We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Kinondo Poa Resort

Save
Share
Diani Beach Road, Diani Beach, Ukunda 80401 Kenya
Hotels.com
Travelocity
Orbitz.com
Booking.com
StayForLong
CheapTickets
View all 8 deals
* Prices are provided by our partners, and reflect average nightly room rates, including taxes and fees that are fixed, known to our partners, and due at time of booking. Please see our partners for more details.
Traveller (179)
Pool & Beach (44)
Room & Suite (23)

About

#3 of 50 B&Bs / Inns in Diani Beach
Location
Cleanliness
Service
Value

Everyone needs a place to lay their weary head. For travellers visiting Diani Beach, Kinondo Poa is an excellent choice for rest and rejuvenation.

You’ll enjoy relaxing rooms that offer air conditioning, a refrigerator, and a mosquito net, and you can stay connected during your stay as Kinondo Poa offers guests free wifi.

The bed and breakfast features room service and beach chairs. Plus, Kinondo Poa offers a pool and free breakfast, providing a pleasant respite from your busy day. For guests with a vehicle, free parking is available.

When you’re ready to try some local flavor, be sure to check out Sails Beach Bar & Restaurant, which is known for serving up tasty oyster, which is popular with locals and out-of-towners alike.

Diani Beach is also home to Diani Beach Art Gallery, a popular art gallery that is not too far from Kinondo Poa.

Kinondo Poa is sure to make your visit to Diani Beach one worth remembering.

Read more
Full view
Property amenities
Free parking
Free High Speed Internet (WiFi)
Pool
Free breakfast
Snorkelling
Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly)
Airport transportation
BBQ facilities
Wifi
Pool / beach towels
Outdoor pool
Breakfast in the room
Special diet menus
Car hire
Mosquito net
Sun loungers / beach chairs
Laundry service
Ironing service
Show more
Room features
Air conditioning
Private beach
Room service
Seating area
Coffee / tea maker
Refrigerator
Bath / shower
Hair dryer
Wake-up service / alarm clock
Show more
Room types
Non-smoking rooms
Family rooms
Smoking rooms available
Good to know
HOTEL CLASS
HOTEL STYLE
Hidden Gem
Languages Spoken
English, German, Swahili
126Reviews1Q+A5Room tips
Traveller rating
  • 92
  • 22
  • 9
  • 1
  • 2
Time of year
Traveller type
Language
  • More
Selected filters
  • Filter
  • English
Popular mentions
T J wrote a review Jan 2020
London, United Kingdom1 contribution
Our stay at Kinondo Poa was perfection. The condos and grounds are meticulously maintained. Cleanliness is the upmost standard. Staff are very accomodating and seem to be happy and proud of their work, which is a far cry from some of the other resorts we have stayed at on the coast. Kenyan owned, the proprietors at Kinondo Poa are lovely, honest people. The service is high standard and bespoke to your needs when you stay. Everything was as advertised and the good reviews that attracted us to Kinondo Poa are reflective of the genuine feel of the place. The beach is a wonderful treasure trove of driftwood and wildlife on white sand. We stayed for two whole weeks in the end and our children were busy every day collecting things and running around in the natural environment and beautiful gardens. Thank you for all your help in making our stay magical.
Read more
Date of stay: November 2019Trip type: Travelled with family
Helpful
Share
Response from Kinondo Poa, Marketing at Kinondo Poa Resort
Responded 3 weeks ago
Thank you very much for your wonderful review. We are happy that you enjoyed your stay and hope that you shall come and stay with us again in the future. Asante sana and Karibuni tena! :)
Read more
Sarahbowditch wrote a review Feb 2019
Reading, United Kingdom62 contributions41 helpful votes
We loved our week in kinondo poa. We couldn’t have asked for more from start to finish. Our room was lovely, and having our meals on the veranda was perfection. We loved being the only people there and made the most of the beautiful swimming pool. The service from Wycliffe and Julius was amazing and nothing was too much trouble We did the snorkelling trip through the hotel which was great fun (go on the local boat if you can) We wouldn’t hesitate to recommend it to anyone Thank you for an amazing week of sunshine ☀️
Read more
Date of stay: January 2019Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Helpful
Share
Response from Kinondo Poa, Marketing at Kinondo Poa Resort
Responded 3 weeks ago
Thank you very much for your wonderful review and recommendation. We are happy that you enjoyed your stay and hope that you shall come and stay with us again in the future. Asante and Karibuni tena Kinondo Poa! :)
Read more
Bill W wrote a review Feb 2019
Ras Al Khaimah, United Arab Emirates171 contributions152 helpful votes
I actually booked this hotel in error as I'd confused it with another hotel but am so pleased that I did. From the moment we arrived the customer service was exceptional. Jean,the owner,came to speak to us several times to make sure that we were happy and didn't need anything There are only 8 rooms in small houses,like an African village,around the pool which is set in well tended gardens. Our room was quite basic but very comfortable and spacious. Spotlessly clean due to the superb housekeeping by Isabella who left a different flower arrangement on our bed each day. The food in the restaurant was absolutely lovely and we were extremely well looked after first by Wycliffe and then Julius who also tended the bar. Alcoholic drinks are reasonably priced. During the week we spent in Kinondo Poa,for a few days there was only one other couple in the resort,so thank you too to Steve and Jenny for their contribution to a wonderful stay. The hotel is only a couple of minutes walk from beautiful Galu beach,which is almost a deserted stretch of 3km of white sand and coral. The only negative from our stay is that the hotel is situated 3.5km from the main road along an unsurfaced road. However,with all the positive benefits,I feel that the highest rating is fully justified Thank you to all the staff at Kinondo Poa
Read more
Date of stay: January 2019Trip type: Travelled as a couple
2 Helpful votes
Helpful
Share
Response from Kinondo Poa, Marketing at Kinondo Poa Resort
Responded 3 weeks ago
Thank you very much for your wonderful review. Glad you booked us in error only to find a fantastic haven for your stay. It was surely meant to be! Jean acknowledges your feedback and is very grateful to you. We are happy that you enjoyed your visit and hope that you shall come and stay with us again in the future. Asante and Karibu tena Kinondo Poa! :)
Read more
Natalie P wrote a review Jan 2019
Vienna, Austria11 contributions3 helpful votes
Our stay in the beginning of 2019 was simply amazing. The facilities are well kept, simple but very comfortable. The food is lovingly cooked and tasty, and the best thing is that you get to choose everyday from a menue which caters local organic food options. The access to the beach is very convenient, and we have not encountered any beach boys. Most of the time we were almost by ourselves. Swimming is a bit difficult due to the high tides and sea urchins. The best thing about this resort is the incredible staff. It feels like staying with a family. Every single person was friendly, effecient and very helpful. We felt safe and taken care of the entire time. And we even met tiger the dog living in the resort who keeps the resort monkey free. We highly recommend staying there and hope to return soon
Read more
Date of stay: January 2019
Rooms
Location
Service
Trip type: Travelled with friends
1 Helpful vote
Helpful
Share
Response from Kinondo Poa, Marketing at Kinondo Poa Resort
Responded 3 weeks ago
Thank you very much for your wonderful review. We are happy that you enjoyed your stay and hope that you shall come and stay with us again in the future. Tiger says hello. Asante and Karibu tena Kinondo Poa! :)
Read more
Andychasingstars wrote a review Nov 2018
Royal Tunbridge Wells, United Kingdom22 contributions22 helpful votes
+1
Myself and my partner initially had a week booked at Kinondo Poa, but we enjoyed it so much we cancelled our stay at Diani Beach and came back for another week! From the moment of arrival the staff set the standard for the rest of our stay - friendly, welcoming and attentive. Wycliffe and Julius were our main hosts and were a big reason we enjoyed it so much. They got everything just right and offered flexibility in everything from meal times to menu choices. The rest of the staff worked tirelessly too, helping make our stay very relaxing and enjoyable. Plus Tiger the camp dog is friendly and well behaved! Starting with breakfast on the balcony, a suitably lazy way to start the day, the food was great throughout. With reasonably priced set menus or an a la carte menu, there was a great selection on offer everyday and always well cooked. Diani isn't far, or a short walk at low tide can offer variation in food and restaurants. The grounds were in great shape - credit to the grounds keepers who work tirelessly in the heat! The pool was in lovely condition and cleaned daily, always enticing. Our room was spacious and cleaned daily. The air conditioning is a lovely bonus and for those who need it the Internet was reliable. The beach was essentially private with sun loungers set out. There are no persistent beach boys which for anyone who knows Diani is peaceful relief! I would advise taking sea shoes to avoid any accidents with urchins, although there are concrete walkways for a safe entrance to the sea. Get to know the tide times for your daily dip. There is a great variety of day trips and activities on offer and the staff will happily help organise them around your needs. For its price I don't think you can get much better than Kinondo Poa for a relaxed beach and pool holiday. I'd thoroughly recommend it, and we will be back again some time in the future! Asante sana Kinondo Poa!
Read more
Date of stay: November 2018Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Helpful
Share
Response from Kinondo Poa, Marketing at Kinondo Poa Resort
Responded 3 weeks ago
Thank you very much for your wonderful review. We are happy that you enjoyed your stay and eagerly looking forward to your return. Asante and Karibu tena Kinondo Poa! :)
Read more
Previous
123456
PRICE RANGE
US$98 - US$148 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
FORMERLY KNOWN AS
Kinondo Poa Resort
LOCATION
KenyaCoast ProvinceUkundaDiani Beach
NUMBER OF ROOMS
10
Is This Your Tripadvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing
Frequently Asked Questions about Kinondo Poa Resort
Which popular attractions are close to Kinondo Poa Resort?
Nearby attractions include Kaya Kinondo Sacred Forest (0.4 km) and Bora Bora Widlife Park (1.7 km).
What are some of the property amenities at Kinondo Poa Resort?
Some of the more popular amenities offered include free wifi, free breakfast, and a pool.
Which room amenities are available at Kinondo Poa Resort?
Top room amenities include air conditioning, a refrigerator, and a mosquito net.
What food & drink options are available at Kinondo Poa Resort?
Guests can enjoy free breakfast and barbeque facilities during their stay.
Is parking available at Kinondo Poa Resort?
Yes, free parking is available to guests.
What are some restaurants close to Kinondo Poa Resort?
Conveniently located restaurants include Sails Beach Bar & Restaurant, Nomad Restaurant, and Colobus Shade.
Are there opportunities to exercise at Kinondo Poa Resort?
Yes, guests have access to a pool during their stay.
Does Kinondo Poa Resort have an airport shuttle?
Yes, Kinondo Poa Resort offers an airport shuttle for guests. We recommend calling ahead to confirm details.
Which languages are spoken by the staff at Kinondo Poa Resort?
The staff speaks multiple languages, including English, German, and Swahili.