We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Papillon Lagoon Reef

Diani Beach Road, Diani Beach, Ukunda 80401 Kenya
Lowest prices for your stay
View deal
View deal
Free cancellation until 21/10/15
View all 10 deals
* Prices are provided by our partners, and reflect average nightly room rates, including taxes and fees that are fixed, known to our partners, and due at time of booking. Please see our partners for more details.
Traveller (1170)
Pool & Beach (290)
Room & Suite (158)
What is Travellers’ Choice?
Tripadvisor gives a Travellers’ Choice award to accommodations, attractions and restaurants that consistently earn great reviews from travellers and are ranked within the top 10% of properties on Tripadvisor.


#11 of 38 hotels in Diani Beach
Travellers' Choice

Finding an ideal romantic hotel in Diani Beach does not have to be difficult. Welcome to Papillon Lagoon Reef, a nice option for travellers like you.

Papillon Lagoon Reef is a romantic hotel offering air conditioning in the rooms, and it is easy to stay connected during your stay as internet access is offered to guests.

The hotel features a concierge, a sun terrace, and currency exchange. Plus, guests can enjoy a pool and a swimup bar, which have made this a popular choice among travellers visiting Diani Beach.

While you’re here, be sure to check out some of the Asian restaurants, including Shashin-Ka Japanese Restaurant and The Spice Route, all of which are a short distance from Papillon Lagoon Reef.

Diani Beach is also home to Diani Beach Art Gallery, a popular art gallery that is not too far from Papillon Lagoon Reef Hotel.

Papillon Lagoon Reef looks forward to welcoming you on your visit to Diani Beach.

Read more
Full view
Property amenities
Game room
Airport transportation
Baggage storage
Pool / beach towels
Outdoor pool
Swimup bar
Breakfast buffet
Poolside bar
Entertainment staff
Evening entertainment
Table tennis
Currency exchange
Sun loungers / beach chairs
Sun terrace
Dry cleaning
Laundry service
Show more
Room features
Air conditioning
Interconnected rooms available
Private balcony
Hair dryer
Room types
Ocean view
Non-smoking rooms
Family rooms
Good to know
Bay View
815Reviews95Q+A98Room tips
Traveller rating
  • 392
  • 298
  • 82
  • 24
  • 19
Time of year
Traveller type
  • More
Selected filters
  • Filter
  • English
Popular mentions
Veronika wrote a review Feb 2021
1 contribution
We book catamarane trip to sand island across the beach with Adam and Adam. We were alone on the island and when we came back we missed 80$ from our bags. So we immediately told them and I threaten to call police, they gave us money back. Don't ever book with them, glass boat might be better choice. Hotel has 5 star rewiev from me, there's nothing to complain about. Lovely staff, delicious food and overall great service.
Read more
Date of stay: February 2021Trip type: Travelled with friends
Response from Ian Taplin, Agency / Consultant at Papillon Lagoon Reef
Responded 12 Feb 2021
Dear Nicolette 1004, Thank you for having chosen to stay at Papillon Lagoon Reef hotel and finding time to post a review of your holiday with us. We use our guests’ feedback to help improve the experience we offer our customers. We are pleased to read that Papillon has a 5 star review from you. You enjoyed the friendly service from our obliging staff, wholesome food and genuine hospitality. It is with regrets to note that you lost USD $80 in the hands of Adam and Adam who organized your Catamaran trip on the beach but glad you got back your money from them. Beaches in Kenya are public. You are best advised to ignore these intelligent and multilingual collection of vendors on the beach and book or buy from Tour Rep. Slightest acknowledgement or conversation with them can result in you being pestered and your enjoyment of the beautiful beach of Daini severely restricted. We have taken your comments positively in a manner to improve the experience our guests get. It is for this reason that we have reported the matter to Diani Tourist Police. Looking forward to welcome you again to sample the experience. Thanks and regards, Aloice Ang’ila Manager
Read more
MIRIAM K wrote a review Jan 2021
Nairobi Region, Kenya14 contributions
When I came across Papillon Lagoon Reef, it never crossed my mind I'd be there in person within 2 months 😀. For me it was about hustle. My son was my first booked in client and being birds of a feather his review got me thinking 💭 And the review gave birth to advert after advert. My lady friends (17 in total) and their friends came up with this group trip thing and like a joke we plotted and executed. Followed closely by a 2nd larger group (38 in number) The reception at Papillon Lagoon Reef was very friendly. Talk of feeling at home on arrival. The Assistant Manager Anthony is a hands on person. Check in was flawless and I thank him for being available to take care of all our queries. The rooms and all other facilities are spotless clean, special mention to their room service... Rooms were always on point. Food 😋😋 if there is a Resort I give 200% on meals delivery it is Papillon Lagoon Reef. Especially breakfast. Breakfast is the most important meal and they had endless variety, never in my 8 nights there did food ever run out. This is a first. To Management Aloice, Anthony and all others you have outdone yourselves. Kudos and don't ever let those standards go down. You can only improve. Aloice thanks for constantly checking with me if the guests were ok I don't take it for granted. Anthony thanks too for bearing with my constant queries and making it happen 😀you are indeed an asset to Papillon Lagoon Reef and I appreciate you. I'll request again that you liven up the kids corner to cater for all kids category - indoor games, swings, puzzles, etc. Otherwise I give them 5 🌟. Now I know where to head if in Diani.
Read more
Date of stay: December 2020Trip type: Travelled on business
dandy2016 wrote a review Jan 2021
Trencin, Slovakia5 contributions3 helpful votes
We were enjoying our holiday on the amazing Diani Beach in the garden with monkey near the pool with fantastic drinks and great atmosphere. Johnson Rafael Victor ...thank you for friedly service and daily fun. Animation team Abu Micky JJ Ibrahim Rosh ...thank you for program dancing and competition. Food was tasty and New Year Eve dinner real 5 * menu and decoration. I have seen many places in many counties and I was near to coming back in Papillon next year for Christmas and New Year but one think change my opinion I never come back. Just 1 or 2 days before we lieve resort guys making our room 376 stolen my money from luggage locked and ready for fly home. This money I wanted to used for Covid test . I m very unhappy write something like this but guests must know what is very good and what is really bad in this resort. I can not believe how bad experience I have got because this pkace is amazing in many ways.
Read more
Date of stay: January 2021
2 Helpful votes
CasieMartin wrote a review Jan 2021
Dubai, United Arab Emirates411 contributions156 helpful votes
Our recent stay here was beyond what we expected! Every single member of the staff as outstanding from the manager Anthony who assisted our needs. Frederick in reception that helped us book our train/flights. Fredrick and Mary at the cash bar who make the most incredible pina coladas. Sarah and her daily massages. Henry, Raphael, Albert and Victor. The rooms were very comfortable, clean and we enjoyed the monkey, baboon visitors each day. The atmosphere here is calm, clean and relaxing. We will be back!
Read more
Date of stay: January 2021
2 Helpful votes
jane K wrote a review Dec 2020
Nairobi17 contributions5 helpful votes
Awesome place, excellent service with many waiters (how comes there are no lady waiters by the way?). Good grounds right next to a clean beach front. Their lunch was always excellent. On the flip side, I noted the breakfast menu was always the same. No variation at all. They also only have one pool meaning someone cannot swim when the big boys are playing water polo in the afternoon. For the price we paid, it was worth it!
Read more
Date of stay: December 2020Trip type: Travelled with family
US$121 - US$249 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
papillon lagoon reef diani, papillon lagoon reef hotel diani
KenyaCoast ProvinceUkundaDiani Beach
Is This Your Tripadvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing
Frequently Asked Questions about Papillon Lagoon Reef
Which popular attractions are close to Papillon Lagoon Reef?
Nearby attractions include Diani Beach (6.1 km), Colobus Conservation (6.5 km), and Kaya Kinondo Sacred Forest (7.1 km).
What are some of the property amenities at Papillon Lagoon Reef?
Some of the more popular amenities offered include a swimup bar, a pool, and an on-site restaurant.
What food & drink options are available at Papillon Lagoon Reef?
Guests can enjoy a swimup bar, an on-site restaurant, and a poolside bar during their stay.
What are some restaurants close to Papillon Lagoon Reef?
Conveniently located restaurants include Sails Beach Bar & Restaurant, Tiki Bar, and Nomad Restaurant.
Are there opportunities to exercise at Papillon Lagoon Reef?
Yes, guests have access to a pool during their stay.
Does Papillon Lagoon Reef have an airport shuttle?
Yes, Papillon Lagoon Reef offers an airport shuttle for guests. We recommend calling ahead to confirm details.
Are any cleaning services offered at Papillon Lagoon Reef?
Yes, dry cleaning and laundry service are offered to guests.
Does Papillon Lagoon Reef have any great views?
Yes, guests often enjoy the ocean view available here.