We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Kalgan River Caravan Park

Save
Share
247 Nanarup Rd, Kalgan, Albany, Western Australia 6330 Australia
Lowest prices for your stay
Hotels.com
eDreams
US$101
View Deal
Free cancellation until 21/05/26
Booking.com
US$101
View Deal
Free cancellation until 21/05/26
Expedia.com
Snaptravel
Travelocity
View all 10 deals
Prices above are provided by partners for one room, with variable occupancy rules as provided by the property, and do not include all taxes and fees. Please see our partners for full details.
Traveller (65)
Room & Suite (10)
Pool & Beach (9)

About

#1 of 2 Speciality lodging in Kalgan
Location
Cleanliness
Service
Value
We are a tranquil bush land caravan park on the banks of the Kalgan river just off Oyster harbour, we have 3 x 1br cottages fully self contained, 5 x 2br cottages again fully self contained and a bunk house with sets of bunks and 2 separate bedrooms with queen size beds, again fully self contained. We have 49 powered caravan sites, and 4 dedicated motor home/van sites. In addition we have 3 acres to use as tent / camper trailer sites. We have our own Boat ramp, 9 hole par 3 "knock around" golf course and tennis court. Kayaks and tinnies are available to hire from a local company we deal with and can be collected locally or delivered to site. We are pet friendly with a strict pet policy.
Read more
Full view
Property amenities
Free parking
Free High Speed Internet (WiFi)
Lazy river
Restaurant
Beach
Boating
Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
BBQ facilities
Wifi
Canoeing
Golf course
Skiing
Tennis court
Aerobics offsite
Bowling offsite
Canoeing offsite
Fishing
Self-serve laundry
Show more
Room features
Dining area
Seating area
Sofa
Wardrobe / wardrobe
Kitchenette
Microwave
Flatscreen TV
Walk-in shower
Iron
Private bathrooms
Oven
Refrigerator
Stovetop
Electric kettle
Kitchenware
Complimentary toiletries
Show more
Room types
Non-smoking rooms
Family rooms
83Reviews3Q+A12Room tips
Traveller rating
  • 30
  • 26
  • 15
  • 5
  • 7
Time of year
Traveller type
Language
Selected filters
  • Filter
  • English
Popular mentions
Maria wrote a review 09 Jan
1 contribution1 helpful vote
Good morning. We have just arrived home from a great camping fun holiday at the beautiful and picturesque Kalgan River Caravan Park. We are return customers and will definitely be returning here. Tracey the Manager and her team of wonderful workers made our stay special. The amenities always clean and the grounds itself tidy. The service has gone up a notch and during our stay in this past week, we have met some very nice neighbours both sides of our tent whom we will never forget. What a way to start our New Year 2021. Thank you for having us and keep up the great work you are doing at this special location. See you next year! Maria and family. Take care.
Read more
Date of stay: January 2021Trip type: Travelled with family
1 Helpful vote
Helpful
Share
Response from Frank Pileggi, Owner at Kalgan River Caravan Park
Responded 5 days ago
Hello Peter and Maria. How wonderful to wake up to this lovely review and thank you for including our staff! They work hard and are very proud of this park. I will pass on your comments to them. Without them we could not have achieved what we have. Looking forward to seeing your smiling face again, Maria.
Read more
abi wrote a review 01 Jan
5 contributions
The location was great and the Roos on the park were lovely to see each day. The camp kitchen was so-so, but we never used the facilities other than the sink for washing up. With all that being said, on our last day at the site I caught a man filming me with a hand held camera whilst showering in the main women’s shower block. My partner found the maintenance door unlocked with a ladder set up to access the roof space. The manager of the site was lovely and we cannot fault the management during this traumatic time. The police were called and came out to access the situation. Management assured us that they would put measures in place to ensure that the roof space could not be accessed and even if it could you wouldn’t be able to see into the showers. Please ensure these measures have been put in place before showering in the main shower block. The smaller shower block is newer and does not have the same layout - so if in doubt use this one instead.
Read more
Date of stay: December 2020Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Helpful
Share
Response from Frank Pileggi, Owner at Kalgan River Caravan Park
Responded 1 week ago
Thank you for your review. We are please that management looked after you so so well and cannot apologize enough that this happened. As promised measures were put in place to ensure this can NEVER happen again! Our camp kitchen has several fridges, a freezer, stove top burner, microwave , toaster and kettle plus assorted utensils, pots, pans etc. It is open air with several bbqs for guests to use. We too think the location is great and it makes working a pleasure with all the Roos hopping about their business. Thank you for visiting us.
Read more
Michala B wrote a review Dec 2020
Perth, Australia5 contributions
We arrived and were given our ‘site’ to put our tent up on. It was a sandpit and very uneven, in a tiny corner next to toilets. I requested a different site however was told there was no alternative. At the time, the staff were very helpful and provided me with a full refund. They informed me recent plumbing work had been undertaken on the site, hence it having been dug up, it was not suitable to put a tent on and they agreed. This was then, however, followed up with an extremely rude email about requesting different sites and not getting priority or a refund if this was to happen again. The campsite is nothing like advertised, it was dirty and in need of some maintenance work. I don’t often write reviews but I certainly would not book that site with so many other beautiful ones in Albany.
Read more
Date of stay: December 2020Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Helpful
Share
Response from Frank Pileggi, Owner at Kalgan River Caravan Park
Responded 2 weeks ago
Hello Michala, Unfortunately you were not happy with the site allocated to you and there was no other site available to move you given it was 27 Dec. As explained to you, plumbing works was performed within the 2 weeks prior to your arrival, works which could not be avoided. The area which was sandy was running along the edge of the site. As you state, we gave you a full refund immediately. At no time did I agree the site was unusable. The suitability was your decision and yours alone. The site was re-booked within 5 minutes of your cancellation and the guest are still on the site and happy with it now, 30 Dec. I have pasted the cancellation email which is automated by the booking system "Dear...., Many guests request their favourite sites. While they may be available at the time to of booking we cannot guarantee that the site requested and reserved won't be reassigned where necessary. We do our best to keep your favourite site for you but it is not always possible when the park becomes heavily booked. Sites are more likely to be reassigned during school holidays. As of 1 January 2021 we will not be guaranteeing any site preferences regardless how far in advance the reservation is made. We are sad you could not stay with us. Perhaps another time. Your request to cancel is confirmed." As you can see, this refers to pre-booked specific sites wishing to be locked in, unable to shuffle if required. Naturally, if sites are available we move guests at their request. I don't see any reference to a refund, which you were given with no argument. As for the "dirty" site, I think you were referring to the sand along the edge of your site? and obviously maintenance had already been carried out. We apologize if you find this email rude, I certainly do not and no one else has to this date. I hope the remainder of your holiday is enjoyable.
Read more
Sue D wrote a review Aug 2020
Perth15 contributions9 helpful votes
Had 4nights in a cabin and throughly enjoyed it. The cabin was very nicely fitted out with everything we needed. The staff were very welcoming and even put the heater on for us so the cabin was toasty on our arrival. Kangaroos and birds are plentiful. Checked out the ablutions as we will bring our caravan next time, they were very clean and well set out. The camp kitchen was also well equipped with baroque and plenty of under cover seating. Fire pits are avail or BYO as long as you have a plate to protect the ground.This park is now accepting visitors staying with dogs and even some cabins are allowed pets( with restrictions of course) It’s right on the banks of the river and has its own boat ramp and golf course! I can not recommend this park enough and can’t wait to get back!
Read more
Date of stay: August 2020
Value
Rooms
Service
Helpful
Share
Response from Frank Pileggi, Owner at Kalgan River Caravan Park
Responded 25 Aug 2020
Hi Sue and Paul, Thank you for the lovely review. We look forward to seeing you both again, next time with your furbaby!
Read more
Cindy L wrote a review Mar 2020
7 contributions
Very friendly staff. The park is spread out with good sized allotments. The amenities are very well kept and very clean. Just a step or tow and you are on the river bank, sandy bottom for a swim. Lots of fish, bream caught on just about every cast, a shady spot to sit and read too.
Read more
Date of stay: March 2020
Helpful
Share
Response from Frank Pileggi, Owner at Kalgan River Caravan Park
Responded 2 weeks ago
Thank you Cindy for your wonderful review. We look forward to your return.
Read more
Previous
PRICE RANGE
US$64 - US$97 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
LOCATION
AustraliaWestern AustraliaAlbanyKalgan
NUMBER OF ROOMS
9
Is This Your Tripadvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing
Frequently Asked Questions about Kalgan River Caravan Park
Which popular attractions are close to Kalgan River Caravan Park?
Nearby attractions include Chainsaw Sculpture Drive (7.1 km), Emu Point (6.8 km), and Kalgan River (0.8 km).
What are some of the property amenities at Kalgan River Caravan Park?
Some of the more popular amenities offered include free wifi, an on-site restaurant, and free parking.
Which room amenities are available at Kalgan River Caravan Park?
Top room amenities include a kitchenette, a flat screen TV, and a refrigerator.
What food & drink options are available at Kalgan River Caravan Park?
Guests can enjoy an on-site restaurant and barbeque facilities during their stay.
Is parking available at Kalgan River Caravan Park?
Yes, free parking is available to guests.
What are some restaurants close to Kalgan River Caravan Park?
Conveniently located restaurants include Emu Point Cafe, Al Taglio Woodfire Pizzeria, and The Squid Shack.
Are pets allowed at Kalgan River Caravan Park?
Yes, pets are typically allowed, but it's always best to call ahead to confirm.
Are there any historical sites close to Kalgan River Caravan Park?
Many travellers enjoy visiting Princess Royal Fortress (11.5 km), The Albany Convict Gaol & Museum (12.8 km), and Old Farm, Strawberry Hill (10.9 km).
Is Kalgan River Caravan Park accessible?
Yes, it offers wheelchair access. For specific enquiries, we recommend calling ahead to confirm.