We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Save
Traveller (66)
Room & Suite (31)
Dining (1)
Ratings and reviews
Certificate of Excellence
Ratings
Location
Cleanliness
Service
Value
Travellers talk about
“red sky”(15 reviews)
“gravel road”(10 reviews)
View all reviews
What's included
Free Parking
Pool
Non-Smoking Rooms
Suites
Kitchenette
Golf Course
Welcome to the Sky Lodge, a unique stone and thatch getaway in the Hartbeespoort Dam area. The Lodge is situated on 50 Hectares of magnificent mountainside, and offers majestic views of the Hartbeespoort Dam and surrounding Magaliesberg mountains. Guests may choose between our 2...
View all hotel information
Location and contact
39 / 41 De Rust, Madibeng 0280, South Africa
29,9 km to Pilansberg Airport
View nearby attractions and restaurants
{"containerClass":null,"containerAttributes":null,"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"},"dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"moduleList":["handlers"]},"scriptFlags":null}
Reviews (201)
Filter reviews
200 results
Traveller rating
101
73
18
8
0
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageEnglish
101
73
18
8
0
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsred skygravel roadbutterfly cottageself cateringmonkey treeawesome viewsthe dining room tableprivate bomastaff were exceptionally friendlya wonderful staybraai areafabulous weekendbigger tvcutlery and crockeryperfect getawayan absolute gemstayed here for two nights
FilterEnglish
Updating list...
1 - 5 of 200 reviews
Reviewed 5 days ago

We were absolutely blown away by our accommodation. We were 2 families staying in Sunset Lodge and we couldn’t have asked for better accommodation. Staff was super friendly and all queries or problems we had was sorted out immediately. The security guard patrolling the grounds...More

Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank Debbie B
Response from MICHAEL F, Manager at Sky LodgeResponded 3 days ago

Hi Debbie Thank you for your kind review. We appreciate it ! The Sunset Lodge is our brand new 8 sleeper lodge on the top of the hill, we are extremely proud of our new flagship lodge. We are glad you enjoyed your stay and...More

Reviewed 1 week ago

My friends and I went to Skylodge for a games night but after one night we had to stay for another because it was hard to leave. Neatly tucked away and has a surprise in store after you drive up the mountainous driveway. The View!...More

Thank Amanda G
Response from MICHAEL F, General Manager at Sky LodgeResponded 1 week ago

Hi Amanda Thank you for your kind review. We appreciate it! We agree that our staff are our greatest assets, and then 2nd is the view. We have a team that constantly renovates our cottages. We have the brand new Sunset Lodge that Clemencia showed...More

Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

The website does not do the accommodation justice. It's very relaxing and cozy. Each house has its own private boma and has a quiet serenity for those who want to relax and unwind. Fantastic amenities and very clean and neat

Thank Tania B
Response from MICHAEL F, Manager at Sky LodgeResponded 1 week ago

Hi Tania Thank you for your kind review. We appreciate it! We are glad you enjoyed your stay and we hope to see you again soon!

Reviewed 1 week ago

We had 2 nights at Sky Lodge. The lighting is very poor and can be better. We also had problems with hot water but didnt at that stage report it as we didnt stay very long. Maybe if this can be corrected it will be...More

Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank magdawilsonmw
Response from MICHAEL F, Manager at Sky LodgeResponded 1 week ago

Hi Magda Thank you for your review. We do have maintenance staff on duty at all times to assist guests where necessary. We would have gladly attended to water query if you had reported it when it occurred.

Reviewed 2 weeks ago

We loved our stay. We only spent a night as a stopover between the Cradle Of Humankind and the Pielansberg. The accommodation was lovely. Despite the middle of winter temperatures we were warm with the air-conditioning as well as an inside and an outside fire....More

Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank Catherine B
Response from MICHAEL F, Manager at Sky LodgeResponded 2 weeks ago

Hi Catherine Thank you for your kind review. We appreciate it and due to all the positive responses we are pleased to announce that we have received the TripAdvisor Certificate of Excellence Award for the 3rd year in a row! We are glad you enjoyed...More

View more reviews
About
Awards & Recognition
Certificate of Excellence
Amenities
Top amenities
Pool
Free Parking
Hotel Amenities
Free Parking
Room amenities
Microwave
Things to do
Pool
Details
Price range
US$56 - US$85 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Room types
Kitchenette, Non-Smoking Rooms, Suites, Family Rooms
Details
Price range
US$56 - US$85 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Room types
Kitchenette, Non-Smoking Rooms, Suites, Family Rooms
Add Photo Photos
Traveller (66)
Room & Suite (31)
Dining (1)
Pool & Beach (1)
Questions & Answers
Get quick answers from Sky Lodge staff and past guests.
Note: your question will be posted publicly on the Questions & Answers page.
Submit
Posting guidelines
Room Tips
"Use an SUV because the road is raw"
Read review
"Cottage 9 only has neighbours to the one side. Cottage 4 and 5 are right across from the pool area."
Read review
"Please and quiet"
Read review
"Great Views. Even heard a lion roar one morning from near by parks"
Read review
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more. Claim Your Listing