We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

The Gorge Private Game Lodge & Spa

Lot 15 Pengaan Farm Oribi Gorge, Paddock 4243 South Africa
avatar-imageavatar-imageavatar-image
Traveller (847)
Room & Suite (181)
Dining (91)
What is Travellers’ Choice?
Tripadvisor gives a Travellers’ Choice award to accommodations, attractions and restaurants that consistently earn great reviews from travellers and are ranked within the top 10% of properties on Tripadvisor.

View prices for your travel dates

Contact accommodation for availability.
There are similar hotels available.
View all

About

#1 of 1 lodge in Paddock
Location
Cleanliness
Service
Value
Travellers' Choice
THE GORGE PRIVATE GAME LODGE & SPA Hotel is Boutique Lodge & Spa in the Oribi Gorge, South Coast, KwaZulu-Natal, South Africa. The Gorge Private Game Lodge & Spa is nestled in the pristine area of Kwazulu-Natal's South Coast, a mere 35km inland from Port Shepstone. Referred to as the "photographer's and nature lover's paradise," it has been carefully positioned to afford guests access to 5000ha of Oribi Flats prime land in the Oribi Gorge Nature Reserve. The opulent, eco-friendly design of the spacious villas boasts double volume glass, offering guests panoramic views of the magnificent Oribi Gorge canyon. Elevated 4 metres off the ground, each villa flows seamlessly from state-of-the-art comfort and luxury into the unique indigenous coastal forest with its abundance of butterfly and birdlife. TV, DVD, DSTV, air-conditioner - hot & cold, digital safe, hairdryer, fully stocked mini-bar, tea/coffee making facilities, room service, laundry service on request. DINING DEFINED: Guests can savour a selection of estate wines in the open-plan restaurant while interacting with the chefs as they creatively prepare first class, fine dining cuisine with its distinct "African Fusion." THE ULTIMATE SPA EXPERIENCE: Experience a moment of complete indulgence, pampering and luxury at our lavish day spa which offers a range of therapies incorporating the exclusive products of Dermalogica, Africology and LCN. Professional therapists and breathtaking views enable guests to immerse themselves in peace and tranquility. EXPLORE & EXPERIENCE: With our owner run establishment's emphasis on attention to detail, personalised service and a sense of "timelessness," our guests are pampered in all areas of their stay at their own leisure. Nature lovers will enjoy our informative guided trails through the indigenous coastal forests with its rich bio-diversity of plant, animal, insect and 250 recorded bird species. Most of Southern Africa's plains animals can be seen on our daily game drives. ON-SITE ACTIVITIES: birding, game viewing, hiking trails, guided trails, visit to our bat cave, visit to our historic bushman paintings, swimming, fresh water fishing. ARRANGED ACTIVITIES: Mountain biking, horse riding, golf, abseiling, white water rafting, kayaking deep-sea diving off the world-renowned Aliwal Shoal, educational Game drives are available daily.
Read more
Suggest edits to improve what we show.Improve this listing
Property amenities
Free parking
Free internet
Pool
Free breakfast
Bicycle rental
Hiking
Meeting rooms
Spa
Internet
Hot bath
Infinity pool
Pool with view
Outdoor pool
Bar / lounge
Restaurant
Breakfast in the room
Special diet menus
Poolside bar
Couples massage
Facial treatments
Foot massage
Full body massage
Head massage
Massage
Concierge
Non-smoking hotel
Butler service
Private check-in / check-out
Dry cleaning
Laundry service
Ironing service
Show more
Room features
Bathrobes
Air conditioning
Private balcony
Room service
Safe
Minibar
Flatscreen TV
Room types
Non-smoking rooms
Suites
Family rooms
Good to know
HOTEL CLASS
5.0 of 5 stars
HOTEL STYLE
Modern
Languages Spoken
Afrikaans

Location

Lot 15 Pengaan Farm Oribi Gorge, Paddock 4243 South Africa
The Gorge Private Game Lodge & Spa
740Reviews12Q+A100Room tips
Traveller rating
  • 699
  • 32
  • 4
  • 3
  • 2
Time of year
Traveller type
Language
  • More
Selected filters
  • Filter
  • English
Popular mentions
Sort by:
Most Recent
avatar-image
Buhle S wrote a review Feb 2024
Johannesburg, South Africa1 contribution
Buhle Shusha a week ago on Google 1/5 Family I would like to bring to your attention the unlawful and unfair treatment I am subjected by The Gorge Hotel. For a 5 star graded establishment it is important that patrons have a view of how behind the smoke and mirrors the owners actually don’t give a toss about customer service and are just being down right arrogant, entitled bullies. Who are at this point holding on to my money and refusing to pay what’s due to me. Summary of my experience: I made a booking for Christmas lunch on 23/12/24. Sent proof of payment and received acknowledgement of receipt Upon arrival for the Xmas lunch I was pulled aside at reception and they explained that my funds have not reflected and I was requested to settle the bill prior to our meal. Which I promptly did and they explained that I need to provide the account number for the credit card used. I explained that I don’t have it on hand but will do so at a later stage when I’m back in Joburg. Very cordial conversation overall. I was taken aback by being nudged for payment at the entrance but brushed it off as the establishment probably not wanting to be caught in a situation where the funds don’t reflect. I did however ask what would happen if I didn’t have funds to actually settle at the time. In the same cordial tone the staff jokingly said they would have to put money together for me or share their staff meal. Which was a warm gesture on a joyous occasion. Once back in Joburg I sent the banking details for my reimbursement as had been discussed at reception. An acknowledgement mail was sent which stated that the funds would be paid on the following Monday when accounts was on duty. A week or so passed and I sent a mail requesting proof of payment. I was met by a response from Aneke, accounts requesting that I furnish my card number and cvv number. I declined to do this and referred her to the POPIA act and requested that she demonstrate how my personal information would be protected. I must mention that her tone was dismissive from the onset of our interaction. After numerous mails back and forth I realized that I not getting anywhere with this lady and wanted to escalate my grievance. Only to realise that the owner/MD had been all ALONG COPIED ON THE CORRESPONDANCES. On further email exchange, the same Aneke now added more ridiculous options to them paying my money. Either I give them my privileged information or they deduct 10% for admin fees from the money owed to me. I responded directing the mail to Catharina Classen who’s response demonstrated her organisational culture by being passive aggressive. As matters stand The Gorge is sitting with my money and refusing to pay or engage with me. I have furnished them with the necessary information for them to effect a refund. I will not be disclosing my personal card information to this establishment and require them to refund me in full! It’s absolutely upsetting that these establishments don’t consider locals, that are paying patrons worthy of proper customer service. The entitlement, dismissive conduct and brazen unethical behaviour is evident that it flows from the top down. Apart from the establishment refusing to refund me, it is clear from how my situation is handled that whatever accolades they have been given are masking the thuggery that the MD is demonstrating. We rely heavily on the tourism grading when deciding on what establishments to visit and spend our money on. If this is anything to go by, The Gorge should be down graded!!!
Read more
Date of stay: December 2023
Service
Trip type: Travelled with family
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Helpful
Share
Response from Mike Cross, Marketing at The Gorge Private Game Lodge & Spa
Responded 5 days ago
Dear Buhle, thank you for your feedback, however, I cannot agree with most of what you said. From the beginning, we requested a bank letter from you in order to verify that your banking details are correct, which is standard business practice. You refused, to do this and also refused the remaining options we offered. You insisted that we refund you on your terms, which were not correct/safe business practice. I must also stress that it has taken all this time to resolve, only because you refused to assist in complying with a normal business practice request, we had no intention to delay your refund. I am told that we managed to get this bank letter from you and that your refund has been settled. I do apologize that it had to go this route, as it was not our intention right from the beginning. Best Regards Mike
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
avatar-image
Shannon E wrote a review Feb 2024
1 contribution3 helpful votes
Our stay at The Gorge was the most incredible experience we have ever had. From the moment we arrived to the time we left we felt like royalty. The staff are all friendly and very attentive. The rooms are pure luxury and the food is out of this world. I cannot praise The Gorge enough. Definitely the best place we have ever stayed and would highly recommend The Gorge to any couple that wants a relaxing getaway.
Read more
Date of stay: February 2024
Value
Location
Service
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
2 Helpful votes
Helpful
Share
Response from Mike Cross, Marketing at The Gorge Private Game Lodge & Spa
Responded 1 week ago
Thank you for your amazing response we happy to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us, we would love to host you again soon! Best Regards Mike & The Gorge Team
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
avatar-image
Serena Govender wrote a review Dec 2023
2 contributions3 helpful votes
Excellent service received from all staff, throughout our stay. The staff went beyond their call of duty to treat us like royalty. The venue also offers vegetarian and vegan friendly options. The views are amazing!
Read more
Date of stay: December 2023
Value
Location
Service
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
1 Helpful vote
Helpful
Share
Response from Mike Cross, Marketing at The Gorge Private Game Lodge & Spa
Responded 11 Dec 2023
Thank you for your feedback, we really appreciate the time taken. Best Regards Mike & The Gorge Team
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
avatar-image
Monicke V wrote a review Dec 2023
1 contribution2 helpful votes
WOW! AMAZING! Everything, location to food, room to staff is completely AMAZING. From entrance to exit is heaven on earth. Language does not contain enough words to describe The Gorge. Thank you, thank you, thank you!
Read more
Date of stay: December 2023
Value
Location
Service
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
1 Helpful vote
Helpful
Share
Response from Mike Cross, Marketing at The Gorge Private Game Lodge & Spa
Responded 05 Dec 2023
Thank you so much for your review, we are pleased to know that you enjoyed our piece of paradise :) Best Regards Mike & The Gorge Team
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
avatar-image
Ragnar J wrote a review Nov 2023
Bjarred, Sweden6 contributions1 helpful vote
+1
Wonderful views, excellent food and friendly staff. Perfekt for relaxing a few days. No children allowed. Calm atmosphere. Luxury villa is roomy, clean with big windows on the brink of the gorge, absolutely stunning. Outdoor shower is a treat. Spa is nice and tidy, and with a skilled masseur. Pool area and bar small and nice. The owners are very friendly and took us on a vulture excursion, beautiful and informative. Overall a fantastic stay, highest points for this one!
Read more
Date of stay: November 2023Trip type: Travelled as a couple
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Helpful
Share
Response from Mike Cross, Marketing at The Gorge Private Game Lodge & Spa
Responded 05 Dec 2023
Thank you for your review, we glad to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us. Hope to see you soon again. Best Regards Mike & The Gorge Team
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
avatar-image
NaomiBrett wrote a review Nov 2023
Fourways, South Africa1 contribution1 helpful vote
AMAZING - from the moment we arrived until we left the service was fantastic. Your staff is so friendly and happy to help with any questions or arrangements. Highly recommend the vulture excursion.
Read more
Date of stay: November 2023
Value
Location
Service
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Helpful
Share
Response from Mike Cross, Marketing at The Gorge Private Game Lodge & Spa
Responded 09 Nov 2023
Thank you for your review. We are pleased to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us. We hope to see you again in the not so near future. Best Regards Mike & The Gorge Team
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
avatar-image
Xavier B wrote a review Oct 2023
1 contribution
Best service and attention to detail. Staff members are really proud of their service offering! An awesome place for a special occasion and celebration. I will recommend this venue to anyone looking for a place to be pampered.
Read more
Date of stay: October 2023
Value
Location
Service
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Helpful
Share
Response from Mike Cross, Marketing at The Gorge Private Game Lodge & Spa
Responded 25 Oct 2023
Thank you for your review, we appreciate your feedback, hope to see you soon! Best Regards Mike & The Gorge Team
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
avatar-image
Mbavhy R wrote a review Sept 2023
1 contribution
The place is beautiful and the views are breathtaking. The room was very clean. The staff was amazing and they gave us the best service. The food was delicious. We also enjoyed the spa treatments. Will definitely visit again soon.
Read more
Date of stay: September 2023Trip type: Travelled as a couple
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Helpful
Share
Response from Mike Cross, Marketing at The Gorge Private Game Lodge & Spa
Responded 20 Nov 2023
Thank you for your review, we are pleased to hear you enjoyed your stay. Look forward to your return visit! Best Regards Mike
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
avatar-image
sesinyaner wrote a review Sept 2023
Johannesburg, South Africa2 contributions
+1
The views are breathtaking. From the receptionist, Zodwa(what a pleasant soul) to the ground personnel. The welcome drinks were just what the hot weather asked ordered. Remy and Tafara showed us the dining room, bar and the legend lounge. Then it was the room of the Villa and its spectacular views. Comfortable bed, large bathtub, inside and outside shower (pity the jealous weather was not permiting to shower outside). The curtains were drawn every night and hot water bottles were inserted between the sheets. That was handy. Load shedding was mitigated with the use of generators. Food was scrupulous, thanks to the Chef Ntombi. Then we got lost on the night of the 11th Sep and Remy came to the rescue with live location and follow up calls on directions. The entire team (Zodwa, Tafara, Remy, Obert, Elias, Mlungisi, Tinashe, Chino and the youngest most enthusiastic Mihle (wishing you all the best for the future)) were exceptional. Lest I forget Esther and Wendy. Well done to the management team for keeping the team spirits high. Then come the last day, the car is washed. What a way to celebrate a big 55 birthday! It was a blast Will definitely recommend and come back. Areas of Improvement: 1. Place the same type of wine glasses in the room (not 1 glass for white and 1 for red, preferrably 2 white and 2 red) 2. Please ensure water bottles are tight when sealed as we had two leakages 3. It would be advisable to change the fruits in the breakfast platter. 4. Advise guests of an expected TIP over and above the fees paid so that it is not a surprise which can spoil the great experience.
Read more
Date of stay: September 2023
Value
Location
Service
Trip type: Travelled with friends
Room Tip: Car with good ground clearance will be great. Arrive before sunset.
See more room tips
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Helpful
Share
Response from Mike Cross, Marketing at The Gorge Private Game Lodge & Spa
Responded 19 Sept 2023
Thank you for your review and your honest feedback. We happy to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us, and that you will be back soon - we also noted your suggestions, thank you for those. Best Regards Mike
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
avatar-image
Compass30380013181 wrote a review Sept 2023
1 contribution1 helpful vote
The Gorge Private Lodge & Spa What an amazing place. Everything is immaculate and the staff are phenomenal, nothing is too much for them and you don't lift a finger while you are there, they treat you like royalty with a friendly smile. Our cars was even washed to our surprise, a mat at the doors before we got in. The rooms are stylish with everything you could need. We were surprised with gowns and slippers put out for us. The views are to die for wherever you are in the hotel. We spent some time by the pool soaking in the gorgeous views of the gorge while sipping tasty cocktails. Breakfast was included and it was very tasty and filling. Dinner was well presented and yummy, we loved the little extras that came with the dinner, We enjoyed an hour massage and it was very relaxing. I will highly recommend this for a relaxing weekend.
Read more
Date of stay: September 2023
Value
Location
Service
Trip type: Travelled with family
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
1 Helpful vote
Helpful
Share
Response from Mike Cross, Marketing at The Gorge Private Game Lodge & Spa
Responded 12 Sept 2023
Thank you for your review. We are pleased to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us, we hope to see you soon again! Mike & The Gorge Team
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Previous
123456
Not the right property for you?
There are more places to choose from in the Paddock area.
LOCATION
South AfricaKwaZulu-NatalPaddock
NUMBER OF ROOMS
5
Prices are provided by our partners, and reflect average nightly room rates, including taxes and fees that are fixed, known to our partners, and due at time of booking. Please see our partners for more details.
Is This Your Tripadvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing

THE GORGE PRIVATE GAME LODGE & SPA - Reviews (Paddock, South Africa) - Tripadvisor

Frequently Asked Questions about The Gorge Private Game Lodge & Spa
Which popular attractions are close to The Gorge Private Game Lodge & Spa?
Nearby attractions include Oribi Gorge Nature Reserve (6.5 km).
What are some of the property amenities at The Gorge Private Game Lodge & Spa?
Some of the more popular amenities offered include free breakfast, a pool, and an on-site restaurant.
Which room amenities are available at The Gorge Private Game Lodge & Spa?
Top room amenities include a minibar, air conditioning, and a flat screen TV.
What food & drink options are available at The Gorge Private Game Lodge & Spa?
Guests can enjoy free breakfast, an on-site restaurant, and a lounge during their stay.
Is parking available at The Gorge Private Game Lodge & Spa?
Yes, free parking is available to guests.
Are there opportunities to exercise at The Gorge Private Game Lodge & Spa?
Yes, guests have access to a pool during their stay.
Are any cleaning services offered at The Gorge Private Game Lodge & Spa?
Yes, dry cleaning and laundry service are offered to guests.
Does The Gorge Private Game Lodge & Spa have any great views?
Yes, guests often enjoy the mountain view available here.