First Group Magalies Park

First Group Magalies Park

R560, Main Skeerpoort Rd, Madibeng 0232 South Africa
Traveller (153)
Room & Suite (47)
Pool & Beach (32)

View prices for your travel dates

Contact accommodation for availability.
There are similar hotels available.
View all
Did you already book this hotel?

About

4.5
#1 of 9 cottages in Hartbeespoort
4.8 of 5 bubbles
Location
4.5 of 5 bubbles
Cleanliness
4.4 of 5 bubbles
Service
4.6 of 5 bubbles
Value
Nestled alongside the tranquil Magalies River; Magalies Park comprises 120 hectares of scenic rich parklands, 18-hole golf course, world-class wellness spa and a vast array of 1, 2, 3 and 4-bedroom chalets and villas. This resort is the ultimate all-inclusive destination for all types of holidays, teambuilding, conferencing and weddings. On-site facilities include; Wi-Fi, Restaurant, Bar, Pool Side Bar, In Room Dining, Wellness Spa, Jacuzzi, Sauna, Hairdresser, Daily Entertainment, Water Park, Swimming Pool, Swimming Pool – Heated, Swimming pool - Kiddies pool, Golf Course, Driving Range, Putting Green, Pro Shop, Convenience Store, Adventure golf, Mountain bike trail, Fishing, Bird Watching, Paintball, Bicycle Hire, Bowls, Tennis, Squash, Volleyball, Kid's Club, Playground, Child Minding, Board Games, Games Room, Trampoline, Boma, Braai Area, Walking Trails, Open air Chess, Canoeing, Paddle boats, Boat Cruise, Dam / River, Private jetty, Concierge, Business Centre, ATM and Laundry.
Read more
Suggest edits to improve what we show.Improve this listing
Property amenities
Free parking
Indoor pool
Mini golf
Water park
Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly)
Kids club
Meeting rooms
Laundry service
Outdoor pool
Heated pool
Kids' outdoor play equipment
Self-serve laundry
Room features
Safe
Kitchenware
Flatscreen TV
Good to know
HOTEL CLASS
Star ratings are intended to indicate the general level of features, amenities, and services to expect. This property is classified according to Giata.
3.0 of 5 stars
HOTEL STYLE
Family
Great View
Languages Spoken
Afrikaans
772Reviews26Q+A100Room tips
Traveller rating
  • 482
  • 181
  • 54
  • 32
  • 23
Time of year
Traveller type
Language
Selected filters
  • Filter
  • English
Popular mentions
Sort by:
Detailed Reviews
natie T wrote a review Mar 2020
Alberton, South Africa
4.0 of 5 bubbles
We had a very good few days in nature with all the facilities. Enjoy the resort very much.

One TV id not work and some water was leaking from the toilet in main bedroom wetting the bathroom floor but when we report it it was fix the next day.
Read more
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Date of stay: February 2020
4.0 of 5 bubblesValue
4.0 of 5 bubblesRooms
4.0 of 5 bubblesLocation
4.0 of 5 bubblesCleanliness
4.0 of 5 bubblesService
4.0 of 5 bubblesSleep Quality
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from Muis L, General Manager at First Group Magalies Park
Responded 04 Mar 2020
Dear Guest Thanks for visiting our beautiful resort. We appreciate your review. Seemed we met all your expectations and enjoyed your stay with us. Hope we can welcome you all back soon
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Kagiso Masilo wrote a review Dec 2020
5.0 of 5 bubbles
What a place, staff is very kind and prompt to requests, but what melted my heart is the integrity of the staff. One of the cleaners found the money that we forgot and it was handed back... It's rare that people will return the money,The manager Heidi thank u very much... Will definetly come back...
Read more
Date of stay: December 2020Trip type: Travelled with family
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from Muis Lombard, General Manager at First Group Magalies Park
Responded 21 Dec 2020
Dear Guest Thanks for visiting our beautiful resort. We appreciate your review as well as sharing your great experience at Magalies. We are glad you found your money and we are very proud of our staff. We hope we can welcome you all back sooner than later. Magalies Greetings!
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Margaret J wrote a review Dec 2021
Villiersdorp, South Africa
4.0 of 5 bubbles
We spent a week here in one of the 2 bedroom chalets with my elderly mother. The setting is good, however our chalet was on the road and the staff zoom up and down all day long in bakkies and golf carts. The chalet has everything one needs and is tastefully decorated, however, the surrounding areas are not kept entirely clean. Staff walk past pieces of paper etc every day and no-one thinks to pick this up
However: I would absolutely recommend this resort for a family with small children as there is plenty to keep them entertained
Read more
Date of stay: September 2021
4.0 of 5 bubblesValue
4.0 of 5 bubblesLocation
4.0 of 5 bubblesService
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from Muis Lombard, General Manager at First Group Magalies Park
Responded 06 Dec 2021
Dear Margaret Thanks for visiting our beautiful resort and take note. We have a beautiful resort and unfortunately we still have guests just dumping their trash and bottles where they walk and drive, although the resort is covered with dustbins. We will address the staff reluctance to pick up the trash lying around. Nevertheless it seems that you guys enjoyed your stay with us and hope we can welcome you all back soon! Greetings and Stay Safe!
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Kim wrote a review Jan 2020
2.0 of 5 bubbles
This is a beautiful resort with lots of activities for grown ups and kids but only on the outside...
We arrived to cleaning staff having lunch in the chalet past 3 when we were meant to check in. The chalets are dirty and not cleaned properly AT ALL. The shower was gross with soap scum on the tiles. The beds are as hard as planks literally and so are the couches. We called maintenance for water leaking all over the porch, they never pitched. There is absolutely no natural light coming in the place at all and if your thatch could be cleaned from time to time, it would make a difference for all the spider webs but then again if the place was cleaned properly everyday that wouldn’t be so bad. We checked out a day before we were meant to and no questions were asked as to why we’re leaving. I would like a refund for my one night at least but the chances of that happening is probably the same as asking them to clean properly.
Read more
Date of stay: January 2020Trip type: Travelled with family
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from Muis L, General Manager at First Group Magalies Park
Responded 03 Jan 2020
Dear Kim Thanks for visiting Magalies Park and are taken back by your comments made and even shocked. We can assure you that the cleaners do not have their lunch in the chalets and the 3 cleaners was helping in the kitchen as the chalet was left in a mess by the previous guests and we tried to get it ready in time, which we unfortunately could not do by 15h00 and on your request send the HK HOD(Jane) to address the issues raised regarding the cleaning. We are aware of the residue and can assure you that it is not soap scum, but a powdery residue from the slate tiles, hence it will disappear when wet. We can also assure you that the unit is serviced on a daily basis and will attend to the cob webs in the thatch roof. We could not find any complaint regarding the leaking roof but will investigate further. I would like to refer you to the other Trip Advisor comments and reviews regarding Magalies and is our mission for all our guest to have a great and relaxed time at the resort - My sincere apologies for not meeting your expectations and hope that we can welcome you all back soon!
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Liz C wrote a review Jan 2020
Vanderbijlpark, South Africa
1.0 of 5 bubbles
The only nice things I can say about this place is that the lawns are beautiful and the boat trip was interesting.

On arrival we found the safe didn't work, took 3 reports to different individuals before someone eventually came out to fix

We complained there were spiders in our bed (found 3 over 2 days). Reported at reception who said we would be called. That night we found more, and suspected there was a nest. Only then did the maintenance manager come out and offered us another unit.

The TV/DSTV only worked after struggling with the remotes and card

The room was just generally grubby. We decided to go home early, wasn't worth staying to the end of our visit.
Read more
Date of stay: January 2020
1.0 of 5 bubblesValue
2.0 of 5 bubblesCleanliness
1.0 of 5 bubblesService
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from Muis L, General Manager at First Group Magalies Park
Responded 28 Jan 2020
Dear Liz Thanks for visiting Magalies Park. We appreciate your review. We take note of your disappointment but in fairness we did address the issues reported. The chalets being all thatch roof, will accommodate spiders etc. As we speak we are busy fumigating every single chalet. Hope we can welcome you guys back.
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
MOYENI wrote a review Feb 2023
Greater Johannesburg, South Africa
3.0 of 5 bubbles
This is a beautiful resort on entry. Lush gardens, a variety of buck grazing on the golf course, a lazy river, magnificent trees and green lawns. Our chalet was very comfortable and adequately furnished with very good bed linen and thick white towels. The chalets are sited in such a way as to provide as much privacy as possible and parking is at the back door for ease of unloading. An easy and seamless transition into holiday mode. The bathrooms however are very compact and some adroit maneuvering is required. The resort has a generator for outages so one escapes the daily reality of load shedding. Bliss. The patio is large and one can braai in the setting sun whilst listening to the myriad birds. Or so we hoped. In fact we didn't utilise the patio. Very loud music is played at the main entertainment area - the pool and restaurant - which mars the peace and strikes a very discordant note in the serenity one would expect from a country break. And this music is loud enough to permeate the resort no matter where one tries to escape it on a walk. And it thumps all day. Management need to seriously re-consider the necessity of providing this amusement. It is certainly a novel concept for a "peaceful" getaway! This resort deserves at least 4 stars. I have removed one for the unpleasant, if not unnecessary, intrusion into our break
Read more
Date of stay: February 2023
4.0 of 5 bubblesCleanliness
4.0 of 5 bubblesService
4.0 of 5 bubblesSleep Quality
Room Tip: If you prefer the quiet of a peaceful break ask for a chalet/room as far away from the...
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
JBvdM wrote a review Nov 2022
Johannesburg, South Africa
+1
3.0 of 5 bubbles
Beautiful resort and facilities but the chalet we stayed in should be revamped and maintained properly. We arrived on Tuesday to a flooded kitchen as it was raining. We called the reception from our phones as the phones in the units were not working due to an upgrade in progress. Housekeeping arrived to clean up and provide towels to put at the door then maintenance arrived to say they can also only provide towels to put at the door and could only advise their manager. There was a huge gap in the door that you could actually see out. Luckily it stopped raining for the rest of the stay. Reception also advised they were fully booked so could not move us. We then proceeded to unpack. The one bathroom’s basin’s tap was so loose that I was afraid to use it. The worst part was on one of the nights in our sleep a BAT!! fell on my husband’s head!! Please close the thatch by installing ceilings. Everyday we had to clean our beds before sleeping because of all the droppings. The other items were rather minor to mention e.g. state of the linen(torn and yellow) and kitchen cupboards creaky and loose, etc. please can you do some well deserved maintenance on your older units, Magaliespark? You have such a beautiful resort and facilities but we cannot stay there until this is done. Looking forward to visit again when this is done.
I must mention the staff are helpful. Our housekeeper, Fikile was lovely. She kept our unit clean and cleaned the flooded kitchen when we arrived. I was also surprised with a beautiful towel display on the bed with petals. The service at the supermarket was amazing. Thobe, my spa therapist was amazing as well! Our captain on the boat cruise was so informative and really was the best boat cruise on the harties dam. To top my special day off, my birthday dinner at Pica Pau restaurant was the best! The owner together with Maki and Nyari, our waitresses for the night made it so special! Again, your resort facilities are lovely so please let us know when the chalets are revamped to complete the stay and we will be sure to book again as the kids really want to visit the splash zone and pools (both heated and not) again.
Read more
Date of stay: November 2022Trip type: Travelled with family
Room Tip: Ask for newer/ revamped chalet
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Marthinus wrote a review Oct 2020
1.0 of 5 bubbles
Had a nice stay and was enjoying the park, good staff and friendly to. Went to play a round putt putt with the kids and had the wife check us out. This was 10 to 15 minutes before check out time at 10h00.

Needed a card of some sort and the wife was told by senior staff at reception that, we where to leave the premises. I waited about an hour (thought about it) and returned to make sure that the most senior people there knows what had happened. It became apparent that they where not going to do anything about it, or hear me out. Said nice words and then continued to say. Check out is 10h00

Asked to speak to senior staff, and was told that I was. Made sure to show that I was unhappy and explained that, what was to follow was what it feels like to be treated so unfairly. And that after two days and being very happy and planning on returning. The management ruined the holiday in only the last 10 minutes we where to spend there.

Because of the poor attitude and unfair treatment. I laid into, what was said to be management and made sure to push all the buttons and be heard by everyone there. (massive scene)

Sent a email later to make sure there is a incident report and to get to someone that can do something about this poor attitude. I was not asking for an apology and I was not offering mine, just wanted the next person to be treated fairly.

Got a phone call from resort manager, he just put his weight behind his staff. Saying how disgusted he was at my reaction to his staff. Not having all the facts and without asking about what the reason was for the strong reaction. It become apparent to me, that he did not mind what has happened and was only calling to lay it on me. After dropping the phone call he sent me a email back, that included the front desk staff, making sure to say what a bad person I was and that know one there knows what was going on.

After addressing his email and putting things in perspective. He said thanks NOTED

As can be seen from other complaints, on this site. The resort manager is unapologetic and shifts the blame.

He basically says thanks for the response, what you did wrong, and he hopes you comes back.

I find this very distasteful and came here to show other clients.

I will not be returning to this place and ask that other clients be careful when complaining to management. You will be treated unfairly and you will not get the problem solved.
Read more
Date of stay: October 2020
5.0 of 5 bubblesLocation
5.0 of 5 bubblesService
5.0 of 5 bubblesSleep Quality
Room Tip: Stay away from management
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from Muis Lombard, General Manager at First Group Magalies Park
Responded 02 Nov 2020
Dear Marthinus I take note of your review and as you mentioned, we tried to resolve the matter whereby the phone was dropped on me twice. Although your review is very one sided, the disrespectful manner you conducted yourself towards my staff and other guests, was appalling. We do address all complaints and suggestions in a professional and consultative way. Thank you..
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Benji G wrote a review Apr 2021
Greater Johannesburg, South Africa
5.0 of 5 bubbles
So I’m 9 and I loved magalies park amazing facilities fascinating nature lovely activities I would definitely recommend this to anyone who’s looking for a place to get away from the city vibes. There’s a shopping mall located more than ten minutes away. Oh and the staff are soooo friendly.only problem: mosquitoes
Read more
Date of stay: December 2020
5.0 of 5 bubblesRooms
5.0 of 5 bubblesLocation
4.0 of 5 bubblesService
Room Tip: Rooms further away from pools are best
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from Muis Lombard, General Manager at First Group Magalies Park
Responded 09 Apr 2021
Dear Guest Thanks for visiting our beautiful resort and sharing your experienece with other! Seemed you enjoy the stay and hope you will be visiting us for the 10 years. I think you have still more to explore at Magalies. Hope we see you all back soon! Greetings!
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Shanez H wrote a review Mar 2023
4.0 of 5 bubbles
A weekend at Magaliespark resort is just not enough. A beautiful well maintained resort. The staff from the gate to the cleaners was very friendly and welcoming...thank you. The chalets are very modern and clean. My only gripe is that you have to vacate the premises when booking out at 10 which I only found out a day before we had to book in nowhere on their web do they mention this only that you have to book out at 10 am.
Read more
Date of stay: March 2023Trip type: Travelled with family
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Val wrote a tip Apr 2024
Pointe desny11 contributions
3.0 of 5 bubbles
"Waterpark dirty Be aware that small fees are ask to use the facilities "
Read full review
MOYENI wrote a tip Feb 2023
Greater Johannesburg, South Africa99 contributions53 helpful votes
3.0 of 5 bubbles
"If you prefer the quiet of a peaceful break ask for a chalet/room as far away from the restaurant/pool area as possible."
Read full review
JBvdM wrote a tip Nov 2022
Johannesburg, South Africa189 contributions5 helpful votes
3.0 of 5 bubbles
"Ask for newer/ revamped chalet"
Read full review
jorindit wrote a tip Jul 2021
Krugersdorp, South Africa188 contributions9 helpful votes
5.0 of 5 bubbles
"Can get busy, especially over weekends, but the layout is scattered so it helps avoid overcrowding. They cater for all age groups here."
Read full review
Benji G wrote a tip Apr 2021
Greater Johannesburg, South Africa2 contributions
5.0 of 5 bubbles
"Rooms further away from pools are best"
Read full review
Not the right property for you?
There are more places to choose from in the Hartbeespoort area.
PRICE RANGE
R 1,748 - R 2,568 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
FORMERLY KNOWN AS
Magalies Park
LOCATION
South AfricaNorth-West ProvinceMadibengHartbeespoort
NUMBER OF ROOMS
185
Prices are provided by our partners, and reflect average nightly room rates, including taxes and fees that are fixed, known to our partners, and due at time of booking. Please see our partners for more details.
Is This Your Tripadvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing

FIRST GROUP MAGALIES PARK | UPDATED 2024 Cottage Reviews & Price Comparison (Hartbeespoort, South Africa) - Tripadvisor

Frequently Asked Questions about First Group Magalies Park
Which popular attractions are close to First Group Magalies Park?
Nearby attractions include Elephant Sanctuary Hartbeesport Dam (4.4 km), Bush Babies Monkey Sanctuary (4.3 km), and Hartbeespoort Dam (7.3 km).
What are some of the property amenities at First Group Magalies Park?
Some of the more popular amenities offered include an indoor pool, free parking, and meeting rooms.
Is parking available at First Group Magalies Park?
Yes, free parking is available to guests.
What are some restaurants close to First Group Magalies Park?
Conveniently located restaurants include Silver Orange Bistro, Die Ou Pastorie, and AfricanSwiss Restaurant.
Are there opportunities to exercise at First Group Magalies Park?
Yes, guests have access to an indoor pool during their stay.
Are any cleaning services offered at First Group Magalies Park?
Yes, laundry service and self serve laundry are offered to guests.
All Hartbeespoort HotelsHartbeespoort Hotel DealsLast Minute Hotels in HartbeespoortHotels near First Group Magalies Park
Things to DoRestaurantsFlightsHoliday HomesTravel StoriesCruisesCar Hire