We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Save
Share
90km from Port Elizabeth on the N2 towards Grahamstown, Driekoppen 6045 South Africa
E-mail hotel
Lowest prices for your stay
Hotel direct offer!Low Season Special: 15 % off bookings of 3 nights or longer
Lock in the lowest price from these sites
eDreamsUS$1 048
Agoda.comUS$1 047
TripadvisorUS$1 048
Priceline
ZenHotels.com
Destinia.com
View all 8 deals
* Prices are provided by our partners, and reflect average nightly room rates, including taxes and fees that are fixed, known to our partners, and due at time of booking. Please see our partners for more details.
Traveller (785)
Room & Suite (86)
Dining (52)
What is Travellers’ Choice?
Tripadvisor gives a Travellers’ Choice award to accommodations, attractions and restaurants that consistently earn great reviews from travellers and are ranked within the top 10% of properties on Tripadvisor.

About

Location
Cleanliness
Service
Value
Travellers' Choice
This private game reserve's location in the Eastern Cape means it is not only malaria free, but spans 5 ecosystems, resulting in a breath-taking diversity of flora and fauna. Lalibela has 5 lodges, all offering decor that is infused with the essence of Africa, as well as warm and friendly service and unforgettable game viewing. The 3 main aspects of any African safari are the game-viewing, the accommodation and the food – at Lalibela we take special care to ensure that heartfelt service combines with these three “ingredients” to make your Big 5 African safari experience a memorable one.
Read more
Property amenities
Free parking
Free internet
Pool
Free breakfast
Airport transportation
Gift shop
Non-smoking hotel
Private check-in / check-out
Secured parking
Internet
Pool / beach towels
Pool with view
Outdoor pool
Shallow end in pool
Bar / lounge
Restaurant
Breakfast buffet
Kids' meals
Special diet menus
Outdoor fireplace
Outdoor furniture
Shared lounge / TV area
Sun loungers / beach chairs
Sun terrace
Sun umbrellas
Laundry service
Ironing service
Show more
Room features
Air conditioning
Housekeeping
Private balcony
Safe
Seating area
Bottled water
Extra long beds
Complimentary toiletries
Wake-up service / alarm clock
Show more
Room types
Non-smoking rooms
Family rooms
Good to know
HOTEL CLASS
Languages Spoken
English, Afrikaans, Xhosa, Zulu
Hotel links
Special Price:Low Season Special: 15 % off bookings of 3 nights or longer

Location

Full view
Contact
90km from Port Elizabeth on the N2 towards Grahamstown, Driekoppen 6045 South Africa
Getting there
Port Elizabeth Airport81 kmSee all flights
See all nearby hotels
763Reviews18Q+A100Room tips
Traveller rating
  • 648
  • 87
  • 16
  • 7
  • 5
Time of year
Traveller type
Language
  • More
Selected filters
  • Filter
  • English
Popular mentions
Sort by:
Most Recent
Natalie R wrote a review Sep 2020
South Africa18 contributions3 helpful votes
+1
Our family and friends had a wonderful visit to this amazing reserve this Spring. It was so wonderful to get out of the City and into nature. We had wonderful sightings of a cheetah and her kill, wild elephants and scary male Lions. The staff at Mark's camp were so sweet and accommodating and made our stay most enjoyable. Our children had a ball. The food was absolutely delicious too.
Read more
Date of stay: September 2020
Helpful
Share
Response from Lalibela Game Reserve , Guest Services / Front Office at Lalibela Game Reserve
Responded 07 Oct 2020
Dear Guest Thank you for taking the time to review Lalibela Game Reserve. We are pleased to hear that you and your family had a wonderful time at Mark's Camp. We are so happy to hear that you had a great game viewing experience. It is not everyday that you get to see a cheetah with a kill. What a wonderful memory. We do hope you will visit us again in the future! Kind regards, The Lalibela Team
Read more
Tibby53 wrote a review Sep 2020
Port Elizabeth, South Africa41 contributions37 helpful votes
A wonderful two night stay at Marks Camp! The game drives were great - the cheetah did a little catwalk for us, the lion roared and walked right past us. Also saw various bird species, yellow mongoose, zebra, giraffe - too many to mention. The cutest was the little rhino calf falling asleep after a drink of milk from mom. And then there was the fabulous food! The staff was super friendly and helpful. There are two pools - one overlooking a water hole where we saw a hippo cooling itself down. The lockdown blues were long forgotten by the time we left! We will be back!
Read more
Date of stay: September 2020
1 Helpful vote
Helpful
Share
Response from Lalibela Game Reserve , Guest Services / Front Office at Lalibela Game Reserve
Responded 07 Oct 2020
Dear Guest Thank you for taking the time to review Lalibela Game Reserve! We are delighted to hear that you had a wonderful stay with us, post lockdown. We could not think of a better way to get rid of those lockdown blues. We hope you will be back for another visit in the future. Kind regards, The Lalibela Team
Read more
lcs14 wrote a review Apr 2020
London, United Kingdom61 contributions38 helpful votes
We spent 3 wonderful days at Kichaka Lodge on Lalibela Game Reserve, and what a fabulous experience it was. The warmth and helpfulness of all the Staff, from the minute we arrived, was so welcoming and professional. Coral Suite was beautiful and so spacious inside, with the outside deck and plunge pool, totally immersing us in the beautiful landscape. It was so lovely to also be overlooking the watering hole, with hippos even in place to greet us on our arrival! Our 2 game drives each day, led by our Ranger, Woody, were the experience of a lifetime, absolutely incredible to see so much, even on our first drive, and with such breathtaking scenery. Each drive was a new adventure, with Woody’s knowledge and passion for every animal, every plant, bringing the dream to life. We
Read more
Date of stay: February 2020
Helpful
Share
Response from LalibelaManagement, Guest Relations Manager at Lalibela Game Reserve
Responded 28 Apr 2020
Dear Guest Thank you for your wonderful review of Kichaka Lodge. We are delighted to hear that you had a lovely time during your recent stay with us. The water facing suites are a real treat as you get to enjoy views of the waterhole right from your own private deck. Woody is a fantastic guide and will be so happy to know that you enjoyed the game drives with him. He has so much knowledge to share with his guests. We hope that you will visit us again in the near future. We would love to welcome you back! Kind regards, The Lalibela Team
Read more
westonc wrote a review Apr 2020
Gonubie, South Africa762 contributions90 helpful votes
+1
For my wife’s birthday I surprised her by taking her to Lalibela, which was absolutely fantastic. We stayed at Lentaba lodge in a secluded thatched chalet, which had a private viewing deck with lovely views of the bush and valley below. We also had a view of a watering hole which was close by. We spent quite some time just relaxing on the deck watching the fascinating antics of a hippo calf playing at the water hole, with “mommy” hippo always close by, keeping a keen watchful eye over her baby. Our room was very clean, spacious and comfortable, with a nice large en-suite bathroom. At the main lodge there are also plenty of places to relax, including both inside and outside lounges, as well as a large deck with great views of the valley and waterhole. All our meals, including
Read more
Date of stay: September 2019
2 Helpful votes
Helpful
Share
Response from LalibelaManagement, Guest Relations Manager at Lalibela Game Reserve
Responded 20 Apr 2020
Dear Guest Thank you for your wonderful review of Lalibela Game Reserve. We are so happy to hear that you enjoyed your recent stay with us. We are delighted that your wife enjoyed her surprise birthday trip. It is lovely to know that we could make it extra special for her with the sparkling wine and birthday cake. We love celebrating special occasions with our guests. It is wonderful that you got to see the hippo with her baby in the waterhole from your private deck, this is a great experience and a memory to cherish forever. We will be sure to pass on your kind words to our chef and his team. He will be so happy to hear that you enjoyed all the meals on offer. We do hope you will visit us again in the future. Kind regards, The Lalibela Team
Read more
John S wrote a review Mar 2020
12 contributions7 helpful votes
Couldn't fault this place. Two safaris a day and with a three night stay we had 6 safaris. We saw all the big 5 plus Rhinos mating, standoff between Buffalo and Rhinos,Giraffes,Lions Cheetahs, Elephants, Hippos, Ostriches and well everything. Our Guide was superb we stayed at Marks Camp which is for Children and it was not disappointing...children when we saw them were so well behaved. Food is great and with All Inclusive the drinks just kept getting replenished
Read more
Date of stay: March 2020
Helpful
Share
Response from LalibelaManagement, Guest Relations Manager at Lalibela Game Reserve
Responded 26 Mar 2020
Dear John Thank you for your fantastic review of Lalibela Game Reserve. We are thrilled to hear that you had a great safari experience with us. It sounds like you had some great game viewing experiences. We do hope you will return in the future for another visit. We would love to welcome you back to Lalibela. Kind regards, The Lalibela Team
Read more
SeamasClarke wrote a review Mar 2020
Cavan, Ireland10 contributions5 helpful votes
Start to finish- excellent! From entry to exit we were met with professional staff with a real African spirit of hospitality and friendship. The accommodation was unique and very comfortable. The three safari trips we had were excellent with close-up views of the big five. The after safari social activity was first class. The food and drink was top class and abundant. The social interactivity with our fellow travellers in down time was most interesting. Highly recommend Lalibela Game Reserve and it's wonderful and courteous staff. Seamas and Sheila Ireland!
Read more
Date of stay: March 2020
Helpful
Share
Response from LalibelaManagement, Guest Relations Manager at Lalibela Game Reserve
Responded 26 Mar 2020
Dear Seamas and Sheila Thank you for your wonderful review of Lalibela Game Reserve. We are pleased to hear that you enjoyed every minute of your stay with us from start to finish. It is not only the safaris that are enjoyable but also interacting with other guests at meal times where you are able to share stories and your travel experiences. Our chefs will be delighted to hear that you enjoyed their food. There definitely are plenty of options to choose from! Thank you for the recommendation, we really appreciate it. Kind regards, The Lalibela Team
Read more
BobClifford wrote a review Mar 2020
London, United Kingdom52 contributions38 helpful votes
to mark the end of our south african trip we stayed 4 nights.....which actually worked out......we decided not to do a few rides and it was chucking it down and their vehicles are open to the elements....which meant we saw a mass of wild animals....lions...elephants....giraffe....cheetahs......a really close.... our ranger was amazing....the staff generally exceptional....the food wonderful..... our room was great......... one of my pals liked it so much he stayed there for almost two weeks as for the price i cant say...it was part of a trailfinders package
Read more
Date of stay: March 2020
Helpful
Share
Response from LalibelaManagement, Guest Relations Manager at Lalibela Game Reserve
Responded 25 Mar 2020
Dear Bob Thank you for your wonderful review of Lalibela Game Reserve. We are happy to hear that you managed to see quite a few animals during your stay. We will pass on your kind words to your ranger, the chef and the rest of the lodge team. They will be delighted to hear that you had a great time. Kind regards, The Lalibela Team
Read more
Daniele L wrote a review Mar 2020
Biarritz, France271 contributions139 helpful votes
My husband, two daughters (ages 3.5, 1.5), and I stayed at Mark's Camp for two nights in March 2020. We knew that child care would be provided for our youngest as she was too young for a game drive. Our understanding was that the 3.5-year-old would go on game drives with the other children too young to go on the adult game drives. As it turned out, our girls were the youngest at the camp. I was surprised about how they were going to accommodate us and would have appreciated a heads up via email before we arrived about the situation. But it ended up working out fine. We had a private game drive every time and used the child-friendly game vehicle (with roof, sides on the truck). Our oldest daughter came with us twice; the other times she stayed back with her sister and Lena, the
Read more
Date of stay: March 2020
1 Helpful vote
Helpful
Share
Response from LalibelaManagement, Guest Relations Manager at Lalibela Game Reserve
Responded 25 Mar 2020
Dear Daniele Thank you for your lovely feedback about Lalibela Game Reserve. We are so glad to hear that it was a bucket list trip for your family. We do apologise that the children's programme was not communicated to you before your arrival however we are happy to hear that you were still able to go on the game drives with your daughter. Craig is a fantastic ranger and has been part of the Lalibela team for several years. He has a vast amount of knowledge and is extremely passionate about his job! We are so glad that you and your husband were able to have a private dinner together where you could spend quality time with each other. We would love to welcome your family back for another visit, so we do hope that you will return one day. Kind regards, The Lalibela Team
Read more
tracehumphreys wrote a review Mar 2020
10 contributions
+1
Absolutely amazing place, Lalibela Lodge on Eastern cape Reserves. Wonderful food, especially for me as I’m coeliac and it was no problem for them to cater me. Staff out of this world, nothing was too much trouble. Unfortunately the weather was against us in all 4 Safari drives but we saw most of the animals. 100% recommend
Read more
Date of stay: March 2020
Helpful
Share
Response from LalibelaManagement, Guest Relations Manager at Lalibela Game Reserve
Responded 25 Mar 2020
Dear Trace Thank you for taking the time to review Lalibela Game Reserve. We are so happy to hear that you enjoyed your 50th Birthday celebration with us. We will pass on your kind words to our chefs. At Lalibela we always go over and above to cater for dietary needs as we believe this is important for our guests. We are so glad to hear that despite the rainy weather you were still able to see quite a few animals. Thank you for the recommendation. We hope you will visit us again in the near future. Kind regards, The Lalibela Team
Read more
JohnSc224 wrote a review Mar 2020
Manchester, United Kingdom32 contributions15 helpful votes
+1
We were not expecting so much from an eastern cape safari but Marks Camp and Dolphi exceeded all expectations. Cant recommend this enough.......5 star plus. These are just a few of some memorable photos. Thanks Dolphi.
Read more
Date of stay: February 2020
Helpful
Share
Response from LalibelaManagement, Guest Relations Manager at Lalibela Game Reserve
Responded 11 Mar 2020
Dear John Thank you for your lovely review of Lalibela Game Reserve. We are so glad that we were able to exceed your expectations during your recent stay with us. Thank you for the recommendation. We appreciate it greatly. Kind regards, The Lalibela Team
Read more
PRICE RANGE
US$655 - US$873 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
ALSO KNOWN AS
lalibela game reserve hotel eastern cape
LOCATION
South AfricaEastern CapeDriekoppen
NUMBER OF ROOMS
45
Is This Your Tripadvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing