Monomotapa Village @ Legend Golf & Safari Resort

Monomotapa Village @ Legend Golf & Safari Resort

Haakdoring Road Legend Golf & Safari Resort, Mookgophong 0630 South Africa
Traveller (5)
Two Bedroom Chalet
Room & Suite (30)
Pool & Beach (3)

View prices for your travel dates

Contact accommodation for availability.
There are similar hotels available.
View all
Did you already book this hotel?

About

3.0
#2 of 2 hotels in Mookgophong
1.8 of 5 bubbles
Location
1.0 of 5 bubbles
Cleanliness
1.6 of 5 bubbles
Service
2.0 of 5 bubbles
Value
Suggest edits to improve what we show.Improve this listing
Good to know
HOTEL CLASS
Star ratings are intended to indicate the general level of features, amenities, and services to expect. This property is classified according to Giata.
3.0 of 5 stars
HOTEL STYLE
Quaint
Business
Languages Spoken
English, Afrikaans
Property amenities
Free parking
Secured parking
Wifi
Pool
Game room
Mini golf
Children's playground
Spa
Outdoor pool
Room features
Housekeeping
Safe
Coffee / tea maker
Kitchenette
Cable / satellite TV
Flatscreen TV
Room types
Mountain view
Non-smoking rooms

Location

Haakdoring Road Legend Golf & Safari Resort, Mookgophong 0630 South Africa
15Reviews0Q+A5Room tips
Traveller rating
  • 4
  • 3
  • 0
  • 2
  • 6
Time of year
Traveller type
Language
Selected filters
  • Filter
  • English
Sort by:
Detailed Reviews
Finette wrote a review May 2021
+1
4.0 of 5 bubbles
Beautiful, secure and up market chalets with very friendly and helpful staff. We had a very peaceful and enjoyable break. Ideal for gholf or safari lovers.

For a self catering experience... Just be sure to take all your own groceries. The nearby off site convenience store has very limited supplies.

All in all.... Highly recommended as it is also not too far from Jhb/Pretoria.

Stunning brand new play area for kiddies, neat games room, putt putt course and well maintained pool area.
Read more
Date of stay: May 2021Trip type: Travelled with family
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
DEYSE R wrote a review Nov 2017
Brasilia, DF
4.0 of 5 bubbles
We stayed for a weekend. Actually, we didn't even make the reservation. Anyway, they were very kind and booked us in a double room. There was a good balcony and also a little swimming poll, braii facility and a big table for the suites over there. The chef prepared a special meal for us.
Unfortunately, the electricity went out for almost a inteire day.
When we were ready to check out, they didn't charge the accommodation. Just the extras.
Really nice!
Read more
Date of stay: November 2017Trip type: Travelled as a couple
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Camper54831224117 wrote a review Nov 2018
Polokwane, South Africa
2.0 of 5 bubbles
We went there as a group of 17 colleagues for our strategic and planning meeting. We arrived on Monday (29 October 2018) and checked out yesterday (31 October 2018). On the first night, all my towels were DIRTY!

On the second day (our last night there), we were promised a braai dinner (which we paid for, a braai free). Upon arrival at the dining place, we found that it was the normal dinner as always: oxtail, kudu, baby potatoes, etc which was all horrible! when we enquired about the "braai", the response was that, they were not informed about it. The hostess assigned to us was very rude and defensive. No apology, non-what-so-ever. The only drinks they had was Coca-cola, Fanta orange and Grapetiser, it got to a point were we ended up questioning their services and whether or not were they expecting us for dinner on that night. On the same night, when we were having a conversation with the two staff members at the bar, trying to find out if the place is safe and if there are no cases of theft they said "motho o otswa go aberekang gona" meaning that "a employee steals in a department they are assigned to" e.g. if you are working in house keeping, you'll steal in that department. Initially, we dismissed it until.....

On the day of departure, (yesterday 31 October 2018) we had lunch outside, under a tree (as always). different young boys from the resort were going in and out at our conference venue, having note that everyone from our group was seated under the tree. When we were about to leave, one of our colleagues realized that her bag wasn't closed and her wallet was hanging out, she quickly checked her bag and found that money was missing in her wallet. Everybody else started checking their bags and another colleague found that money was missing in her wallet as well, unfortunately/fortunately, I don't carry money when I go to these places but my bag was also tampered with, most of the things that were packed underneath, were found on top when I opened my bag. That's when we decided to report this, but even when we reported it, the staff started off by being defensive!

We had to wait for them to do an investigation. The only thing we were told yesterday was that, one of the boys refused to cooperate with them. The whole experience was a complete disaster! From the rude hostess assigned to us to the invasion of our privacy.
Read more
Date of stay: October 2018
1.0 of 5 bubblesService
Trip type: Travelled on business
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from BeekmanGroup, Manager at Monomotapa Village @ Legend Golf & Safari Resort
Responded 28 Aug 2019
Dear Camper, We acknowledge your posted review. Whilst we concede that your resort experience must have been a disappointing one for you all, it is clear that reference is actually being made to the Legend Golf and Safari Resort, which although in close proximity to our resort, is separately owned and managed. Regards Monomotapa Village
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Joseph M. wrote a review Jul 2023
Karen, Kenya
1.0 of 5 bubbles
This was a business trip with a large group. The experience was very disappointing. All the meals were always late and a complete disappointment in quality and lack of variety. The rooms had all sorts of issues - blocked drainages, dirty linen, non functional keys. There was no way to contact the hotel as there were no phones in the rooms. Staff were unprofessional and untrained and most looked like temporary draft ins for the day.
Read more
Date of stay: June 2023
1.0 of 5 bubblesValue
1.0 of 5 bubblesLocation
1.0 of 5 bubblesService
Trip type: Travelled on business
Room Tip: The facility is run down, manage your expectations or not recommended at all.
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from Beekman Group, Marketing at Monomotapa Village @ Legend Golf & Safari Resort
Responded 06 Jul 2023
Dear Z2150HCjosephm. We are so sorry to know you had a business trip that was not catered for accordingly. However, we have received many reviews from the same group and would like to kindly note that we are not the resort that hosted you, and while we regret to hear that your experience was unfavourable we would like to kindly clarify that we are within the same estate but not the same place. If you have any further queries or complaints you are welcome to email us on assist@theholidayclub.co.za to verify and clarify all the details. Thank you and have a lovely day.
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Zaakirah osman wrote a review Aug 2021
5.0 of 5 bubbles
My family and I thoroughly enjoyed ourselves staying at the cozy and relaxing lodge this weekend. We want to say thanks to our very helpful and fun game ranger Aubrey who took us on a game drive through the reserve. Definitely recommend visiting the place
Read more
Date of stay: August 2021Trip type: Travelled with family
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
christian grobler wrote a review Sept 2019
Kuruman, South Africa
1.0 of 5 bubbles
SCAM ALERT: They do not disclose this info on there 3rd party booking agents. And they do not offer any refund. So do not book here.

I booked at Hotels.com and only after making the booking i was made aware of this info below. There is no land line were you can reach them to cancel the stay.

Monomotapa Village regrets to inform its guests that all activities and services at Legend Golf & Safari Resort have ceased until further notice. Consequently our guests will not have access to them. We apologise in advance for this unforeseen event that is totally beyond our control.

Within our own resort complex guests still have access to the following onsite facilities:

Swimming Pool
Adventure Golf
Playground
Games Room

Concerned guests who have booked at our resort are advised to contact the booking agent or points company with whom they made their booking for further advise as to what their options are.
Read more
Date of stay: September 2019
1.0 of 5 bubblesLocation
1.0 of 5 bubblesCleanliness
1.0 of 5 bubblesService
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from BeekmanGroup, Manager at Monomotapa Village @ Legend Golf & Safari Resort
Responded 16 Sept 2019
Dear Christian, We acknowledge your review. Whilst we empathise that the sudden non availability of facilities provided by the Legend Golf & Safari Resort would have been disappointing,we wish to place on record that Monomotapa Village is a totally independent resort operation to Legend Golf & Safari Resort and we had no prior knowledge of nor could influence the outcome of decisions taken by that resort as part of their management process. Consequently, we refute any allegations on any "scam" to deceive our valued guests. In fact we undertook to personally contact as many of our guests as possible advising them of the changed circumstances and our booking partners were notified as any cancellations or refund applications are processed through the booking agent involved. Regards Monomotapa Village
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Carena C wrote a review Aug 2019
South Africa
1.0 of 5 bubbles
We had such high expectations!! We were expecting a five star golf course & Spa & resort. Golf course fairways not maintained & destroyed by Warthogs; Legends Resort IS a Ghost Town!! NOTHING OPEN! ABSOLUTELY NOTHING!! NO SPA, NO CLUBHOUSE, NO HALFWAY HOUSE, NO SHUTTLE, NO SHOP/KIOSK, NO RESTAURANT!!! Legends was LIQUIDATED in May. Our chalet was booked at Monomotapa and the chalet itself is beautiful, BUT, you CANNOT open a window or patio door. The MONKEYS are a HUGE problem!! HUGE to the point of UNBEARABLE!! Maybe the fact that ALL the Legend chalets are empty, so the monkeys only have the 10/12 Monomotapa chalets to concentrate on for whatever they can get their hand on or into!! Our cleaning lady didn’t clip our chalet door shut properly so we arrived back to an ABSOLUTELY TRASHED by the whole TROOP OF MONKEYS!! We reported this to reception who immediately brought cleaners in to clean and clear up the destruction, including vast amounts of pee and poop. We went to our Game drive with Honeyguide about 7km away, which was enjoyable and we had dinner there after our drive. We got back to our chalet which had been cleaned well, but we had had enough and left first thing this morning instead of tomorrow. This resort is limping along in my opinion, so as long as you are prepared and organized and you don’t have high expectations like we did, you can still have a relaxing time away.
Read more
Date of stay: August 2019Trip type: Travelled with family
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from BeekmanGroup, Manager at Monomotapa Village @ Legend Golf & Safari Resort
Responded 28 Aug 2019
Dear Carena, Thank you for your review. Our sincere apologies once again for the inconvenience of the nearby Legend Golf and Safari Resort being closed during your stay at our resort. Whilst this was beyond our control, our resort is totally independently managed and operated, we acknowledge that as none of their advertised guest activities were available, it would have been disappointing. Regards Monomotapa Village
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
akunkinga wrote a review Sept 2018
London, United Kingdom
1.0 of 5 bubbles
My husband and I both travel a lot in South Africa and Europe and have done for years. Very rarely have we found the need to complain on Tripadvisor but ANYTIME HOLIDAYS IN SOUTH AFRICA definitely deserve a complaint.

I recently booked a four bed villa at Monomotapa village with ANYTIME HOLIDAYS .
3 days before we were due to go, my visitors from overseas had a family emergency, a brother died so they had to suddenly fly back to Scotland for one day to attend funeral then they flew back to Johannesburg to resume holidays. Obviously at great expense.
I explained all this to ANYTIME HOLIDAYS asking that under these unusual circumstances as we could not make our trip, if we could move our booking to the following week and pay any admin costs. I had checked on their website and all the villas were available for the following week.
I also explained another brother had booked a 2 bed chalet for one night for him and his wife.
ANYTIME HOLIDAYS would not let us move our week to the following week, or allow my brother to cancel his two bed and use the now spare one we had. We would both lose 100% of the cost so basically Tough Luck.
My husband and I went on our own, and found we were about the only people in the entire resort, so we could easily have been moved to the following week. On top of that our Private 2 room villa was actually a 4 room villa and ANYTIME HOLIDAYS had put 2 other couples, strangers, in the two empty rooms which were part of our villa. So having your own private plunge pool on veranda is not quite private when 4 strange people have to walk past you to get to their rooms. These were clearly not the 2 bed chalets as advertised on their website so was done to save them costs and having to send cleaning staff to different locations.
On top of this before we went we called ANYTIME HOLIDAYS and were informed that we could walk to the restaurant and pizza restaurant on the site. When we got there the only place to eat was the Golf clubhouse, a car drive away, all the on site restaurants and small shops were closed. No where to buy any food.
So GREEDY ANYTIME HOLIDAYS get a poor rating from us and definitely would not recommend them to anyone.
Read more
Date of stay: September 2018
1.0 of 5 bubblesValue
2.0 of 5 bubblesLocation
1.0 of 5 bubblesService
Trip type: Travelled with family
Room Tip: make sure you have the entire villa to only your party
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
KgomotsoModise wrote a review Aug 2019
5.0 of 5 bubbles
I was informed before my trip about the limited activities in the resort so I adjusted my expectations accordingly. However the reception we got was very warm, the manager was very helpful, friendly and professional. He made sure that our stay and departure were seamless. His service was impeccable - I have never experienced such kind of service from a holiday club manager - I have been a member since 2002. The staff was very pleasant too. The units are beautiful and spacious - very modern too.
Read more
Date of stay: August 2019Trip type: Travelled with family
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from BeekmanGroup, Manager at Monomotapa Village @ Legend Golf & Safari Resort
Responded 28 Aug 2019
Dear Kgomotso, Thank you very much for your review. It was our pleasure in ensuring that your stay with us was as comfortable and enjoyable as possible and we greatly appreciate your kind words. Regards Monomotapa Village
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Bester23 wrote a review Mar 2019
Pretoria, South Africa
5.0 of 5 bubbles
We visited Legends resort for a golf weekend and stayed at Monomotapa village in a 4 bedroom Villa. The accommodation is spacious and very well equipped, the small swimming pool was great. The major difference was however the amazing service, from the moment we booked and throughout our stay. Samantha will go out of her way to make you feel welcome. We phoned her late one evening as we forgot potatoes at home and was looking for a shop of some sort. She informed us that the shop was closed, but she has potatoes at home and will bring for us. The next moment she arrived at our Villa with potatoes. Thank you very much for amazing service!!!
Read more
Date of stay: March 2019Trip type: Travelled with friends
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from BeekmanGroup, Manager at Monomotapa Village @ Legend Golf & Safari Resort
Responded 28 Aug 2019
Dear Bester, Thank you for your review. We appreciate your kind words and it was our pleasure in helping to ensure that your golf weekend was a memorable one for you. Regards Monomotapa Village
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
No results found.Try changing or clearing your search to read questions and answers.
Joseph M. wrote a tip Jul 2023
Karen, Kenya7 contributions
1.0 of 5 bubbles
"The facility is run down, manage your expectations or not recommended at all. "
Read full review
MOYENI wrote a tip Sept 2018
Greater Johannesburg, South Africa99 contributions53 helpful votes
4.0 of 5 bubbles
"The units are all well placed."
Read full review
akunkinga wrote a tip Sept 2018
London, United Kingdom6 contributions5 helpful votes
1.0 of 5 bubbles
"make sure you have the entire villa to only your party"
Read full review
Elbert J wrote a tip Aug 2018
1 contribution
2.0 of 5 bubbles
"There is only thirteen units currently developed. We stayed at unit 58, which does not get afternoon sun."
Read full review
Paul G wrote a tip Oct 2017
11 contributions1 helpful vote
5.0 of 5 bubbles
"The Monomtapa Village is a unique part of this beautiful game farm. Beautiful and central."
Read full review
Not the right property for you?
There are more places to choose from in the Mookgophong area.
PRICE RANGE
R 2,122 - R 3,093 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
LOCATION
South AfricaLimpopo ProvinceMookgophong
Prices are provided by our partners, and reflect average nightly room rates, including taxes and fees that are fixed, known to our partners, and due at time of booking. Please see our partners for more details.
Is This Your Tripadvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing

MONOMOTAPA VILLAGE @ LEGEND GOLF & SAFARI RESORT | Hotel Reviews & Price Comparison (Mookgophong, South Africa)

Frequently Asked Questions about Monomotapa Village @ Legend Golf & Safari Resort
Which popular attractions are close to Monomotapa Village @ Legend Golf & Safari Resort?
Nearby attractions include Extreme 19th (6.4 km) and The Cave Bar & Lounge (5.8 km).
What are some of the property amenities at Monomotapa Village @ Legend Golf & Safari Resort?
Some of the more popular amenities offered include a pool, a spa, and free parking.
Which room amenities are available at Monomotapa Village @ Legend Golf & Safari Resort?
Top room amenities include a kitchenette, a flat screen TV, and a view of the mountains.
Is parking available at Monomotapa Village @ Legend Golf & Safari Resort?
Yes, free parking and secured parking are available to guests.
Are there opportunities to exercise at Monomotapa Village @ Legend Golf & Safari Resort?
Yes, guests have access to a pool during their stay.
Which languages are spoken by the staff at Monomotapa Village @ Legend Golf & Safari Resort?
The staff speaks multiple languages, including English and Afrikaans.
Things to DoRestaurantsFlightsHoliday HomesTravel StoriesCruisesCar Hire