The Clarens Country House

The Clarens Country House

Traveller (43)
WildeAls suite bedroom
Room & Suite (28)
Clarens Country House
Videos (1)

View prices for your travel dates

Contact accommodation for availability.
There are similar hotels available.
View all

About

4.5
#1 of 4 villas in Clarens
4.8 of 5 bubbles
Location
4.8 of 5 bubbles
Cleanliness
4.8 of 5 bubbles
Service
4.6 of 5 bubbles
Value
Luxury self-catering suites. Large spacious bedrooms (kingsize or twin beds) with en-suite bathrooms (bath and shower). Each suite has a private lounge area, fireplace and kitchenette. Free WiFi and satellite TV. Situated in a quiet area on the secure Clarens Golf Estate. Private off-road parking and a large garden with barbeque facilities.
Read more
Suggest edits to improve what we show.Improve this listing
Property amenities
Free parking
Secured parking
Free High Speed Internet (WiFi)
Wifi
Golf course
Hiking
24-hour security
BBQ facilities
Patio
Tennis court offsite
Board games / puzzles
Non-smoking hotel
Outdoor fireplace
Outdoor furniture
Picnic area
Sun terrace
Room features
Blackout curtains
Desk
Dining area
Fireplace
Coffee / tea maker
Cable / satellite TV
Electric blanket
Walk-in shower
Housekeeping
Interconnected rooms available
Private balcony
Sofa
Wardrobe / wardrobe
Bottled water
Private bathrooms
Kitchenette
Microwave
Refrigerator
Stovetop
Electric kettle
Kitchenware
Flatscreen TV
Bath / shower
Complimentary toiletries
Hair dryer
Room types
Mountain view
Non-smoking rooms
Suites
Good to know
HOTEL CLASS
Star ratings are intended to indicate the general level of features, amenities, and services to expect. This property is classified according to Giata.
3.5 of 5 stars
HOTEL STYLE
Mid-range
Quaint
Languages Spoken
English, French, Afrikaans

Location

213 Clarens Golf and Trout Estate, Clarens 9707 South Africa
222Reviews0Q+A10Room tips
Traveller rating
  • 166
  • 50
  • 5
  • 1
  • 0
Time of year
Traveller type
Language
Selected filters
  • Filter
  • English
Popular mentions
Sort by:
Detailed Reviews
Judith v wrote a review Dec 2022
4 contributions
Property's Favourite Review
5.0 of 5 bubbles
What a surprise after a long long trip mastering -our decision- off road tracks! Wonderful spot to actually "linger longer" and enjoy the beautiful surroundings. Didn't plan to play golf but surely next time. Fantastic architecture and interior design - ideas to consider for home. Hope to be back again and continue the "discovery trip".
Read more
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Date of stay: November 2022
5.0 of 5 bubblesValue
5.0 of 5 bubblesRooms
5.0 of 5 bubblesLocation
5.0 of 5 bubblesCleanliness
5.0 of 5 bubblesService
5.0 of 5 bubblesSleep Quality
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from Clarens Country House Walters, Owner at The Clarens Country House
Responded 14 Dec 2022
Thank you Judith for this wonderful review. We look forward to welcoming you back with your golf clubs. Kind regards, Toni
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Jennifer W wrote a review Feb 2020
23 contributions2 helpful votes
5.0 of 5 bubbles
We enjoyed a very nice one night stay at the Clarens Country House. The owner, Peter, was on site and welcomed us warmly. The apartment has a bedroom with a comfortable king size bed and separate bathroom and kitchen. Breakfast was delivered on time and was very good. Although we did not stay long enough to do any of our own cooking, the kitchen is good sized and fully equipped for those who prefer to cook their own meals. The surroundings (at the entrance of a golf estate) were very peaceful and quiet, and only a quick 3 minute drive to the center of Clarens and its shops and restaurants. This is a perfect stop on your way to the Golden Gate National Park.
Read more
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Date of stay: February 2020
5.0 of 5 bubblesValue
5.0 of 5 bubblesRooms
5.0 of 5 bubblesLocation
5.0 of 5 bubblesCleanliness
5.0 of 5 bubblesService
5.0 of 5 bubblesSleep Quality
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from ClarensAccommodation, Owner at The Clarens Country House
Responded 22 Mar 2020
We're happy that you enjoyed your stay. Hopefully next time you'll be able to spend a bit more time with us. Thank you for your great review. With best wishes, Peter
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Sasha wrote a review Dec 2022
7 contributions1 helpful vote
+1
5.0 of 5 bubbles
Absolutely the best value for money! Toni is a wonderful host. The garden is beautifully maintained and the room is very spacious and clean. It is fully self catering and they came to clean the room every day as well. We were given coffee, tea, sugar and milk as well as clean towels and bath soap.

There is a fireplace as well as a braai that the guests can use. It was simply magical!

We come to Clarens every year and will certainly stay at this place again.
Read more
Date of stay: November 2022Trip type: Travelled as a couple
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from Clarens Country House Walters, Owner at The Clarens Country House
Responded 07 Dec 2022
Thank you for this great review. And would be our pleasure to welcome you back at any time.
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Navigator824686 wrote a review Oct 2020
6 contributions
2.0 of 5 bubbles
Access to the unit and the upstairs outdoor area allocated for afternoon sundowners and/or morning breakfast, as well as the downstairs braai area, were is in the middle of the work area of the Country House; the workshop, garden shed, staff accommodation and storage for tools, golf cart etc.
The access and this outdoor area were hugely disappointing. We never felt comfortable/private/safe enough to spend any amount of time in the outdoor spaces of the unit.
Given the overall upmarket look and feel of the interior of the unit, as well as the Golf Estate, in general, we feel the management need to have a serious look at improving this situation.
Read more
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Date of stay: September 2020
3.0 of 5 bubblesValue
5.0 of 5 bubblesRooms
5.0 of 5 bubblesLocation
5.0 of 5 bubblesCleanliness
5.0 of 5 bubblesService
5.0 of 5 bubblesSleep Quality
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from Clarens Country House Walters, Owner at The Clarens Country House
Responded 08 Oct 2020
We are really sorry that you were so disappointed with the private outdoor area for Shepherd's Loft, and that you did not mention this to us during your stay. I agree that our greenhouse area is not particularly attractive, and following your review we are now in the process of screening it off - so thank you for pointing this out to us. As for the other problems you raised, I can assure you that since we (my husband, son and myself) live on the property and there is always someone here 24/7 you need not have had concerns with regard to your safely. No staff are accommodated on the property, and all staff are closely supervised while they are here during working hours.
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
thesinclairs2023 wrote a review Nov 2023
Durban, South Africa1 contribution1 helpful vote
5.0 of 5 bubbles
Our recent stay at the The Clarens Country House was very enjoyable and comfortable. The atmosphere of warmth and hospitality set the tone for a truly delightful stay.
The attention to detail is impeccable and the room was not only tastefully decorated but also spotlessly clean. The bed was very comfortable, and the linen was of the highest quality, ensuring a restful night's sleep.
One aspect that truly stood out was the thoughtful consideration given to every guest's needs. The hosts seemed to have anticipated everything, from the complimentary toiletries in the well-appointed bathroom to the little touches like biscuits to have with the coffee and tea supplied and fresh milk. It's evident that the management has gone above and beyond to ensure that guests feel not only comfortable but also cared for.
Toni and Peter were wonderful hosts and great company as well. We will definitely be going back to enjoy another braai in the beautiful garden.
Read more
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Date of stay: November 2023
5.0 of 5 bubblesValue
5.0 of 5 bubblesRooms
5.0 of 5 bubblesLocation
5.0 of 5 bubblesCleanliness
5.0 of 5 bubblesService
5.0 of 5 bubblesSleep Quality
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from Clarens Country House Walters, Owner at The Clarens Country House
Responded 19 Nov 2023
What a great review. Thank you. It was lovely meeting you, and we look forward to your next visit with us.
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Refiloe S wrote a review Jan 2020
Pretoria, South Africa2 contributions
5.0 of 5 bubbles
The country house is very pretty and calming. Excellent service by the hosts. The room was very clean and provided everything one needed for a solo trip. The breakfast was very delicious and could cater for special requests.
Read more
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Date of stay: January 2020
5.0 of 5 bubblesValue
5.0 of 5 bubblesRooms
5.0 of 5 bubblesLocation
5.0 of 5 bubblesCleanliness
5.0 of 5 bubblesService
5.0 of 5 bubblesSleep Quality
Trip type: Travelled solo
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from ClarensAccommodation, General Manager at The Clarens Country House
Responded 20 Jan 2020
So glad you enjoyed it Refiloe, thanks for the nice review, we look forward to welcoming you again soon. All the best, Craig
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
EBethDeJ86 wrote a review Feb 2024
Berlin, Germany1 contribution
5.0 of 5 bubbles
Toni is friendly, accommodating and helpful at all times with a wonderful mannerism & personality. She is professional, humble and thoughtful. The simplistic yet modern-touch decorated space forms part of a stunning property, privately situated in a beautiful and peaceful golf estate, close to shops and restaurants. Toni goes to great lengths to make sure one feels welcome and at ease. Aside from the place being spotless, extra attention has gone into making sure that you have everything you need making this stay, feel like a home away from home experience.
Read more
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Date of stay: February 2024
5.0 of 5 bubblesValue
5.0 of 5 bubblesRooms
5.0 of 5 bubblesLocation
5.0 of 5 bubblesCleanliness
5.0 of 5 bubblesService
5.0 of 5 bubblesSleep Quality
Trip type: Travelled on business
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from Clarens Country House Walters, Owner at The Clarens Country House
Responded 19 Feb 2024
Thank you for this wonderful review. We enjoyed having you to stay, and look forward to welcoming you back when next you decide to visit South Africa.
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
hjjabulile wrote a review Apr 2023
1 contribution
5.0 of 5 bubbles
Church group retreat, a few members of our church visited, we were provided with all types of tea and coffee, we also had 500 ml bottles of milk In each room, home baked cookies jar’s which were refilled for each day . The area is a bit cold and we had firewood refilled for each day which was my highlight. There’s also provisions for load shedding which is also impressive, we were never left in the dark.
Read more
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Date of stay: March 2023
5.0 of 5 bubblesValue
5.0 of 5 bubblesRooms
5.0 of 5 bubblesLocation
5.0 of 5 bubblesCleanliness
5.0 of 5 bubblesService
5.0 of 5 bubblesSleep Quality
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from Clarens Country House Walters, Owner at The Clarens Country House
Responded 21 Jul 2023
It was very uplifting having you to stay, and thank you for your great reveiw.
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
169Theo100 wrote a review Apr 2021
Centurion, South Africa1 contribution
4.0 of 5 bubbles
The accommodation is situated in the most tranquil surroundings and perfect for a quiet break away. Staff is friendly and know what is required from them, reception was great and warm. We will certainly be back if we choose Clarence as a next visit.
Read more
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Date of stay: April 2021
4.0 of 5 bubblesValue
5.0 of 5 bubblesRooms
5.0 of 5 bubblesLocation
5.0 of 5 bubblesCleanliness
5.0 of 5 bubblesService
5.0 of 5 bubblesSleep Quality
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from Clarens Country House Walters, Owner at The Clarens Country House
Responded 13 Apr 2021
Thank you for your great review. We would love to welcome you back again when you next decide to visit Clarens.
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
nturne999211 wrote a review Oct 2023
Umhlanga Rocks, South Africa1 contribution
5.0 of 5 bubbles
This is a really delightful place to stay in the security of a golf course Estate in Clarens. The host provides everything you could want for including fresh cold milk in the fridge! Extremely clean, comfortable and tastefully furnished with a lovely garden outlook. A great place to stay in Clarens
Read more
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Date of stay: October 2023
5.0 of 5 bubblesValue
5.0 of 5 bubblesRooms
5.0 of 5 bubblesLocation
5.0 of 5 bubblesCleanliness
5.0 of 5 bubblesService
5.0 of 5 bubblesSleep Quality
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from Clarens Country House Walters, Owner at The Clarens Country House
Responded 24 Jan 2024
Thank you for great review. We're glad you enjoyed your stay, and look forward to welcoming you back.
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
No results found.Try changing or clearing your search to read questions and answers.
DDR1234 wrote a tip Apr 2023
Johannesburg, South Africa631 contributions248 helpful votes
4.0 of 5 bubbles
"Very friendly host, will assist immediately. "
Read full review
LiangKe wrote a tip Oct 2018
Pretoria, South Africa1 contribution1 helpful vote
5.0 of 5 bubbles
"Bosman Suite would be excellent for family, can hold up to 5 adults."
Read full review
Nigel R wrote a tip Jul 2018
Port Alfred, South Africa123 contributions46 helpful votes
3.0 of 5 bubbles
"Better in warmer weather."
Read full review
Davidbignose! wrote a tip Mar 2018
Woodstock, Vermont2,309 contributions438 helpful votes
5.0 of 5 bubbles
"Ask Craig!"
Read full review
Neil d wrote a tip Oct 2017
27 contributions4 helpful votes
5.0 of 5 bubbles
"We loved the loft apartment, it had everything we needed"
Read full review
Not the right property for you?
There are more places to choose from in the Clarens area.
PRICE RANGE
R 1,229 - R 1,486 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
LOCATION
South AfricaFree StateClarens
NUMBER OF ROOMS
5
Prices are provided by our partners, and reflect average nightly room rates, including taxes and fees that are fixed, known to our partners, and due at time of booking. Please see our partners for more details.
Is This Your Tripadvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing

THE CLARENS COUNTRY HOUSE | UPDATED 2024 Villa Reviews & Price Comparison (South Africa) - Tripadvisor

Frequently Asked Questions about The Clarens Country House
Which popular attractions are close to The Clarens Country House?
Nearby attractions include Blou Donki Art Gallery (1.0 km), Anja & Friends (1.1 km), and Titanic Rock (0.9 km).
What are some of the property amenities at The Clarens Country House?
Some of the more popular amenities offered include free wifi, free parking, and a golf course.
Which room amenities are available at The Clarens Country House?
Top room amenities include a kitchenette, a flat screen TV, and a refrigerator.
What food & drink options are available at The Clarens Country House?
Guests can enjoy barbeque facilities during their stay.
Is parking available at The Clarens Country House?
Yes, free parking and secured parking are available to guests.
What are some restaurants close to The Clarens Country House?
Conveniently located restaurants include Clementines Restaurant and Bar, Highland Coffee Roastery, and Gosto Portuguese Restaurant.
Which languages are spoken by the staff at The Clarens Country House?
The staff speaks multiple languages, including English, French, and Afrikaans.
Are there any historical sites close to The Clarens Country House?
Many travellers enjoy visiting Bushmen Art at Schaaplaats Farm (1.1 km).
All Clarens HotelsClarens Hotel DealsLast Minute Hotels in ClarensHotels near The Clarens Country House
Things to DoRestaurantsFlightsHoliday HomesTravel StoriesCruisesCar Hire