La Dolce Vita Guest House

La Dolce Vita Guest House

Happy friends!
Traveller (11)
Good food
Dining (1)

View prices for your travel dates

Contact accommodation for availability.
There are similar hotels available.
View all

About

3.5
#13 of 24 guest houses in Hartbeespoort
4.1 of 5 bubbles
Location
3.4 of 5 bubbles
Cleanliness
3.6 of 5 bubbles
Service
2.9 of 5 bubbles
Value

If you’re looking for a quaint guest house in Hartbeespoort, look no further than La Dolce Vita Guest House.

While staying at La Dolce Vita Guest House, visitors can check out The Aloe Farm (2.3 mi), which is a popular Hartbeespoort attraction.

The rooms offer a flat screen TV, a refrigerator, and air conditioning, and getting online is possible, as free internet access is available, allowing you to rest and refresh with ease.

In addition, as a valued La Dolce Vita Guest House guest, you can enjoy a pool and breakfast that are available on-site. Guests arriving by vehicle have access to free parking.

Travellers looking to enjoy some tempura can head to Silver Orange Bistro. Otherwise, you may want to check out a deli such as Harties Cafe.

The staff at La Dolce Vita Guest House looks forward to serving you during your upcoming visit.

Read more
Suggest edits to improve what we show.Improve this listing
Property amenities
Free parking
Internet
Pool
Hot bath
Bar / lounge
Restaurant
Conference facilities
Non-smoking hotel
Outdoor pool
Breakfast available
Room features
Air conditioning
Refrigerator
Room types
Non-smoking rooms
Suites
Good to know
HOTEL CLASS
Star ratings are intended to indicate the general level of features, amenities, and services to expect. This property is classified according to TGCSA - Tourism Grading Council of South Africa.
4.0 of 5 stars
HOTEL STYLE
Great View
Mid-range
124Reviews0Q+A38Room tips
Traveller rating
  • 51
  • 20
  • 6
  • 10
  • 37
Time of year
Traveller type
Language
Selected filters
  • Filter
  • English
Popular mentions
Sort by:
Detailed Reviews
Peanut_face wrote a review Jan 2021
Pretoria, South Africa181 contributions36 helpful votes
4.0 of 5 bubbles
My husband and I went here for our anniversary. Included in the package was a 2 hour boar cruise on Hartebeesport Dam. I have been to the dam many times but never on it so it was really great. The choice of music though was not to everyone's taste. The food onboard was great and you get vouchers for drinks in return for part of the money you paid to get into the reserve.
From the cruise we went to the guest lodge and it was fantastic. They went to great lengths to make the room look special. At dinner we had a special table set up for us too. The food was fantastic. There are a few small things that they can improve on but overall we had a wonderful stay, Thank you to the staff for the extra effort you went to to make it a memorable anniversary.
Read more
Date of stay: December 2020
4.0 of 5 bubblesValue
4.0 of 5 bubblesService
4.0 of 5 bubblesSleep Quality
Room Tip: Honeymoon suite with dam and mountain view is the best room
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
ScottishKat wrote a review Jun 2008
Brighton60 contributions28 helpful votes
3.0 of 5 bubbles
We were just staying here for 1 night en route back to the airport at the end of our SA trip and it was definitely the worst place (in terms of value for money) that we stayed in during our whole 3 week trip.

It was ok, but that is the best I can say. It definitely was not worth the nearly 800 Rand per person dinner, bed and breakfast charge. The location is nice, with good views over the lake from each room. But the huge corner bath / jacuzzi was quite amusingly tacky and you had a feeling that the place had been done up on a fairly tight budget to try and make it seem luxurious, when it isn't really. The rooms themselves were quite small and it was quite noisy. You could hear other people moving around and our bath seemed to 'burp' whenever someone else took a bath!

The food was quite mediocre in comparison to almost everywhere else we'd been in SA. The service in the restaurant was also really slow and confused, which isn't great when you know exactly how many guests you've got, when they're eating and only give a choice of 2 dishes....

Breakfast was okay.
Read more
Date of stay: May 2008
2.0 of 5 bubblesValue
2.0 of 5 bubblesRooms
4.0 of 5 bubblesLocation
4.0 of 5 bubblesCleanliness
3.0 of 5 bubblesCheck-in / front desk
2.0 of 5 bubblesService
3.0 of 5 bubblesBusiness service (e.g., internet access)
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Sim R wrote a review Oct 2013
London, United Kingdom1 contribution2 helpful votes
4.0 of 5 bubbles
Recommended by a friend who had stayed there the previous year.Booked a family weekend with the wife and 2 teenage kids.Had the pleasure spa and spa 2 rooms. Spa 1 ( we called it the penthouse ) a definite hit with the Mrs with the biggest shower i have ever been in.The winter sun weekend was complimented by a stone fire pit table which kept us more than cozy in our room with at night.The clear ceiling melted the winter chill bringing the best of the midday sun into room.Bliss, ahhhhh yes....We were later disappointed the jacuzzi worked 1 day and didn't on the Sunday when weather was perfect so it became a mini pool.
Sunrise view perfect, balcony view perfect with a cool breeze.
Pool downstairs had a few leaves , we were tempted , perhaps next time if its leaf free.I like clear water and leaf free pools.
Self catering??? -well,we wanted to but the nearest grocery store was miles away so that was never an option.Pity as the kitchen begs you to cook in it ,again with a great view.Another stone fire pit in the living room did the trick Friday and Saturday evening and a large dining room table I was disappointed not to be head of table, why , because we were not informed we could cook.
Food , time for dinner.We were greeted by the manager and politely ushered to the dining room to be centre stage in the dining room.Now , we are not exactly a quiet family so we received the odd glance from the more amorous intimate diners.Food was served by helpful polite staff who knew the menu well. Unfortunately the spoilt brat who happens to be my son decided he wanted fries.Presto , the chef accommodated our request.With an all inclusive package, how do you explain to 13 year old value for money.Simple you cant.The Mrs enjoyed her meal as did I.
I did expect more bacon for breakfast ( yes I am a pig , lol ) given that my breakfast started with a continental buffet.I did feel i got my breakfasts worth as lunch only telephoned my stomach late afternoon as did the boys.
We were playing happy families :-) to be disturbed during the day :-( by other guests en route to the massage rooms.Once they done we were :-)
The boys the boys the boys , what shall we do with them , what the hell can keep them busy.Truth be told , I was happy we were away from mod cons in that we went hiking, walks and this gave my family the perfect opportunity to bond, well , that's when the Mrs was doing her hair and nails.

To sum it up, every place I have stayed at be it the Hilton or Radisson, or my brothers sofa, there is always something or manything to complain about and La Dolce Vita is no different.Despite what it may lack i will be back one summer to relive the boat ride, the courteous staff who were more than accommodating and the Penthouse experience,

we came we chilled, a bit to chilled we missed our flight home that afternoon as we had a late check out and perfect weather.
Read more
Date of stay: August 2013
3.0 of 5 bubblesValue
4.0 of 5 bubblesRooms
4.0 of 5 bubblesLocation
3.0 of 5 bubblesCleanliness
4.0 of 5 bubblesService
4.0 of 5 bubblesSleep Quality
Trip type: Travelled with family
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Amy D wrote a review Aug 2020
1 contribution2 helpful votes
1.0 of 5 bubbles
My husband and I stayed for 3 nights at La Dolce Vita for our anniversary and unfortunately we were extremely disappointed and actually wouldn't recommend this place to anyone especially room 6. When we arrived and were shown to our room we found that there was a stain on the duvet and and sheet and there were marks on the towels. The bed was very uncomfortable and desperately needs to be replaced. If you coming for peace and quiet then this is not the place. You can hear everything that is happening in the kitchen, you can hear when guests arrive and check in as the room is right at the entrance, the doors all squeek and you can hear everything that goes on in the room next door. Hearing the co-curricular activities of our neighbours made us feel very uncomfortable. The sliding door from the bedroom onto the balcony didn't work. In the bathroom the taps in the basin were very loose and only the hot tap worked. It was very inconvenient having to brush our teeth with hot water. The breakfast was at least good and the one 3 course dinner we had was also good but definitely not anything amazing. All in all I don't know how this place has a 4 star rating and can't believe the rates they charge for what they have to offer. How disappointing.
Read more
Date of stay: August 2020Trip type: Travelled as a couple
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Carla Winter wrote a review Nov 2021
Somerset West, South Africa23 contributions
5.0 of 5 bubbles
This romantic couples-only breakaway spot was absolutely fantastic. Vip treatment from that you walk in with welcoming drinks. Beautiful tasteful decorated rooms, with spa bath. Every room has an awesome view over the dam.

Make sure to book massages done in your room and do the 2-hour boat trip.

Just note that most of the other attractions are close in Harties on Monday and Tuesday -cable cars and some like Pretwill is only open on Holidays and Sundays.

But just to be at La Dolce Vita Guest House was enough. Thanks for making us feel so special!
Read more
Date of stay: November 2021
5.0 of 5 bubblesLocation
5.0 of 5 bubblesService
5.0 of 5 bubblesSleep Quality
Room Tip: All rooms look awsome
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Claire S wrote a review Mar 2013
Johannesburg, Gauteng, South Africa2 contributions13 helpful votes
1.0 of 5 bubbles
I received a gift from my mother for a weekend away - R5400 for honeymoon suite at this so called '4' star guest house - this was to include 2 dinners, 2 breakfasts, sunset cruise and 2 night accommodation. We arrive to a dirty place - carpet looks like it hasn't been cleaned ever and taken to our room which look NOTHING like the website. its average at best. my mom had told them i was a vegetarian and they said they could cater. we go for dinner Friday night and i check again that they are able to cater for vegetarians and once again they say no problem- 1 hour after arriving for dinner i get my main meal of 2 boiled potatoes, carrots and baby marrow. i call the owner as the manager was no longer around and complain - he is rude and aggressive - he then call and says we should have informed them i was a vegetarian (which my mom had) the lights in the room keep tripping of which we inform him on the phone as well. we go to breakfast Saturday m

 orning and they once again have a marginal spread and no choices for the health conscious. I then send the owner a message to tell him we would rather leave and go to a place that is able to cater for us can he please arrange a refund - at which i get no reply - so i called him - he answered the phone and then proceeded to shout and scream at me and calls me rude cause i am ‘forcing’ him to take a call on the golf course (not sure how as he answered the call) - he says he will phone me back and puts the phone down on me. I wait over 10 minutes and get no call so i do downstairs to speak to the manager on duty - she tells me she cannot do the refund and needs to call the owner - i tell her he can’t speak as he is on the golf course and had previously put the phone down on me. - other guests who were eating hear this conversation as it was happening at the reception not more than 5m from their table - they were astounded and starting asking me questions on the experience

  and what was going on. Dion the owner then phoned his manager - who took the call outside. she then called me to take the call and he proceeded to scream and threaten me and told me that if myself and my husband do not leave his premises in the next 5 minutes it takes him to get there he will hurt us and get us forcefully removed. What a shocking experience
Read more
Date of stay: March 2013
1.0 of 5 bubblesValue
1.0 of 5 bubblesRooms
1.0 of 5 bubblesLocation
1.0 of 5 bubblesCleanliness
1.0 of 5 bubblesService
1.0 of 5 bubblesSleep Quality
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Linda B wrote a review Oct 2015
Pretoria, South Africa1 contribution9 helpful votes
1.0 of 5 bubbles
As i am writing this i am sitting on the balcony of this guest house. I have wastes R4600 on a two night stay. I could have had a better experience at my own house. I booked this midweek package for two as a honeymoon. I paid the full amount upfront. Upon arrival nobody new we were coming. We were the only guests. I now understand why. Children were running up and down and screaming for two hours. Aircon not working. And there is a heat wave. Breakfast even worst. Waited 22 minutes for a cup of coffee. Had to ask for the bed to be made. Nothing was special. A total disgrace. Complained to the owner and he just became rude. Now i am sitting here. Stranded. Because i already paid. I just wished that there was a "police" i could complain to so that not more people would fall into the same trap. Please dont go there. It is not worth it.
Read more
Date of stay: October 2015Trip type: Travelled as a couple
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from Keith M, Manager at La Dolce Vita Guest House
Responded 14 Oct 2015
Good day Linda, Firstly, please allow us to express our appreciation that you chose La Dolce Vita Guesthouse for your retreat. With regards to your complaints: 1. You say that nobody new that you were coming because you were the only guests there. I am not sure what made you think this. You arrived with a printed confirmation. The front desk called the office to confirm if you had an outstanding balance. When asked which room you had booked for, you incorrectly stated Honeymoon, when you had paid for a Luxury. You were then shown various room options. You seemed very pleased with this. The staff then assisted you with your luggage and large cooler box and several shopping bags filled with liquor to your room. We understand that you were upset at not being able to consume the liquor that you had brought in the public areas of the guesthouse. 2.There were two kids in the guesthouse that stayed in the room all week. Apart from one short incident they were quiet. None of the other guests complained on the night that you did. They certainly did not run up and down the stairs. Other guests at the time included the North West MEC and his security detail, along with 2 other couples. 3.The aircon was put on for you when you entered the room. You were satisfied with it. At no stage during your stay did you mention that it was faulty. 4.At breakfast you complimented the chef. 5.You did later complain to the owner who became angry when you threatened to beat up the children. You also threatened and swore at the staff. This included racist slurs. No action was taken against you. You stayed in your room for almost the entire length of your stay. You had to ask for the bed to be made up as you came out of your room late. It is unfortunate that you did not enjoy your stay with us. However we have serious questions about the validity of your complaints.
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Sandra Millicen... M wrote a review Jul 2016
1 contribution6 helpful votes
2.0 of 5 bubbles
I decided to look for a 4 or 5 star accommodation in haarties for a romantic weekend with my partner and came across La Dolce Vita Guest House in Kosmos online. They sold a very amazing story about their winter packages for 2 and I decided to give it a try after looking at their amazing pictures on their site.

Upon arrival we were welcomed by really nice people but the place was not at all what it seemed.
The initial room was very small, with a dirty and old carpet, situated right above the kitchen, with all sorts of sounds and smells coming from down there. There was no shower in this room except for a dirty looking jacuzzi. We requested a better room and the staff was nice enough to provide this.
Their towels were stained and looked like they'd seen life for at least a decade!! We requested clean towels but the next batch was just as dirty and by that time we'd lost hope in this place.
The food at the restaurant was substandard for a place that has a 4 star certificate by their reception. Their lamb shank was actually bits of meat cut from the bone with rice and butternut.
On Sunday we went on a boat cruise arranged by La Dolce Vita and my partner and I were allocated seats by the back of the boat, right by a loud speaker with no view of anything. Again we had to request better seats.
The food on this cruise was not good at all, their chicken was dry and their lasagne burnt.
The people are nice at La Dolce Vita but what they provide is a story that's not to be believed. I will never visit this place again nor will I refer any of my family or friends to sleep over there. I wouldn't recommend you spending your money on this place.
Highly disappointed by this Guest House.
Read more
Date of stay: July 2016Trip type: Travelled as a couple
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
vanessa197045 wrote a review Jul 2015
Greater Johannesburg, South Africa19 contributions41 helpful votes
1.0 of 5 bubbles
The website indicating the rooms are misleadign and false. The luxury room we booked was pocky and in serious need of repair. The establishment claims to be 4 star and in a dismal state. Carpets stained, paint pealing off, dirty cupboards, badly scratched bath. The view was carefully photo shopped to include the dam. True reality is that the view on the one side was of the neighbours wall and the other a glimps of the dam. Very expensive for what you got. I have to state that the staff at the front desk and the serivce in the restaurant was excellent. The owner was no where to be seen. A very disspointing experience. Not what we planned and paid for. A rip off and criminal in that they expect you to settle the bill in full before you see the room. I question the 4 star rating of this establishment. All travellers beware.
Read more
Date of stay: July 2015
1.0 of 5 bubblesValue
1.0 of 5 bubblesLocation
4.0 of 5 bubblesService
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Room Tip: Do not trust photos on the internet. . Room not up to any standard let alone a 4 star rating claim.
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from Keith M, Manager at La Dolce Vita Guest House
Responded 23 Jul 2015
Good Day Vanessa, La Dolce Vita (LDV) appreciates that you chose us for your getaway. It is unfortunate that you did not enjoy your stay with us. Kindly allow us to respond to your complaints. LDV does not claim to be a 4 star establishment. We are graded accordingly by the Tourism Grading Council of South Africa. Our certificate is clearly displayed in reception and may be verified by the august body. The room you stayed in is one of our Honeymoon suites: it includes a king size bed, spa bath and separate shower. The shabby items you refer to (as you posted photos on several other social networks) was a hastily repaired door handle and three holes near the ceiling where an old curtain rail had been removed. We accept this. However, your remarks regarding dirty wardrobes and the bath tub, we strongly refute. Additionally, the view from all our rooms is excellent. The picture is an older one that does not have the palm tree as large as it currently is. We must state here that you seemed to have been arguing with your partner from arrival. He seemed to enjoy himself. You continued arguing all weekend in front of other guests that complained about you. You refused your spa treatment as well as your complimentary Sunday Lunch Cruise. We feel that perhaps we are getting negative attention from you that is unrelated to the service that we provided you with.
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
MicciWhite wrote a review Jul 2015
Pretoria, South Africa4 contributions7 helpful votes
1.0 of 5 bubbles
Worst anniversary ever. After insisting that we settle the bill even before we had been to our room, we were extremely disappointed. None of our confirmed arrangements had been done, and the room ....Well, all the online photos are very carefully taken. It is small and the view can only be seen at a specific angle! We decided it was not for us and cancelled our booking. The manager assured us our deposit would be returned.

After a week we contacted the owner who assured us the deposit would be returned the following Monday. 2 weeks later the owner proceeded to swear at us, threaten us and confirm that he had no intention of returning our deposit. I will never recommend this place to anybody. The owner is a liar and a theif.
Read more
Date of stay: May 2015
1.0 of 5 bubblesCleanliness
1.0 of 5 bubblesService
1.0 of 5 bubblesSleep Quality
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from Keith M, Manager at La Dolce Vita Guest House
Responded 23 Jul 2015
Good day, Thank you for selecting La Dolce Vita to celebrate your anniversary. We appreciate this. Please do send us your details as we do not have either your complaint or stay on record. We do not give refunds at the time of check-in for rooms cancelled due to guests being unsatisfied with the room size. Our rooms all have stunning views of the dam and have either queen or king size beds in addition to a spa bath in the room. Our Honeymoon Rooms have separate showers in addition to extra floor space. We cannot answer specifics as we do not know which room you were in. Please do let us know. We look forward to being of assistance. Thank you.
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
No results found.Try changing or clearing your search to read questions and answers.
Carla Winter wrote a tip Nov 2021
Somerset West, South Africa23 contributions
5.0 of 5 bubbles
"All rooms look awsome"
Read full review
Peanut_face wrote a tip Jan 2021
Pretoria, South Africa181 contributions36 helpful votes
4.0 of 5 bubbles
"Honeymoon suite with dam and mountain view is the best room"
Read full review
Simbah wrote a tip Aug 2019
1 contribution
5.0 of 5 bubbles
"Views to die for"
Read full review
Rachelle Niemandt wrote a tip Apr 2019
1 contribution
5.0 of 5 bubbles
"There are a lot of stairs however it creates the best views so each room will have a stunning view of the dam"
Read full review
Charlene J wrote a tip Aug 2018
2 contributions2 helpful votes
1.0 of 5 bubbles
"There isnt one"
Read full review
Not the right property for you?
There are more places to choose from in the Hartbeespoort area.
PRICE RANGE
R 1,670 - R 2,313 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
LOCATION
South AfricaNorth-West ProvinceMadibengHartbeespoort
NUMBER OF ROOMS
9
Prices are provided by our partners, and reflect average nightly room rates, including taxes and fees that are fixed, known to our partners, and due at time of booking. Please see our partners for more details.
Is This Your Tripadvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing

LA DOLCE VITA GUEST HOUSE - Guesthouse Reviews & Price Comparison (Hartbeespoort, South Africa)

Frequently Asked Questions about La Dolce Vita Guest House
Which popular attractions are close to La Dolce Vita Guest House?
Nearby attractions include Elephant Sanctuary Hartbeesport Dam (4.7 km), Bush Babies Monkey Sanctuary (4.8 km), and Hartbeespoort Dam (1.9 km).
What are some of the property amenities at La Dolce Vita Guest House?
Some of the more popular amenities offered include a pool, an on-site restaurant, and a lounge.
What food & drink options are available at La Dolce Vita Guest House?
Guests can enjoy an on-site restaurant, a lounge, and breakfast during their stay.
Is parking available at La Dolce Vita Guest House?
Yes, free parking is available to guests.
What are some restaurants close to La Dolce Vita Guest House?
Conveniently located restaurants include Silver Orange Bistro, Stef's table, and Vovo Telo Bakery & Café Hartbeespoort.
Are there opportunities to exercise at La Dolce Vita Guest House?
Yes, guests have access to a pool during their stay.
All Hartbeespoort HotelsHartbeespoort Hotel DealsLast Minute Hotels in HartbeespoortHotels near La Dolce Vita Guest House
Things to DoRestaurantsFlightsHoliday HomesTravel StoriesCruisesCar Hire