De Langenhof Guest House

De Langenhof Guest House

Traveller (23)
Room & Suite (9)
Pool
Pool & Beach (2)

View prices for your travel dates

Contact accommodation for availability.
There are similar hotels available.
View all
Did you already book this hotel?

About

4.5
#3 of 6 guest houses in Riebeek-West
4.3 of 5 bubbles
Location
4.7 of 5 bubbles
Cleanliness
4.8 of 5 bubbles
Service
4.6 of 5 bubbles
Value
Situated in the picturesque Riebeek Valley, approximately an hour's drive from Cape Town. This elegant country accommodation is set in a mature garden with restful water features and ample space for quiet reflection. Beautifully decorated en-suite rooms are fitted with quality linen, air-conditioning, Satellite TV & DVD players. Enjoy breakfast on the veranda. Relax at the large pool and quaint pool house in summer, and in the comfortable lounge by the fireplace in winter.
Read more
Suggest edits to improve what we show.Improve this listing
Property amenities
Free parking
Free High Speed Internet (WiFi)
Pool
Free breakfast
Babysitting
Non-smoking hotel
Shared lounge / TV area
Private check-in / check-out
Wifi
Outdoor pool
Saltwater pool
Bar / lounge
Special diet menus
Laundry service
Ironing service
Room features
Air conditioning
Housekeeping
Safe
Flatscreen TV
Room types
Bridal suite
Non-smoking rooms
Good to know
HOTEL CLASS
Star ratings are intended to indicate the general level of features, amenities, and services to expect. This property is classified according to TGCSA - Tourism Grading Council of South Africa.
4.0 of 5 stars
HOTEL STYLE
Classic
Mid-range
Languages Spoken
English, Afrikaans

Location

18 Lang St, Riebeek-West 7306 South Africa
Getting there
Car recommended
Places to stay are graded on a 0-100 scale. The higher the grade, the easier it is for travellers to find restaurants and things to do within walking distance.
Grade: 46 out of 100
46
Cape Town Intl Airport
72.7 km
See all flights
147Reviews0Q+A31Room tips
Traveller rating
  • 99
  • 40
  • 5
  • 2
  • 1
Time of year
Traveller type
Language
Selected filters
  • Filter
  • English
Sort by:
Detailed Reviews
julia t wrote a review Oct 2020
5.0 of 5 bubbles
Gail and Mike are wonderful hosts. They are friendly and provide a wonderful stay. The rooms are cozy to stay in with a lovely en-suite bathroom. It is lovely to wake up in the morning and have such a beautiful garden surround you while you have your morning coffee and breakfast.
The guesthouse also offers an amazing cooked breakfast for the guests.
I cannot wait to go back and have another relaxing weekend!
Read more
Date of stay: October 2020
5.0 of 5 bubblesValue
5.0 of 5 bubblesRooms
5.0 of 5 bubblesService
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Rob C wrote a review Mar 2024
Cape Town, South Africa
5.0 of 5 bubbles
Our stay at Schoemansrus was wonderful. Clean, spacious well-appointed rooms in large, shady garden. Hostess Marita is charming and very friendly. We are not great fans of water-saving shower heads, and often wonder whether they achieve their objective? It takes ages to rinse off soap and shampoo, along with dust from Cape Epic. Breakfast was awesome
Read more
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Date of stay: March 2024
5.0 of 5 bubblesValue
4.0 of 5 bubblesRooms
5.0 of 5 bubblesLocation
5.0 of 5 bubblesCleanliness
5.0 of 5 bubblesService
5.0 of 5 bubblesSleep Quality
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
ElizeJvR wrote a review Apr 2013
Randburg, South Africa
5.0 of 5 bubbles
De Langenhof was everything the website and brochures promised, and more.
Sparkling clean rooms, crisp linens, fanatical fantastical breakfasts made for a peaceful luxurious stay. It IS the little things that count to make one feel at home. Gail has mastered this art. Well done - truly the best stay I had for a long time.
Read more
Date of stay: March 2013
3.0 of 5 bubblesValue
5.0 of 5 bubblesRooms
4.0 of 5 bubblesLocation
5.0 of 5 bubblesCleanliness
5.0 of 5 bubblesService
5.0 of 5 bubblesSleep Quality
Trip type: Travelled on business
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
13going wrote a review Sept 2015
cape town
4.0 of 5 bubbles
I had a very good stay. Mike and Gail treated me with so much respect. Thank you for your amazing hospitality and taking such good care of me. Coming to my room after a long uncomfortable day working, felt like I was simply coming home. Gail thank you for the amazing referrals to the amazing restaurants in the area.
Read more
Date of stay: September 2015Trip type: Travelled on business
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from GPWfmPE, Owner at De Langenhof Guest House
Responded 13 Sept 2015
Dear Charmaine Thank you very much for you lovely comments. You were a pleasure to host and we hope to see you again next year when you go to the Moorreesburg show. All the best Gail & Mike
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Jane H wrote a review May 2015
Horsham District, United Kingdom
1.0 of 5 bubbles
We spent a night at the accommodation in May 2015 to celebrate our anniversary. The accommodation was a real disappointment and certainly is not deserving of 4 stars. The gardens were very run down and not well kept. Our room over looked an untidy garden and we had views of a old boxes and the guest house storage.

Further the only soap in the room was a used bar from the previous guest.

We received no apology from the guest house when bringing these issues to their attention.

Outside of these issues, I would not describe this as a four star guest house, and it is certainly not luxury. It felt neglected and on arrival our host seemed more interested in getting our payment than settling us in.

I would advise future visitors to this beautiful part of South Africa to avoid this guest house.
Read more
Date of stay: May 2015Trip type: Travelled as a couple
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from GPWfmPE, Owner at De Langenhof Guest House
Responded 22 May 2015
Dear Jane As mentioned in an email, I am sorry you had a disappointing experience at our guest house. I apologised verbally when we gave Paul soaps, and apologised by email in response to your email about the boxes. In this email I explained the reason for the boxes; these have now been removed. I do not appreciate your attempt to blackmail us by threatening to put a bad review on Trip Advisor if we did not refund your money. Regards Gail
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
cambio wrote a review Mar 2014
Stamford, United Kingdom
3.0 of 5 bubbles
Stayed here for a couple of nights in February. Gail was a great host and worked so hard to make sure everyone was happy. Great breakfasts with local produce - the most perfect poached eggs.
The garden, although had lovely plants and trees, needed a bit of maintenance, as did the outside of the bedrooms.
Read more
Date of stay: February 2014
4.0 of 5 bubblesValue
3.0 of 5 bubblesRooms
3.0 of 5 bubblesLocation
3.0 of 5 bubblesCleanliness
5.0 of 5 bubblesService
4.0 of 5 bubblesSleep Quality
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
RenetteB3 wrote a review Dec 2013
Cape Town Central, South Africa
5.0 of 5 bubbles
Absolutely beautiful guesthouse with super friendly service. A place that feels like home and where you can really sit back and relax. Peaceful and beautiful surroundings. Truely recommendable! Room was spacious, crispy clean and equipped with all the necessities to make your stay relaxed and comfortable.
Read more
Date of stay: December 2013
5.0 of 5 bubblesValue
5.0 of 5 bubblesRooms
5.0 of 5 bubblesLocation
5.0 of 5 bubblesCleanliness
5.0 of 5 bubblesService
5.0 of 5 bubblesSleep Quality
Trip type: Travelled solo
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Anita B wrote a review Oct 2013
Wellington, South Africa
5.0 of 5 bubbles
What a lovely guest house in Riebeek West - a stunning little town near Cape Town. Beautiful setting and garden, luxurious room and bathroom, friendly hosts and delicious local and home-made produce on the breakfast table.
Read more
Date of stay: October 2013
4.0 of 5 bubblesValue
5.0 of 5 bubblesRooms
5.0 of 5 bubblesLocation
3.0 of 5 bubblesCleanliness
5.0 of 5 bubblesService
4.0 of 5 bubblesSleep Quality
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
AndreaM25 wrote a review Aug 2013
Cape Town
5.0 of 5 bubbles
De Langenhof is the perfect getaway spot for anyone who is wanting to get away from the busy city life and enjoy the pure goodness of nature, quietness, great food, comfortable accommodation, wonderful hosts and appreciate life. Gail & Mike are wonderful hosts and ensure that their guests are welcomed, comfortable and happy. The gem in the Riebeek Valley is really one of a kind.
Read more
Date of stay: August 2013
4.0 of 5 bubblesValue
5.0 of 5 bubblesRooms
4.0 of 5 bubblesLocation
4.0 of 5 bubblesCleanliness
4.0 of 5 bubblesService
4.0 of 5 bubblesSleep Quality
Trip type: Travelled on business
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Monique K wrote a review Jun 2013
Pretoria, South Africa
5.0 of 5 bubbles
We spent 1 evening at this wonderful place and wished it could have been longer. We booked 2 rooms inside the house and both were clean and comfortable. Mike and Gail were very welcoming and go out of their way to make you comfortable and provide any help that is required. Breakfast was definitely the highlight of our stay! Full english breakfast served on the veranda was the best way to start a day.
Read more
Date of stay: June 2013
5.0 of 5 bubblesValue
5.0 of 5 bubblesRooms
4.0 of 5 bubblesLocation
5.0 of 5 bubblesCleanliness
5.0 of 5 bubblesService
5.0 of 5 bubblesSleep Quality
Trip type: Travelled with family
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
No results found.Try changing or clearing your search to read questions and answers.
Roxanne wrote a tip Aug 2019
2 contributions
5.0 of 5 bubbles
"room 1 is my favorite as the WiFi signal is great"
Read full review
3 contributions
5.0 of 5 bubbles
"Top floors with spacious balcony protected from weather allows all round enjoyment of garden and wildlife. Private pool."
Read full review
ScottishMyszka wrote a tip Feb 2019
Scotland98 contributions56 helpful votes
5.0 of 5 bubbles
"Our garden room had nice view"
Read full review
Sinead Baker wrote a tip Aug 2018
Cape Town, South Africa5 contributions2 helpful votes
5.0 of 5 bubbles
"Garden rooms are really nice"
Read full review
David B wrote a tip Aug 2018
Cape Town Central, South Africa9 contributions2 helpful votes
5.0 of 5 bubbles
"Garden room was amazing"
Read full review
Not the right property for you?
There are more places to choose from in the Riebeek-West area.
LOCATION
South AfricaWestern CapeRiebeek-West
NUMBER OF ROOMS
6
Prices are provided by our partners, and reflect average nightly room rates, including taxes and fees that are fixed, known to our partners, and due at time of booking. Please see our partners for more details.
Is This Your Tripadvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing

DE LANGENHOF GUEST HOUSE - Guesthouse Reviews (Riebeek-West, South Africa)

Frequently Asked Questions about De Langenhof Guest House
Which popular attractions are close to De Langenhof Guest House?
Nearby attractions include Kloovenburg Wine and Olive Estate (5.5 km), Het Vlock Casteel (5.3 km), and The Wine Kollective (4.8 km).
What are some of the property amenities at De Langenhof Guest House?
Some of the more popular amenities offered include free wifi, free breakfast, and a pool.
What food & drink options are available at De Langenhof Guest House?
Guests can enjoy free breakfast and a lounge during their stay.
Is parking available at De Langenhof Guest House?
Yes, free parking is available to guests.
What are some restaurants close to De Langenhof Guest House?
Conveniently located restaurants include Old Dalby Restaurant, Royal Restaurant, and Beans About Coffee.
Are there opportunities to exercise at De Langenhof Guest House?
Yes, guests have access to a pool during their stay.
Is De Langenhof Guest House located near the city centre?
Yes, it is 0.5 km away from the centre of Riebeek-West.
Which languages are spoken by the staff at De Langenhof Guest House?
The staff speaks multiple languages, including English and Afrikaans.
Things to DoRestaurantsFlightsHoliday HomesTravel StoriesCruisesCar Hire