Oliphantskop

Oliphantskop

Across Club Mykonos, Langebaan, Saldanha Bay Municipality 7357 South Africa

View prices for your travel dates

Contact accommodation for availability.
There are similar hotels available.
View all

About

3.0
#1 of 1 ranch in Langebaan
4.3 of 5 bubbles
Location
3.7 of 5 bubbles
Cleanliness
3.1 of 5 bubbles
Service
3.7 of 5 bubbles
Value
Suggest edits to improve what we show.Improve this listing
Good to know
HOTEL STYLE
Budget
Property amenities
Free parking
Pool
Outdoor pool
Bar / lounge
Non-smoking hotel

Location

Across Club Mykonos, Langebaan, Saldanha Bay Municipality 7357 South Africa
Getting there
Somewhat walkable
Places to stay are graded on a 0-100 scale. The higher the grade, the easier it is for travellers to find restaurants and things to do within walking distance.
Grade: 57 out of 100
57
Cape Town Intl Airport
114.3 km
See all flights
2 Attractions
within 1 kilometer
29Reviews1Q+A8Room tips
Traveller rating
  • 3
  • 9
  • 4
  • 4
  • 9
Time of year
Traveller type
Language
Selected filters
  • Filter
  • English
Sort by:
Detailed Reviews
Sabeneth K wrote a review Dec 2018
4.0 of 5 bubbles
I stayed with friends during the weekend if 01 December. I had a chalet right infront the pool. Staff hospitality is commendable. Lively due to the bar on site. Still relaxing. Stunning views, property is well looked after. Room was big (had a 4 sleeper) ensuite. Great place for friends who are budget conscious. Would definitely return.
Read more
Date of stay: December 2018Trip type: Travelled with friends
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
mariodhelminie wrote a review May 2015
Cape Town Central, South Africa
4.0 of 5 bubbles
Thank you for a spectacular stay at Oliphantskop. Beautiful place. We were very happy with everthing. Accommodation was comfortable and very cozy. Will definitely recommend it to friends and family. Great views.
Read more
Date of stay: November 2014
5.0 of 5 bubblesValue
4.0 of 5 bubblesLocation
4.0 of 5 bubblesService
Trip type: Travelled with family
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
MrsH28 wrote a review Jul 2019
Cape Town Central, South Africa
2.0 of 5 bubbles
From the photos on their website the place really looks awesome, only to get there to find its a bit run down and serious TLC is needed, when I phoned to make the booking we were told to bring extra blankets and our braai grid. Did not have a issue with taking the braai grid, but seriously no extra bedding, luckily i packed towels in as there were none available. No wine glasses no braai dish no roll to hang the toilet paper on despite the fact that the holder in mounted to the wall. Over all this can be a beautiful establishment if properly looked after
Read more
Date of stay: July 2019Trip type: Travelled as a couple
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Simon B wrote a review Mar 2020
Cape Town, South Africa
1.0 of 5 bubbles
The West Coast Marathon was to be this weekends challenge for the other half, which meant a weekend away.

Unfortunately accommodation was a bit thin given the late bookings but Olifantskop was open and at reasonable cost.

The web site promised lots. Very pretty located high on a hill with loads of rocky outcrops and a magnificent pool.

Sadly the pool is the only thing this place has going for it.

Having arrived we were greeted by a grumpy old sow who made us pay the balance in the open (no office or anything) before issuing us with a key.

While everything was clean (except for bottle tops in the flowerbeds and stompies in the pathways) we found it scruffy and unkempt. And being built on a rocky outcrop dealing with sewerage is hard, bat having said pipes beautifully exposed and painted bright green makes for an unpleasant visual experience.

The cottages are badly equipped. Nary a wine glass in sight. Nor a corkscrew. Bit god forbid a knife is missing. From a self catering point of view if you can’t braai then you are buggered. A puny 2 plate stove is also you have. Oh, if there’s loadshedding, don’t bank on the provision of candles.

At least the shower is awesome.

The rooms are small and cramped.

It’s not the cheapest. And for this reason it gets a half star. But the awesome pool upgrades it to 1 Star.

Sorry. We won’t be back.
Read more
Date of stay: March 2020Trip type: Travelled with family
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Mary wrote a review Nov 2013
Knysna, South Africa
1.0 of 5 bubbles
There are no redeeming qualities for this establishment. Rooms are in a state of disrepair, the grounds are tired, no security whatsoever!

At one of the cottages, one in our group had someone try and break in. Low surrounding walls, no gates, easy to access all cottages, noisy and not a place I would recommend!
Read more
Date of stay: October 2013Trip type: Travelled with friends
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from Luke R, Owner at Oliphantskop
Responded 25 Apr 2014
Hi Mary We regret that you had such a negative experience here at Oliphantskop and would like the opportunity to make it up to you. I have taken over ownership as of January and have taken large steps to ensure that our clients experience is our most important aim. We have redone our gardens and brought them back into a lovely representation of what the West Coast should be. Our units have been painted and we have done a ton of preventative maintenance on them to avoid reoccurring issues. We do inform all of our clientele either telephonically , over email and during the check in process that we have a no noise policy after 23:00 and do our best to ensure that this tranquil and peaceful environment is kept pleasant for all. With regards to security, all staff employed stay on the premises and we do our best to ensure security is kept tight. I really believe that it was an unfortunate turn of events with your experience here and I would love to invite you free of charge to come and see the steps we have taken to ensure that our facility is managed professionally and that our focus is on customer experience. Please feel free to contact me on our landline number at any time. Regards Luke
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
paulsefam wrote a review May 2014
Stellenbosch, South Africa
5.0 of 5 bubbles
Mrs F. Paulse

Me and family were at Oliphantskop for the long weekend in March. On our arrival we received a warm and loving welcome from all the staff including the cleaners and the staff working in the nursery. Our chalet was neat and tidy. Everything was in it's place. There was no need to run around asking for anything we need. Everyday we were greeted by the staff in a very polite manner. I will and did recommend a family, friends and collegues to visit the resort. I am really looking forward to our next stay.Thanks again to everybody who made our stay comfortable and enjoyable.
Read more
Date of stay: March 2014
5.0 of 5 bubblesValue
5.0 of 5 bubblesRooms
5.0 of 5 bubblesLocation
5.0 of 5 bubblesCleanliness
5.0 of 5 bubblesService
5.0 of 5 bubblesSleep Quality
Trip type: Travelled with family
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
CandiceSA87 wrote a review Jul 2013
Cape Town Central, South Africa
1.0 of 5 bubbles
After 3 days of waiting for a reply and numerous calls later only to be told "your request is not possible" shows the lack of professionalism and poor management of the establishment. This has left an ill taste of review that I would not ever recommend or consider this establishment to clients or friends alike
Read more
Date of stay: July 2013
1.0 of 5 bubblesService
Trip type: Travelled on business
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from Luke R, Owner at Oliphantskop
Responded 25 Apr 2014
Hi Candice I recall this booking and am sincerely sorry that you feel as strongly as you do regarding the circumstances. The period that you had requested was booked by a large group and as such we had to clarify communication with them to ensure your dates were available. On a professional basis we should have communicated this to you sooner and kept you in the loop. Again, a sincere apology to you for keeping you waiting and not being able to assist sooner. Trust all is well Luke
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Quinton W wrote a review Apr 2019
Cape Town, South Africa
1.0 of 5 bubbles
We over night at this 1 star lodge called oliphantskop in langebaan. To summarized the evening.

We arrived late after the casino. We stepped into the oldest dingiest dust room ever.

The mattresses and pillows were so old and flat its a shame to think that we had our parents with us from Johannesburg

The place was dirty and moulded. We had the baddest experience as could not sleep due to the smell of old dust. Come on people really clean your rooms.

The reeds ceiling was covered by bamboo reeds and fell out and things were crawling in the bamboo. Could not sleep. Disgusting.

Our door was locked and could not open as the door locked was damaged. We had to get out of the window to open the door as reception was not picking up the phone at 9:30am.

We spoke to the mangers about it and she just said rudely that they will look into it.

No not a nice place 1 star rated ill say. Their website picks must be taken when they opened in 1925.
Read more
Date of stay: April 2019Trip type: Travelled with family
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Edz80 wrote a review Jan 2015
Cape Town Central, South Africa
1.0 of 5 bubbles
Where does one start. Firstly on arrival our group was informed that our chalets did not have showers, we asked if there was any rooms we could move to that had showers, the response was simple : "You should have asked when you booked". Throughout our stay there was so much noise coming from the pool area ,one could hardly think meanwhile we were asked at 8 in the evening to speak softer. ( the rules say no music/noise after 22:00). On day two we asked for some more sugar and coffee sachets, once again we were simply told they only put coffee etc in the rooms on the arrival of your stay and not again.(We were booked in for three nights). On the one afternoon we were met by one of the cleaning staff at the entrance to our chalet, she said that she was there to clean , I responded that there was someone in the bath and she would have to come back later, the cleaner responded with" the women in the bath must climb out" . I was disgusted. The rooms are also not equipped with ceiling fans or aircons so one has to leave the windows open which is not very secure because they do not have burglar bars.I also find the day visitor option for people to come into the "resort" is also a horrible thing.I am not writing this to bring the "resort" down but just to warn future clients so they don't have to go through what we had too.
Read more
Date of stay: December 2014
2.0 of 5 bubblesRooms
3.0 of 5 bubblesLocation
1.0 of 5 bubblesService
Trip type: Travelled with friends
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Jeanne_Marie680712 wrote a review Apr 2013
Citrusdal, South Africa
1.0 of 5 bubbles
On Arrival our room was double booked, although we already paid the full amount the week before. There seems to be a huge communication gap between personnel. Personnel had a " I don't care" attitude regarding this matter. Our second house option was also almost taken by other guests. Chalet was dirty, floor hasn't been swept and pots and pans were still dirty from previous guests stay. The one single bed was a real hazard to sleep on, seeing the base of the bed was broken. I will not be using their services again, and that for a steep price for one night's stay. Very disappointed!
Read more
Date of stay: April 2013
1.0 of 5 bubblesValue
2.0 of 5 bubblesRooms
4.0 of 5 bubblesLocation
1.0 of 5 bubblesCleanliness
1.0 of 5 bubblesService
1.0 of 5 bubblesSleep Quality
Trip type: Travelled with friends
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from Luke R, Owner at Oliphantskop
Responded 25 Apr 2014
Hi Jeanne We at Oliphantskop truly apologize for the experience you had in 2013. There are no excuses for a double booked room. I would like to ensure you that management has been changed and we have taken some serious steps towards improving our facilities and unit standards. We welcome feedback from our clientele with every check out and have implemented a comments book that is run by our Housekeepers to ensure that customers are satisfied on departure. I have taken over ownership and can guarantee that Oliphantskop is committed to a new experience that truly captures the essence of what this 120 year old farm is all about. I would love any feedback from you and would happily have you here free of charge to see that our standards and professionalism have improved. Feel free to contact me on our number. Regards Luke Rauch
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Answer from FarAway23938011246
Can I have a number of oliphantskop please
Joseph N wrote a tip Feb 2024
1 contribution
1.0 of 5 bubbles
"The bar is terrible manage , only a few drinks nothing to our taste , like Whiskey ( normal drink ) "
Read full review
Warren W wrote a tip Mar 2018
Cape Town, South Africa24 contributions7 helpful votes
3.0 of 5 bubbles
"Rooms next to pool or ideally poolside chalet. Don't take anything up on the rocks."
Read full review
HarveyCapeTown wrote a tip Dec 2017
Cape Town452 contributions473 helpful votes
3.0 of 5 bubbles
"Rather opt for the cottages than the 8-sleeper units until they have been renovated."
Read full review
bheinrich73 wrote a tip Dec 2015
Berlin, Germany127 contributions109 helpful votes
2.0 of 5 bubbles
"only with the braai area otherwise dont book"
Read full review
VANSTAVEL wrote a tip Dec 2015
Cape Town Central, South Africa3 contributions2 helpful votes
5.0 of 5 bubbles
"best views, great place for kids safety"
Read full review
Not the right property for you?
There are more places to choose from in the Langebaan area.
LOCATION
South AfricaWestern CapeSaldanha Bay MunicipalityLangebaan
NUMBER OF ROOMS
25
Prices are provided by our partners, and reflect average nightly room rates, including taxes and fees that are fixed, known to our partners, and due at time of booking. Please see our partners for more details.
Is This Your Tripadvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing

OLIPHANTSKOP - Ranch Reviews (Langebaan, South Africa)

Frequently Asked Questions about Oliphantskop
Which popular attractions are close to Oliphantskop?
Nearby attractions include Laguna Mall (0.1 km), Mykonos Casino (0.00 km), and Calypso Beach (1.1 km).
What are some of the property amenities at Oliphantskop?
Some of the more popular amenities offered include a pool, a lounge, and free parking.
What food & drink options are available at Oliphantskop?
Guests can enjoy a lounge during their stay.
Is parking available at Oliphantskop?
Yes, free parking is available to guests.
What are some restaurants close to Oliphantskop?
Conveniently located restaurants include Thoban Chefs, Marc's Beach Bar Restaurant, and Boesmanland Plaaskombuis.
Are there opportunities to exercise at Oliphantskop?
Yes, guests have access to a pool during their stay.
All Langebaan HotelsLangebaan Hotel DealsLast Minute Hotels in LangebaanHotels near Oliphantskop
Things to DoRestaurantsFlightsHoliday HomesTravel StoriesCruisesCar Hire