We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Over the Mountain Guest Farm

Save
Share
Main Road, Herold, George 6615 South Africa
eDreams
Booking.com
ZenHotels.com
Priceline
FindHotel
Destinia.com
View all 8 deals
* Prices are provided by our partners, and reflect average nightly room rates, including taxes and fees that are fixed, known to our partners, and due at time of booking. Please see our partners for more details.
Traveller (19)
Room & Suite (6)
Dining (3)

About

Location
Cleanliness
Service
Value
Situated in the secluded hamlet of Herold on the famous Route 62 and part of South Africa’s sublime Garden Route, Over the Mountain Guest Farm offers more than just luxurious accommodation. Forming part of the original 19th century town of Herold, Over The Mountain brings new meaning to the word ‘relaxation’. Escape from the hustle and bustle of everyday life and stay for a few days or overnight on your way. World class accommodation and hospitality are taken a step further with unique, experience based holiday packages that will see guests not only delving deeply into the soul of the stunning surroundings but also taking part in the vibrant art and culinary culture that define this picturesque part of the South African landscape. Make it a destination or a pit stop. The historic buildings can provide accommodation for up to 27 people spread across a combination of 6 en-suite B&B rooms as well as 2 Self-catering family units.
Read more
Property amenities
Free parking
Free High Speed Internet (WiFi)
Pool
Restaurant
Hiking
Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly)
Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Airport transportation
Secured parking
Outdoor pool
Breakfast available
Meeting rooms
BBQ facilities
Baggage storage
Non-smoking hotel
Shared lounge / TV area
Show more
Room features
Housekeeping
Room types
Non-smoking rooms
Family rooms
Good to know
HOTEL CLASS
HOTEL STYLE
Family
Languages Spoken
English, Afrikaans
92Reviews0Q+A6Room tips
Traveller rating
  • 49
  • 27
  • 11
  • 2
  • 3
Time of year
Traveller type
Language
Selected filters
  • Filter
  • English
Popular mentions
Sort by:
Most Recent
abbigeldenhuys wrote a review Feb 2022
George, South Africa1 contribution
We had a Wonderful one night stay - with delicious meals from the restaurant served at our room 😁 Beds were extremely comfortable with lovely fresh linen. We have stayed twice before and will definitely be back soon!
Read more
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Date of stay: February 2022
Value
Rooms
Location
Cleanliness
Service
Sleep Quality
Helpful
Share
Alida V wrote a review Feb 2022
2 contributions
There were no wifi, or airconditioners in the rooms available (as advertised). It was the hottest week end of the year, we had to ask for a fan. We were two couples who stayed there. If we knew about that, we would rather stayed in a guest house that have airconditioners and wifi. The view was good.
Read more
Date of stay: January 2022
Value
Service
Sleep Quality
Helpful
Share
hvinne114698 wrote a review Dec 2021
Cape Town Central, South Africa1 contribution
We enjoyed the beautiful views, just to sit on the stoep and been surrounded by this magnificent mountains and garden , very comfortably beds, would love to have extra lights for reading and a menu of the restaurant
Read more
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Date of stay: December 2021
Value
Rooms
Location
Cleanliness
Service
Sleep Quality
Helpful
Share
Response from Gerrit Brits, Owner at Over the Mountain Guest Farm
Responded 04 Jan 2022
THANK YOU. WE TAKE NOTE OF THE LIGHTING CONCERN AND WILL ADRESS THIS.
Read more
Pieter wrote a review Nov 2021
Cape Town, South Africa816 contributions121 helpful votes
We stop here for the night on our MTB tour from PE to Cape Town. The owners are extremly friendly and helpful. We had lunch in the Teetuin and dinner with the family. Its really good value for money and really worth while to stop for lunch if you are just passing through the Montagu pass.
Read more
Date of stay: April 2021Trip type: Travelled with friends
Helpful
Share
Sammitch2401 wrote a review Sep 2021
Stellenbosch, South Africa1 contribution
I thoroughly enjoyed my stay here. It was relaxing. Such a peaceful spot to be for a weekend. Everyone was so welcoming and helpful. The Tea Garden, right at your door step was such an added treat. The Tea Garden also serve the best scones I have had in a long time.
Read more
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Date of stay: September 2021
Value
Rooms
Location
Cleanliness
Service
Sleep Quality
Helpful
Share
Veronique wrote a review May 2021
Cape Town, South Africa464 contributions47 helpful votes
During my roadtrip, I had a stop in Herold village and had scone in the tea garden of the Over the mountain Guestfarm. The service is very friendly and professional. The lady gave me plenty of infirmation on the area. The scane was very good and the place is charming and full of history. It really worth to stop there...
Read more
Date of stay: May 2021
Value
Location
Service
Helpful
Share
Response from Gerrit Brits, Owner at Over the Mountain Guest Farm
Responded 18 May 2021
Our Pleasure
Read more
CyclistsX wrote a review May 2021
Port Elizabeth, South Africa3 contributions
A group of 9 cyclists stopped at Over the Mountain for brunch. What a brilliant decision. Management and staff were friendly and efficient. The setting is gorgeous and provided a fantastic resting spot and gorgeous view. Our food was delicious. I had the best scone I’ve ever tasted! Fresh, light and absolutely delicious! We have stopped here before on a casual cycle, and have never been disappointed, but this stop seemed especially great. Would definitely recommend popping in. Beautiful old converted police station and goal.
Read more
Date of stay: May 2021
Value
Location
Service
Helpful
Share
Response from Gerrit Brits, Owner at Over the Mountain Guest Farm
Responded 18 May 2021
You are welcome anytime
Read more
787andre wrote a review May 2021
Port Alfred, South Africa2 contributions
Quaint historic buildings , with comfortable stay, perfectly clean, very reasonable rates. We were welcomed by our host Estelle and complimentary chocolates for all. Shower was perfectly hot and powerful, beds were warm and comfortable.
Read more
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Date of stay: April 2021
Value
Rooms
Location
Cleanliness
Service
Sleep Quality
Helpful
Share
Response from Gerrit Brits, Owner at Over the Mountain Guest Farm
Responded 18 May 2021
Thank you
Read more
MdVSouthAfrica wrote a review Jan 2021
Plettenberg Bay, South Africa160 contributions52 helpful votes
Beautiful old house with fireplace in the kitchen/dining room open-plan area. Swimming pool was refreshing. Great play area for the children, with trampoline and "creative kitchen". So quiet and peaceful - we loved it.
Read more
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Date of stay: December 2020
Value
Rooms
Location
Cleanliness
Service
Sleep Quality
1 Helpful vote
Helpful
Share
ABrodrick wrote a review Dec 2020
26 contributions1 helpful vote
Thank you for a very pleasant stay in an excellent setting. We enjoyed the peace and tranquility as well as the hospitable people of Over the Mountain. A good place to unwind at the start of your holiday!
Read more
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Date of stay: December 2020
Value
Rooms
Location
Cleanliness
Service
Sleep Quality
Helpful
Share
Response from Gerrit Brits, Owner at Over the Mountain Guest Farm
Responded 14 Dec 2020
Thank you
Read more
Previous
123456
PRICE RANGE
US$61 - US$67 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
LOCATION
South AfricaWestern CapeGeorgeHerold
NUMBER OF ROOMS
8
Is This Your Tripadvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing
Frequently Asked Questions about Over the Mountain Guest Farm
Which popular attractions are close to Over the Mountain Guest Farm?
Nearby attractions include Montagu Pass Old Toll House (4.3 km) and Montagu Pass (4.2 km).
What are some of the property amenities at Over the Mountain Guest Farm?
Some of the more popular amenities offered include free wifi, a pool, and an on-site restaurant.
What food & drink options are available at Over the Mountain Guest Farm?
Guests can enjoy an on-site restaurant, breakfast, and barbeque facilities during their stay.
Is parking available at Over the Mountain Guest Farm?
Yes, free parking and secured parking are available to guests.
Are there opportunities to exercise at Over the Mountain Guest Farm?
Yes, guests have access to a pool during their stay.
Does Over the Mountain Guest Farm have airport transportation?
Yes, Over the Mountain Guest Farm offers airport transportation for guests. We recommend calling ahead to confirm details.
Are pets allowed at Over the Mountain Guest Farm?
Yes, pets are typically allowed, but it's always best to call ahead to confirm.
Which languages are spoken by the staff at Over the Mountain Guest Farm?
The staff speaks multiple languages, including English and Afrikaans.
Are there any historical sites close to Over the Mountain Guest Farm?
Many travellers enjoy visiting Montagu Pass Old Toll House (4.3 km).
Does Over the Mountain Guest Farm have any great views?
Yes, guests often enjoy the mountain view available here.