We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Save
Share
4 Sycamore N, Waterval Boven 1195 South Africa
Lowest prices for your stay
Lock in the lowest price from these sites
PricelineUS$52
FindHotelUS$52
Agoda.comUS$52
eDreamsUS$52
EtripUS$52
TripadvisorUS$52
View all 13 deals
* Prices are provided by our partners, and reflect average nightly room rates, including taxes and fees that are fixed, known to our partners, and due at time of booking. Please see our partners for more details.
Traveller (90)
Dining (15)
Room & Suite (7)
What is Travellers’ Choice?
Tripadvisor gives a Travellers’ Choice award to accommodations, attractions and restaurants that consistently earn great reviews from travellers and are ranked within the top 10% of properties on Tripadvisor.

About

#1 of 2 hotels in Waterval Boven
Location
Cleanliness
Service
Value
Travellers' Choice
This hotel is perfect for everyone! Whether you are a business traveller, a tourist or just need to break away for a restful retreat, Fortis Hotel Malaga is the place for you. The comfortably furnished rooms all have private balconies and stunning views. They are either situated around the central swimming pool or overlook the beautiful lawn and tropical gardens. Our restaurant offers indoor and outdoor seating, allowing guests to enjoy delightful spring evenings dining around the swimming pool, or cold winter nights in our cosy restaurant or around a fire. Our menu features delicious farm-fresh country fare, come join us every Sunday for lunch from 12:30.
Read more
Suggest edits to improve what we show.Improve this listing
Property amenities
Free parking
Public wifi
Pool
Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
Bar / lounge
Bicycle rental
Hiking
Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly)
Parking
Free wifi in the business centre
Hot bath
Outdoor pool
Restaurant
Breakfast available
Breakfast buffet
Business Centre with Internet Access
Conference facilities
Banquet room
Meeting rooms
Spa
24-hour security
Non-smoking hotel
Outdoor furniture
Picnic area
24-hour front desk
Dry cleaning
Laundry service
Show more
Room features
Air conditioning
Housekeeping
Room service
Safe
Telephone
Coffee / tea maker
Bath / shower
Complimentary toiletries
Wardrobe / wardrobe
Laptop safe
Hair dryer
Show more
Room types
Pool view
Non-smoking rooms
Suites
Family rooms
Good to know
HOTEL CLASS
Languages Spoken
English, Afrikaans

Location

Full view
Contact
4 Sycamore N, Waterval Boven 1195 South Africa
Getting there
Kruger Mpumalanga Intl Airport69 kmSee all flights
Johannesburg Intl Airport228 kmSee all flights
See all nearby hotels
200Reviews7Q+A57Room tips
Traveller rating
  • 92
  • 74
  • 26
  • 4
  • 4
Time of year
Traveller type
Language
  • More
Selected filters
  • Filter
  • English
Popular mentions
Sort by:
Most Recent
jduven512251 wrote a review Jul 2022
1 contribution
Overall a very pleasant stay with friendly and helpful personnel. Rooms oldish (bathroom outdated) but very clean and comfortable. Food was good and well priced. Nice quiet and peaceful environment. Can recommend as stopover or to stay for a day or two.
Read more
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Date of stay: July 2022
Value
Rooms
Location
Cleanliness
Service
Sleep Quality
Trip type: Travelled on business
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
Response from Ozwane Mahlangu, General Manager at Fortis Hotel Malaga
Responded 4 weeks ago
Dear Valued GUESTS Thank you for your most valued feed back after your recent stay at Fortis Hotel Malaga. We are pleased to see that you enjoyed your stay and we have no doubt that you will be staying again in the nearer future with friends and family. We cannot wait for your next telephone call to make a booking for you. Warm regards Management and TEAM
Read more
HellsBellsShell wrote a review Jul 2022
Cape Town, South Africa5 contributions
Such a stunning backdrop and lovely gardens. This place gives the impression of a grand old hotel that was loved by someone once....but not any more. Black mold on the bathroom ceiling, a leaky shower. Hair dryer didn't work properly - cold air only. Cold white lightbulbs in the rooms give more of an atmosphere of a hospital than a hotel. Room service was slow, the malva pudding almost completely cooled down after heating, and the ice cream and "bar one sauce" was very low quality ice cream and squeezy bottle chocolate syrup, not bar one sauce. Totally overpriced for the quality. The staff were cold and most looked away when smiled at, or avoided eye contact entirely. There was one friendly receptionist at checkout (one out of the two standing there) - after such chilly service we were thrilled to see a friendly face, that's how out of place her smile was. Lots of details make this place seem like it's just not loved or perhaps just not well managed, or else out of money entirely. Black marks on the wall above the guest lounge fireplace. Xbox there for the kids but apparently intermittently not working, judging from the disappointed kids sitting around, and the questions we heard asked at reception. To be honest, we'd have felt a lot more kindly towards the whole place just if the reception staff had been friendlier on arrival. The lack of welcome coloured our view of everything else after that....although it would still have been hard to look past the black mold.
Read more
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Date of stay: July 2022
Value
Rooms
Location
Cleanliness
Service
Sleep Quality
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
Response from Ozwane Mahlangu, General Manager at Fortis Hotel Malaga
Responded 4 weeks ago
Dear Valued GUESTS Thank you for taking time to give us feedback after your recent stay at Fortis Hotel Malaga. We are very disappointed to see that you did not enjoy your stay and the number of issues that you pointed out that made your stay not enjoyable. Our sincere apology on the inconvenient caused and we are assure you that we are going to do all in our powers to look at each issue and correct immediately. We hope to have the privilege of welcoming back again to experience the best service hat Fortis Malaga is proud of. Best regards Management and TEAM
Read more
mndlov534587 wrote a review May 2022
Nelspruit, South Africa1 contribution
A very cosy hotel with comfy rooms and also quite affordable. Staff was friendly and pleasant. Our room had both the show and bath option. Very clean bath I must add. Big bed, clean linen. Unfortunately there was no bar fridge in the rooms.
Read more
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Date of stay: May 2022
Value
Rooms
Location
Cleanliness
Service
Sleep Quality
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
Response from Ozwane Mahlangu, General Manager at Fortis Hotel Malaga
Responded 08 Jun 2022
Dear Valued GUEST Thank you for most valuable comments after you visited our Hotel. We see you were satisfied with the level of service that we offer, except the bar fridge. We have not the bar fridge issue an in the mean time we have attached it to your profile for when you visit again that you prefer a bar fridge in your room. Regards Management and TEAM
Read more
thabo2022 wrote a review Apr 2022
1 contribution
S Excellent Service, Room Furniture is lovely and the bed, air conditioner working perfectly. Security for our car is excellent. Children play ground is excellent, pool area and water is spacious enough and grass level is perfect. Staff humility 8s beyond measure, and keep up the good work.
Read more
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Date of stay: March 2022
Value
Rooms
Location
Cleanliness
Service
Sleep Quality
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
Response from Ozwane Mahlangu, General Manager at Fortis Hotel Malaga
Responded 08 Jun 2022
Dear Thabo Thank you for your feedback after your recent stay at Fortis Hotel Malaga. The TEAM and my self are pleased to hear that we made your stay memorable and we look forward to welcoming you back again. Regards Management and TEAM
Read more
dmaure480730 wrote a review Apr 2022
1 contribution
We only stayed one night in this hotel as we had a long journey. nevertheless you can recommend the hotel. it is in a very nice location. and calm. it's right on the way to the south of kruger park. there is no wifi in the room and the bathroom needs some renovation. otherwise there is not much to complain about. very nice staff. It is about 2.5 hours from Johannesburg Airport and another 2.5 hours to Marloth Park. all in one for the price highly recommended!
Read more
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Date of stay: March 2022
Value
Rooms
Location
Cleanliness
Service
Sleep Quality
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
Response from Ozwane Mahlangu, General Manager at Fortis Hotel Malaga
Responded 08 Jun 2022
Dear Valued GUESTS It gives us a great pleasure to hear that you enjoyed your stay at Fortis Hotel Malaga. We have no doubt that you will be staying again with friends and Family. Best regards Management and TEAM
Read more
william c wrote a review Mar 2022
2 contributions
Great location for a conference or stay over on the way to the game reserve. The larger suites are very comfortable and good value for money. The breakfast buffet is substantial and delicious Dinner menu is a ls carte and the set menu is quite a treat!
Read more
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Date of stay: March 2022
Value
Rooms
Location
Cleanliness
Service
Sleep Quality
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
Response from Ozwane Mahlangu, General Manager at Fortis Hotel Malaga
Responded 08 Jun 2022
Dear William Thank you for taking time to give us feedback after you visited Fortis Hotel Malaga. We value your comments a lot and are pleased to hear that your stay was enjoyable. Looking forward to your next visit. Regards Management and TEAM
Read more
Phillip D wrote a review Mar 2022
Manchester43 contributions25 helpful votes
Stayed for 1 night on our trip from Johannesburg to Kruger. Location excellent and staff couldn’t have been more helpful. Hotel was very quiet and has been badly affected by pandemic hitting tourist industry. Hope it recovers quickly , we would stay here again.
Read more
Date of stay: January 2022
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
Response from Ozwane Mahlangu, General Manager at Fortis Hotel Malaga
Responded 08 Jun 2022
Dear Phillip Thank you for stopping by and spend one night with us. We confirm that the TEAM is congratulated in doing an excellent to always make sure that our valued GUESTS are taken care of. Thank you, once again and we look forward to your next visit Regards Management and TEAM
Read more
Sandra H wrote a review Dec 2021
Secunda, Mpumalanga, South Africa27 contributions4 helpful votes
We spent a pleasant and relaxing weekend at Hotel Malaga. Times are tough, but we got value for our money. The service was efficient and the room pristine and spacious. We hope to book in future again.
Read more
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Date of stay: December 2021
Value
Rooms
Location
Cleanliness
Service
Sleep Quality
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
Response from Ozwane Mahlangu, General Manager at Fortis Hotel Malaga
Responded 08 Jun 2022
Dear Sandra We as the Fortis Hotel Malaga TEAM we are as excited as you are about your stay and we assure that we'll keep the good service to all our GUESTS. Looking forward to welcome you back Regards Management and TEAM
Read more
sceki784340 wrote a review Dec 2021
Kempton Park, South Africa1 contribution
The hotel is beautiful, clean and peaceful. I really enjoyed my stay. The location is perfect to rejuvenate and the sound of nature in the morning makes it worthwhile. The hotel staff was brilliant and willing to help.
Read more
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Date of stay: December 2021
Value
Rooms
Location
Cleanliness
Service
Sleep Quality
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
Response from Ozwane Mahlangu, General Manager at Fortis Hotel Malaga
Responded 08 Jun 2022
Dear Valued GUESTS The TEAM and myself are excited to receive your feed and to hear that you enjoyed your overall stay and we have no doubt that you will be staying again in the nearer future. Regards Management and TEAM
Read more
514neillh wrote a review Nov 2021
Pretoria, South Africa56 contributions4 helpful votes
We can't praise this cute hotel enough. We were a big group and from the moment we arrived we only received good service. We also had big function the evening with a buffet style dinner which was really delicious. The rooms are neat, clean and comfortable which makes it really good value for money.
Read more
Date of stay: November 2021
Rooms
Service
Sleep Quality
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
Response from Ozwane Mahlangu, General Manager at Fortis Hotel Malaga
Responded 08 Jun 2022
Dear Valued GUESTS Thank you for taking time to give us your feedback after you visited Fortis Hotel Malaga. We are excited to see that you enjoyed your stay and we look forward to welcome you back again Regards Management and TEAM
Read more
Previous
123456
PRICE RANGE
US$39 - US$46 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
FORMERLY KNOWN AS
Protea Hotel by Marriott Waterval Boven Malaga
LOCATION
South AfricaMpumalangaWaterval Boven
NUMBER OF ROOMS
52
Is This Your Tripadvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing
Frequently Asked Questions about Fortis Hotel Malaga
What are some of the property amenities at Fortis Hotel Malaga?
Some of the more popular amenities offered include a pool, an on-site restaurant, and a lounge.
What food & drink options are available at Fortis Hotel Malaga?
Guests can enjoy an on-site restaurant, a lounge, and breakfast during their stay.
Is parking available at Fortis Hotel Malaga?
Yes, free parking is available to guests.
Are there opportunities to exercise at Fortis Hotel Malaga?
Yes, guests have access to a pool and a fitness centre during their stay.
Are any cleaning services offered at Fortis Hotel Malaga?
Yes, dry cleaning and laundry service are offered to guests.
Does Fortis Hotel Malaga offer any business services?
Yes, it conveniently offers a business centre, meeting rooms, and a banquet room.
Which languages are spoken by the staff at Fortis Hotel Malaga?
The staff speaks multiple languages, including English and Afrikaans.
Are there any historical sites close to Fortis Hotel Malaga?
Many travellers enjoy visiting Stone Circle Museum (12.8 km).
Is Fortis Hotel Malaga accessible?
Yes, it offers wheelchair access and facilities for disabled guests. For specific enquiries, we recommend calling ahead to confirm.