We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Lalibela Game Reserve

Save
Share
90km from Port Elizabeth on the N2 towards Grahamstown, Driekoppen 6045 South Africa
Booking.com
eDreams
Agoda.com
ZenHotels.com
* Prices are provided by our partners, and reflect average nightly room rates, including taxes and fees that are fixed, known to our partners, and due at time of booking. Please see our partners for more details.
Traveller (690)
Room & Suite (62)
Dining (42)

About

Location
Cleanliness
Service
Value
Travellers' Choice
This private game reserve's location in the Eastern Cape means it is not only malaria free, but spans 5 ecosystems, resulting in a breath-taking diversity of flora and fauna. Lalibela has 5 lodges, all offering decor that is infused with the essence of Africa, as well as warm and friendly service and unforgettable game viewing. The 3 main aspects of any African safari are the game-viewing, the accommodation and the food – at Lalibela we take special care to ensure that heartfelt service combines with these three “ingredients” to make your Big 5 African safari experience a memorable one.
Read more
Full view
Property amenities
Free parking
Free internet
Pool
Free breakfast
Entertainment staff
Board games / puzzles
Books, DVDs, music for children
Airport transportation
Secured parking
Internet
Pool / beach towels
Pool with view
Outdoor pool
Plunge pool
Shallow end in pool
Bar / lounge
Restaurant
Breakfast buffet
Kids' meals
Special diet menus
Gift shop
Non-smoking hotel
Outdoor fireplace
Outdoor furniture
Shared lounge / TV area
Sun loungers / beach chairs
Sun terrace
Sun umbrellas
Laundry service
Ironing service
Show more
Room features
Air conditioning
Housekeeping
Private balcony
Safe
Seating area
Bottled water
Wake-up service / alarm clock
Complimentary toiletries
Room types
Non-smoking rooms
Family rooms
Good to know
HOTEL CLASS
HOTEL STYLE
Great View
Languages Spoken
English, Afrikaans, Xhosa, Zulu

Location

Full view
Contact
90km from Port Elizabeth on the N2 towards Grahamstown, Driekoppen 6045 South Africa
Getting there
Port Elizabeth Airport81 kmSee all flights
See all nearby hotels
722Reviews18Q+A100Room tips
Traveller rating
  • 608
  • 86
  • 16
  • 7
  • 5
Time of year
Traveller type
Language
  • More
Selected filters
  • Filter
  • English
Popular mentions
JonnyR95 wrote a review Feb 2020
Glasgow, United Kingdom23 contributions10 helpful votes
Before going into detail for readers, I just want to say a massive thank you to all the lovely staff at Lentaba Lodge at the Lalibela Game Reserve. A extraordinary standard of service with warmth, kindness and enthusiasm from the moment we arrived. We will never forget. THANK YOU! So, put simply, you won’t be disappointed with your stay at Lalibela. My family and I stayed at the Lentaba Lodge for 3 nigh and had the time of our lives. The perfect mix of activity and relaxation in unbelievable surroundings. From the the moment we arrived at the entrance gates we felt such an open and welcoming atmosphere. This was extended to our game drives with the incredible Teacha. An amazing understanding of the animals, flora and the history of the park made sure we all left the reserve
Read more
Date of stay: February 2020
Helpful
Share
Response from LalibelaManagement, Guest Relations Manager at Lalibela Game Reserve
Responded 03 Mar 2020
Dear Jonny Thank you for your fantastic review of Lalibela Game Reserve. We are delighted to hear that you enjoyed your recent stay at Lentaba Lodge. Ticha is a wonderful guide and has been part of the Lalibela family for several years. He has a lot of knowledge about the plants and animals found on Lalibela and he loves sharing his knowledge with his guests. We will be sure to pass on your kind words to Thembalethu and MZ as well as our executive chef who oversees the kitchen. At Lalibela we will always go out of our way to accommodate guests with dietary requirements. We hope that you manage to find kudu in London. If you don't find any, you will have to come back and visit us again! :) Thank you for your recommendation. We appreciate it greatly. Kind regards, The Lalibela Team
Read more
Ciara K wrote a review Feb 2020
Dublin, Ireland7 contributions8 helpful votes
We loved our stay in Lalibela. We stayed in the Lentaba Safari Lodge. We found the staff friendly, attentive and relaxed. We saw 4 out of the big five and learned loads about the animals. We ate so much! the food was really nice and there was so much of it
Read more
Date of stay: November 2019
Helpful
Share
Response from LalibelaManagement, Guest Relations Manager at Lalibela Game Reserve
Responded 27 Feb 2020
Dear Ciara Thank you for taking the time to review Lalibela Game Reserve. We are so pleased to hear you managed to see four of the Big Five. Our qualified rangers have so much knowledge of all the animals that they love to share with all our guests. We will pass on your kind words to the chef. We are so happy to hear that you enjoyed the food. Kind regards, The Lalibela Team
Read more
Keith D wrote a review Feb 2020
3 contributions1 helpful vote
My wife and I recently spent a couple of days at the tree top lodge in Lalibela and we could not recommend it enough. The lodge was amazing set at tree top level over looking a water hole. The food was excellent and the staff could not have done more for us. Our ranger Peter was brilliant, highly knowledgeable and friendly. He did his utmost to ensure we saw all the animals we wanted to see. His knowledge on all the wildlife and plants really impressed us. Thanks to Peter and all the staff for a truly unforgettable experience. Regards Regard, Keith and Aoife
Read more
Date of stay: February 2020
Helpful
Share
Response from LalibelaManagement, Guest Relations Manager at Lalibela Game Reserve
Responded 27 Feb 2020
Dear Regard, Keith and Aoife Thank you for your lovely review. It is wonderful to know that you enjoyed your recent stay at Tree Tops. Tree Tops is such a special lodge. It is our smallest lodge which means it is lovey and intimate. The tented suites allow you to experience nature at a whole different level. We will pass on your kind words to Peter. He will be so happy to know that you enjoyed the game drives with him. Our chef will also be thrilled to hear that you enjoyed all the delicious food on offer. Kind regards, The Lalibela Team
Read more
Daniel187069 wrote a review Feb 2020
Manchester, United Kingdom31 contributions19 helpful votes
We stayed in a waterhole view room and it was absolute luxury, with our own plunge pool . The staff were amazing and couldn’t do enough for you, and our ranger Roen ( sorry if Iv spelt it wrong) was wonderful, so knowledgeable. The food and service was 5 star , I was worried before I visited that it would be a bit snobby, but it wasn’t , it was luxurious but with a wonderful feeling that you were part of the family . I really can’t find the words to say how much I enjoyed my 3 nights at the Kinchaka lodge .....do not hesitate to stay here , I hope I get the opportunity to visit again
Read more
Date of stay: February 2020
Helpful
Share
Response from LalibelaManagement, Guest Relations Manager at Lalibela Game Reserve
Responded 27 Feb 2020
Dear Daniel Thank you for taking the time to review Kichaka Lodge on Lalibela Game Reserve. The water facing suites are simply amazing! You are able to watch the animals that come to the water hole for a drink right from your own private viewing deck. The private plunge pools are an added luxury which means you can relax around your own swimming pool. We are so happy to know that you enjoyed your stay. We would love to welcome you back one day. Kind regards, The Lalibela Team
Read more
Janet P wrote a review Feb 2020
Great Bookham, United Kingdom29 contributions23 helpful votes
We stayed three nights at tree tops and It was the most wonderful stay. From the moment you arrive the staff are friendly and quietly attentive.Jean Marie is lovely , very helpful and heads a good team of staff. . The rooms at treetops are beautifully set in the trees and very plush. The food was the best we had during our trip to South Africa. We ate the most fantastic ostrich, Malva cake and salads. Our ranger Pete was brilliant. So knowledgeable and enthusiastic. I was worried before the trip that we wouldn’t see enough animals, it wouldn’t be large enough but do not worry. We saw the big 5 every day and many more besides. Our first safari and very memorable. Would highly recommend and can not find anything that I would improve except a larger pool but I’m being picky !!!
Read more
Date of stay: February 2020
Helpful
Share
Response from LalibelaManagement, Director of Sales at Lalibela Game Reserve
Responded 27 Feb 2020
Dear Janet Thank you for your lovely review of Tree Tops on Lalibela Game Reserve. We are thrilled to hear that you had a wonderful time during your recent stay with us. Tree Tops is such a beautiful lodge and it gives you a different experience because you are staying in a tented suite. It really does feel like you are at the tops of the trees. We will pass on your words of thanks to Jean-Marie, Pete and the rest of the Tree Tops team. The chef will be delighted to hear that you enjoyed all the food. It is great to hear that you were able to enjoy the Malva Pudding, a true South African dessert. Thank you so much for your recommendation. We do hope that you will visit us again in the future. Kind regards, The Lalibela Team
Read more
PRICE RANGE
US$590 - US$814 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
ALSO KNOWN AS
lalibela game reserve hotel eastern cape
LOCATION
South AfricaEastern CapeDriekoppen
NUMBER OF ROOMS
45
Is This Your Tripadvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing