We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Cape Dutch Quarters

20-32 Church Street, Tulbagh, Witzenberg Municipality 6820 South Africa
avatar-imageavatar-imageavatar-image
Traveller (11)
Room & Suite (7)
Dining (2)

View prices for your travel dates

Prices are provided by our partners, and reflect average nightly room rates, including taxes and fees that are fixed, known to our partners, and due at time of booking. Please see our partners for more details.

About

#2 of 4 lodges in Tulbagh
Location
Cleanliness
Service
Value
Suggest edits to improve what we show.Improve this listing
Property amenities
Free parking
Free High Speed Internet (WiFi)
Pool
Wine / champagne
Bicycle rental
Shuttle bus service
BBQ facilities
Gift shop
Street parking
Pool / beach towels
Outdoor pool
Non-smoking hotel
Sun loungers / beach chairs
Dry cleaning
Laundry service
Ironing service
Show more
Room features
Air conditioning
Housekeeping
Safe
Seating area
Kitchenette
Microwave
Electric blanket
Bath / shower
Clothes rack
Iron
Refrigerator
Kitchenware
Hair dryer
Show more
Room types
Non-smoking rooms
Good to know
Languages Spoken
English, Afrikaans, Xhosa
67Reviews0Q+A6Room tips
Traveller rating
  • 39
  • 14
  • 6
  • 5
  • 3
Time of year
Traveller type
Language
Selected filters
  • Filter
  • English
Popular mentions
Sort by:
Most Recent
avatar-image
Edward D wrote a review Feb 2024
Paternoster, South Africa7 contributions1 helpful vote
What a little gem, right in the heart of Tulbagh! Jason was very helpful and informative and saw to my every need when I checked in. It was a +40 degree day, so the little pool provided some welcome respite from the heat! I stayed in the Wagon Shed which was well-equipped and very comfortable and my car was inches from my door which provided peace of mind. I would certainly recommend this fabulous place in the future!
Read more
Date of stay: February 2024
Value
Location
Service
Trip type: Travelled solo
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Helpful
Share
avatar-image
Windflower0 wrote a review Feb 2024
Plettenberg Bay, South Africa27 contributions4 helpful votes
The exterior of this historical building in Church street is a visual feast and on entering the hotel and our premier room we continued our walk through history and opulence - spacious, comfortable and furnished in a manner consistent with the history of the area. The host/owner, Jason, is a gem who has lived in and loved Tulbagh for ,any years and was most helpful and acomodating. Thoroughy recommended
Read more
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Date of stay: February 2024
Value
Rooms
Location
Cleanliness
Service
Sleep Quality
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Helpful
Share
avatar-image
65studio wrote a review Feb 2024
2 contributions
We really enjoyed our two night stay in the honeymoon suite. Beautifully decorated, super comfortable with everything you need. The best thing was the feeling of living in an exquisitely restored Cape Dutch building. A real treat.
Read more
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Date of stay: February 2024
Value
Rooms
Location
Cleanliness
Service
Sleep Quality
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Helpful
Share
Response from Charmaine Langeveldt, General Manager at Cape Dutch Quarters
Responded 1 week ago
We kindly thank you for the 5star review, as we are looking forward to your next stay with us. All the best for 2024.
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
avatar-image
tamiswart wrote a review Feb 2024
1 contribution
We happen to book one of the hotter weekends in tulbagh but the facilities available made it such a wonderful stay. Stunning house full of history with lovely spacious rooms with AC and the pool/entertainment area is such a treat. Jayson, the owner, is full of knowledge and loves sharing it with his guests, staff are so friendly and respect guest’s privacy. Such a lovely weekend at Cape Dutch Quarters and cannot wait to go back, highly recommend!
Read more
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Date of stay: February 2024
Value
Rooms
Location
Cleanliness
Service
Sleep Quality
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Helpful
Share
Response from Charmaine Langeveldt, General Manager at Cape Dutch Quarters
Responded 1 week ago
Thank you Tami, for writing us a review. We take great pride in our guests and would always go the extra mile for them, as we do want all our guests to happily return for another great stay.
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
avatar-image
Andrew C wrote a review Jan 2024
Cape Town, South Africa873 contributions327 helpful votes
There are a variety of atmospheric rooms for you to choose from, so make sure to explore them all. The main pool is lovely, and great for social time. Fantastic breakfast in a room filled with local history.
Read more
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Date of stay: January 2024
Value
Rooms
Location
Cleanliness
Service
Sleep Quality
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Helpful
Share
Response from Charmaine Langeveldt, General Manager at Cape Dutch Quarters
Responded 17 Jan 2024
Thank you Andrew, we are happy to hear that your stay was pleasant. All the best for 2024.
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
avatar-image
Scenic21898416563 wrote a review Jan 2024
Hermanus, South Africa2 contributions
A must visit! New Years eve we where lucky enough to find accommodation at this exceptional Guesthouse. We felt at home immediately. Kind Charmaine, who where on duty, went out of her way to accommodate us on short notice. Most definitely worth another visit from us! Clean, gorgeous interior and loads of ship wreck items to peruse as you walk through the main house. Captivating.
Read more
Date of stay: December 2023
Value
Location
Service
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Room Tip: Lapa and pool gorgeous Clean, neat and captivatingly inviting Host Charmaine was amazing
See more room tips
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Helpful
Share
Response from Charmaine Langeveldt, General Manager at Cape Dutch Quarters
Responded 17 Jan 2024
Thank you kindly for the awesome review, indeed we take great pride in our guests, making our guesthouse feels like home away from home. We look forward to your next visit.
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
avatar-image
Christine D wrote a review Nov 2023
Windhoek, Namibia48 contributions2 helpful votes
The Cape Dutch Quarters consist of a variety of buildings and types of accommodation. They have beautifull antique furniture, art pieces, cutlery and crockery. The establishment has museum status and the pieces are very well displayed and restored. We booked a family room so that we can have 2 bed, but the room was not available when we arrived. We were offered a 2-bedroom apartment. We stayed there for one night, but it was not up to standard. The only room that was available had a king size bed and we had to share a bed - something that we did not want to do. This unfortunately spoiled the experience for us. The entire place needs a very deep and proper clean and a lot of maintenance.
Read more
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Date of stay: October 2023
Value
Rooms
Location
Cleanliness
Service
Sleep Quality
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Helpful
Share
Response from Charmaine Langeveldt, General Manager at Cape Dutch Quarters
Responded 16 Nov 2023
Dear Christine I am sorry for your disappointing stay, as explained the room was not available when you checked in, and I tried the alternative two-bedroom apartment. We will definitely look into the cleaning and maintenance issues mentioned in your review. Once again we do apologize for the bad experience you had.
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
avatar-image
ckets41 wrote a review Oct 2023
Cape Town, South Africa2 contributions
Amazing reception upon arrival. We were shown to our room and also given a map of the town and shown some of the hotspots. We were allocated the HoneyMoon suite....its big and spacious and very clean. Breakfast was from the top shelves as well and portion was generous.
Read more
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Date of stay: October 2023
Value
Rooms
Location
Cleanliness
Service
Sleep Quality
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Helpful
Share
Response from Charmaine Langeveldt, General Manager at Cape Dutch Quarters
Responded 16 Nov 2023
Thank you kindly for your review, we take great pride in our guests staying at our guesthouse and definitely looking forward to your next stay with us. All the best for the rest of 2023!
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
avatar-image
chimoniasass06 wrote a review Aug 2023
Tulbagh, South Africa1 contribution
We had an absolutely amazing time at Cape dutch quarters. The rooms were spacious and spotless and with great décor. Charmaine were attentive and went out of her way to ensure that we were comfortable. We can’t fault the place and we will definitely go back.
Read more
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Date of stay: August 2023
Value
Rooms
Location
Cleanliness
Service
Sleep Quality
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Helpful
Share
Response from Charmaine Langeveldt, General Manager at Cape Dutch Quarters
Responded 31 Aug 2023
Thank you kindly for the 5star review, much appreciated. Looking forward to your next stay with us.
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
avatar-image
CapeTravelbug wrote a review Jul 2023
Cape Town Central, South Africa5 contributions1 helpful vote
This was the perfect couple's 2 nights breakaway. At the Cape Dutch Quarters you are transported right back to last century. Its like staying in a museum (make sure you ask for the honeymoon suite) with an "all access pass" to discover all the amazing historical artefacts on display in the residential complex. And you want to be up in the crispy winter morning on time to enjoy the hearty country breakfast on offer. So much to see and do in and around Tulbagh - make sure to make it a minimum of two nights. Also get savvy about the amazing history of Tulbagh by downloading the Voicemap based Tulbagh audio tour that has been beautifully compiled by Cape Dutch Quarters host Jayson. We will be back soon !
Read more
Date of stay: July 2023
Value
Location
Service
Trip type: Travelled with family
Room Tip: The main house with the honeymoon room leading right onto church street and access to a beautiful...
See more room tips
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Helpful
Share
Response from Charmaine Langeveldt, General Manager at Cape Dutch Quarters
Responded 23 Jul 2023
Thank you kindly for taking the time to write us a review, heartwarming to receive a 5 star review. We definately looking forward to your next stay with us. All the best.
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Previous
Not the right property for you?
There are more places to choose from in the Tulbagh area.
PRICE RANGE
R 956 - R 1,032 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
LOCATION
South AfricaWestern CapeWitzenberg MunicipalityTulbagh
NUMBER OF ROOMS
2
Prices are provided by our partners, and reflect average nightly room rates, including taxes and fees that are fixed, known to our partners, and due at time of booking. Please see our partners for more details.
Is This Your Tripadvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing

CAPE DUTCH QUARTERS - Lodge Reviews & Price Comparison (Tulbagh, South Africa) - Tripadvisor

Frequently Asked Questions about Cape Dutch Quarters
Which popular attractions are close to Cape Dutch Quarters?
Nearby attractions include Old Town Tulbagh (0.3 km), De Oude Kerk (0.1 km), and Lemberg Wine Estate (3.5 km).
What are some of the property amenities at Cape Dutch Quarters?
Some of the more popular amenities offered include free wifi, a pool, and free parking.
Which room amenities are available at Cape Dutch Quarters?
Top room amenities include a kitchenette, air conditioning, and a refrigerator.
What food & drink options are available at Cape Dutch Quarters?
Guests can enjoy barbeque facilities during their stay.
Is parking available at Cape Dutch Quarters?
Yes, free parking and street parking are available to guests.
What are some restaurants close to Cape Dutch Quarters?
Conveniently located restaurants include Readers Restaurant, The Olive Terrace, and Obiqua Cafe.
Are there opportunities to exercise at Cape Dutch Quarters?
Yes, guests have access to a pool during their stay.
Is Cape Dutch Quarters located near the city centre?
Yes, it is 0.4 km away from the centre of Tulbagh.
Are any cleaning services offered at Cape Dutch Quarters?
Yes, dry cleaning and laundry service are offered to guests.
Which languages are spoken by the staff at Cape Dutch Quarters?
The staff speaks multiple languages, including English, Afrikaans, and Xhosa.