Twin Gables Guest House

Twin Gables Guest House

8 Henning Huizen Street, Mamre 7349 South Africa

View prices for your travel dates

Contact accommodation for availability.
There are similar hotels available.
View all

About

4.5
#1 of 1 guest house in Mamre
4.2 of 5 bubbles
Location
4.7 of 5 bubbles
Cleanliness
4.5 of 5 bubbles
Service
4.5 of 5 bubbles
Value
Twin Gables Guest House is a 3 star-graded establishment, situated in Moravian Mission Station of Mamre, only 50kms from Cape Town.Close proximity to the industrial town of Atlantis(5kms),Darling(16kms) Eskom(20kms) and Ankerlig(10kms) makes us ideally situated for leisure and business travellers alike.
Read more
Suggest edits to improve what we show.Improve this listing
Property amenities
Free parking
Free High Speed Internet (WiFi)
Breakfast available
Hiking
Children's television networks
Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly)
Airport transportation
Conference facilities
Secured parking
Wifi
Shuttle bus service
Banquet room
BBQ facilities
Non-smoking hotel
Outdoor furniture
Shared kitchen
Shared lounge / TV area
Laundry service
Ironing service
Room features
Air conditioning
Housekeeping
Bottled water
Clothes rack
Refrigerator
Bath / shower
Room types
Non-smoking rooms
Suites
Family rooms
Good to know
HOTEL CLASS
Star ratings are intended to indicate the general level of features, amenities, and services to expect. This property is classified according to TGCSA - Tourism Grading Council of South Africa.
3.0 of 5 stars
HOTEL STYLE
Quaint
Languages Spoken
English, Afrikaans

Location

8 Henning Huizen Street, Mamre 7349 South Africa
8Reviews0Q+A0Room tips
Traveller rating
  • 4
  • 4
  • 0
  • 0
  • 0
Time of year
Traveller type
Language
Selected filters
  • Filter
  • English
Sort by:
Detailed Reviews
smeife122568 wrote a review Jan 2020
Nairobi, Kenya
4.0 of 5 bubbles
Had a wonderful time staying in this guest house. It really is a home away from home. Owner is warm and friendly. The Rooms are beautiful and clean. The staff was very friendly as well. The Location is in a good part of the town.
Read more
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Date of stay: January 2020
4.0 of 5 bubblesValue
4.0 of 5 bubblesRooms
4.0 of 5 bubblesLocation
4.0 of 5 bubblesCleanliness
4.0 of 5 bubblesService
4.0 of 5 bubblesSleep Quality
Trip type: Travelled with family
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Leendert Jan V wrote a review Dec 2016
Deiningen, Germany
5.0 of 5 bubbles
This is our third trip to South Africa and our first stay since arrival. You would not expect such a lovely place to stay in this little village. The service and the food were excellent and the owner is very friendly. We really enjoyed the great hospitality here in Mamre. Don't forget to visit the old church just outside of Mamre.
Read more
Date of stay: December 2016Trip type: Travelled as a couple
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from Travis_TG, Owner at Twin Gables Guest House
Responded 15 Jun 2017
Dear Jan V Leenddert Thank you for your review. We are very pleased that you had enjoyed your stay and especially our village. Mamre of course is a historic Moravian Mission Station with a rich cultural history. We do hope that with your next visit to South Africa, that you will pay us a visit again. Thank you and regards Travis Petersen(Owner)
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Companion18650993321 wrote a review Feb 2019
Cape Town, South Africa
5.0 of 5 bubbles
My stay at the Twin Gables was everything I could've possibly ask for and some. Spotless inside and out . The breakfast out of this world,I couldn't find fault with Twin Gables at all.

In short Twin Gables has found a new regular. I look forward to my next visit to Mamre.
Read more
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Date of stay: February 2019
5.0 of 5 bubblesValue
5.0 of 5 bubblesRooms
5.0 of 5 bubblesLocation
5.0 of 5 bubblesCleanliness
5.0 of 5 bubblesService
5.0 of 5 bubblesSleep Quality
Trip type: Travelled solo
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Sightseer05365526643 wrote a review Nov 2018
Atlantis, South Africa
4.0 of 5 bubbles
Was very satisfied with the accommodation and service received. The rooms was very neat and clean and it was in a very good condition. To management, please keep up the good work. Would definitely visit the establishment again.
Read more
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Date of stay: November 2018
4.0 of 5 bubblesValue
4.0 of 5 bubblesRooms
3.0 of 5 bubblesLocation
4.0 of 5 bubblesCleanliness
4.0 of 5 bubblesService
4.0 of 5 bubblesSleep Quality
Trip type: Travelled on business
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
rkgomo477924 wrote a review Oct 2018
4.0 of 5 bubbles
My stay at the Twin Gables Guest House was highly enjoyable. The local people are friendly and Travis was more than helpful. The room was neat, tidy, spacious and I enjoyed my stay. My only complaint is that transportation is a huge problem as you cannot request a Taxify cab there and there are no shuttles. We struggled quite a bit which was odd considering that it was during the Rocking the Daisies festival. All in all, I enjoyed my stay and I wouldn't mind coming back.P.S. Also a small pool would be nice too but not necessary. Thank you
Read more
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Date of stay: October 2018
4.0 of 5 bubblesValue
4.0 of 5 bubblesRooms
3.0 of 5 bubblesLocation
5.0 of 5 bubblesCleanliness
4.0 of 5 bubblesService
4.0 of 5 bubblesSleep Quality
Trip type: Travelled with friends
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from NorthStar812307, Owner at Twin Gables Guest House
Responded 16 Oct 2018
Hi Refilwe Thank you for your review. We are glad that you found the facilities to your liking. .As I mentioned before your arrival, unfortunately Taxify and Uber do not not normally operate in our area. But they do operate during the Rocking the Daisies Festival, due to the sheer number of revelers and increased demand. It is always advisable to arrange your transport well in advance, in anticipation of the increased demand. As for the pool,unfortunately it is a decision that we had made many years ago, because of our very close proximity to the beach, and also the extremely low demand. Again, thank you for your review. We hope to see you again at the next ROTD. Travis Petersen(Owner)
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
nmille704025 wrote a review Jul 2018
Brighton, United Kingdom
5.0 of 5 bubbles
I loved staying at Twin Gables, Mamre. Excellent location, comfortable accommodation with Parking, friendly Town with lovely people and close to ammenities. Management and Staff are absolutely wonderful. Highly recommended!
Read more
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Date of stay: July 2018
5.0 of 5 bubblesValue
5.0 of 5 bubblesRooms
5.0 of 5 bubblesLocation
5.0 of 5 bubblesCleanliness
5.0 of 5 bubblesService
5.0 of 5 bubblesSleep Quality
Trip type: Travelled solo
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
victorinew2017 wrote a review Oct 2017
5.0 of 5 bubbles
Lovely guest house! Rooms are very neat and clean. Breakfast served are up to standard. They also offer a family room. This is our return visit and it is a pleasure to stay over at this establishment 😀
Read more
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Date of stay: September 2017
5.0 of 5 bubblesValue
5.0 of 5 bubblesRooms
5.0 of 5 bubblesLocation
5.0 of 5 bubblesCleanliness
5.0 of 5 bubblesService
5.0 of 5 bubblesSleep Quality
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
No results found.Try changing or clearing your search to read questions and answers.
Not the right property for you?
There are more places to choose from in the Mamre area.
LOCATION
South AfricaWestern CapeCape TownMamre
NUMBER OF ROOMS
6
Prices are provided by our partners, and reflect average nightly room rates, including taxes and fees that are fixed, known to our partners, and due at time of booking. Please see our partners for more details.
Is This Your Tripadvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing

TWIN GABLES GUEST HOUSE - Guesthouse Reviews (Mamre, South Africa)

Frequently Asked Questions about Twin Gables Guest House
Which popular attractions are close to Twin Gables Guest House?
Nearby attractions include Mr Price Atlantis (5.2 km) and Silverstroomstrand (6.0 km).
What are some of the property amenities at Twin Gables Guest House?
Some of the more popular amenities offered include free wifi, free parking, and airport transportation.
What food & drink options are available at Twin Gables Guest House?
Guests can enjoy breakfast and barbeque facilities during their stay.
Is parking available at Twin Gables Guest House?
Yes, free parking and secured parking are available to guests.
What are some restaurants close to Twin Gables Guest House?
Conveniently located restaurants include Hilda's Kitchen, Debonairs Pizza, and Hungry Lion Atlantis.
Does Twin Gables Guest House have airport transportation?
Yes, Twin Gables Guest House offers airport transportation for guests. We recommend calling ahead to confirm details.
Is Twin Gables Guest House located near the city centre?
Yes, it is 0.5 km away from the centre of Mamre.
Does Twin Gables Guest House offer any business services?
Yes, guests have access to a banquet room and conference facilities during their stay.
Which languages are spoken by the staff at Twin Gables Guest House?
The staff speaks multiple languages, including English and Afrikaans.