Ngorongoro Marera Mountain View Lodge

Ngorongoro Marera Mountain View Lodge

Traveller (316)
Room & Suite (55)
Dining (15)
What is Travellers’ Choice Best of the Best?
This award is our highest recognition and is presented annually to those businesses that are the Best of the Best on Tripadvisor, those that earn excellent reviews from travellers and are ranked in the top 1% of properties worldwide.
Learn more

View prices for your travel dates

Contact accommodation for availability.
There are similar hotels available.
View all

About

5.0
#1 of 6 guest houses in Karatu
4.9 of 5 bubbles
Location
5.0 of 5 bubbles
Cleanliness
4.8 of 5 bubbles
Service
4.7 of 5 bubbles
Value
This award is our highest recognition and is presented annually to the top 1% of businesses across select categories.
Ngorongoro Marera Mountain View Lodge is located in the green Marera valley just before Karatu village. From the main building and the rooms you can enjoy a wonderful view while our professional staff will make sure you have a memorable stay. It’s the best gateway for your safari experience in Tanzania.
Read more
Suggest edits to improve what we show.Improve this listing
Property amenities
Free parking
Wifi
Pool with view
Free breakfast
Game room
Walking tours
Kids stay free
Indoor play area for children
Pool / beach towels
Outdoor pool
Bar / lounge
Restaurant
Breakfast available
Breakfast buffet
Complimentary Instant Coffee
Complimentary tea
Complimentary welcome drink
Kids' meals
Outdoor dining area
Wine / champagne
Board games / puzzles
Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly)
Highchairs available
Airport transportation
Business Centre with Internet Access
Meeting rooms
Manicure
Massage
Pedicure
Waxing services
24-hour security
Baggage storage
Gift shop
Mosquito net
Outdoor fireplace
Outdoor furniture
Picnic area
Shops
Sun deck
Sun umbrellas
First aid kit
Umbrella
24-hour check-in
Dry cleaning
Laundry service
Room features
Desk
Fireplace
Housekeeping
Room service
Coffee / tea maker
Electric kettle
Cable / satellite TV
Walk-in shower
Safe
Seating area
Wardrobe / wardrobe
Bottled water
Clothes rack
Private bathrooms
Wake-up service / alarm clock
Whirlpool bathtub
Bath / shower
Complimentary toiletries
Hair dryer
Room types
Mountain view
Pool view
Non-smoking rooms
Suites
Family rooms
Good to know
HOTEL STYLE
Charming
Quaint
Languages Spoken
English, Swahili
219Reviews0Q+A23Room tips
Traveller rating
  • 191
  • 21
  • 2
  • 1
  • 4
Time of year
Traveller type
Language
Selected filters
  • Filter
  • English
Popular mentions
Sort by:
Detailed Reviews
Apurva D wrote a review Feb 2023
Mumbai, India94 contributions50 helpful votes
5.0 of 5 bubbles
The property is an amazing one: rooms are atop a hill with so many fruit trees growing around you - it is like a fruit farm. The pool, dining area are fantastic but most amazing is the staff - they take such good care of you. I got my vegetarian food served to me for dinner (veg au gratin and they packed me a nice veg subway for lunch with goodies). The rooms are big sized, very new and with US electrical sockets and Wifi is fairly good too. I just truly felt like the hotel was a great getaway from noise and city as well as very modern. Highly rated!
Read more
Date of stay: February 2023
5.0 of 5 bubblesRooms
5.0 of 5 bubblesCleanliness
5.0 of 5 bubblesService
Room Tip: Choose the Zanzibar room - it is amazing and you can thank me later!
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from Roberto Safari Tanzania, Owner at Ngorongoro Marera Mountain View Lodge
Responded 06 Mar 2023
Thanks for your feedback and for staying with us.
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Kallista.L.W wrote a review Apr 2024
Privett, United Kingdom78 contributions31 helpful votes
+1
5.0 of 5 bubbles
My husband and I stayed here as part of our 3 day safari with Serengeti Wakanda Tours and this hotel blew us away. Not only is the location breathtaking the personalities of the staff and the calm with which they operate provides instant tranquility. A special mention has to be given to both John and Mercy who immediately felt like old friends.

The rooms at the hotel are very spacious and the roll top bath is an added treat after a long day in the jeep. A turndown service is provided with your rooms being prepared whilst you dine. The food was exceptional and it's incredible to eat produce which was grown in the gardens you look out over, including the coffee and avocados the size of a rugby ball. Drinks are also very reasonably priced at $4 for a bottle of beer.

If you need a place to switch off, unwind and have a very restful sleep this is for you! Only 25 minutes from Lake Manyara but easily accessible as part of any safari tour or travelling plans.
Read more
Date of stay: April 2024Trip type: Travelled as a couple
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from Roberto Safari Tanzania, Owner at Ngorongoro Marera Mountain View Lodge
Responded yesterday
Thank you for sharing your experience and for staying with us :)
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Kay Waller wrote a review Sept 2023
22 contributions
5.0 of 5 bubbles
This lodge was very beautiful, and the services and amenities were great. The rooms were large, had hard wood floors, and a giant bathroom with a wonderful shower and tub. The shower head had great water pressure and it was just has warm/hot as wanted.

The dinner and breakfast area was nice, and the bar has a good selection. I also enjoyed the gift shop in the main area.

They offer many massage services, and I felt lucky to take advantage of those for an extra fee.

The pool area and grounds is also beautiful and I enjoyed walking through it. The garden is fun, and great to see where the dinner food comes from. Pool was very clean, and towels provided.
Read more
Date of stay: September 2023
5.0 of 5 bubblesValue
5.0 of 5 bubblesLocation
5.0 of 5 bubblesService
Trip type: Travelled with friends
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from Roberto Safari Tanzania, Owner at Ngorongoro Marera Mountain View Lodge
Responded 08 Oct 2023
Thanks for sharing your experience and for staying with us
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Krazy S wrote a review May 2021
1 contribution
1.0 of 5 bubbles
This has been the worse lodge I've visited in Karatu. Since the day we had reached the service has been below par, lodge is understaffed, manager was nowhere to be seen.
Our dinner was pre planned for us and brought for us in a plate without us being told what was being served for dinner. Breakfast had no variety.
Lunch was served cold and still served for us in a portion in a plate.
I had travelled with my family and we were placed in rooms very far away, where my parents were kept in a room that they had to walk up and down a fight of stairs and due to their old age they didn't even consider changing rooms even after asking for a change in room.

I wouldn't recommend anyone to visit this lodge anytime soon.
Read more
Date of stay: May 2021Trip type: Travelled with family
Room Tip: Don't book this lodge
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from Roberto Safari Tanzania, Owner at Ngorongoro Marera Mountain View Lodge
Responded 23 May 2021
We are really sorry you didn't enjoy our food and service. We didn't organize a buffet due to coronavirus safety policy and we are sorry we didn't serve you well at the table. We had an internal meeting in order to improve our service in future. When you have booked we didn't receive a request to allocate the rooms next each others. Once you arrived and checked in the manager offered to change your rooms even if the lodge was very busy but you have refused. We are sorry to read this is now turned into a complain. Overall we are sorry you didn't enjoy your stay and we apologize once again.
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
tbijns288079 wrote a review Oct 2021
Maartensdijk, The Netherlands1 contribution
5.0 of 5 bubbles
After a long day driving in the Tarangire National Park and having camped the luxury large rooms of Marera View Lodge were just what we needed. Upon arrival we already noticed the nice pool and the hillside villa's amidst a scenery of lush green and well maintained garden. This was far better than it looked on the photo's.
Read more
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Date of stay: September 2021
5.0 of 5 bubblesValue
5.0 of 5 bubblesRooms
5.0 of 5 bubblesLocation
5.0 of 5 bubblesCleanliness
4.0 of 5 bubblesService
5.0 of 5 bubblesSleep Quality
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from Roberto Safari Tanzania, Owner at Ngorongoro Marera Mountain View Lodge
Responded 03 Oct 2021
Thanks a lot for your feedback and for staying at Marera View Lodge
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Michael wrote a review May 2021
2 contributions
5.0 of 5 bubbles
So... we came back again! My family and I simply love our stay at Marera View Lodge. We are always blown away by the amazing views that surround the lodge as you first enter. The Manager Siamery and her staff have always been welcoming and attentive of our needs as a family and this has ensured that we will keep on coming back! Our rooms, set above the gardens, have always been more than ample for my family of four and we really appreciate being able to enjoy our relaxation in real comfort. However, for us, the pool is the big winner! It's huge! We can't wait to return for another splash! See you soon guys!
Read more
Date of stay: March 2021
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from Roberto Safari Tanzania, Owner at Ngorongoro Marera Mountain View Lodge
Responded 27 May 2021
Thanks Michael, you and your family are welcome at Marera View Lodge, we are waiting for You again.
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
eliisaasik wrote a review Nov 2022
Luxembourg City, Luxembourg24 contributions
4.0 of 5 bubbles
We stayed 1 night at Ngorongoro Marera Mountain View Lodge and that was not the best accommodation experience during our one week safari. The lodge is located on a beautiful spot but the general atmosphere of the place was a bit cold. The staff tried their best to be friendly but something was still missing. Also the food wasn’t the best we had during our stay in Tanzania, as the dinner and the breakfast were buffet style and therefore a bit cold or in general lacking the taste. As well, we got a room from very far away from the main building and it was always a small hike (to the uphill) to get the to main building. Also, they didn’t have a room for our safari guide at our arrival despite of the reservation made but luckily they were able to arrange it after some negotiations.
Read more
Date of stay: November 2022Trip type: Travelled as a couple
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from Roberto Safari Tanzania, Owner at Ngorongoro Marera Mountain View Lodge
Responded 26 Nov 2022
Thanks for your feedback and for staying with us. We pass your comments to our head chef and keep everything into consideration. We have rooms for guides but they have to book in advance, otherwise it could be full.
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Justin F wrote a review Feb 2023
Rockport, Maine, United States41 contributions39 helpful votes
+1
2.0 of 5 bubbles
Ngorongoro Marera Mountain View Lodge was our least favorite of our 5 night safari. There was a hedgehog or other animal our chimney that kept us awake all night. The ‘massage therapists’ there turned out to also be our waitress and the gift shop clerk. They did a horrible job at their massage, with the waitress touching me inappropriately during the massage. The food was not good here either. We both had stomach issues after dinner here. We wouldn’t want to ever go back to stay at this location and recommend to others to not have this on their itinerary. They had the most expensive drinks too! The pool was dirty and needed to be cleaned. We brought all these things to their attention when we departed, but no one seemed concerned. We will give them credit that the property was in a nice location, clean, and we believe the service was good. The people working there seemed to be trying to do a good job. It may have been slower season as only a few other guests were there and some projects were going on.
Read more
Date of stay: January 2023
2.0 of 5 bubblesValue
5.0 of 5 bubblesLocation
3.0 of 5 bubblesService
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from Roberto Safari Tanzania, Owner at Ngorongoro Marera Mountain View Lodge
Responded 06 Mar 2023
Thanks for your feedback and we are sorry you didn't have a pleasant stay. Our general manager is following up with the SPA, we are sorry you didn't enjoy your massage. We are a small lodge with only 14 rooms, in order to offer a full salary to the Spa massage therapists she has to help also in other duties during the day. Our lodge is very close to Ngorongoro Conservation Area, there are sometimes wild animals in the area, birds can fly inside our fenced property. Likely a bat or a bush baby was noisy, sorry for that. We have checked the menu with the headchef and informed the pool attendant accordingly, we are sorry the food was not tasty for you and the pool was not clean enough for you. Thanks a lot for your feedback, it helps a lot to improve our services.
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Adventure Bound wrote a review Sept 2022
Rice Lake, Wisconsin8 contributions4 helpful votes
5.0 of 5 bubbles
Very beautiful rooms, lodge and grounds! We loved staying at Ngorongoro Marera Mountain View Lodge. The manager, Damaris, is excellent and goes out of her way to make sure that everything is perfect and treats guests like they are family. A great campfire at the lodge starts the evenings followed by a buffet dinner. A lovely, warm, welcoming place to stay. Highly recommend!
Read more
Date of stay: August 2022
5.0 of 5 bubblesLocation
5.0 of 5 bubblesCleanliness
5.0 of 5 bubblesService
Room Tip: Wifi is available in the lodge but also in the rooms closest to the lodge.
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from Roberto Safari Tanzania, Owner at Ngorongoro Marera Mountain View Lodge
Responded 10 Sept 2022
Thanks a lot for your feedback and for staying with us
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
HasneinR wrote a review May 2021
Leicester, United Kingdom136 contributions83 helpful votes
1.0 of 5 bubbles
If there was a rating less than one star, I'd be rating it that. Absolutely poor.

Food quality and variety were shockingly awful. The quality of the service for the price that was paid was non-existent.

The manager wasn't even in town and unavailable to speak to about the service. The hotel was exceptionally understaffed, and because the manager wasn't around, the staff were almost doing as they pleased.

We were allocated two rooms for 5 people but they were on different sides of the resort. My elderly father in law was on the first floor, whereas the younger generation were on the ground floor - how does that make any sense?

I'd be very inclined to ask for a full refund.

Absolutely disgusting and hopeless service.
Read more
Date of stay: May 2021Trip type: Travelled with family
Room Tip: Avoid at all costs
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from Roberto Safari Tanzania, Owner at Ngorongoro Marera Mountain View Lodge
Responded 23 May 2021
We are really sorry you didn't enjoy our food and service. We didn't organize a buffet due to coronavirus safety policy and we are sorry we didn't serve you well at the table. We had an internal meeting in order to improve our service in future. When you have booked we didn't receive a request to allocate the rooms next each others. Once you arrived and checked in the manager offered to change your rooms even if the lodge was very busy but you have refused. We are sorry to read this is now turned into a complain. The manager was at the lodge and spoke with you, not sure why you report she was not there. Overall we are sorry you didn't enjoy your stay and we apologize once again.
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Not the right property for you?
There are more places to choose from in the Karatu area.
PRICE RANGE
R 5,289 - R 6,417 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
LOCATION
TanzaniaArusha RegionKaratu
NUMBER OF ROOMS
24
Prices are provided by our partners, and reflect average nightly room rates, including taxes and fees that are fixed, known to our partners, and due at time of booking. Please see our partners for more details.
Is This Your Tripadvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing

NGORONGORO MARERA MOUNTAIN VIEW LODGE - Guesthouse Reviews & Price Comparison (Karatu, Tanzania)

Frequently Asked Questions about Ngorongoro Marera Mountain View Lodge
Which popular attractions are close to Ngorongoro Marera Mountain View Lodge?
Nearby attractions include Marera Village Gallery (6.2 km) and Elius vincent (7.5 km).
What are some of the property amenities at Ngorongoro Marera Mountain View Lodge?
Some of the more popular amenities offered include free breakfast, an on-site restaurant, and a lounge.
Which room amenities are available at Ngorongoro Marera Mountain View Lodge?
Top room amenities include a desk, a fireplace, and a mosquito net.
What food & drink options are available at Ngorongoro Marera Mountain View Lodge?
Guests can enjoy free breakfast, an on-site restaurant, and a lounge during their stay.
Is parking available at Ngorongoro Marera Mountain View Lodge?
Yes, free parking is available to guests.
What are some restaurants close to Ngorongoro Marera Mountain View Lodge?
Conveniently located restaurants include Lilac Café, Rhotia Valley's Coffee Corner, and Happy Days Lounge & Lodge.
Are there opportunities to exercise at Ngorongoro Marera Mountain View Lodge?
Yes, guests have access to an outdoor pool during their stay.
Does Ngorongoro Marera Mountain View Lodge have airport transportation?
Yes, Ngorongoro Marera Mountain View Lodge offers airport transportation for guests. We recommend calling ahead to confirm details.
Are any cleaning services offered at Ngorongoro Marera Mountain View Lodge?
Yes, dry cleaning and laundry service are offered to guests.
Does Ngorongoro Marera Mountain View Lodge offer any business services?
Yes, guests have access to a business centre and meeting rooms during their stay.
Which languages are spoken by the staff at Ngorongoro Marera Mountain View Lodge?
The staff speaks multiple languages, including English and Swahili.
All Karatu HotelsKaratu Hotel DealsLast Minute Hotels in KaratuHotels near Ngorongoro Marera Mountain View Lodge
Things to DoRestaurantsFlightsHoliday HomesTravel StoriesCruisesCar Hire