tonyvC5897ZC
Response from Trevvl, General Manager at Rijks Country HouseResponded 7 October 2017

Dear tonyvC5897ZC Thank you for your review.

View more reviews
Most Booked Properties in Tulbagh
See allSee all
About
Awards & Recognition
Certificate of Excellence
Amenities
Top amenities
Pool
Free Parking
Restaurant
Bar/Lounge
Free High Speed Internet (WiFi)
Breakfast included
Room Service
Hotel Amenities
Free Parking
Breakfast included
Laundry Service
Conference Facilities
Room Service
Meeting Rooms
Multilingual Staff
Babysitting
Room amenities
Air Conditioning
Minibar
Things to do
Pool
Restaurant
Bar/Lounge
Details
Price range
US$94 - US$160 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel class
Room types
Non-Smoking Rooms, Suites, Family Rooms
Details
Price range
US$94 - US$160 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel class
Room types
Non-Smoking Rooms, Suites, Family Rooms
Add Photo Photos
Traveller (192)
Room & Suite (48)
Dining (15)
Pool & Beach (8)
Questions & Answers
Get quick answers from Rijks Country House staff and past guests.
Note: your question will be posted publicly on the Questions & Answers page.
Submit
Posting guidelines
Room Tips
"All rooms are divine and well located. The cottages for families are lovely and the couples rooms are..."
Read review
"too close to the dining room is busy and too far a long walk"
Read review
"There were three of us and we each had a little cottage next to one another. Clean room and bathroom, TV..."
Read review
"I prefer the rooms closer to the Hotel to the chalets.But purely because I can watch TV from my bed."
Read review
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more. Claim Your Listing