We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Thanda Tau

Farm Rooikraal 454 Roadside, Free State, Vrede 9835 South Africa
avatar-imageavatar-imageavatar-image
Traveller (73)
Dining (20)
Room & Suite (11)

View prices for your travel dates

Prices are provided by our partners, and reflect average nightly room rates, including taxes and fees that are fixed, known to our partners, and due at time of booking. Please see our partners for more details.

About

#1 of 1 guest house in Vrede
Location
Cleanliness
Service
Value
Wild, beautiful, unique to it's core. With a distinctive blend of luxury and nature, our guests can escape the city to enjoy the ambiance of the Free State grasslands. Wander through stunning gardens & savour a draught of handcrafted beer from our micro-brewery or a glass of South Africa's finest from our wine boutique. Relish fresh baked delights, nourishing home-cooking & let laughter fill the air in our kids play area complete with train ride. Drift off to sleep to the lullaby of majestic animals next to one of our 11 luxury chalets. With us you create fond lasting memories!
Read more
Suggest edits to improve what we show.Improve this listing
Property amenities
Free parking
Wifi
Free breakfast
Patio
Walking tours
Children's playground
Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly)
Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Electric vehicle charging station
Car park
Bar / lounge
Coffee shop
Restaurant
Complimentary Instant Coffee
Complimentary tea
Kids' meals
Outdoor dining area
Wine / champagne
Kids' outdoor play equipment
Highchairs available
Conference facilities
Meeting rooms
Photo copier / fax In business centre
24-hour security
BBQ facilities
Convenience store
Gift shop
Non-smoking hotel
Outdoor furniture
Picnic area
Shops
Sun umbrellas
ATM on site
First aid kit
Show more
Room features
Desk
Housekeeping
Interconnected rooms available
Safe
Coffee / tea maker
Flatscreen TV
Electric blanket
Bath / shower
Seating area
Telephone
Wardrobe / wardrobe
Private bathrooms
Tile / marble floor
Electric kettle
Complimentary toiletries
Hair dryer
Show more
Room types
Mountain view
Non-smoking rooms
Suites
Family rooms
Good to know
HOTEL STYLE
Family
Languages Spoken
English, Afrikaans, Zulu

Location

Farm Rooikraal 454 Roadside, Free State, Vrede 9835 South Africa
Thanda Tau
Getting there
Bloemfontein Intl Airport
302.8 km
See all flights
93Reviews1Q+A9Room tips
Traveller rating
  • 37
  • 16
  • 9
  • 9
  • 22
Time of year
Traveller type
Language
Selected filters
  • Filter
  • English
Popular mentions
Sort by:
Most Recent
avatar-image
Trail13907813563 wrote a review Mar 2024
3 contributions
The food that we received didn't resemble the menu in the least bit. I ordered a pastrami and basil panini and my mom got a roast beef roll. Yet, we got something resembling pork on a dry bun with a slice of processed cheese. Our food tasted exactly the same and there wasn't a hint of basil pesto on my panini. Very disappointing.
Read more
Date of stay: March 2024
Value
Location
Service
Trip type: Travelled with family
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Helpful
Share
avatar-image
Lee-Ann S wrote a review Dec 2022
40 contributions4 helpful votes
We did not have a good experience at the restaurant. The service is not great at all, cold coffee, about 5 chips with our burger. They did not have still water for us. The waiter took a long time to bring knifes and forks. The children said we should have rather gone to the spur. The hake was not cooked properly and very thick batter. The chicken special was tiny and not fresh at all. I think they need to make an effort to get the food right as it could be a nice spot to stop with kids
Read more
Date of stay: December 2022Trip type: Travelled with family
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Helpful
Share
Response from Justine Barros, Marketing at Thanda Tau
Responded 17 Jan 2023
Hi Lee-Ann, Thank you for your honest review. We are sorry to see that you had a less than positive experience with us on this occasion, we have made a point to pass on your comments to the management team to address each individual point, particularly in preparation for busy periods such as this. We hope that you will join us again in the future to experience our usually pleasant service.
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
avatar-image
Tanya N wrote a review Jan 2022
Pretoria, South Africa13 contributions1 helpful vote
This is our 3rd time at Thanda Tau. We booked a day before, we were warmly welcomed and the chalets were ready for us. The receptionist saw we were at our wits end with the two little ones and made the process fast and efficient. The play area was a special treat for the kids, especially afer long hours in the car. The Lions and Cheetah came right up to the fence and we spent about an hour with them as the sun was setting. Management went out of their way to accommodate us as a family. We love staying here and will do so again. The perfect sleep over half way, especially with small kids.
Read more
Date of stay: January 2022Trip type: Travelled with family
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Helpful
Share
Response from Justine Barros, Marketing at Thanda Tau
Responded 08 Mar 2022
Hi Tanya, We are overjoyed to hear that you and the entire family have enjoyed a fabulous experience with us and that we have made a patron out of you! We look forward to accommodating you the next time you visit.
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
avatar-image
Martin W wrote a review Nov 2021
2 contributions
Such a surprise to find this first class property for an overnight stop on the N3 many must pass without knowing what is there. The rooms are decorated to a good standard with a good bathroom area and shower room. Plus the kids can enjoy a play area, miniature train ride as viewing lions , cheeaths and rhino. Even if you are just stopping en route the restaurant and cafe provide an oasis with good quality food. There is a service station with an OK store there to. Staff were also very courtious.
Read more
Date of stay: November 2021
Location
Cleanliness
Service
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Helpful
Share
Response from Justine Barros, Marketing at Thanda Tau
Responded 08 Mar 2022
Hi Martin, Thank you for your very detailed and complimentary review. We are delighted to see that you enjoyed your experience with us and look forward to welcoming you back again in the future.
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
avatar-image
Bryan wrote a review Jul 2021
Germiston, South Africa23 contributions3 helpful votes
Arrived for a quiet weekend expecting rooms to be of a high standard, what a disappointment arrived to be greeted by a pleasant receptionist willing to help, then we went to our chalet, sadly the garden was unkept, entered the room not bad turned the fridge on warm air started coming out oh well we'll give it some time to cool down another mistake, tried to open the safe no can do, tried the Wi-Fi not working, ok back to reception, receptionist had knocked off and found another young lady who was quick to tell me that she normally worked in the admin department and made me feel like she was doing me a favour, fridge problem sorry sir not much I can do about that, safe - please pay a deposit and I'll give you a key to use (why can't you just give me the code - blank expression), Wi-Fi sorry sir we're having a problem here's a voucher for 1gig ok thanks what must I do with it - another blank expression. By this time we'd been there only a hour and still had another nearly 2 days of our stay to spend here, off to the restaurant, this was the only saving grace staff were super efficient and friendly and always made us feel welcome. Time for bed - ok turn the fan on, oops no fan no ventilation can't sleep with a window open as the mosquitoes will carry us away or eat us to death so that meant 2 nights of hell trying to sleep, wake up after a minimal amount of sleep to have a shower (I should have taken my scuba equipment) the drain was either blocked or the drainage system non-existent oh well better let reception know there's a problem - another mistake as the expression was -What would you like me to do about it. Time to end this novel with the following - Location is great, Restaurant has friendly staff who in my opinion do their best, Accommodation - not worthy of 1 star, Would I recommend this venue - NO
Read more
Date of stay: March 2021
Cleanliness
Service
Sleep Quality
Room Tip: Take spare blood as the mosquitoes ill suck you dry
See more room tips
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Helpful
Share
Response from Justine Barros, Marketing at Thanda Tau
Responded 11 Jul 2021
Hi Bryan, As your stay took place all the way back in March when we were in the midst of some admittedly heavy renovation work, you will be pleased to hear that we have successfully remedied these issues. We remain saddened to hear that you had a less than enjoyable experience at the time. Please pass on your contact details for a member of our management team to get in touch by close of business today.
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
avatar-image
Larce C wrote a review May 2021
Johannesburg, South Africa977 contributions131 helpful votes
+1
I find the coffee shop to be awesome for meetings, as the inside area allows for some privacy. The service is goods as well as the coffee and food. The smell of freshly baked bread does as a delicious distraction.
Read more
Date of stay: March 2021
Cleanliness
Service
Trip type: Travelled on business
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
1 Helpful vote
Helpful
Share
Response from Justine Barros, Marketing at Thanda Tau
Responded 01 Jun 2021
Hi Larce, Thank you for you wonderful recommendation, we are so pleased to see that you enjoyed your entire experience (delicious distractions and all) and look forward to welcoming you and your clients back again soon :)
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
avatar-image
Wayne and Mari K wrote a review May 2021
Midrand, South Africa229 contributions47 helpful votes
+1
We stopped for breakfast on the way home, we were a family of five and all our dogs. They welcomed us and our dogs and we had a really good breakfast in a beautiful open space with green grass and a playground. The coffee shop is good and the shop and deli make this place a great place to stop. Now that we have found this place, we will definitely be stopping there again.
Read more
Date of stay: April 2021Trip type: Travelled with family
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Helpful
Share
Response from Justine Barros, Marketing at Thanda Tau
Responded 17 May 2021
Hi Wayneand, Thank you for your wonderful review! We are overjoyed to see you what a fantastic experience you and your dogs had with us and we look forward to welcoming you back again the next time you pass :)
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
avatar-image
Erik wrote a review Apr 2021
2 contributions1 helpful vote
Awesome service The best breakfast and delicious also Coffee is good and hot Perfect setting for a pitstop on your way to either Durban or to the Drakensberg Come recharge your batteries at this beautiful setting
Read more
Date of stay: April 2021Trip type: Travelled solo
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
1 Helpful vote
Helpful
Share
Response from Justine Barros, Marketing at Thanda Tau
Responded 19 Apr 2021
Hi Erik, We're so glad to see you enjoyed your experience with us and that you are happy to recommend us! We look forward to serving you again in the future :)
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
avatar-image
Chrisna wrote a review Apr 2021
1 contribution
The Lions share restaurant is a pleasure and a quiet break in the middle of a hectic road trip. Thanks for the friendly service and delicous food. We will definitely make a piont of stopping here again.
Read more
Date of stay: April 2021Trip type: Travelled with family
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Helpful
Share
Response from Justine Barros, Marketing at Thanda Tau
Responded 19 Apr 2021
Hi Chrisna, We are so pleased to see that you received excellent service from our staff and enjoyed our food. We look forward to welcoming you back again!
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
avatar-image
Maggie Britz wrote a review Mar 2021
Pretoria, South Africa6 contributions1 helpful vote
What a wonderful restaurant/shop and it is not listed as a restaurant or eatery on N3. Good that I had to use the bathrooms otherwise we would not notice the Deli Thando Tau. Will recommend any tine with tranquil gardens, open windows and friendly atmosphere. Excellent cuppo’s and value for money!
Read more
Date of stay: March 2021Trip type: Travelled with friends
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Helpful
Share
Response from Justine Barros, Marketing at Thanda Tau
Responded 14 Mar 2021
Hi Maggie, We are so pleased to hear that you enjoyed our offerings and hope to see you again in the future!
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Previous
123456
Not the right property for you?
There are more places to choose from in the Vrede area.
PRICE RANGE
R 1,884 - R 2,094 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
LOCATION
South AfricaFree StateVrede
NUMBER OF ROOMS
11
Prices are provided by our partners, and reflect average nightly room rates, including taxes and fees that are fixed, known to our partners, and due at time of booking. Please see our partners for more details.
Is This Your Tripadvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing

THANDA TAU - Now R 1 561 (Was R̶ ̶1̶ ̶7̶8̶9̶) - UPDATED 2024 Guesthouse Reviews & Price Comparison (Vrede, South Africa) - Tripadvisor

Frequently Asked Questions about Thanda Tau
What are some of the property amenities at Thanda Tau?
Some of the more popular amenities offered include free breakfast, an on-site restaurant, and a lounge.
Which room amenities are available at Thanda Tau?
Top room amenities include a flat screen TV, a desk, and a view of the mountains.
What food & drink options are available at Thanda Tau?
Guests can enjoy free breakfast, an on-site restaurant, and a lounge during their stay.
Is parking available at Thanda Tau?
Yes, free parking and a parking garage are available to guests.
Are pets allowed at Thanda Tau?
Yes, pets are typically allowed, but it's always best to call ahead to confirm.
Does Thanda Tau offer any business services?
Yes, guests have access to meeting rooms and conference facilities during their stay.
Which languages are spoken by the staff at Thanda Tau?
The staff speaks multiple languages, including English, Afrikaans, and Zulu.
Is Thanda Tau accessible?
Yes, it offers wheelchair access and reduced mobility rooms. For specific enquiries, we recommend calling ahead to confirm.