Slaley Country House

Slaley Country House

Koelenhof Stellenbosch 7605 R44 & Knorhoek Road, Koelenhof, Stellenbosch 7599 South Africa
Traveller (69)
Suite 1
Room & Suite (34)
Pool & Beach (5)

View prices for your travel dates

Contact accommodation for availability.
There are similar hotels available.
View all
Did you already book this hotel?

About

4.5
#1 of 1 small hotel in Koelenhof
4.5 of 5 bubbles
Location
4.7 of 5 bubbles
Cleanliness
4.5 of 5 bubbles
Service
4.6 of 5 bubbles
Value
Slaley Country House is situated 8 km outside Stellenbosch on a wine farm at the foot of the Simonsberg mountain. If it is experiencing the beautiful view, sophisticated wines, delicious food at the Bistro, or the uniquely decorated rooms at the Country House, Slaley offers you something different. Enjoying our tennis court and big swimming pool, go for a wine tasting at the cellar, or make use of the wine tour we booked for you, a promise is that you will enjoy every moment and make lasting memories.
Read more
Suggest edits to improve what we show.Improve this listing
Property amenities
Free parking
Free High Speed Internet (WiFi)
Pool
Free breakfast
Canoeing
Hiking
Airport transportation
Meeting rooms
Valet parking
Wifi
Outdoor pool
Poolside bar
Restaurant
Tennis court
Fishing
Shuttle bus service
Car hire
Baggage storage
Concierge
Non-smoking hotel
Dry cleaning
Laundry service
Room features
Air conditioning
Refrigerator
Bath / shower
Room types
Non-smoking rooms
Suites
Family rooms
Good to know
HOTEL CLASS
Star ratings are intended to indicate the general level of features, amenities, and services to expect. This property is classified according to Giata.
3.5 of 5 stars
HOTEL STYLE
Quaint
Languages Spoken
English, Afrikaans
135Reviews0Q+A10Room tips
Traveller rating
  • 95
  • 24
  • 5
  • 3
  • 8
Time of year
Traveller type
Language
Selected filters
  • Filter
  • English
Popular mentions
Sort by:
Detailed Reviews
Prakash wrote a review Apr 2020
Walsall, United Kingdom
5.0 of 5 bubbles
My partner and I spent a lovely night in Slaley House. The country house is set in a stunning location with gorgeous vineyards and mountain views all round. Our room was wonderfully luxurious and we were particularly appreciative of the complimentary bottle of wine on offer. Food and service were impeccable. There was even a lovely bit of feline company.
We were also given a great opportunity to spend an hour or so with the vineyard's owner who took us out to the fields where we had a chance to pick and taste grapes. We were also given a tour around the wine processing area and got to taste fresh grape pressings as well as early some of the early fermented juice. This was all complimentary and built into the price of the room (which was incredible value for money!)
A lovely stay our only regret was not being able to spend more time there. Thank you for having us.
Read more
Date of stay: February 2020
5.0 of 5 bubblesValue
5.0 of 5 bubblesLocation
5.0 of 5 bubblesService
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from Esme Benmouia, Other at Slaley Country House
Responded 03 Aug 2020
I am so happy that you enjoyed your stay with us and experienced all that we have to offer. It was great hosting you.
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
marelistrydom wrote a review Oct 2020
Johannesburg, South Africa
4.0 of 5 bubbles
The property is stunning (feels like you are completely out of the hustle and bustle) and the rooms are spacious and neat with view over the lush gardens. Great location for exploring the winelands. Good breakfast selection.
Read more
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Date of stay: October 2020
5.0 of 5 bubblesValue
5.0 of 5 bubblesRooms
5.0 of 5 bubblesLocation
5.0 of 5 bubblesCleanliness
4.0 of 5 bubblesService
5.0 of 5 bubblesSleep Quality
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from Esme Benmouia, Other at Slaley Country House
Responded 20 Oct 2020
Dear Marelise Thank you for the feedback. I am delighted that you have enjoyed your stay with us.
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
gvambe727974 wrote a review Mar 2021
4.0 of 5 bubbles
The ambiance and service was truely wonderful the room was stunning and clean. Breakfast was good.
However they should consider microwaves in the rooms or accessible to guests after 6pm. As they don't provide meals besides breakfast. Also partner a reliable shuttle service to help guests get about when they need it. It was a great stay though!!!!!
Read more
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Date of stay: February 2021
5.0 of 5 bubblesValue
5.0 of 5 bubblesRooms
3.0 of 5 bubblesLocation
5.0 of 5 bubblesCleanliness
4.0 of 5 bubblesService
5.0 of 5 bubblesSleep Quality
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from Esme Benmouia, Other at Slaley Country House
Responded 10 Mar 2021
Dear Geraldine Thank you for the feedback. I am not sure why you did not make use of the microwave that is provided in the dining room for guest use, or inquired about our shuttle service, as we have 2 dedicated shuttle services for the convenience of our guests. There are even shuttle business cards of one of the companies as you walk into the front door, next to the sanitizing station, as well as on the reception desk. On check in you received am information sheet, that informed you how to use these services. So all I can think, is that you did not read the full information sheet. We even offer wine tours through one of the companies. In any case, I am glad you enjoyed your room and your stay.
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
jbecht835536 wrote a review Feb 2020
5.0 of 5 bubbles
We stayed in the slaley house when we visited the vine region in stellenbosch. It is very lovely and we enjoyed the pool, our room and the privacy we had. It has not many rooms so everything is familiar and welcome.
We can totally recommend this place.

the rooms where so nice.
It’s a bit outside from stellenbosch but with Uber/bolt or own car very easy to get to town. For tours like vine hoppers they pick up directly from the location.
Read more
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Date of stay: January 2020
5.0 of 5 bubblesValue
5.0 of 5 bubblesRooms
4.0 of 5 bubblesLocation
5.0 of 5 bubblesCleanliness
5.0 of 5 bubblesService
5.0 of 5 bubblesSleep Quality
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Yolande S wrote a review Feb 2020
Philadelphia, Pennsylvania
5.0 of 5 bubbles
The rooms were luxurious with the glass wall behind the bath, shower and WC filled with ferns and plants to achieve an amazing effect. The staff were so professional, helpful, willing and lovely people.. ESME and Helen were especially helpful and efficient. There us a lovely swimming pool and it is peaceful. I loved it. We are returning tomorrow fir a longer stay.
Read more
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Date of stay: January 2020
5.0 of 5 bubblesValue
5.0 of 5 bubblesRooms
4.0 of 5 bubblesLocation
5.0 of 5 bubblesCleanliness
5.0 of 5 bubblesService
5.0 of 5 bubblesSleep Quality
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from Slaley_Country_House, Manager at Slaley Country House
Responded 09 Feb 2020
Thank you Yolande. Great to host you again.
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
peter w wrote a review Feb 2023
Wakefield, United Kingdom
2.0 of 5 bubbles
We and our friends booked two double rooms for 5 nights at Slayley Country House in February on the basis of the reviews we had read – HUGE MISTAKE!!

The good points were that the beds were comfortable and the rooms were clean but…

We have stayed in several guest houses in South Africa and this place was the worst we have experienced by a long way!
The bathrooms and toilets had floor to ceiling glass walls so there was no privacy whatsoever.
There was nowhere in the rooms to open our cases on so we had to store them opened on the floor.
The swimming pool water was very murky (we have owned a pool and know that this is due to the filtration system not being properly maintained). You certainly could not see the bottom and had no clue as to how deep it was.
None of the sunbeds had mattresses on them, there were no sun umbrellas and the waste bin in the toilet was overflowing with paper towels and clearly hadn’t been cleaned out for a while.
Breakfast was served in a room with one long glass wall with no aircon or fan, so it was like eating in an oven most mornings.
Cats roamed the dining room and often jumped up onto the tables and food area without any control by the staff.
There were many steps on different levels between the car park and the rooms which made taking cases to and from the room very difficult.
Definitely not a place to stay if you have mobility problems.
Read more
Date of stay: February 2023
4.0 of 5 bubblesCleanliness
3.0 of 5 bubblesService
3.0 of 5 bubblesSleep Quality
Room Tip: Find a room elsewhere!!
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Amiena D wrote a review Nov 2020
Cape Town Central, South Africa
+1
4.0 of 5 bubbles
If you are looking for a peaceful and relaxing place to stay at, Slaley Country House is it. My husband and I stayed in the Luxury King Suite. The room was lovely, very clean and equipped with everything that we needed. The host, Esme and staff were very friendly and welcoming. (Even the 2 cute kitties on the premises came to say hello, although they mind their own business and not a bother at all)
Location - about a 10 minute drive to the hub of Stellenbosch for restaurants and shopping etc.
Breakfast - delicious (they can accommodate halaal and vegetarian)
Big pool and tennis court on site...large lush and tranquil garden.
We highly recommend Slaley Country House and would love to return some day. Thank you.
Read more
Date of stay: October 2020
5.0 of 5 bubblesRooms
5.0 of 5 bubblesService
5.0 of 5 bubblesSleep Quality
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from Esme Benmouia, Other at Slaley Country House
Responded 14 Dec 2020
Dear Amiena Thank you for the feedback. It was so great hosting you and it warms my heart to read your review and be sure that you and your husband had a very special and enjoyable stay. Looking forward to host you again in future.
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
amusto556622 wrote a review Feb 2020
Taipei, Taiwan
5.0 of 5 bubbles
We had an amazing stay here. Super friendly staff who warmly welcomed us with a bottle a wine and were always very helpful. There were 2 friendly cats (Leila and Maya) who were playful and nice to have around. Breakfast was tasty and it was nice to get to know some of the other guests as the environment at Slaley is open and welcoming. Definitely can recommend to anyone who likes positive and animal friendly environment :) thank you once again Esme for making our stay so wonderful. We’ll be back for sure.
Read more
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Date of stay: January 2020
5.0 of 5 bubblesValue
4.0 of 5 bubblesRooms
4.0 of 5 bubblesLocation
5.0 of 5 bubblesCleanliness
5.0 of 5 bubblesService
5.0 of 5 bubblesSleep Quality
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from Slaley_Country_House, Manager at Slaley Country House
Responded 13 Feb 2020
Thank you very much for your feedback. It was the pleasure of myself and my team (Leila and Maya included) to host you and make sure you had a great experience. I am looking forward to welcome you back and have some good chats and laughs again.
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Oz-traveller-54 wrote a review Sept 2020
Sydney
1.0 of 5 bubbles
Unfortunately I can't review this property as our holiday was cancelled due to COVID-19 travel restrictions. When I booked in March 2020 it was on the basis of free cancellation until a month before our booked date. I had to cancel in April, but the property had already deducted the full accommodation charge from my credit card. They are refusing to refund the money.
Read more
Date of stay: September 2020
1.0 of 5 bubblesService
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from Esme Benmouia, Other at Slaley Country House
Responded 29 Sept 2020
Dear Gillian Akers First of all you NEVER spoke to me or attempted to speak to me or my office to find out about a refund. I am not sure where you got your information fro that your refund was declined or rejected, as on our side we have done a refund and the only amount that was deducted was the international bank cost. In future I suggest rather contact the property direct and get the correct information before you go onto platforms like this one and try and spread incorrect information.
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
fionaruidh wrote a review Jul 2021
Wildomar, California
5.0 of 5 bubbles
The location of this is a great jumping off point for many wineries. The furniture was well appointed and was comfortable. The jetted tub in one of our rooms was a nice touch. I love the wilderness around this place. I would absolutely stay here again.
Read more
Date of stay: June 2021
5.0 of 5 bubblesLocation
5.0 of 5 bubblesCleanliness
5.0 of 5 bubblesService
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from Kim Hunting, Marketing at Slaley Country House
Responded 03 Jul 2021
Hi Fionaruidh, Thank you for your lovely review. We are happy to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us and that you found our establishment comfortable both in it's location and in its layout. We would absolutely love to welcome you back here in future.
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
No results found.Try changing or clearing your search to read questions and answers.
Silvia L. wrote a tip Mar 2023
Helsinki, Finland36 contributions4 helpful votes
3.0 of 5 bubbles
"1. Get an internet card 2. Travel only by your own car 3. Get powerbanks and fans 4. Don't make any important or fancy plans during your stay"
Read full review
peter w wrote a tip Feb 2023
Wakefield, United Kingdom124 contributions95 helpful votes
2.0 of 5 bubbles
"Find a room elsewhere!!"
Read full review
susan@oribi.co.za wrote a tip Oct 2020
1 contribution
5.0 of 5 bubbles
"Fantastic view"
Read full review
Marietjie wrote a tip Oct 2020
Laval, Canada1 contribution1 helpful vote
5.0 of 5 bubbles
"Our room been at the East side, very quiet, view fantastic!"
Read full review
427heather wrote a tip Sept 2018
Johannesburg, South Africa3 contributions1 helpful vote
1.0 of 5 bubbles
"Dont book at Slaley Guest House"
Read full review
Not the right property for you?
There are more places to choose from in the Koelenhof area.
PRICE RANGE
R 1,924 - R 1,961 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
LOCATION
South AfricaWestern CapeStellenboschKoelenhof
NUMBER OF ROOMS
7
Prices are provided by our partners, and reflect average nightly room rates, including taxes and fees that are fixed, known to our partners, and due at time of booking. Please see our partners for more details.
Is This Your Tripadvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing

SLALEY COUNTRY HOUSE - Hotel Reviews & Price Comparison (Koelenhof, South Africa)

Frequently Asked Questions about Slaley Country House
Which popular attractions are close to Slaley Country House?
Nearby attractions include Dylan Lewis Sculpture Garden (7.0 km), Rupert Museum (7.7 km), and Stellenbosch University Botanical Garden (7.4 km).
What are some of the property amenities at Slaley Country House?
Some of the more popular amenities offered include free wifi, free breakfast, and a pool.
What food & drink options are available at Slaley Country House?
Guests can enjoy free breakfast, an on-site restaurant, and a poolside bar during their stay.
Is parking available at Slaley Country House?
Yes, free parking and valet parking are available to guests.
What are some restaurants close to Slaley Country House?
Conveniently located restaurants include Helena's Restaurant, Kunjani Wines, and Fat Butcher.
Are there opportunities to exercise at Slaley Country House?
Yes, guests have access to a pool during their stay.
Does Slaley Country House have airport transportation?
Yes, Slaley Country House offers airport transportation for guests. We recommend calling ahead to confirm details.
Are any cleaning services offered at Slaley Country House?
Yes, dry cleaning and laundry service are offered to guests.
Which languages are spoken by the staff at Slaley Country House?
The staff speaks multiple languages, including English and Afrikaans.
Are there any historical sites close to Slaley Country House?
Many travellers enjoy visiting Boschendal (11.1 km).