We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Amakhosi Safari Lodge

R69, Vergelegen Farm, Magudu 3160 South Africa
avatar-imageavatar-imageavatar-image
Traveller (547)
Room & Suite (68)
Dining (32)

View prices for your travel dates

Prices are provided by our partners, and reflect average nightly room rates, including taxes and fees that are fixed, known to our partners, and due at time of booking. Please see our partners for more details.

About

#1 of 2 lodges in Magudu
Location
Cleanliness
Service
Value
Amakhosi Lodge is one of those destinations that you need to visit at least once in a lifetime! Translated as a ‘place of kings’, it is exclusive, offering a unique and personally rewarding safari experience. Situated on the banks of the Mkuze River in the heart of Zululand, on its own private game reserve and close to the Swaziland and Mozambique border, this small yet absolutely charming Lodge is not only about experiencing a ‘Big 5’ safari. It is far more than that as the guides pride themselves in sharing their intimate knowledge of this unique and pristine bushveld with their guests. This affordable five star property is full board and includes all game activities.
Read more
Suggest edits to improve what we show.Improve this listing
Property amenities
Free parking
Wifi
Pool
Fitness / spa changing rooms
Free breakfast
Spa
24-hour security
Baggage storage
Secured parking
Pool / beach towels
Infinity pool
Pool with view
Outdoor pool
Heated pool
Private pool
Plunge pool
Bar / lounge
Restaurant
Breakfast available
Breakfast buffet
Complimentary Instant Coffee
Complimentary tea
Complimentary welcome drink
Outdoor dining area
Special diet menus
Wine / champagne
Couples massage
Facial treatments
Foot bath
Foot massage
Full body massage
Hand massage
Head massage
Light therapy
Massage
Massage chair
Neck massage
Concierge
Gift shop
Non-smoking hotel
Outdoor fireplace
Outdoor furniture
Shared lounge / TV area
Shops
Sun deck
Sun loungers / beach chairs
Sun terrace
Private check-in / check-out
Dry cleaning
Laundry service
Ironing service
Show more
Room features
Bathrobes
Air conditioning
Housekeeping
Private balcony
Room service
Coffee / tea maker
Extra long beds
Walk-in shower
Safe
Seating area
Sofa
Telephone
Wardrobe / wardrobe
Bottled water
Clothes rack
Private bathrooms
Wake-up service / alarm clock
Minibar
Refrigerator
Electric kettle
Sofa bed
Electric blanket
Bath / shower
Complimentary toiletries
Hair dryer
Show more
Room types
Landmark view
Bridal suite
Non-smoking rooms
Suites
Family rooms
Good to know
HOTEL CLASS
5.0 of 5 stars
HOTEL STYLE
Hidden Gem
Languages Spoken
English, Afrikaans, Zulu

Location

R69, Vergelegen Farm, Magudu 3160 South Africa
Amakhosi Safari Lodge
Getting there
Zulu Inyala Airport
70.4 km
See all flights
King Shaka Intl Airport
222.5 km
See all flights
350Reviews2Q+A87Room tips
Traveller rating
  • 326
  • 17
  • 6
  • 0
  • 1
Time of year
Traveller type
Language
  • More
Selected filters
  • Filter
  • English
Popular mentions
Sort by:
Most Recent
avatar-image
Kathryn C wrote a review Sept 2019
38 contributions47 helpful votes
+1
We spent 3 nights at the Amakhosi Lodge and our visit was nothing short of spectacular. We loved our morning and evening game drives with Rowan and King! They were extremely knowledgeable, patient, and would go to great lengths to ensure we were enjoying our time. The meals were all 5 stars and we loved the barbecue one night were the staff sang around the fire-pit. The spa, rooms, lodge, and grounds were very clean and well maintained. The staff even left little evening treats in the room with turn down. HIGHLY recommend!
Read more
Date of stay: August 2019
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Helpful
Share
Response from AmakhosiTeam, Director of Sales at Amakhosi Safari Lodge
Responded 23 Sept 2019
Thank you so much for taking the time to review us, this is really appreciated as reviews like this are what make our work worthwhile. We do have a great team and thank you for the acknowledgements and we have made sure that a copy of this review has been passed on to the team and our owners. We hope that next time you are in our area that you come back and visit. Fond regards the Ama Team.
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
avatar-image
Cristina T wrote a review Aug 2019
Guatemala City, Guatemala, Guatemala6 contributions2 helpful votes
It took my 10-year old son and me, one 13-hour flight, another 10-hour flight, and 6 hours by car to get from Guatemala to Amakhosi. The visit exceeded our expectations by far. Amakhosi provided us with great rooms, great food, great service, but especially great people: PIERRE, our ranger, and KING, our tracker made all the difference: very professional, friendly and passionate about nature. I highly recommend Amakhosi Safari Lodge.
Read more
Date of stay: July 2019
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Helpful
Share
Response from AmakhosiTeam, Director of Sales at Amakhosi Safari Lodge
Responded 05 Aug 2019
What a lovely way to start our Monday - we are totally in awe that you travelled so far to come and visit us and we are so very happy that you and your son had an amazing time and have left with great memories of your stay with us . We really appreciate it that you chose to visit us and also that you took the time to post this wonderful review, we really appreciate it and we have made sure that a copy of this review has gone to all our departments. Best wishes to you both from both Pierre and King and we hope that one day you visit us again. Regards from all of us at Amakhosi
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
avatar-image
JW1Cumbria wrote a review Jul 2019
Ulverston, United Kingdom76 contributions38 helpful votes
From the moment we arrived at Amakhosi nothing was too much trouble, too be honest at first we thought this would be 'posh' for us. But very quickly we found the atmosphere relaxed and friendly. Throughout our 3 night stay every member of staff was friendly, welcoming, and happy to help. When we arrived we were welcomed outside of the hotel with our luggage being taken to our room and car valet parked, Our River Lodge was just stunning and I was only sorry that the weather during our stay was not warmer to enable me to spend more time in the hammock (I did manage a couple of snoozes though :-) ). We met our driver at High Tea, this food set the scene for the rest of the stay and would have put top London hotel afternoon tea's to shame. We were lucky enough to have the
Read more
Date of stay: June 2019
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Helpful
Share
Response from AmakhosiTeam, Director of Sales at Amakhosi Safari Lodge
Responded 02 Aug 2019
What a lovely way to start our Friday! We so appreciate that you took the time to post this amazing review, the team are really happy to hear that you have left with great memories and a good adventure. This is what it is all about in hospitality and especially with us. We certainly hope that you return and visit one day - fond regards the Ama team
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
avatar-image
Claudio F wrote a review Jul 2019
Ballito, South Africa78 contributions41 helpful votes
This safari lodge is certainly amongst the best that I have visited. The overall consistent quality of the service was remarkable. The location and game viewing is excellent, the rangers knowledgable and informative. The setting of the lodge is appropriate and scenic and the accommodation is comfortable. I was most impressed with the quality of the food presented. Given the amenities available and the high standards set, this lodge offers some of the best value for money and is well worth a visit.
Read more
Date of stay: July 2019
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Helpful
Share
Response from AmakhosiTeam, Director of Sales at Amakhosi Safari Lodge
Responded 19 Jul 2019
Loving my Friday and such amazing reviews, thank you for taking the time to post the review and thank you for the compliments on all the aspects of your experience we have circulated this to all departments . We hope that you return and visit us one day soon. Fond regards the Amakhosi team
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
avatar-image
TGS123 wrote a review Jul 2019
Copenhagen, Denmark33 contributions18 helpful votes
Not only is this a 5 star experience, but as vegetarians we were catered for amazingly at this lodge. And with a little gym attached to the Spa as well, this lodge was a stand out during our safari holiday in South Africa.
Read more
Date of stay: July 2019
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Helpful
Share
Response from AmakhosiTeam, Director of Sales at Amakhosi Safari Lodge
Responded 19 Jul 2019
Good day and what a lovely way to start a Friday for us - thank you so much for the lovely compliments and we are really pleased you enjoyed your stay and that you come back and visit us again - best regards the Amakhosi Team
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
avatar-image
Jim wrote a review Jun 2019
2 contributions1 helpful vote
Not much to say except that this is what I expected a five star safari experience to be. The accommodations were grand, staff was wonderful, our ranger and tracker were top-notch, the food was on par with the Twelve Apostles in Cape Town and the spa was immaculate and amazing. Only one very minor hitch was that a bush baby would visit the inside of our room at night looking for snacks and one night, broke a jar, startling the three of us at two in the morning. My daughter and I thought it was cute, my wife was not as thrilled, but I think visits like that are to be expected out in the wild. Let me address an observation in one other review--there is no way that this beautiful private game reserve feels anything like a zoo. It is enormous, and finding the Big Five (which we
Read more
Date of stay: June 2019
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Helpful
Share
Response from AmakhosiTeam, Director of Sales at Amakhosi Safari Lodge
Responded 27 Jun 2019
Wow, Wow - What a wonderful review and we thank you for taking the time to post it, it certainly reviews like this that make our team so happy, they work exceptionally hard to make our guests stay memorable and the acknowledge that it paid off is just the best. What can we say about our bush babies, we joke that they would win "survivor" the reality show as they do outsmart, outwit and outplay us constantly and each and every way we have tried to keep them out of the rooms seems to last a short while and they find a way in. We really are sorry that you all got a fright nothing worse at night to be woke up like that for that we do apologise, it now it seems that they have figured out that the treats are in the jars. We also appreciate your comments regarding the "zoo" review , as you mentioned the reserve is large and the animals can hide very well in the thick of the bush or in the hills for days and we do not see them. Our rangers and trackers work long hours to find our animals and they also love the thrill of finding them and seeing the guests enjoyment. As the saying goes you can't please everybody all of the time, but we try. We hope that you come back and visit us again and send fond regards from the entire AMA team .
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
avatar-image
maureen c wrote a review Jun 2019
Dundee, United Kingdom25 contributions29 helpful votes
This was our first time in South Africa. We stayed in one of the lodges and thought we had dropped into a scene of jumanji, it truly was the sights & sounds of Africa. Magical. Our ranger Rowan and tracker Jeremy worked very hard to make sure we saw all the experiences Amakhosi had to offer. So knowledgeable it was a privilege to be on safari with them. The food was 5*, delicious. Truly a magical place and I would highly recommend to anybody. We will be back. 🤗
Read more
Date of stay: June 2019
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Helpful
Share
Response from AmakhosiTeam, Director of Sales at Amakhosi Safari Lodge
Responded 20 Jun 2019
What a wonderful way to start this chilly day, thank you so much for taking the time to post this lovely review and we are so pleased that your first visit was a memorable one and certainly hope that one day you return to see us again. A copy of your review has been sent to management for circulation to our team. thank you again
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
avatar-image
Hannah wrote a review Apr 2019
Horsford, United Kingdom72 contributions16 helpful votes
+1
We were met at the lodge by a lovely group who gave us warm hand cloths to freshen up after the drive and offered us a delicious home made lemonade whilst showing us the lodge, giving us our trip details - times for meals, safaris etc, WiFi details and introducing us to our ranger for the next few days. Food - absolutely divine! Pre morning safari coffee & nibbles, breakfast, high tea, dinner .. absolutely no complaints about any of it! The dinners were beautiful 4 course tasters and completely suited needs.. I dislike seafood so alternatives were provided! First night the managers Sonja and Alwin came to introduce themselves which gave a personal touch to the experience. Second night, we had a traditional zulu welcoming dance and song with food cooked on the large BBQ.
Read more
Date of stay: April 2019
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
1 Helpful vote
Helpful
Share
Response from AmakhosiTeam, Director of Sales at Amakhosi Safari Lodge
Responded 20 May 2019
Wow just returned from travel shows to find that we had missed this wonderful review - wow thank you for taking the time to post such a lovely and detailed review. The fact that you left with memorable moments for us is the best compliment you can pay us. We have a wonderful team, without them we would not be able to provide guests with good service and great memories. Thank you again and we have sent a copy of this to all, as well as our owners. Hope that you are able to visit us again fond regards the Ama team.
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
avatar-image
Claire wrote a review Apr 2019
5 contributions1 helpful vote
Amakhosi is utterly faultless. We stayed as a family of four this April. A truly amazing lodge, gorgeous refined food, breathtaking scenery, great staff and rangers. Memories created for a lifetime. We will be back!!!
Read more
Date of stay: April 2019
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
1 Helpful vote
Helpful
Share
Response from AmakhosiTeam, Director of Sales at Amakhosi Safari Lodge
Responded 25 Apr 2019
Thank you so much for the wonderful review and for taking the time to post it. The team really appreciated it and we are happy that we achieved what we work towards, to ensure that our guests leave with memorable moments and wanting to come back. We really look forward to welcoming you back. fond regards the AMA team
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
avatar-image
jescolme wrote a review Apr 2019
London, United Kingdom14 contributions1 helpful vote
Amazing experience from start to finish. The staff went out of their way to help - especially Sonja who was so warm and friendly. Our river suites were truly divine with huge hammocks to while away the sun-drenched days, beautiful bathrooms and fabulous outdoor showers. The spa was gorgeous and we used that pool more than the other one but how lovely to have a choice! And the food....ahh the food - simply excellent. By far the best food we've ever experienced at a bush lodge. Creative, tasty, beautifully presented. Five stars. Our ranger, Pierre was awesome. Knowledgable, fun and up for finding anything. We also did a walking safari with him which I would highly recommend. We were not squashed into vehicles and we did not sit around a viewing with ten other landrovers. At any
Read more
Date of stay: April 2019
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Helpful
Share
Response from AmakhosiTeam, Director of Sales at Amakhosi Safari Lodge
Responded 25 Apr 2019
What a lovely way to start my day. Thank you so much for taking the time to post such a wonderful detailed review. We are so proud of our team and love it when they get a well deserved acknowledgement. We have sent a copy to all departments and our owners. Thank you and hope that next you are in our area we hope to welcome you back again fond regards the Ama team!
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Not the right property for you?
There are more places to choose from in the Magudu area.
PRICE RANGE
R 7,488 - R 8,848 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
LOCATION
South AfricaKwaZulu-NatalZululandMagudu
NUMBER OF ROOMS
10
Prices are provided by our partners, and reflect average nightly room rates, including taxes and fees that are fixed, known to our partners, and due at time of booking. Please see our partners for more details.
Is This Your Tripadvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing

AMAKHOSI SAFARI LODGE - Reviews & Price Comparison (Magudu, South Africa) - Tripadvisor