We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

De Doornkraal Historic Country House Boutique Hotel

PricelineUS$88*
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
04/06/2017 05/06/2017
1 room 2 adults 0 children
US$98*
US$88*
Great Deal
US$96*
US$95*
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Professional photos
De Doornkraal Historic Country House Boutique Hotel
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"],"template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

328 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Showing 313: English reviews
Start your review of De Doornkraal Historic Country House Boutique Hotel
 Click to rate
Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile

Had a pleasant stay while on a business trip. Staff were very friendly and helpful. Location and grounds are stunning. Nice pool to cool down in on a warm day. Window in my room was open as there are no aircons in the rooms and I had a mosquito bugging me all night. Maybe mosquito nets could prevent this. TV...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Lance B
Johannesburg, South Africa
Reviewed 12 April 2017

Located on the Garden Route and a 15-minute drive from Garcia Nature Reserve, Doornkraal offers luxurious accommodation and excellent service. There is free on-site parking. Rooms at the Doornkraal Historic feature a satellite TV and an electric kettle. Cottages also offer a seating area and some have a kitchenette. Breakfast is served daily and the à la carte restaurant serves...

Review collected in partnership with this hotel
 Report
Helpful?
Thank hermanusd2017
Barnstable, Massachusetts
Reviewed 2 April 2017

We travelled to Riversdale for a wedding and stayed at De Doornkraal for several days. The rooms were neat and spacious in an old fashioned setting. The restaurant offered an excellent dinner and breakfast. But the best part was the friendly and helpful staff, everyone was always smiling and willing to answer questions.

Review collected in partnership with this hotel
 Report
Helpful?
Thank M7190XVsarahl
Portage, Michigan
Reviewed 1 April 2017

Every person working at De Doornkraal treated me as if I were their personal & lifelong friend. The food was prepared especially for me, I was always greeted with a warm smile & hello, & even told how much I was missed on one staff person's day off. Every possible personal need was met with pleasure & promptness. When leaving...

Review collected in partnership with this hotel
 Report
Helpful?
Thank 329bessiek
Pretoria
Reviewed 26 March 2017

Unique and historic, loved Riversdale. Did not know what to expect. Historic old buildings, huge rooms, beutifull surroundings. Ideal place to visit and top spot to stay over. Recommended should you want to stay over!!!

Review collected in partnership with this hotel
 Report
Helpful?
Thank dvdmerwe2017
Cologne, Germany
Reviewed 22 March 2017

Warm welcome, top service/ staff and really nice accommodation. We felt very secure in the hotel. The dinner was great! Whenevee we will do the garden route again we would love to come again! Thanks a lot!

Review collected in partnership with this hotel
 Report
Helpful?
Thank philip813
La Herradura, Spain
Reviewed 20 March 2017

We booked this hotel for our last night in South Africa purely on the restaurant menu and photos on the various sites. It was a lovely historic house but our choice of the a cottage turned out to be dark, damp and hardly recognisable from the webiste site. The wonderful menu we were expecting turned out to be a one...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Morifi
Hook, United Kingdom
Reviewed 20 March 2017

We found the room comfortable with large bathroom. Staff very friendly and helpful. Food excellent. Just a shame about the whole road being remade which caused difficulties on arrival and meant outside of hotel not at it's best.

Review collected in partnership with this hotel
 Report
Helpful?
Thank T4426WSjanetb
Cape Town Central, South Africa
Reviewed 6 March 2017

The kitchen staff was very friendly and food excellent. Only bad thing was that the WIFI was down. It is a really nice place with a pool we would recommend this place to our friends when thay are in Riversdal.

Review collected in partnership with this hotel
 Report
Helpful?
Thank MarkMatroos
Sidmouth, United Kingdom
Reviewed 3 March 2017

When we arrived the road was being dug up and we could not get to the hotel. There was dust everywhere. Until we complained loudly the response from the manager was poor, then we got a better room. However it was very hot and there is no fan or aircon. We had to sleep with the windows open and got...

Review collected in partnership with this hotel
 Report
Helpful?
Thank cathygA8442US

196 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (73)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (14)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (3)
Viewed
Dining (12)
Viewed
Room/Suite (19)
Viewed
Bathroom (1)
Viewed
View from Room (1)
Viewed
Other (23)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (123)
Viewed
Family/Play Areas (3)
Viewed
Room/Suite (13)
Viewed
Bathroom (7)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (34)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (3)
Viewed
Dining (26)
Viewed
Other (37)
04/06/2017 05/06/2017
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Riversdale
32.4 km away
Albertinia Hotel
Albertinia Hotel
#1 of 1 in Albertina
41 reviews
1.7 km away
Fynbos Guest House
Fynbos Guest House
#2 of 8 in Riversdale
60 reviews
36.7 km away
Garden Route Game Lodge
Garden Route Game Lodge
#1 of 4 in Albertina
975 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 km away
Sleeping Beauty Guest House
Sleeping Beauty Guest House
#3 of 8 in Riversdale
22 reviews
1.4 km away
Kweekkraal Guest Farm
Kweekkraal Guest Farm
#1 of 2 in Riversdale
9 reviews
32.5 km away
Zoutpan Struishuis Guest Farm
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Pool
  • Free Parking
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Breakfast included
About the property
  • Wheelchair Access
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
Things to do
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
Room types
  • Suites
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Family Rooms
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Services
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
  • Meeting Rooms
  • Laundry Service
  • Banquet Room
  • Multilingual Staff
  • Conference Facilities
  • Babysitting
  • Breakfast Available
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
- Experience charming countryside hospitality in South Africa - We are committed to providing service excellence and ensuring that our guests feel that they are at home whilst away from home. Our good-natured team are proud that De Doornkraal has been recognized as the best four star Country House in South Africa, as well as the best in our province two years running at the prestigious Lilizela Tourism Awards – 2014 and 2015. In addition we also are proud recipients of The TripAdvisor Certificate of Excellence for 2013, 2014,2015 and 2016. ... more   less 

Additional Information about De Doornkraal Historic Country House Boutique Hotel

Address: 8 Long Street, Riversdale 6670, South Africa
Region: South Africa > Western Cape > Riversdale
Price Range: R1 087 - R1 366 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — De Doornkraal Historic Country House Boutique Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 14
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Priceline, Booking.com, Hotwire, Travelocity, Orbitz, Agoda and Cheap Tickets so you can book your De Doornkraal Historic Country House Boutique Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from De Doornkraal Historic Country House Boutique Hotel staff and other travellers.
2 questions
Ask a question

See all questions (2)

Questions? Get answers from De Doornkraal Historic Country House Boutique Hotel staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“Do not choose either of the cottages!”
Morifi, 20 Mar 2017 | Read review
“Our room fronting onto the stoop was spacious and quiet.”
Mrsfromgorton, 6 Jan 2017 | Read review
“The garden cottage is small and not convenient with a lot of luggage, the vineyard cottage would be a better choice.”
ettemar, 9 Nov 2016 | Read review
“Every room had a silver lining, great value for money.”
111TWIGAMINHAAFRIKA, 9 Nov 2016 | Read review
“The cottages in the garden and vineyard are beautiful and a bit secluded”
rxkok1, 25 Oct 2016 | Read review
5 of 5
Priceline
US$88* /night
View Deal
Hotels.comUS$96
Orbitz.comUS$95
Booking.comUS$98
View all 7 deals
*Disclaimer
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Change dates