We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Malealea Lodge

304 reviews
Save
Traveller (208)
Room & Suite (120)
Dining (8)
Overview
  • Excellent58%
  • Very good33%
  • Average7%
  • Poor1%
  • Terrible1%
Travellers talk about
“pony trekking”(30 reviews)
“local community”(19 reviews)
“coffee shop”(15 reviews)
Internet
Free Parking
Restaurant
Family Rooms
Bar/Lounge
Pets Allowed
Breakfast included
All hotel details
{"containerClass":null,"containerAttributes":null,"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","moduleList":["handlers"],"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"},"dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"}},"scriptFlags":null}
Reviews (304)Write a Review
Filter reviews
214 results
Traveller rating
137
61
11
4
1
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageEnglish
More languages
137
61
11
4
1
Show reviews that mention
All reviewspony trekkinglocal communitycoffee shopbeautiful placedining rooma great experienceself cateringhot watercave paintingssouthern africagames roomin decembernice baran adventurelocal musicsan paintingslonely planet
FilterEnglish
Updating list...
1 - 5 of 214 reviews
Reviewed 1 week ago

We had a two night stay as part of a Nomad Tour. Great cottages, basic plus, clean and comfortable. We did not eat at the restaurant, but meals looked very good. They have a coffee shop as well, nice decks to enjoy the views.

Thank lightening996327
Response from Malealea L, Guest Relations Manager at Malealea LodgeResponded 1 week ago

Thank you for your review. We are happy you enjoyed your stay with us. Thank you for visiting Malealea and we hope you have enjoyed your visit to Southern Africa.

Reviewed 4 weeks ago via mobile

We spent 3 nights at Malealea and enjoyed every moment. The staff are friendly and efficient, the accommodation is basic and with everything you need and the food is divine. We could ride our MTB's for hours without any fences or ever feeling scared, with...More

Thank CarlaPhysio
Response from Malealea L, Guest Relations Manager at Malealea LodgeResponded 4 weeks ago

Thank you for your review. You describe Malealea perfectly and all that we strive to offer is outlined in your review. We are thrilled you enjoyed your stay and look forward to welcoming you back in the near future.

Reviewed 12 December 2017

At first I was a bit shocked by the amount of tourists staying at the Malealea Lodge. Even the big tour busses go there. So, it is definitely not the insider tipp that I somehow expected ;). But anyways, it was a nice lodge with...More

Thank Tontoura
Response from Malealea L, Guest Relations Manager at Malealea LodgeResponded 3 January 2018

Thank you for your review. Although at times we do accommodate alot of people I'm sure you would agree that there is still a good atmosphere and once you take part in any activities you can have the whole valley to yourself. We did speak...More

Reviewed 9 November 2017

Beautiful setting in Lesotho. Great comfy accommodation with many activities in the local community. Your stay here will support local people and jobs. Stay for 2 or 3 days. Trecking, pony and mountain bike tour avabible, but also a great please to chill. Nighty entertainment...More

Thank Philiph S
Response from Malealea L, Guest Relations Manager at Malealea LodgeResponded 13 November 2017

Thank you for visiting Malealea and for reviewing your stay. You have described exactly what Malealea is about and what is on offer as well as the benefits to the community. Thank you.

Reviewed 19 October 2017

This was a unique experience. We were at 1800 meters altitude. (5905 feet). Our lodging was in a round thatched roof cottage. There was electricity supplied by solar power. It was available from 7 am to 10 pm. We listened to a choir sing songs...More

Thank Varty_10
Response from Malealea L, Guest Relations Manager at Malealea LodgeResponded 23 October 2017

Thank you for your glowing review. Malealea has incredible natural beauty surrounding it and you have described it perfectly. We are overjoyed to have taken so much out of your visit to Malealea.

View more reviews
PreviousNext
12345643
About
Awards & Recognition
Certificate of Excellence
Amenities
Top amenities
Free Parking
Restaurant
Bar/Lounge
Hotel Amenities
Free Parking
Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly)
Things to do
Restaurant
Bar/Lounge
Details
Price range
US$24 - US$140 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Room types
Family Rooms
Details
Price range
US$24 - US$140 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Room types
Family Rooms
Add Photo Photos
Traveller (208)
Room & Suite (120)
Dining (8)
Pool & Beach (4)
Family and Play Areas (7)
Business Centre & Event Rooms (2)
Questions & Answers
Ask a question
jneuhoff
8 October 2016|
Answer
Response from Malealea L | Property representative |
Hi Julie. Apologies for the very delayed message. I know you've already been in touch with Jackie. Best wishes Michael
0
Votes
jneuhoff
8 October 2016|
Answer
Response from 234beatrice | Reviewed this property |
Reservations - Bloemfontein - Jackie 0825524215
1
Vote
Room Tips
"Take a flashlight, it is dark at night and can be a challenge finding your hut the first night."
Read review
"Local roundevilles are amazing and should be experienced."
Read review
"Go for a round house, ensuite - the hell with the expense !"
Read review
"Rooms far from the stage are quite and reachable by car"
Read review
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more. Claim Your Listing