We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Swahili Beach Resort

Diani Beach Road Diani-Mombasa, Diani Beach, Ukunda 80401 Kenya
COVID-19 update: See the added health and safety measures this property is taking.Read more
Contact accommodation for availability.
There are similar hotels available.
View all
Traveller (1379)
Pool & Beach (344)
Room & Suite (241)
What is Travellers’ Choice?
Tripadvisor gives a Travellers’ Choice award to accommodations, attractions and restaurants that consistently earn great reviews from travellers and are ranked within the top 10% of properties on Tripadvisor.
Travel safe during COVID-19
Visit our Travel Safe hub to see how we're helping you make more informed travel decisions during COVID-19.
What you can expect during your stay
  • Individually wrapped toiletries
Safety precautions are provided by the property and are not checked by Tripadvisor for accuracy.
Safety precautions are provided by the property and are not checked by Tripadvisor for accuracy.


#13 of 38 hotels in Diani Beach
Travellers' Choice
Swahili Beach is much more than meets the eye. Culture and history provide its very soul. From the architecture and the aromas to the music, it teases the senses. Drawing you in.
Read more
Property amenities
Free parking
Free internet
Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
Free breakfast
Public wifi
Pool / beach towels
Infinity pool
Pool with view
Outdoor pool
Fitness / spa changing rooms
Bar / lounge
Breakfast available
Breakfast buffet
Swimup bar
Poolside bar
Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly)
Airport transportation
Car hire
Taxi service
Business Centre with Internet Access
Conference facilities
Banquet room
Meeting rooms
Couples massage
Facial treatments
Full body massage
Head massage
24-hour security
Currency exchange
Sun loungers / beach chairs
Sun umbrellas
Dry cleaning
Laundry service
Ironing service
Show more
Room features
Air conditioning
Private balcony
Room service
VIP room facilities
Flatscreen TV
Room types
Ocean view
Bridal suite
Non-smoking rooms
Family rooms
Good to know
Family Resort


Full view
64Somewhat walkable
Grade: 64 out of 100
12Restaurantswithin 1 km
1Attractionwithin 1 km
1042Reviews39Q+A100Room tips
Traveller rating
  • 584
  • 268
  • 92
  • 53
  • 45
Time of year
Traveller type
  • More
Selected filters
  • Filter
  • English
Popular mentions
Rebecca M wrote a review 17 Jun
1 contribution
Being Seasoned Travelers; our experience at the Swahili beach resort was just amazing. The experience started the moment we arrived with the staff greeting and assisting as we arrived. It is a breath of fresh air to experience the wonderful hospitality, communication between the staff, the organization and cleanliness at this Hotel. We meet the Executive Sales Manager, Lilian Kiranga. Miss. Lily is pleasant, professional and has the knowledge of the industry to be able to give guest an extraordinary experience. Our room's view of the pool's and beach was just breathtaking and a perfect spot to sit in our balcony. We rented a Cabana located on the edge of the Main Pool. The towels were clean and crisp (not worn out and faded as other resorts), the waiters and pool staff were readily available and very attentive. At the Restaurants; the Ambience and Decor is beautifuly unique and the menu has a vast variety of items for every teste. We will definitely visit again.
Read more
Date of stay: June 2021Trip type: Travelled with family
Zuri S wrote a review 15 Jun
3 contributions
We had a fabulous time at the Swahili Beach Resort. The cleanliness, service and overall aesthetics were excellent. We were there on vacation from America. The staff took great care of us. I would and have totally recommended this place to friends.
Read more
Date of stay: June 2021Trip type: Travelled with family
Zainab Jagani wrote a review 01 Jun
17 contributions
We spent 4 nights here and enjoyed ourselves thoroughly, it was definitely a memorable holiday. The rooms were spacious and had a really cool coastal vibe. They have many pools which are beautifully set up surrounded by perfectly manicured gardens, the landscaping of this hotel is stunning. Despite being in the middle of a pandemic the hotel did not cut costs on food or compromise on the quality in any way at all. Being on half board we loved that there were 4 restaurants that we could chose from to eat at, each one had a unique experience and different finger licking cuisine. The beach was relatively small but well maintained by the hotel staff who would clean off the seaweed every morning. We found the staff to be quite warm and friendly.
Read more
Date of stay: June 2021Trip type: Travelled with family
Response from Jeff Mukolwe, General Manager at Swahili Beach Resort
Responded 1 week ago
Dear Guest, Thank You for taking time to share your experience during your stay with us at Swahili Beach Resort. I am pleased to note that you had an enjoyable and memorable holiday with us. Thank You for appreciating, the coastal ambience we have created, our spacious rooms, iconic cascading pools (now 10 in number) and the gardens. We have created a unique dining experience that allows you to sample all our restaurants during your stay. Good to note that you visited them all. I am particularly pleased that you rate our staff very highly. The Team works hard to exceed our guests expectations. We all look forward to welcoming you again. With our best regards, Jeff Mukolwe General Manager
Read more
Neil P wrote a review Apr 2021
4 contributions
This hotel is fab from the moment you walk in. The welcome Dawa's really hit the spot. Location 5 minutes away from Diani airstrip. The superior rooms are swahili luxury style with just the right fittings and a bubble bath tub! They had a special Valentine's beach dinner setup for me and my fiancee. Superb seafood and meats of high quality. The private beach club with a private pool was an added bonus. We spent the whole day here and the gin bar over here was on point. Had a relaxing and rejuvenating massage at the spa. Delightful. The staff are all so kind and helpful and make your stay super comfortable. This hotel has the best 8 layered pool in Kenya. You could get a semi private swim at any of the middle layers while enjoying your cocktails. The beachfront of the hotel has been redone and all looks fab. Very smart job. All in all i would highly recommend this hotel and would go back when the curfew in Kenya reopens.
Read more
Date of stay: February 2021
Room Tip: All Superior rooms have a bubble bath tub!
See more room tips
Response from Jeff Mukolwe, General Manager at Swahili Beach Resort
Responded 4 weeks ago
Dear Guest, Thank You very much for taking time to write a review about your stay at Swahili beach Resort last Valentine. We thank You and your fiancee for choosing to spend your valentine weekend with us. Pleased that you enjoyed the spread and the ambience we created. We appreciate your comments about our spacious, Swahili-sytled rooms, the private Beach Club, our iconic swimming pools and the Spa. I am personally grateful of your appreciation of the team (staff) we have here. Thank You for recommending us. We look forward to welcoming You back soon. With my best regards, Jeff Mukolwe General Manager
Read more
kathyhan1 wrote a review Apr 2021
Nairobi, Kenya116 contributions93 helpful votes
).We spend 4 nights at Swahili Beach Resort. Staff was very attentive and friendly. Rooms are spacious and nice A la carte Restaurant at the beach was enjoyable. Sushi Restaurant was -- unfortunately - closed Maybe there might be a chance to have more international TV-Stations (i.e. Movies
Read more
Date of stay: March 2021
Response from Jeff Mukolwe, General Manager at Swahili Beach Resort
Responded 4 weeks ago
Dear Guest, Thank you for taking the time to share your experience at Swahili Beach Resort. We are grateful that you had an enjoyable and memorable stay. Thank You for appreciating our rooms, and the restaurants. I am personally pleased that the Team met all your expectations. I take note of your comment on international TV stations. We rely on a cable TV provider and have shared your suggestion with them. We hope to host you again soon. Best regards, Jeff Mukolwe General Manager
Read more
US$146 - US$285 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
KenyaCoast ProvinceUkundaDiani Beach
Is This Your Tripadvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing
Frequently Asked Questions about Swahili Beach Resort
Which popular attractions are close to Swahili Beach Resort?
Nearby attractions include Diani Beach (1.1 km) and Diani Beach Art Gallery (0.7 km).
What are some of the property amenities at Swahili Beach Resort?
Some of the more popular amenities offered include a swimup bar, free breakfast, and a pool.
Which room amenities are available at Swahili Beach Resort?
Top room amenities include a minibar, air conditioning, and a flat screen TV.
What food & drink options are available at Swahili Beach Resort?
Guests can enjoy a swimup bar, free breakfast, and an on-site restaurant during their stay.
Is parking available at Swahili Beach Resort?
Yes, free parking is available to guests.
What are some restaurants close to Swahili Beach Resort?
Conveniently located restaurants include Leonardo's Restaurant, Piri Pirie's Bar and Resturant, and Sizzlers Steak House & Pub.
Are there opportunities to exercise at Swahili Beach Resort?
Yes, guests have access to a pool, a fitness centre, and locker rooms available in the fitness centre during their stay.
Does Swahili Beach Resort have an airport shuttle?
Yes, Swahili Beach Resort offers an airport shuttle for guests. We recommend calling ahead to confirm details.
Is Swahili Beach Resort located near the city centre?
Yes, it is 0.2 km away from the centre of Diani Beach.
Are any cleaning services offered at Swahili Beach Resort?
Yes, dry cleaning and laundry service are offered to guests.
Does Swahili Beach Resort offer any business services?
Yes, it conveniently offers a business centre, meeting rooms, and a banquet room.